Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of ScootaMart

ScootaMart reviews

22 reviews
175 North Road Preston
Lancashire, LAN PR1 1YQ, UK
Tel: 0800 16 91 910
sales@scootamart.com

22 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
5
Value
5
Shipping
4
Returns
1
Quality
5

All Reviews

aliciab118
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/27/19

What can I say, was treated like royalty when I was picking my first mobility scooter, was made a cup of tea and even offered biscuits. The young man who served was extremely professional and tailored the scooter round my needs rather than just selling me any old scooter for the sake of a sale. I left feeling happy and confident with my purchase and the scooter was delivered on the day specified. The young man stayed with me whilst I went up and down the street. Couldn't be happier, such an amazing and professional company with equally amazing staff.

beckyt65
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/26/19

I am absolutely delighted with my wheelchair.Customer service A1 from start to finish. I'll definitely be back when needs must.

anthonyj180
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/26/19

I went into the mobility store in the city centre to have a look at scooters, the store manager Gary was very informative, polite and patient. I decided on buying a folding scooter, Gary even gave me a generous discount, full warranties and free delivery! A week later I hadn't managed to get used to my scooter, I went back to see Gary and he helped me choose a brand new one , more suitable to my needs., I still use it to this day. Thank you ScootaMart 5 stars

jank137
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/26/19

very caring and understanding of our needs my farther has serious issues so the advice given was so helpful we know we got the right power chair for his needs i thank you so much.

victoriam252
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/24/19

I bought a new scooter from this company in July 2018. As a buying incentive I was offered a wing mirror, rear scooter bag (which broke after a couple of months) and puncture proofing of the tyres. In March the rear left tyre punctured and deflated down to the wheel rim making it impossible to drive the scooter home. A kind lady saw me struggling to push the scooter home and offered her help. She pushed the scooter all the way home allowing stops for me to sit and rest on the scooter when needed. I phoned Scootamart to report the problem and waited 2 days for their service dept to return my call. Eventually the did respond and came to collect the scooter, I discussed the fact that the scooter was supposed to be 'puncture proofed' and was told puncture proofing does not quarantee that you won't get a puncture, I was under the impression that puncture proof meant proof against puncture, but hey what do I know.... had I known otherwise I would have looked to buy a scooter with solid tyres to avoid the situation that occurred. In fact no puncture proofing had been carried out on the scooter which is why the tyre deflated to the rim. Scootermart took the scooter and repaired the puncture and puncture proofed all four tyres, they did try to make a nominal charge which I refused to pay given the situation I had been put in due to the puncture. Approx 6 weeks later the same tyre has deflated and I cannot use the scooter as it leans to the left which causes me pain in my back. To conclude, here I am 1 week later having phoned Scootamart 2 times to request a repair with no response, even allowing for the Easter breaks they have had 4 working days to respond. I now have no confidence either in the scooter or Scootamart and have had to buy another scooter (not from Scootamart) as I need a scooter on a daily basis. I was sold a scooter supposedly puncture proofed that left me stranded in a difficult situation surely a breach of contract?? I am now left with a scooter I cannot get repaired by Scootamart as they are ignoring my calls and cannot sell until it is repaired.
Not sure what to do now!!!!

darrelld17
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/26/17

I bought a scooter from Scootamart and had a few teething problems, their after sales service was absolutely fantastic.
Thank you

markh356
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/19/17

I've been to a few shops looking at powerchairs, and even been sold one that wasn't suitable for what I needed. So as you can imagine, I was made up when I found Scootamart. They were the only ones who took the time to find out my medical condition and where I struggled in my day to day life, they then recommended a couple of powerchairs they thought were ideal. I tried them and settled on the TDX by Invacare. All I can say is WOW, what a difference it has made to my life. I can now make myself a brew, cook dinner, I can peg my washing out, and even go into town shopping. The best bit of all is I no longer suffer with pressure sores, it's amazing what the right cushioning does. I've got my independence back and I couldn't be more grateful. Many thanks to Scootamart and to Chris in particular. His knowledge and patience are second to none. 5 Stars all round.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
andrewa81
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/9/17

