Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

TheFragranceShop reviews

Is this your business?
60 reviews
Trafford Park Road
Manchester, MANC M1, GB
Tel: +44 (0) 0161 468 1701
customerservice@thefragranceshop.co.uk

60 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
Service
5
Value
6
Shipping
6
Returns
6
Quality
5

All Reviews

julieb793
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/24/19

Just now
Rubbish
Would like to put no stars here. Absolutely zero customer service, no one seems to know what they are doing or Care. Had an item that came damaged on the 4th June and after many emails, calls, photos sent in still no replacement. I requested mgr to contact means what a surprise still waiting. Don't waste your money with this company

susmitap
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/23/19

I ordered multiple perfume from them including Gucci-envy me, Ralph Lauren-romance, Juicy couture-rose and Giorgio-Beverly hills. I can tell Romance and Rose are fake. Other 2 still I am not sure as received day before yesterday. Never thought to receive duplicate/fake item.

palomas2
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/23/18

On the 16th of December you told me to allow you 5 working days. On the 21st you told me to allow you 72 hours! Is this a joke? It jas been 1 month and 3 days since I order my perfume and still have NO PERFUME NO MONEY AND NO PRESENT FOR MY MUM.

Why does it take you 2 days to take my money of my account when I bought the perfume and more than 1 MONTH to give it back?

I want my money TODAY!!!

adamb166
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
12/17/18

ok. so after ordering several items online and paying in full. The order finally arrives (much later than other companies I order from). The order is incomplete, whoever packed it has put an x next to the item they could not send. So I request a refund by email and recieve a response that I have to complete an "incomplete order form and email photos of the box, delivery note and contents". So I do all that by email and request refund again to which I recieve reply stating that all the papers Ive submitted are correct and asking if I want them to send the item next day delivery or want a refund.... So I request refund again, recieve nothing for 10 days. Phone customer services and speak to Harriet whom I explain situation to and say that I want her to process the refund on the phone to which she replies "100% I will do that", within minutes she is back tracking on her undertaking and ends up telling me that I was never charged for the perfume (this is nonsense as my order summary shows i paid for it). she goes on to tell me that the fragrance shop customer services cannot process a refund on the phone... this directly contradicts her undertaking at the start of the call to refund me on the phone. I point this out as a lie, which she then disputes. She ends up putting me on hold for several minutes without waiting for my permission to do so. Very very unhelpful person with serious attitude and no people skills. This company has made me jump through hoops to try and get this refund and they are even worse on the phone than they are by email. steer well clear of them

Tip for consumers: buy your fragrances elsewhere, the service is poor, they charge for things they do not have in stock and the customer service is abysmal. One actually lied to me.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
aminm14
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/7/18

Never again.

I ordered 2 items on 23/11/18 and was suppose to get it within 5 working days. I was given a tracking link to Hermes and after 2 days it was sitting at it's national hub. I phoned 'customer services' and was told the item is lost so another will be with me within 2 days. 4 days later I phoned again and was told it was requested but wasn't shipped. Another order will be placed and I should get it on Monday. If I don't get it on Monday I shall claim my refund not through the Fragrance Shop as I have read they don't refund, but through Paypal or Credit Card bank under Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act 1974.
I will never shop with this company again. Debenhams do a good deal for the same item.

jessicah329
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/3/18

I ordered a bottle of paul smiths aftershave and The POLICE gift set for a birthday present over 3 weeks ago . I was in contact with the fragrance shop constantly chasing up my order with no response . Finally, on Friday 29th September I received my package . I was curious as to why the parcel was so small and i was extremely disappointed to find i was only sent the paul smith aftershave but not the police gift set . The delivery note only had the paul smiths item number and contacted them to explain why i only received one item . I also sent them pictures of my package and the box and delivery note and explained nothing else could physically fixed inside the package so it wasn't as if the courier tampered with the box. I have been asked to send pictures of each side of the box encase there was evidence of the box being opened . I ALREADY SENT THEM PICTURES AND explained that nothing could possible fit in the box other than the aftershave . NO ONE is getting back to me . No one . i have tried ringing but just keeps going to an automated message . Not only was I distressed that the person I ordered for didn't receive their birthday present, but now when I finally did receive it , it was only ONE item ? I am so disgusted . They are completely ignoring me when i have PAID for a gift its sickening.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
harrisons49
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/30/18

