Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Swegway Hoverboards reviews

16 reviews
Tel: 0800 689 5203

16 reviews with 1 star

anneo33
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/5/19
I ordered a swegway hoverboard for christmas for my young son.It arrived within a few days as advertised with free delivery to the Republic of Ireland.It came authentically packaged and was working perfectly until 2 weeks ago when the battery is now constantly on red and is not charging up.Despite numerous emails stating the problem no one from Swegways.co.uk has contacted me.Like many others the phone line is apparently too busy to be answered with a wait time of 30 minutes.I now realise I have been scammed as when you try to log onto the website of swegways.co.uk the error response appears.I am disgusted and really annoyed at myself for being scammed as I am very sceptical and clued into these things.Unfortunately my little boy who adored this gadget will have to go without.These people are scum of the earth with their main focus on greed.I hope they get what they deserve but right now, I like many have been taken for a ride, pardon the pun!

Tip for consumers: Avoid like the plague

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
joannem186
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/11/19
Ordered "free next day delivery" last Saturday. Arrived Wednesday night at 7:30pm. Had to charge as power light red. Charged for 3 hours at night then an hour next morning. My 11 year old woke up and wanted to have a go. She was so excited. Board just kept beeping with power indicator tuening red as soon as she tried to use it.
Rang Swegway-Hoverboards when rhey opened that morning. On hold ages (up to 30 minute wait on the annoying auto message). I eventually spoke to someone who told me he had done a "master re-set" and I needed to charge again for an hour then it should work! I immediately knew this was ridiculous and told him so but he insisted. So I followed instructions and as expected it still didn't work. My daughtwr was so upset as she had used all her birthday and Christmas money to buy one in the sales.
I rang again and after 30 minutes on hold I spoke to the same guy who said he qpuld have it picked up Monday and beought back for analysis and repair. I said I wasn't happy as it ahould work bug the box had clearly been opened several times and the unit had scratch marks on it. He tried to suggest we had done it but I was dilming her opening the delivery box as her Dad was away and wantes to see her open it. I told him I had videos of the box and the scratches on the new board. At this point he said to email
The photos theough and his boss would have a look and IF he thought ot was faulty or damaged i could have a replacement. I said I wanted a refund and he said I wasn't entitled to one but after I suggeated very firmly that I was, he said hos boss would review the email in the next 48
Hours and let me know. So now we are waiting to
Know whether a little girl has lost her £140 to this company or if they will so the right thing and refund her. Paid by Pay-pal so will be claiming.
Just wish we had seen these reviews first!
sergior26
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/5/18
Omar Farook Altaf Sattar - this is the guy who the company is regsitered under. Now he should start looking over his shoulder.... Omar Farook Altaf Sattar, what goes around comes around....
lukash20
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/9/18
Unlike many people reporting here and elsewhere. I DID get the item, but was faulty when I opened it and fully broke 2 hours later. I attempted to contact the seller.Their 'Phone number' goes straight to an O2 voicemail box which is nearly always fullI have sent no fewer than 30 emails with only 3 replies, two of which were identical and clearly written by a bot Their Contact me form on their website does nothing.Thankfully I ordered with pay pal so I can get my money back!
also my daughter now questions the existance of Santa
robertay3
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/22/17
Has anyone received there hoverboard i ordered on the 28/11/12 and still not received yet. Tryed everything to contact them and still nothing.
gemmal14
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/15/17
I ordered as I thought seeing a map and a registered company and address that this was a genuine company. When I coped on that there are no reviews and that it is impossible to contact this "company", I realised that it is a fraudulent business.
I have emailed, website queried, phoned etc, to cancel my order.
I have received no response.
Several claims against this "business" on PayPal...why do they allow this to continue?
DO NOT BUY from this, or any other company, without seeing verified reviews and being able to contact the company.
susiem25
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/12/17
Oh how I wish I done my homework before I ordered, don't bother trying to contact them they answer what they want and then end chat, My bank have passed on to the fraud department & I have also reported to trading standards, I suggest you all post on ur social media warning people, MrG is a thief but you have picked the wrong person as I have already found out a lot and won't leave it here!
dannyg43
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/5/17
They just don't deliver and don't answer queries. Phone is always unattended don't respon to emails, chat is open periodically but just lie to you and give you another date a few days into the future. Claims next day delivery. Been waiting since 25th November and now 5th December and no sign of it. Tracking info is fake and not updated, courier states parcel has not arrived with them to deliver to me. Have now raised claim with PayPal. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS SITE ITS A SCAM.
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message to resolve your issue.
jasonp139
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/5/17
PURCHASED ON BLACK FRIDAY AND STILL AWAITING DELIVERY. NO TRACKING DETAILS, NOT ANSWERING THE TELEPHONE. CONTACTED PAYPAL FOR A REFUND.
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message to resolve your issue.
juliem243
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/17
Ordered on 23.11.17. No confirmation email. Waited 3 days, no item received. Won't answer phone or reply to emails. Only contact has been through chat where they just lie to you. Was told there had been an issue with payment clearing which is nonsense as I checked. Then told me a new day that it would arrive and nothing. I have opened a case with PayPal so I'm hoping it will be sorted soon. If anything does arrive, I will not sign for it as I don't believe it will be genuine anyway. So disappointing, do not waste your time with this scam!
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message to resolve your issue
samh151
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/17
