Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of TradeMe.co.nz

TradeMe.co.nz reviews

Is this your business?
52 reviews
6011

52 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
2
Shipping
2
Returns
1
Quality
2

All Reviews

iffih
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/31/18

It is really really dump site, it has even no control over its own policies. No equal rights for sellers.

alicek96
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
12/29/18

it as a total and absolute waste of time to invest with trademe.co.nzI am open to share my experience and to also enlighten everyone on trademe.co.nz . They are big time scam and if you have invested on any of the fake brokers please kindly reverse your deposits if possible. I invested 65% of my retirement payment on trademe.co.nz with the mindset of getting it multiplied and enjoying a better retirement life. It was sweet and smooth from the start, withdrawals were easy and consistent until it gets to a point I started to be denied withdrawals and that was how I lost all money, I couldn't get my investment amount back not talk of the bonuses. I contacted several lawyers but it was all waste of time and money, they couldn't render an inch of help. God so good to my old self and family, I later met with a certified binary options recovery expert that helped me recover my money within 15days from the brokers(trademe.co.nz), it was worth it, he was able to retrieve my funds. If you have found yourself in same situation as me you can contact the expert on ''maverickbrayden( A T)consultant ( d t c m )" also he can render any other desired hacking services, I can assure he would be able to help you just as he helped me. Binary options brokers shouldn't get away with this.

jontek
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/12/18

TradeMe is awful. Period. They charge you ($1.99 a minute for unhelpful customer service, which can't provide a solution anyway because they take no responsibility for anything that happens on the site. They will sometimes randomly delete your account without warning and refuse to fix it without providing a full list of information about yourself. Stupid website with even more stupid people running it.

victimo5
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/2/18

no protection against bad buyers as there are many that do not complete sales and trademe doesn't stop them

andrewr325
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/22/18

The listing fees alone are a joke. Buyer protection is a joke... I fell safer buying from AliExpress or eBay (which are filled with scammers) than Trade-Me. This site is a joke which is festering slowly... It's the internet equivalent of a cesspool.

nicf4
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/18

Bought & sold on here for years... may still buy, but are going to move away from selling. We were selling in completely good faith some pre-loved designer items for which we had no proof of authenticity, so they removed them & smacked us with 'final warning' notices etc. I can understand them removing items if we had breached any legal stuff unwittingly by listing them, but to repeatedly & rudely punish on top of the item removal a long time trader with a near-flawless feedback record in the manner they did, was too bitter a pill to swallow! Best not to start with these guys, or if you do and want to avoid our experience, never never sell any high value or designer item on there. There are other alternative sites which we figure will gain in popularity if Trademe continue with the same sort of business tactics.

sahss
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/23/18

THIS PEOPLE ARE GOING FAR ABOVE THE CUSTOMER RIGHTS.FIRST YOU NEED YO PAY IF YOU PLACE AN ADD AND THEN IT TELLS YOU HOW LONG IS VALID FOR?! YOU MNAY BE BADLY SURPRISED WHEN YOU FIND OUT THAT THE ADD IS VALID FOR 3 WEEKS ONLY AND YOU HAVE PAID $100. HOWEVER FACEBOOK MARKETS ARE FOR FREE AND EVERYONE USING IT. I HAVE REPORTED THEM TO THE GOV!

jamiep116
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/31/18

I've sent half a dozen emails over the past week about a fraudulent auction I paid for through Ping and getting my money back. So far trademe staff have just entirely ignored this claim. I'm still out the money that I paid for a bunch of headphones that weren't what they claimed to be, it appears the Ping buyer protection is total bull$#*!.

It appears that sellers can effectively just lie and say a product is something that it is not to drum up the price (which is essentially fraud) and trademe has no problem with this happening on their site.