Ive just bought an aftershave from the their store. the Price was good and the packaging looked legit but as soon as I opened it you can tell it looked off the colouring of the aftershave and the products itself was slightly wrong and the lid didnt fit well after spraying it wasn't the right smell at all just smelt cheap generic aftershave they also wouldn't let me return the product. avoid at all costs its a scam

shonam8
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/11/18

I bought a bottle of Opium but it certainly isn't Opium I received. It smells terrible. I have used Opium for over 30 years and know what it smells like. Sent bottle back weeks ago and received email today saying nothing wrong with it and they are sending same stinky bottle back. Avoid this company as they certainly have ripped me off.

mattheww187
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/28/18

I placed an order with this unscrupulous company on May 25 2018, and later received an e-mail from them, stating that it was inexplicably cancelled "due to a billing address error." Thinking the order was cancelled, I placed a second order the following day, May 26, 2018. The company charged my card twice and shipped both orders, despite the e-mail from them stating that the first order had been cancelled, and the "order status" on their website for this order denoting "cancelled."

For some reason, I only received the first package on May 31, 2018, which I promptly returned, expecting a refund. The second package, and the actual order I expected to receive, has yet to arrive to date. I have been strung along at every turn with this trifling company in my attempts to either obtain a refund or a replacement package. Their Customer Service number is left unanswered for hours and voicemails and order inquiries that I've made have gone unanswered. Further hampering matters is the fact that the UPS has found it difficult to contact the company, having also left voicemails concerning processing a claim for the lost package.

After 30 days had passed without resolution, I contested the charge with my issuing bank and had the fraudulent charges refunded. Save your money and purchase from a reputable business that'll answer the phone when you call and actually care to ensure that you receive product that you paid for.

Tip for consumers: Unless you are into consumer-oriented S&M, do NOT purchase from them!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
deef31
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/15/18

They used a picture of Tommy Girl cologne but sent toilet water...Selling toilet water for price of cologne.

jacquelineh52
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/29/17

The headline basically says it. Although I paid 12.00 for expedited shipping the item didn't come in time for me to give it to my niece. I had to go and buy her another gift. They refused to refund me the expedited shipping. I have called a few times and no answer. I am now stuck with a bottle of perfume that i can't use. I won't be shopping with them again.

melissar134
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/20/17

Do not order from this company. I waited and waited for my order to ship. Called twice; sent to voicemail, with no reply. Sent emails; no reply. I contacted my credit card company about the charge and filed dispute. That's when I got a reply from them saying refund back to card was issued. They couldn't respond until I mentioned dispute. I would not order from them.

christines158
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/20/17

ordered some perfume for christmas not received i have tried to find kept waiting as they say they are busy gave up after one hour is it s scam?

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
danielk135
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/17/17

I have placed several orders from The Fragrance Shop (UK) over the last year without issues. But there was a problem with my latest, placed October 1. When opening the package I discovered that the perfume had been used before. The plastic wrapping was ripped apart, the box had several creases, the inner cardboard had creases and typical bending wear, I immediately smelled the perfume from the box with the cap still on, the bottle had lots of stains and finally it came a burst of perfume from the very first push of the atomizer. None of this happens with new sealed perfumes.

I contacted The Fragrance Shop about it and got the following answers:

Oct 11: Once my manager has looked into this someone will be in touch with you. That never happened so I contacted them again.

Oct 21: Please be advised that this matter is currently being looked into by my manager. Still, nothing happened so I contacted them yet again.

Nov 11: I can see that my colleague has chased this up with my manager yesterday for you. No, that never happened as well. Just lies, lies and more lies.