My nan broke down on her scooter and I called Scootamart to see if they could help her as she half an hour away from home. They had an engineer out to her within 15 mins. The engineer fixed her scooter within 5 mins checked over her scooter to make sure everything else was ok, they even called her back to check it was still working. What great service, well recommend.

davidh581
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/3/17

I think the way my mother and father have been treated is disgusting. Having sorted out a trade in deal with the company and paying the balance they received there new (second hand) scooter £1200 cash plus there old scooter. On braking the steering tiller moved forward around 3inches which felt unsafe and the seat when turning was unable to stay securely in a locked position but wanted to move around. So they took it back the very day they bought it and decided to ask for there money back. And they got a very firm NO. We will fix it and return it. They agreed and left but later decided that's not what they wanted and asked for there money back again they were flatly refused any money back. They have no mobility scooter and no refund to buy another. Trading standards informed them to write a letter and give them 2 weeks to resolve this issue, but my mother can't get around and no offer of a loan to see her through. If it's a machine you want fine but if like other you crave a good after service I suggest you go elsewhere. This is ongoing and at the Preston branch.

thomash176
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/12/17

How wonderful to find a company who genuinely cares. I purchased a lounge chair for my mother and, although the company was unable to meet its delivery time due to a supply problem, I received an email and a personal call from customer service, to tell me of the delay. Once despatched, only a day late, it arrived very quickly and we are delighted with the product. I would highly recommend this company to others.

maryl323
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/25/17

i have bought a scooter from scootamart in the Leigh town center and im am very pleases with what i have bought. Aaron at scootamart gave me some very helpful advise on what scooters would be the choice for my circumstances he advised me on some great scooter choices and in the end i ended up buying a Midi GTE. I would recommend anyone buying or looking for scooter/power-chair to deal with Scootamart.

ralphb56
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/22/17

I don't normally write reviews but after the exceptional service i received i thought it was only right to give ScootaMart the recognition they deserve. I have been thinking about buying a mobility scooter for several months now. I have tried other retailers who i shall not name here and was treated as a second class citizen. After reading the reviews on here i decided to pay ScootaMart in Urmston a visit. From the moment i entered the shop Andrew the manager put me at ease and showed me the massive array of scooters they have on display. Andrew assessed my needs to make sure the scooter i went for was fit for my needs. Nothing was too much trouble for him. After deciding on the S700 i was amazed to hear that Andrew would bring the scooter round to my house that evening after he had finished work, there was me thinking i would be waiting a couple of weeks for delivery!! ScootaMart also gave me 3 months free insurance, and 3 Years labour warranty all included in the price. I have had the scooter for 2 weeks now and can not fault it at all. Their after sales care is also second to none. I got a puncture when riding through the park and being new to the world of scooters was unsure how to get it fixed. I rang up ScootaMart and they sent an engineer out the same day to fix my poorly tyre. I can not heap enough praise on the Urmston branch and ScootaMart as a whole. Welldone you!!

Tip for consumers: Don't hesitate in buying from ScootaMart they are a company who really do care.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
lucusm
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/22/17

My Grandad and I went into the ScootaMart Bury branch looking to try out some scooters as he was thinking of buying one. He was very impressed with the amount to choose from and given time to try out the scooters on a demo run with shop manager, who was very helpful in him choosing the right one for him. Now my Grandad is not an impulse buyer at all, but he was so impressed with the aftercare and the service offered, he had it delivered that evening buy the man in the shop. Couldn't be happier

tonye29
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/10/17

I cannot praise enough the help and assistance I received from the member of staff at Scoota Mart in Urmston. He took his time to explain which of the different models would best suit my needs and encouraged me to try them for comfort and ease of use. I would certainly recommend this mobility shop.

lesliet43
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/7/17

so we go on holiday to see the tower and other attractions at blackpool,went on the day coach trip to fleetwood market.lovely place.little did we know we would be walking away after buying a new scooter from there,it was delivered yesterday to us in york and couldnt be happier,it tackles the hills just like i was told it would and is so comfy on the rough streets here.top marks to the cheerful guy and will be recommending him to my friends.

jank58
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/7/17

I bought a scooter for the very first time and was over joyed by the help and guidance given to me,thank you so much.