Not once in the reply emails they've sent me over the past 5 days has one person even addressed my refund claim. I'm utterly disgusted at the service they offer. When I posted bad feedback on the scammer they just posted bad feedback back on me, and I had to chase and chase trademe (including a $30 phonecall!!) just to get that removed. And I'm still out the money that the seller scammed me out of. I shall be telling every person I possibly can that trademes buyer protection is a crock of $#*! and they just ignore you when you try to invoke it.

tessa5
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/5/18

My account was shut down because there were links between this one and another account' I HAVE NEVER HAD A TRADE ME ACCOUNT IN MY ENTIRE LIFE.

So, after 4 days of having a trade me account it was shut down and all I got was a rude message from a customer service representative telling me there would be no review in the decision, no explanation as to what links were found and no way for me to EVER create an account EVER again.

Really awful, can't believe they treat their customers and users this way.

anthonyf71
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/10/18

Such terrible service. They do not answer your questions. Everything is beat around the Bush.soòoooooooooooo bad why do we keep going with you

namits1
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/27/18

So here is my experience as a seller on Trademe.

I would like to start with the moral of my story so you would be able to understand it better.

Trademe favours people with more feedbacks/reviews as compared to newer sellers/buyers trying to build up their profile irrespective of genuinity of the new seller.

I sold this phone on trademe a few weeks back and around 6 days after the buyer recieved the phone, the buyer emailed saying something is wrong with the phone where as when i sold it I was using it perfectly fine with no problems at all.I sold that phone since I got a new one as a wedding gift.So 6 days after the buyer (who appears to have a lot of reviews on trademe) recieves the phone he emails me saying something is wrong wit it.I told him that everything was fine when I sent the phone to him since I was using it till the minute I sent it to him.I asked the buyer why he did not report this problem as soon as he got the phone to which he said it was a bday gift for his son and did not open it for 5 days.So after weeks of going back and forth with the buyer and trademe.Trademe asked me to either refund the money or pay for the repairs for the phone.How can i be sure that the problem was not from the buyers side .That nothing went wrong on his side after he recieved the phone in the 5 days that he did not get back to me with a problem since I gave the phone in a properly functioning condition.Trademe supported the buyer who had more reviews as compared to me even when the buyer did not apparently open the phone for 5 days and did not report the problem till the 6th day.Normally a person would check the electronic that they have ordered to make sure everything is functioning well and we would be more cautious if it is an used electronic thats what my understanding is.
Basically trademe just supported the buyer since he had more reviews and asked me to refund the money or pay for repairs irrespective of my genuinity or even thinking about my genuiness for once ,just because i did not have as many reviews and am just trying to build up my profile.
It is a very evident bias that has been potrayed by trademe in this case.I would now think 1000s of times before selling something on trademe.Namit satam

jamesb1175
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/20/18

I was selling my car on trademe and had another item that had sold on trademe but the trade had not completed i.e I have not been paid.

It was about $25 commission !

My car add came up for renewal at the same time, (which is a $80 add) and I was blocked from renewing my car add until I had paid the commission! This is just bad business to block a $80 add over $25 commssion for a sale I hadn't even completed yet!

tufekm
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/18/18

Trademe charge me something I never pruchase it . Email them to reverse the charge back waiting over two days then I call customer service $2 per minute. And explain everything after all dreama been charged from my phone bill $20 and I had go through the bank to get the charge back.

jamesw832
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/28/18

I had a solid case against these buyer that put unfair feedback on my page. I even quoted from the Consumer Guarantees Act to prove that I have met up to my obligations. I was bitterly disappointed that the customer support team did not even bother to read the points but asserted that the buyer was right. This despite my clearly pointing out the buyer did not provide evidence, but word-of-mouth claims that the item I sold was faulty. Very sad. My rating is still over 99% though.

terrym264
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/26/18

the worst customer service i have probably ever experienced in my life! deleted my account and all 30 of my auctions in which i had spent hours upon hours creating! there was also a bunch of sales id made that the success fee had been processed for that i couldnt follow through with as they had deleted my aco$#*!.

