We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    The Fragrance Shop

Corporate Values

Overview

The Fragrance Shop has a consumer rating of 1.14 stars from 69 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about The Fragrance Shop most frequently mention customer service and credit card problems. The Fragrance Shop ranks 188th among Perfume sites.

  • Service
    8
  • Value
    9
  • Shipping
    9
  • Returns
    9
  • Quality
    8
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 14.3%
Positive
1
Neutral
0
Negative
6
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • I phoned 'customer services' and was told the item is lost so another will be with me within 2 days.
  • I was in contact with the fragrance shop constantly chasing up my order with no response.
How would you rate The Fragrance Shop?
Top Positive Review

“We discover you right here generally with brilliant endeavors, and your worker's are beneficial, so”

ammy h.
1/24/21

We discover you right here generally with brilliant endeavors, and your worker's are beneficial, so we are glad to utilize your exquisite objects, so continue. As a result of you, we're extremely satisfied with you.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Appalling customer service”

Ian E.
6/17/20

Appalling service received item that had been damaged in the post advised them if this. Their initial response was ok advising to take pics etc which I did. That was 2 weeks ago heard nothing since despite additional emails from me they not even acknowledged it replied to any if them. Am therefore still waiting for a refund of money I paid them in good faith for which I received products that were unusable. Disgusted beyond belief, do not use this company!

See critical reviews

Reviews (69)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (16) fragrance shop (0)
iane51
1 review
9 helpful votes
June 17th, 2020

Appalling service received item that had been damaged in the post advised them if this. Their initial response was ok advising to take pics etc which I did. That was 2 weeks ago heard nothing since despite additional emails from me they not even acknowledged it replied to any if them. Am therefore still waiting for a refund of money I paid them in good faith for which I received products that were unusable. Disgusted beyond belief, do not use this company!

richardj820
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 20th, 2021

Same story as all the others... followed the return process but no refund after 6 weeks, now they've stopped responding to emails. I will not stand for this and will take legal action if necessary as it's not right (I think with proof of delivery and all these reviews I'll have a strong case... they're banking on nobody risking the solicitor fees on to recoup a relatively low amount (under £100). I will.

Service
Returns
philipj86
1 review
11 helpful votes
February 23rd, 2020

Absolutely disgusted had no problems with any other orders but this particular one I never recieved but they say it was signed for but it wasent. Just to prove my point my last fragrance was left in the garden with no signature again. Appalled useless service do not recommend to anyone...

markm3247
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 16th, 2021

I wish i could give less, 1 star is a compliment. Gift set for GF's birthday was spilled an damaged upon arrival still in box, empty! As you can see by the image the packaging was undamaged so this could only mean the bottle was not secured! 2 weeks of back and forthing with "Laurentiu U" got me nowhere. After 7 images of every conceivable angle they closed my case. No refund no return no nothing! Thanks for the waste of a time gift, il never shop with u again your customer service is horrendous your process of complaints is terrible and worse still you dont even care! As of this morning iv had to initiate a returns that i will have to travel and go out of my way to send back, because of your messup not mine, im the customer?! I order online, it arrives. Thats how it works, if i wanted to walk about id have gone to a store! Useless utterly useless. AVOID TRUST ME, THEY COULDNT CARE LESS. AVOID!

Tip for consumers:
AVOID GO ELSEWHERE THEY ARE A SHAMBLES

Products used:
Perfume Ariana Grande, didnt use sent back, empty bottle!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
dl466
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 17th, 2021

Avoid these guys. Failed to deliver item then refused to arrange rdfund without completely pointless paperwork. Spend your money elsewhere, these guys are dreadful.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
nigelp57
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 12th, 2021

Feel conned and ripped off and really never had such awful customer service. Supplied defective product and then won't accept a return or give a refund - terrible apathy of customer service - BUYER BEWARE!

Tip for consumers:
Don’t use this site !!!

Products used:
Nonel

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
debraw50
1 review
19 helpful votes
December 10th, 2016

I ordered WHITE Diamond, Liz over a wek ago. Order arrived in a short period in brown box with layers of protection, however; when I open and tried it on, it did not smell like the real thing. I went and sprayed the real thing on my arm and sure enough, it was different and the smell was hardly noticed. You could still smell mines after 30 mintues but Frangrance shop White diamond could not be detected after the first 15 minutes. Its a Fake but right now I am not going to worry about it. It's a lesson learned and will not be ordering again. Debra W. 12-11-16.

