We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    The Fragrance Shop

Corporate Values

Overview

The Fragrance Shop has a consumer rating of 1.05 stars from 63 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. The Fragrance Shop also ranks 153rd among Perfume sites. The most common issues with The Fragrance Shop are around customer service, which is not as good as expected by some customers.

  • Service
    5
  • Value
    6
  • Shipping
    6
  • Returns
    6
  • Quality
    5
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
3
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • Could never get through their customer service, but they anser their sales line immediately.
  • I ordered my favorite perfume that I have worn for years & the perfume that they sent doesn't smell anything like it.
How would you rate The Fragrance Shop?
Top Critical Review

“Appalling customer service”

Ian E.
6/17/20

Appalling service received item that had been damaged in the post advised them if this. Their initial response was ok advising to take pics etc which I did. That was 2 weeks ago heard nothing since despite additional emails from me they not even acknowledged it replied to any if them. Am therefore still waiting for a refund of money I paid them in good faith for which I received products that were unusable. Disgusted beyond belief, do not use this company!

See critical reviews

Reviews (63)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (16) perfume (28) 3 weeks (5) company (16) order (40) money (21)
iane51
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 17th, 2020
Appalling service received item that had been damaged in the post advised them if this. Their initial response was ok advising to take pics etc which I did. That was 2 weeks ago heard nothing since despite additional emails from me they not even acknowledged it replied to any if them. Am therefore still waiting for a refund of money I paid them in good faith for which I received products that were unusable. Disgusted beyond belief, do not use this company!
philipj86
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 23rd, 2020
Absolutely disgusted had no problems with any other orders but this particular one I never recieved but they say it was signed for but it wasent. Just to prove my point my last fragrance was left in the garden with no signature again. Appalled useless service do not recommend to anyone...
jamieh462
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 14th, 2020
What can I say about my experience? The most unhelpful, untrustworthy company I've ever ordered from. Lets start off on the 23rd July, when I paid special delivery to arrive 24th July where it states if you order before 5pm this will be honoured, the order was delayed until the 25th July when I was due to fly away, no worries I can change my "DPD" delivery for when i'm back on the 3rd August, it didn't arrive... 4th August DPD have told me my parcel hasn't been last scanned since 25th July & potentially missing, I then phone the Fragrance shop & they did not want to help me as they've no record of it being lost, I've called everyday since the 4th August with this sender not be willing to send me a replacement while the investigation with DPD is ongoing. I expect much better customer service then this because THE FRAGRANCE SHOP should see the order was placed on the 23rd July & has not been received due to it being missing, but they won't send a replacement until fully confirmed from all depots which can take weeks. Don't use this company as when an order goes wrong, they won't help you & treat you with such disregard, worst customer service. HELP OTHER BUSINESSES, not this dreadful one!
julieb793
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 24th, 2019
Just now
Rubbish
Would like to put no stars here. Absolutely zero customer service, no one seems to know what they are doing or Care. Had an item that came damaged on the 4th June and after many emails, calls, photos sent in still no replacement. I requested mgr to contact means what a surprise still waiting. Don't waste your money with this company
susmitap
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 23rd, 2019
I ordered multiple perfume from them including Gucci-envy me, Ralph Lauren-romance, Juicy couture-rose and Giorgio-Beverly hills. I can tell Romance and Rose are fake. Other 2 still I am not sure as received day before yesterday. Never thought to receive duplicate/fake item.
debraw50
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 10th, 2016
I ordered WHITE Diamond, Liz over a wek ago. Order arrived in a short period in brown box with layers of protection, however; when I open and tried it on, it did not smell like the real thing. I went and sprayed the real thing on my arm and sure enough, it was different and the smell was hardly noticed. You could still smell mines after 30 mintues but Frangrance shop White diamond could not be detected after the first 15 minutes. Its a Fake but right now I am not going to worry about it. It's a lesson learned and will not be ordering again. Debra W. 12-11-16.
pardeepr