they claim my account was deleted because i was operating 2 aco$#*!s at once which was a violation of their rules. but this old account was one that i had completely forgotten about and no longer used. instead of emailing me and asking which account i wanted to continue to use in future these absolute numptys delete the once i had put hours of work into! they are so lucky their is no other main websites in NZ for trading on or they would have no business at all! $#*!ing $#*!s!

wernert5
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/17/18

I am extremely frustrated with Trademe at the moment. I decided to start online selling of some star wars toys. I went at great lengths to import at great expense a huge amount of original Hasbro Star Wars toys from the UK. It was so expensive that I hardly make any profit.

Then out of the blue, Trademe contacted me and claimed I had to proof these were not counterfit items which cannot be listed. I still had the email invoice from the UK company but not the original printout. I could also send them photographs of the boxes and labels the items we sipped in. But Trademe just sent me this silly email that they do not accept that as enough proof.

Now I sit with more than a thousand dollars worth of stock and my entire business plan down the drain. I cannot afford to take a knock like this, but trying to speak to them is like speaking to some childish high school kid.

This after spending months planning it all, sourcing the right vendors, paying a fortune to import stuff to NZ only to get all my plans crushed on the whim of one person there, And there is no appeal process with them.

Really frustrated and Trademe is really not my favourite company at this point. It is people like me that make their business model. But they treat us like dirt.

ay15
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/10/18

They don't care how the trade goes on their own site. They just want money and provide no support unless you paid for it. Even with that expensive support, they avoid all responsibility. Their website and app are very low quality. a lot of bugs. worst company and service i have ever encountered.

bryanf48
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/7/18

RIP.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................

chandran7
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/1/18

Trade me is a pussy cat. Hide your face CEO OF TRADEME. How do you eat your food every day. It's our hard earned money you are feeding on. Do justice for the money you are earning. Don't steal, beg we will give you , be honest we will help you. But dont be dishonest. Contact me if have any self respect

tw219
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/22/18
• Updated review

After being a trader on there for over 10 years and trading with around 1000 people I have now seen the lowest of low of Trade Me who are now increasing fees that force many traders to pay them a slice of the shipping fees as well as the regular auction success fees. They have no right to do this and are forcing traders to provide free shipping or to increase their overall sale price to become free shipping,either way they make more money for doing nothing. We already foot the bill as sellers for people who chose "Paynow" when that cost should be on the credit card holder.Add to that they warn you that your address verification is about to run out in 2 weeks so to watch out for the letter they are going to send with a new activation code. No letter received and after emailing them twice, no answer to my queries after a week for a trader who has been on there for 10 years,and when they finally do they blame it on the letter getting lost in the post...disgusting and my address verification has now been revoked until I can get a code sent to me by applying all over again. I am now looking at selling on other sites,even Ebay will be better than Tardme....Trade Me you suck big time!!!.Tardme are a truely greedy money grabbing pack of baffoons who also favour feral traders that lie to claim back fees from trades they either have changed their mind about or because they are just slack. How about doing something for the people who actually make you money Tardme, we have certainly made you bit of it??!!....many top sellers on there are now discussing taking their businesses elsewhere......that will be interesting.

“Trademe used to be fun but now it isnt!!”
8/8/15
• Previous review

Trademe used to be a lot of fun, but now they have increased fees. They have stupid people who buy items who don't ask questions and then moan about it later. Who expect absolute perfection on second hand items. They say they don't get involved, but they do allow unfair feedback and choose to believe one side only, sometimes its the wrong one. The feedback system is very flawed....I have been selling on there for years but am starting to hate it now, might look elsewhere.