Terrible really awful Im contacting watchdog! This is not right Im a single mum and struggled to save this up! There is no order received when told next day! Yodel still says parcel is with seller!
Im so so upset been crying all morning about it
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message with your details to resolve your issue.
vikis4
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/1/17
Bought a Segway and paid using PayPal, item not received 7 days later, Phone constantly turned off dont reply to emails. Absolute scammers
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message with your details to resolve your issue.
bevw17
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/1/17
Ordered Sunday for next day delivery. Now Friday - not delivered. No answer on the telephone, and not answering the numerous e-mails. Have now e-mailed to cancel order through both their e-mail and through PayPal. Still no response. Surprisingly the order tracking has now changed from processing to completed - even though it should have been cancelled. Only hope I will be able to return it if and when it arrives. Their website says it charges £30 for a courier return! Do not order from m this site!!
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message with your details to resolve your issue.
sarahg199
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/29/17
No next day delivery, Dont answer emails or phone absolute joke of a company! Do not waste your money! Luckily I paid by PayPal and am claiming my £200 back
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message with your details to resolve your issue.
unknownu25
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/29/17
this is a scam. do not order. ordered on friday and it is thursday now and no segway! this was a present for my daughter for xmas and lost £220.
they have excuses on live chat and when accuse them of scam they shut it down! truth hurts!
Will be claiming money back from paypal and reporting to trading standard.
they give you excuses claiming it is yodels fault!LIES
corinnes1
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
11/27/17
I ordered a hover board for my sons birthday which was on Sunday, so was looking for a hover board near his birthday because the Black Friday sales were on that week, i found one on swegway hover boards on Wednesday morning so didn't delay in ordering it as it stated next day delivery was perfect. I was working the next day so while I was out I got someone to sit in all day, when I returned it hadn't arrived it got to 7 in the evening so emailed the company but had no response. I was off the next day so rang the number on the website, no answer so left my details for them to get back to me on the answering machine. Again I emailed them twice and finally got a reply stating they had a high volume of orders so couldn't meet the next day delivery and I would get it early the following week, this was no good for me as I needed it for my sons birthday on Sunday and the only reason I'd ordered from them was because of next day delivery, so I emailed back stating this and that if it wasn't delivered by Friday I wanted my money back, Friday came and at 7 that evening I read there terms and conditions, if I want a refund I must email within 14 days this only applies if it's not been shipped, they never answer there emails or the phone and what are the odds when I do get through its been shipped. It's now Monday evening and still no hover board my sons birthday has been and gone ruined because they took my £200 for it and I couldn't afford to buy him anything else. I've contacted trading standards and they have informed me there in breach and I could pursue them for damages. DO NOT RELY ON NEXT DAY DELIVERY !!!! Steer clear of this website at all costs.
Response from MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Our apologies about your bad experience, please send us a private message with your details to resolve your issue.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi, we like to apologise for any delays you guys have experience but please understand that the period you purchased during was the busy Black Friday period and we got overwhelmed with orders, we only anticipated a couple of hundred extra orders, however it ended up being a couple of thousand extra orders. Now that is highly appreciated but our delivery companies we were using could only manage a couple of hundred parcels a day, hence why there's been a delay in you receiving your order. I also would like to apologise to not getting back to all our customers as quick as we liked to have, however again this is due to the volume of orders and request and queries we were dealing with. If anyone has any further issues please feel free to contact us on support@swegwayhoverboards.co.uk and I will personally deal it myself. In regards to our products, I see a few people having concern of the authenticity of our products but please be assured that all our products are tested prior to going out and have been certified and tested by numerous authorities to ensure the products are safe for sale. Hope all customers can understand our circumstances and accept our apologies in any delays caused to you, however we are a genuine company and would like nothing but to satisfy our customers with our quality products and deliver the best service possible.

By MR G., Swegway Hoverboards Representative
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It took them 6 days, it's not the best quality but does what it says, it is from Yongkang which presuming is somewhere in China because when you pair up the Bluetooth she has a Chinese twang in her English and the instructions are in Chinese and poorly spelt English, not sure I believe there's a genuine Samsung battery in it now so won't be leaving it on charge unattended. The seat on the kart is flimsy but the rest is quite sturdy.

By Corinne S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I finally received the item but it's obviously not genuine or safe! I've raised with PayPal but they day's I have to send back. However I have to pay shipping! Did you return item fir your refund?

By Caroline G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You have my full sympathy. The only way I ever manage any contact is through their chat. They just lie to you and then cut you off. I refused my delivery as i had enough of them before it even arrived. I'm still fighting to get money back. I've got a case with PayPal under review and if that fails, I will try with my credit card company. I knew it would probably be fake goods so refused delivery. Good luck.

By Julie M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes eventually! I had to phone PayPal as they gave wrong tracking so PayPal had to manually check the tracking!

By Sarah G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer -1
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No they take your money and dont send items

By Sarah G.
Questions? Get answers from the Swegway Hoverboards staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Swegway Hoverboards?
Post Review