lindac140
1 review
8 helpful votes
November 16th, 2015

I purchased perfume for delivery in australia, Australia Post acknowledges that it hasn't been
Delivered yet Fragranceshop claims that their insurance claim has been denied because it has been delivered.
I have been unable to get any proof of this from them and this has taken over 2 months to get this far.
NO SATISFACTION WHATSOVER!

dyanef
1 review
10 helpful votes
August 15th, 2013

After ordering 2 times with these people with 2 different credit cards, my credit cards were used fraudulously for online purchases totalling 500$. I don't know if this is just a ''coincidence'' but I, for sure, will not order at fragranceshop.com anymore!

mt414
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 10th, 2020

The actual website and purchase was simply, although the correspondence was very poor.
I placed an order for £91.20 on the 22/11/20.
After 3 days I received an email informing me the items had been dispatched and I was sent a tracking number.
The expected date of delivery was around 5 days after ordering the items.
When they didn't arrive I tried to track the items and the tracking number redirected me to the Royal Mail site, where I was informed that the Royal Mail were still waiting to receive the items from the fragrance shop.
I emailed the fragrance shop, the response has always been slow and I am still 18 days later no nearer to receiving the items I ordered.
I have emailed and replied to emails and signed a form so an investigation can take place, but if the Royal Mail haven't received the items, I certainly haven't either, so why I should have to endure all this delay.
I'm no Einstein but if Royal Mail haven't had them then neither have I.
The whole point of using the website was because we were in lockdown again and I wanted to purchase some Christmas presents.
Now I am left with no presents and the fragrance shop still have my money, with no comment on when and if I will receive a refund.
I have now contacted PayPal as I feel that's the only chance I have of getting a refund.
I will never give the fragrance another penny in custom and I certainly will never recommend anyone to purchase from them.
I'd rather pay over the odds else where.

jamieh462
1 review
16 helpful votes
August 14th, 2020

What can I say about my experience? The most unhelpful, untrustworthy company I've ever ordered from. Lets start off on the 23rd July, when I paid special delivery to arrive 24th July where it states if you order before 5pm this will be honoured, the order was delayed until the 25th July when I was due to fly away, no worries I can change my "DPD" delivery for when i'm back on the 3rd August, it didn't arrive... 4th August DPD have told me my parcel hasn't been last scanned since 25th July & potentially missing, I then phone the Fragrance shop & they did not want to help me as they've no record of it being lost, I've called everyday since the 4th August with this sender not be willing to send me a replacement while the investigation with DPD is ongoing. I expect much better customer service then this because THE FRAGRANCE SHOP should see the order was placed on the 23rd July & has not been received due to it being missing, but they won't send a replacement until fully confirmed from all depots which can take weeks. Don't use this company as when an order goes wrong, they won't help you & treat you with such disregard, worst customer service. HELP OTHER BUSINESSES, not this dreadful one!

julieb793
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 24th, 2019

Just now
Rubbish
Would like to put no stars here. Absolutely zero customer service, no one seems to know what they are doing or Care. Had an item that came damaged on the 4th June and after many emails, calls, photos sent in still no replacement. I requested mgr to contact means what a surprise still waiting. Don't waste your money with this company

susmitap
1 review
11 helpful votes
May 23rd, 2019

I ordered multiple perfume from them including Gucci-envy me, Ralph Lauren-romance, Juicy couture-rose and Giorgio-Beverly hills. I can tell Romance and Rose are fake. Other 2 still I am not sure as received day before yesterday. Never thought to receive duplicate/fake item.

pardeepr
1 review
9 helpful votes
January 5th, 2017

Really bad service. I purchased some aftershave which was then delivered damaged. After several phones calls and escalations, I was advised I can either go an return into store or for a replacement return to a Londis store. Not happy at the inconvenience it was causing myself with me being a carer to a disabled child. Sill haven't received pre paid postage to sent it back in. Worse service ever. They don't have a clue on wat they are doing.

harrisons49
1 review
10 helpful votes
September 30th, 2018

Ive just bought an aftershave from the their store. The Price was good and the packaging looked legit but as soon as I opened it you can tell it looked off the colouring of the aftershave and the products itself was slightly wrong and the lid didnt fit well after spraying it wasn't the right smell at all just smelt cheap generic aftershave they also wouldn't let me return the product. Avoid at all costs its a scam

olgav2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
August 23rd, 2017

I received only 1 item instead of 2 purchased. CS requested me to fill the insurance claim for USPS, but since I sent them the form and pictures, I have never received either any response or refund for the item missed and its shipping cost from them. Moreover, they blocked my account instead!
I guess they might got the insurance from USPS/make fraudulent operations with insurance claims of its customers.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
franka89
1 review
8 helpful votes
November 30th, 2017

