Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of SearchBug

SearchBug reviews

14 reviews
364 2nd St, Suite 4
Encinitas, CA 92024, USA
Tel: 7604547301
support@searchbug.com

14 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

iy3
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/17/18

Overcharged me while they didn't provide any data and didn't want to refund cuz there is a min. What a bad experience

Response from Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Unfortunately, we are unable to locate this person as a real customer since they only left initials. We work hard to help customers understand what they are purchasing and some just don't take the time to read through our website, call our support line, or send us a chat message to ask questions prior to ordering. Then, when they are disappointed with the results they ask for a refund not understanding they purchased the wrong service for their needs.

We've been online for 20 years and have thousands of satisfied customers from small businesses to Fortune 100 clients. When users understand what they are ordering or ask for help before ordering, everything typically goes smoothly. We are only human and sometimes expectations aren't managed properly or met, and customers find it easier to blame us, then realizing they didn't read or follow instructions.

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I'm sure we offered you some sort of credit on your account since we pride ourselves on satisfied customers and would never want to have a disappointed client leave a bad review. We would also help you with your next data set to clean your list if that is the service you ordered. If it was a premium lookup or an assisted order from an investigator we don't know since you only left initials and no way to contact you here. Why not send our support an email or call us so we can help you. Our minimum for a batch is only $7 and our minimum on premium records is only $2.50 so we are happy to offer help and account credit for future orders. When using our website, please read everything or call us if you're not 100% sure of what data you need.
kathiep5
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
9/6/18

I am trying to remove my presence from the internet & have been pretty sucessful. Until I got to SearchBug.com. It is hard to imagine that it can be LEGAL for a website to operate like this! Why is it ok for them to sell me the right to remove my information from their site? Does anyone EVER get a free listing, which they say can be easily removed? Where do they get permission to list me as a Premium listing, which, of course, will cost me $20 to have removed? I cannot imagine that his can be LEGAL!!

Response from Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
If you are trying to remove yourself from the internet there is an article on CNN here that can help you. https://www.cnet.com/how-to/remove-delete-yourself-from-the-internet/

With that said, there are no laws that require public records research companies to obtain permission to gather public records and present them in a readable form online for sale. This is exactly like the old printed white pages from your phone company. If you wanted to be “unlisted” from 411 or the white pages you paid the phone company a fee.

There are no laws being broken nor is it illegal for a company to collect a fee for doing work. We charge a fee since it takes time and effort to block records from showing up since we don't own any of the data. It's obtained from all over the interent. Don't want to have your information online anywhere, follow the steps in the article above. It's really unfortunate that people can give any company a bad rating and complain about them without merit or even being a customer.

Anyone can get personal public information simply by visiting other public records information providers, or at the city or county office, especially if you own property or file any public record documents. Due to the Freedom of Information Act, it’s all quite legal.

We charge a fee to “block” records from the premium data from showing up on the website since it takes time and resources. Our staff must spend time and effort to block records. We have a posted Opt-out policy (which is not required by law) for anyone that wants to be blocked. Legally we don't need to offer a way to opt-out due to the Freedom of Information Act but do so as a courtesy and hence charge a fee due to the administrative costs..

Our data comes from many sources which are of public record stemming from the FCRA - http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/031224fcra.pdf
Further information that answers all the questions on the attached document can be found here: http://www.privacyrights.org/ar/infobrokers.htm
This is a list of online data brokers that sell similar information - http://www.privacyrights.org/online-information-brokers-list

As a courtesy, which could have been accomplished by simply calling our toll free 800 number we would like to offer to block your information from showing up on our website without a fee, but we do not have enough information to do so. If you’d like to email support with a copy of this review and a screenshot of the information you would like blocked, we’d be happy to help you as a courtesy. However, starting sometime in early 2019 we plan to remove access to all the previews so no one’s information will be shown publicly. We hope that provides you with some satisfaction.
pata84
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/26/18

Been using them for 3 years now, and *Sarah* is always accommodating, professional and quick to help me get my issue resolved. She makes my job so much easier to do!

archerw3
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/13/18

Great service. Does exactly what you need it to do, reliable, cost effective. Owners are great people.