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 5th, 2017
Really bad service. I purchased some aftershave which was then delivered damaged. After several phones calls and escalations, I was advised I can either go an return into store or for a replacement return to a Londis store. Not happy at the inconvenience it was causing myself with me being a carer to a disabled child. Sill haven't received pre paid postage to sent it back in. Worse service ever. They don't have a clue on wat they are doing.
lindac140
1 review
8 helpful votes
November 16th, 2015
I purchased perfume for delivery in australia, Australia Post acknowledges that it hasn't been
Delivered yet Fragranceshop claims that their insurance claim has been denied because it has been delivered.
I have been unable to get any proof of this from them and this has taken over 2 months to get this far.
NO SATISFACTION WHATSOVER!
dyanef
1 review
3 helpful votes
August 15th, 2013
After ordering 2 times with these people with 2 different credit cards, my credit cards were used fraudulously for online purchases totalling 500$. I don't know if this is just a ''coincidence'' but I, for sure, will not order at fragranceshop.com anymore!
harrisons49
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 30th, 2018
Ive just bought an aftershave from the their store. The Price was good and the packaging looked legit but as soon as I opened it you can tell it looked off the colouring of the aftershave and the products itself was slightly wrong and the lid didnt fit well after spraying it wasn't the right smell at all just smelt cheap generic aftershave they also wouldn't let me return the product. Avoid at all costs its a scam
olgav2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
August 23rd, 2017
I received only 1 item instead of 2 purchased. CS requested me to fill the insurance claim for USPS, but since I sent them the form and pictures, I have never received either any response or refund for the item missed and its shipping cost from them. Moreover, they blocked my account instead!
I guess they might got the insurance from USPS/make fraudulent operations with insurance claims of its customers.
Service
Value
Shipping
franka89
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 30th, 2017
Do not order from this company. Order a cologne that i've being using for years. (Chrome) and just got robbed. It looks the same but no fragrance at all, smells like rubbing alcohol. I bought on line b4 from other places and never had any issues. I will spend the extra 40 bucks and going back to the mall... NJ store *******960 stay away from this place... Frank
salh18
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 9th, 2017
Very awful service with very bad sales team. They dont care your time always got late and when you will call them so will reply you with rude way. I ordered few perfumes they took my money very quick but take more than 15 days to deliver my order. Please try to avoid this service otherwise get ready to pissed our self off. They are the most unethical company i ever deal with
lizb50
1 review
7 helpful votes
January 21st, 2016
Ordered 2 bottles of Fendi (discontinued in UK) spent £86. Arrived promptly, but knew as soon as I saw the packaging it was fake. The scent was vaguely floral rather than the punchy orangey/cloves/patchouli I was expecting. Contacted the company by email, all very lovely issued a returns number etc, but Post Office don't carry perfume, and FedEx charge as much as it cost! Grrrrrrrr! Furious. So frustrated! Feel very duped.
shonam8
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 11th, 2018
I bought a bottle of Opium but it certainly isn't Opium I received. It smells terrible. I have used Opium for over 30 years and know what it smells like. Sent bottle back weeks ago and received email today saying nothing wrong with it and they are sending same stinky bottle back. Avoid this company as they certainly have ripped me off.
mattheww187
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 28th, 2018
I placed an order with this unscrupulous company on May 25 2018, and later received an e-mail from them, stating that it was inexplicably cancelled "due to a billing address error." Thinking the order was cancelled, I placed a second order the following day, May 26,2018. The company charged my card twice and shipped both orders, despite the e-mail from them stating that the first order had been cancelled, and the "order status" on their website for this order denoting "cancelled."

For some reason, I only received the first package on May 31,2018, which I promptly returned, expecting a refund. The second package, and the actual order I expected to receive, has yet to arrive to date. I have been strung along at every turn with this trifling company in my attempts to either obtain a refund or a replacement package. Their Customer Service number is left unanswered for hours and voicemails and order inquiries that I've made have gone unanswered. Further hampering matters is the fact that the UPS has found it difficult to contact the company, having also left voicemails concerning processing a claim for the lost package.