Do not order from this company. Order a cologne that i've being using for years. (Chrome) and just got robbed. It looks the same but no fragrance at all, smells like rubbing alcohol. I bought on line b4 from other places and never had any issues. I will spend the extra 40 bucks and going back to the mall... NJ store *******960 stay away from this place... Frank

salh18
1 review
11 helpful votes
January 9th, 2017

Very awful service with very bad sales team. They dont care your time always got late and when you will call them so will reply you with rude way. I ordered few perfumes they took my money very quick but take more than 15 days to deliver my order. Please try to avoid this service otherwise get ready to pissed our self off. They are the most unethical company i ever deal with

lizb50
1 review
13 helpful votes
January 21st, 2016

Ordered 2 bottles of Fendi (discontinued in UK) spent £86. Arrived promptly, but knew as soon as I saw the packaging it was fake. The scent was vaguely floral rather than the punchy orangey/cloves/patchouli I was expecting. Contacted the company by email, all very lovely issued a returns number etc, but Post Office don't carry perfume, and FedEx charge as much as it cost! Grrrrrrrr! Furious. So frustrated! Feel very duped.

shonam8
1 review
12 helpful votes
July 11th, 2018

I bought a bottle of Opium but it certainly isn't Opium I received. It smells terrible. I have used Opium for over 30 years and know what it smells like. Sent bottle back weeks ago and received email today saying nothing wrong with it and they are sending same stinky bottle back. Avoid this company as they certainly have ripped me off.

ammyh1
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
January 24th, 2021

We discover you right here generally with brilliant endeavors, and your worker's are beneficial, so we are glad to utilize your exquisite objects, so continue. As a result of you, we're extremely satisfied with you.

mattheww187
1 review
13 helpful votes
June 28th, 2018

I placed an order with this unscrupulous company on May 25 2018, and later received an e-mail from them, stating that it was inexplicably cancelled "due to a billing address error." Thinking the order was cancelled, I placed a second order the following day, May 26,2018. The company charged my card twice and shipped both orders, despite the e-mail from them stating that the first order had been cancelled, and the "order status" on their website for this order denoting "cancelled."

For some reason, I only received the first package on May 31,2018, which I promptly returned, expecting a refund. The second package, and the actual order I expected to receive, has yet to arrive to date. I have been strung along at every turn with this trifling company in my attempts to either obtain a refund or a replacement package. Their Customer Service number is left unanswered for hours and voicemails and order inquiries that I've made have gone unanswered. Further hampering matters is the fact that the UPS has found it difficult to contact the company, having also left voicemails concerning processing a claim for the lost package.

After 30 days had passed without resolution, I contested the charge with my issuing bank and had the fraudulent charges refunded. Save your money and purchase from a reputable business that'll answer the phone when you call and actually care to ensure that you receive product that you paid for.

Tip for consumers:
Unless you are into consumer-oriented S&M, do NOT purchase from them!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
ganeshv1
1 review
12 helpful votes
January 23rd, 2016

I had placed an international order of perfume to be shipped to India... The parcel which they claimed to have sent me through USPS shipping never reached. USPS site showed tracing only in US and nothing after that... When I disputed of not receiving my package even after two months they never bothered about it and they stole my money... Please think 1000 times before you place order here and if you care for your hard earned money... They will suck your money...

jacquelineh52
1 review
8 helpful votes
December 29th, 2017

The headline basically says it. Although I paid 12.00 for expedited shipping the item didn't come in time for me to give it to my niece. I had to go and buy her another gift. They refused to refund me the expedited shipping. I have called a few times and no answer. I am now stuck with a bottle of perfume that i can't use. I won't be shopping with them again.

theoo5
1 review
9 helpful votes
May 12th, 2017

Ordered a product and was never delivered. They claimed DPD delivered it and were happy with what DPD was saying. I requested after several calls to speak to a manager and one of the call girls came back to me claiming she is the manager. Blatantly lying and been unprofessional on the phone.The fragrance Shop is only there to take your money and don't care after your card has been debited. Stay well away!

Q&A (1)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the The Fragrance Shop staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Online Perfume Shop - Cheap perfume, fragrance & aftershave brands including Chanel, Paco Rabanne and Hugo Boss. Free UK delivery options. Free click & collect.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about The Fragrance Shop?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about The Fragrance Shop?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business

Related articles and tips

7 DIY Cosmetic Surgery Secrets That Will Save You Thousands of Dollars

You use expensive skin creams, eat nutritious foods, and drink lots of water. While your body thanks you for these efforts,... read more