Response from Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Thank you, Archer, your kind words are much appreciated.
denised101
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/16/17

I just wanted to update my review. The incorect information was due to fraud on my fathers social security number. I want to say that they did a great job and always answered any questions i had. It was not there fault the social was being used by different people. I would use them again!

denised100
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/13/17

I gave them a social security number and they still couldnt find the right person. They shouldn't get peoples hopes up they should be ashamed of them selves. Everyone should post on facebook that it's a scam.

Response from Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Hi Denise, Thank you for updating your review to reflect the efforts of our staff. We try to go above and beyond and I hope that came through with the followup information. We do appreciate you taking the time to update this. If you're able to remove this one, we'd really appreciate that but I''m not familiar with the Sitejabber policy. Cheers!
disgustedhorrifieda
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/22/17

This is a horrible company that should be ashamed of themselves. They display people's personal info against their will and endanger their lives and peace of mind. And want to charge innocent victims money to remove information that they should not be displaying in the first place. Disgusting, horrible scam! Sickening and disheartening. There should be laws to prevent this kind of awfulness from taking place if there aren't already. Info should be removed without wanting to steal money from innocent people and without wanting to pry further into innocent people's lives. What a sick scam!

Response from Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are not able to find you as a customer and we are unable to know if we had recently been in contact with you because you have not supplemented this review with your name. We would like to get in contact with you to address your concerns about the information that we are able to provide as well as our removal policy and process. Please allow us to address your issues by calling our support team at 760-454-7301 M-F 7am-430pm PST or by sending us an email at Support@Searchbug.com. We hope to hear from you! Thank you and have a great day.
robertp58
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
12/22/15

Searched for myself and two close friends. All information was ancient and 50% was inaccurate. Latest info on myself was over 20 years old. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

Response from Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Hi Robert,

Thanks for your review. I'd like to address your concerns but can't find you as a customer in our system based on your profile here on sitejabber. Did just run free searches which are only published records. If you paid for searches, I'd like to know what searches you performed so we can see exactly what happened here. If you could contact our office at 800-990-2939 or send support [at] seachbug.com and email and let us know your account number (or even reply here with a private message with a contact phone number) we'll call you to make sure you're satisfied. We are only successful if our customers are happy. We'd like to look and see exactly what searches were performed and if you did pay for searches, I'd be happy to issue a refund if you're not happy. Please contact us. Thank you.
ericr45
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/28/15

I've been using SearchBug for several years and I'm so happy I've found them. They have helped me in so many ways and their customer service is top notch. Thanks again for being a company I can always depend on. I appreciate it more than you can imagine.

normanc12
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/27/15

I got to Searchbug through a YouTube spot supposedly teaching how to spot lookup scans. I entered the number I wanted got nothing although I could get a report for blah, blah second number was my own cell phone # ditto. Then I entered my home landline, which is listed and I got the same as above. If they can't get you a listed number they they are just as incompetent as those that they were critiquing

Tip for consumers: Don't

Service
Value
Response from Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Hi Norman,
I completely agree. We have recently added a lot of new data providers and the phone lookup system has been completely revamped. I invite you to try again or private message me here with the numbers you're looking up and I'll run them for free to see if the results are better than your first attempt! Thank you!
russelle2
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/20/15

I've written searchbug twice. This is my 2nd message to their customer service department:

2-20-15
This is the 2nd time I've asked you to remove the $5.97 charge from my credit card for the 1-day pass because your "service" is useless to me. It did not find the name of the owner of one number I was looking for. I then put in my own phone number and it came up with a name of someone I don't know - it was wrong again. Customer service said the search goes back as far as 15 years - I've owned my own number about that long so I have a hard time believing that is the case.

I respectfully ask once again that you REFUND MY MONEY.

In addition, I ask that you delete ALL my contact information from your website, do not share it with anyone and do not attempt to charge me for anything else from this point forward.

rogn
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/13/14

I tried to get a background report on a gal I was considering dating and they gave me an incorrect age as well as no facebook info which I found on my own. not sure if any of the other info was accurate. gave me the name and no. of her neighbor. not impressed for the $20 plus dollars I spent.

amandar8
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/22/11

I've used searchbug quite a bit for my work - I often have to look up a client's new information and they almost always help me find what I'm looking for - it's such a great tool to have at my fingertips, it really makes locating needed info fast a breeze. Much better than checking several different sites and still not finding what I'm looking for.

charlesn1
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/7/10

With all the crazy people search web site scams I finally found a web site that really delivers what they say. If you read the blurb they have on how it works they basically give you free access to all white and yellow page stuff but have really good information from other places at very reasonable rates. And they do offer subscriptions that deliver as promised.