After 30 days had passed without resolution, I contested the charge with my issuing bank and had the fraudulent charges refunded. Save your money and purchase from a reputable business that'll answer the phone when you call and actually care to ensure that you receive product that you paid for.

Tip for consumers: Unless you are into consumer-oriented S&M, do NOT purchase from them!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
ganeshv1
1 review
10 helpful votes
January 23rd, 2016
I had placed an international order of perfume to be shipped to India... The parcel which they claimed to have sent me through USPS shipping never reached. USPS site showed tracing only in US and nothing after that... When I disputed of not receiving my package even after two months they never bothered about it and they stole my money... Please think 1000 times before you place order here and if you care for your hard earned money... They will suck your money...
jacquelineh52
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 29th, 2017
The headline basically says it. Although I paid 12.00 for expedited shipping the item didn't come in time for me to give it to my niece. I had to go and buy her another gift. They refused to refund me the expedited shipping. I have called a few times and no answer. I am now stuck with a bottle of perfume that i can't use. I won't be shopping with them again.
theoo5
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 12th, 2017
Ordered a product and was never delivered. They claimed DPD delivered it and were happy with what DPD was saying. I requested after several calls to speak to a manager and one of the call girls came back to me claiming she is the manager. Blatantly lying and been unprofessional on the phone.The fragrance Shop is only there to take your money and don't care after your card has been debited. Stay well away!
ts175
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
June 30th, 2016
I ordered two bottles because it was an excellent price, but as soon as I looked at the contents it was a light purple hue -- NOT the vibrant blue of Lacoste Essential Sport. I decided to try it just the same, and can DEFINITELY say that the fragrance is NOT the same product available in stores. It smells similar, but scent disappears immediately -- no staying power like my department store purchases. I would be very careful with this site.
mikell6
1 review
5 helpful votes
June 9th, 2016
These BASTARDS. I bought Lacoste Pour Femme from FragranceShop after finding they were *slightly* cheaper than other retailers.

HUGE mistake. I used the perfume once when I received the product (two months ago), and it seemed fine. If the fragrance was slightly off, I didn't notice it. Flash forward to today; the perfume is TOTALLY changed and obviously fake.

Consumers should report this to the FBI so they can investigate them for counterfeit goods. Seriously. These a-holes are scammers.
franciscog37
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 6th, 2017
On Nov/2017 bought Some Hugo By Hugo Boss Colognes and Oil, 10 days later ask, demanded to cancel these order, guys answer fast as lightning, apparently don't know the definition of customer service, they don't give nothing for free plus who knows about returning money?
timm304
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
November 29th, 2017
Absolutely useless service. Ordered item, never received. Waited hours on end to speak to someone on their customer helpline but NEVER even managed to speak to anyone once, just kept on hold.
Still not resolved! Dont know what else I can do?
Dont trust these cowboys!
laurak101
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 9th, 2016
They are shipping wrong products and refusing the pay postage label for returns. Communication is really bad. One representative is emailing this and another something else, no signatures, so I don't know whom I emailing. They don't answer the phone.
Still haven't been able to return the stuff and get my money back.
And they are still advertising the products on their website, even they don't have it.
christines158
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 20th, 2017
Ordered some perfume for christmas not received i have tried to find kept waiting as they say they are busy gave up after one hour is it s scam?
Service
Value
Shipping
Quality

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the The Fragrance Shop staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Online Perfume Shop - Cheap perfume, fragrance & aftershave brands including Chanel, Paco Rabanne and Hugo Boss. Free UK delivery options. Free click & collect.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about The Fragrance Shop?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

1.1
63 reviews
Have a question about The Fragrance Shop?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business

Related articles and tips

7 DIY Cosmetic Surgery Secrets That Will Save You Thousands of Dollars

You use expensive skin creams, eat nutritious foods, and drink lots of water. While your body thanks you for these efforts,... read more