Nov 29 I contacted them for the last time telling them that my business with them is over. 5 days later I got a reply: I can see that my colleague has chased this up with my manager so I am awaiting for a reply from my manager to see if there is something that we can do for you. Well, its Dec 17 and Im still awaiting

Its when a problem occurs you can see the true colours of a company. The Fragrance Shop has very clearly shown theirs.

Avoid!

franciscog37
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/6/17

On Nov/2017 bought Some Hugo By Hugo Boss Colognes and Oil ,10 days later ask ,demanded to cancel these order, guys answer fast as lightning ,apparently don't know the definition of customer service,they don't give nothing for free plus who knows about returning money?

franka89
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/30/17

Do not order from this company. Order a cologne that i've being using for years. (Chrome) and just got robbed. It looks the same but no fragrance at all, smells like rubbing alcohol. I bought on line b4 from other places and never had any issues.. I will spend the extra 40 bucks and going back to the mall..... NJ store 800 940 9960 stay away from this place..... Frank

timm304
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/29/17

Absolutely useless service. Ordered item, never received. Waited hours on end to speak to someone on their customer helpline but NEVER even managed to speak to anyone once, just kept on hold.
Still not resolved! Dont know what else I can do?
Dont trust these cowboys!

olgav2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/23/17

I received only 1 item instead of 2 purchased. CS requested me to fill the insurance claim for USPS, but since I sent them the form and pictures, I have never received either any response or refund for the item missed and its shipping cost from them. Moreover, they blocked my account instead!
I guess they might got the insurance from USPS/make fraudulent operations with insurance claims of its customers.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
theoo5
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/12/17

Ordered a product and was never delivered.they claimed DPD delivered it and were happy with what DPD was saying.I requested after several calls to speak to a manager and one of the call girls came back to me claiming she is the manager.Blatantly lying and been unprofessional on the phone.The fragrance Shop is only there to take your money and don't care after your card has been debited.Stay well away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hannal10
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/17/17

I got the fragrance "Christian Dior". it was Not manufacture-sealed and even did Not smell like Christian Dior.
perfume they sent to me was fake.

i requested a refund. i will consider to send it on expertise for the fraud.

salh18
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/9/17

Very awful service with very bad sales team.They dont care your time always got late and when you will call them so will reply you with rude way.I ordered few perfumes they took my money very quick but take more than 15 days to deliver my order.Please try to avoid this service otherwise get ready to pissed our self off ..They are the most unethical company i ever deal with

pardeepr
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/5/17

Really bad service. I purchased some aftershave which was then delivered damaged. After several phones calls and escalations, I was advised I can either go an return into store or for a replacement return to a Londis store. Not happy at the inconvenience it was causing myself with me being a carer to a disabled child. Sill haven't received pre paid postage to sent it back in. Worse service ever. They don't have a clue on wat they are doing.

simond45
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/19/16

To be avoided at all costs! My card was charged over 100 euro, but I never received the goods. They even claimed that it was sent to me with a carirer called DPD.
For a whole week, I tried to get in touch with a Customer Service rep over the phone. I spent at least 15-20 minutes every time, being put on hold each and every time, eventually giving up because I was never able to speak to someone. Being from outside the UK, this was considered international calling.
Also, I clicked on the DPD link to see what was going on with my order, and after it claimed that I started an address inquiry and the package couldn't be delivered, now it says that there is NO current information about it!
I sent numerous emails to customer service for the past month. They responded twice, 3 weeks ago and never returned with a final answer or a refund.

grahamw26
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/19/16

Ordered perfume but no email confirmation...tried to call 3 times .... but on hold for over 30mins each time ... gave up ...sent 2 emails ...no reply.. not holding out much hope in receiving goods ...

janetc79
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/12/16

Purchased perfume but never received. Very bad customer service as they do not bother to reply to their customers. Would never buy from again. Still chasing refund.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the TheFragranceShop staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

2 Photos for TheFragranceShop

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
TheFragranceShop?
Post Review