I found searchbug.com to be a refreshing breath of fresh air compared to the mind field of people search scam sites. thank you!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Ck. We don't offer any trials or have any tricks that require you to cancel a membership. Our 1-week pass is not a subscription and expires in 7 days. It's only $9.00 for the entire week and includes all our premium services as outlined here: https://www.searchbug.com/services/membership.aspx Our phone support hours are M - F from 8:30am - 4:00pm PST. If you called during these hours and got our auto attendant and voice mail that means everyone is busy helping other callers. Please call during those hours and if prompted to leave a message someone will call you back as quickly as possible. Hope you give us a try. Regards! Noah

By Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Our data comes from many sources which are of public record stemming from the FCRA - http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/031224fcra.pdf Further information can be found here: http://www.privacyrights.org/ar/infobrokers.htm This is a list of online data brokers that sell similar information - http://www.privacyrights.org/online-information-brokers-list

By Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello Dee, Thank you for your inquiry with Searchbug.com. We do have a search to verify a Current Place of Employment for a subject. With this information you would be able to garnish wages from your subject. This search does not look for the start date of a subject, but can still verify if they are currently employed and turn the employer information to you so that you can garnish wages. Please copy and paste the following link on your browser to view information on our Verified Place of Employment Search: https://www.searchbug.com/investigator-services/place-of-employment-search.aspx Please let us know if you have any questions after reviewing the link. You may contact us at: 800-990-2939 Monday - Friday 8:30am - 4:00pm Pacific time. Thank you

By Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello April, Currently Searchbug does not offer a 7 day free trial, however, we do offer a handful of select search tools for free. These free search tools have a limited use per day, but if you were interested in trying out our website we suggest taking a look at what we can offer. Please use the link below to view the list of included free searches and their details. Let us know if you have any further questions about what we have and additional pricing options. Thank you and have a great day! https://www.searchbug.com/services/membership.aspx

By Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello Melanie, Thank you for your inquiry with Searchbug. There are many options we have to offer when trying to find information on individuals. Let's stick with the assisted searches that allow you to provide a SSN as you have stated this is a piece of information you have to use. If you only have a social security number and a last name to provide for a search, take a look at our Reverse Social Security Number Search. This is an assisted search where an investigator will conduct the search for you to provide last reported and previous address history, phone numbers if available, possible aliases, and death records if applicable. If you have the full name and social security number and are looking for current information, we suggest looking into our Verified Current Address and Phone Number Search. With this assisted search an investigator will search for a current address and landline phone number if it exists. The information found is followed up by a verbal verification by the investigator. If you are looking for a phone number specifically, we suggest the assisted Locate US Cell Phone Number search. You will be required to provide a full name with city and state. Additionally, if you provide a social security number it will help out the success rate of the search as well as lower the cost of the search itself. You can find these search tools by going to our website, Searchbug.com and clicking on the Hire Investigator tab. You can browse each search tool and their details including; how to order, typical results, cost, and average turnaround time. We hope this helps with providing you options on the assisted searches we have available and if you have any further questions or are looking for something more specific please let us know. You can contact us through our Email Support@Searchbug.com or give us a call at 760-454-7301 M-F 7am-430pm PST. Thank You

By Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Clean, We do offer assisted searches for both VoIP number and cell phone number. These are two different kinds of phone numbers and we offer two separate searches for them. If you are unsure of which type of number it is, we also offer an identify phone number tool found by following the link: https://www.searchbug.com/tools/landline-or-cellphone.aspx. Once you know for sure the number is a valid U.S. number and what type of phone number it is, the next step would reviewing our Assisted Reverse Phone Search tool which can be found by following the link: https://www.searchbug.com/investigator-services/reverse-phone-search.aspx. This page will list the details involved with the assisted search including; how to order, typical results, cost, and average turnaround time. Hopefully, this helps and if you have any further questions please feel free to give us a call at 760-454-7301 during our office hours M-F 7am-4pm PST. Thank you and we hope you have a great day!

By Searchbug S., SearchBug Representative
Questions? Get answers from the SearchBug staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
SearchBug?
Post Review