kathyo21
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
2/21/18

I have now bought a super feature on trademe more than once and wondered why the property was not showing up on the 7 day rotator after paying $199?? I called them and they said it has to wait to get into the rotator as wellington has a high demand and it has to wait for enough room to get onto the rotator. I was then also told my property would not be on for the full 7 days i had already paid for?????... rather only the days left once it got onto the rotator?!@#$%^&*!! Really trademe that is the biggest rip off... i am shocked and so dissappointed - this is clearly not giving me what i have paid for which is 7 days on a rotator marketing my property - i may be really unlucky and not even get one day and have paid for 7 days of marketing. The sooner someone gets a competitive website i am moving on shame on you trademe shame on fairfax!! The fees full stop these days are a rip off shame on u fairfax I dont bother advertising anything anymore for $1 reserve as the fees are just not worth it ..so its off to the tip recycling shop. You need to think about the whole picture fairfax and also get some telephone staff who are a little less casual .... spend some of your trillions on training

feip1
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/18

Bought a clock via Trademe, considering Trademe has buyer protect (if the glass is broken, I will get covered). The clever seller wrapped the clock in one layer of bubble wrap and wrote "fragile" on plastic bag, thinking this was good enough. Of course, I received a broken one. Complained to Trademe, they asked me to go through Disputy tribunal myself. Thanks for the advice and so called "buyer protect"!

suel104
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/10/18

Trademe recently changed buyer requirements without notifying trademe members.
Now full name match required between account holders and gun license details.

georgieb2
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/3/17

I am going to point out some things here about Trade Me as follows:
1. They charge 8% success fees and they are very slow in getting back to you about any issues such as non-paying buyer and getting reimbursed or credited for fees. Takes forever and a day to even hear back from them about when you might get your fees back.
2. Navigating the site is old-fashioned and non-upgraded. It is like the guy who made millions made the site as fast as he could to sell it off and it has not changed much ever since.
3. The tools and menu selections are hard to use and not informative or user-friendly. Anyone using Trade Me will have to accept that the standards are low in NZ and so is Trade Me's standards. When you go through listing title options they are leaving out so many that it is hard to know if you even got the right title listing...
4. Another issue is that Trade Me allows traders with negative feedback to continually exists. You have no control who bids on your auctions and if you state those with no-negative feedback are only allowed to bid on your listings and place a clause in your seller's policies- good luck having Trade Me Enforce it- they do not. When it comes to taking your money, they are there but when it comes to getting back you money then they are not there and can take forever and a day to get back to you- the longer they hold your money, the more interest they make off of it.
5. the last issue I wish to mention is that their website on the computer and on the cell phone or not consistent. I cannot change a title of a listing by cell phone as the spaces allowed are not the same on cell phone as computer. This is just one of their many non-upgraded glitches. They also charge you to phone them per minute no matter if it is their mistake or not. Talk about poor customer service policies. They barricade you from contacting them easily and make you pay so you might do it by email.
Personally, I do not like Trade Me and find them non-modern and old-fashioned with low standards or poor customer service overall. I cannot wait till eBay comes into NZ as I would happily switch and their fees are lesser than Trade Me.
New Zealand only has consumer protection acts or acts for consumer or trading rights on paper and absolutely nothing to back up these claims. Basically, you have no rights in NZ. You can only sort out things by negotiation and good luck negotiating with Trade Me when not giving you back fees or removing traders with a hoard of negative feedback who continually remain on their site trading. These business practices are common in NZ and these came from England. Good luck!

markd251
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/27/17

how can trade me take $ for a add them take it of and its been 7 days now and thy cant say why no contact and now im $270 out of pocket looks like i have to go to the bank and do a unauthorised card entry my get it back that way my advice is dont sale cars on trade me go autotrader

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

A big yes I have an account with both and I don't really bother much with Ebay, their charges are a bit on the steep side to say the least

By Roger H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Your only options are deal with the seller, and if they do not budge - then the disputes tribunal. TradeMe is only there to collect revenue from the trades - it does nothing if it all goes wrong.

By Blue M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the TradeMe.co.nz staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
TradeMe.co.nz?
Post Review