peterb200
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/2/17

In reply to scootamart response what a load of bull what they didn't mention it was on 3 chairs supplied first was a scooter due to medical reason had to change to a chair two chairs l had of them kept breaking down the last chair l had not even 4 months old was in the workshop four time first day l got it it broke down and had full rewire main nut holding the wheels on came loose 3 rd time on way home thing cut out in middle of a main road was left stranded in Salford till six am in the morning freezing cold in the end there break Dow service didn't turn up and police called me a amblance to get me home and now intermittent fault where it switches of itself when travaling as said in last review don't deal they came to pick it up today and thank god that piece of cap has now gone can now go to some where else and get service and my order right tbh with any readers out there my friend has a chair off then that won't even come to repair that what sought of firm are you well thank god it's over never want to deal again

Response from Chris T., ScootaMart Representative
This contradicts the email Mr Beswick sent ScootaMart on Monday at 17:19, asking us to supply yet another £5000 bespoke powerchair to be paid by the Motability charity. We refused to supply another one as he cancels products without reason. This latest product would be his 4th in less than 2 years. He is perfectly happy with the product when it is demonstrated and again when we deliver it. Customers then have 8 days to try the product at home, and they receive a ‘total satisfaction call’ on the 8th day. Then, only once they agree everything is perfect, the 3 year lease agreement goes live. We have paid out over £20,000 for products cancelled by Mr Beswick and this simply could not continue. The legal agreement that he has signed is a 3 year term, yet we have allowed him to cancel on 4 occasions at huge expense to ourselves. On Monday of this week we were asked by the customer to supply yet another new product, which we politely declined to do. We informed the customer he should contact Motability Operations and they would try to arrange another dealer to supply him. We are constantly monitored to make sure customer satisfaction is achieved, this is conducted by Motability. Our rating is 10 out of 10 for the initial welcome calls after 8 days, and a 9.6 out of 10 score for In-life customers (servicing, repairs etc) and with over 600 Motability customers this is an achievement to be very proud of.

We are here to supply and service customers as without them we would not have a business so the decision to turn Mr Beswick away was not taken lightly.
jadef10
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/2/16

After months of struggling to walk, my nan finally agreed to look at purchasing a mobility scooter. My nan was certain after visiting the shop she would still not be happy using one. Upon entering the shop we were greeted by a lovely gentleman who proceeded to show us around the shop floor - he could not of been more helpful, he truly made my nan feel at ease as he showed her the different options and explained what scooter would be more suitable for her needs. He was so charming and helpful that myself and my nan left the shop feeling very happy. My nan has also decided she would love a scooter now! I would like to say a massive thank you to you all in Preston you are a credit to scootamart and would recomend you to anyone!

Service
Value
Quality
ge7331
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/26/16

I was looking to get a Mobility scooter for my dad so decided to take him to our local Scootamart for some advice and to let him try a few out for size. We were surprised at how many different models they had in stock and after test driving a few and listening to the salesman's knowledge my dad settled on a scooter which is right for all his needs and will fit in his kitchen. We were more than happy with the price but they then told us it would be free delivery and they even gave us some free insurance and extra labour warranty!
We couldn't thank Scootamart enough for all the help they gave us in getting my dad mobile again and we would recommend them highly to everyone.

janp47
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/10/16

ScootaMart still haven't replaced the bag they sent with the scooter..that is far too small...I have had the scooter nearly 6mths...I have also phoned to say it makes a clunking noise when you stop and start..they just aren't interested...

martynt1
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/28/16

We have been extremely pleased with the whole experience of dealing with ScootaMart from all aspects of the purchase of the mobility scooter, all staff very pleasant, knowledgeable & efficient. Delivery was on time & very quick, full explanation of the scooter on delivery was very good. We found that the scooter we purchased was very good value for money. We would not hesitate to recommend this company.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
bernardw8
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
10/12/15

After reading the Director's reply to my review I was disgusted with him telling the public a load of lies. He failed to mention that he wanted a very disabled person to fit the new part himself. The scooter is under warranty for 12 months plus extra cover was taken out for 4 years. Little did he fail to tell the public that he refused to send any contract or paperwork for the extra cover, and to this day I still have not got it. Although under warranty they were going to charge me extra for an engineer to come out. Would you trust this company!!!!!!
I advise you strongly to have nothing to do with this company.

Tip for consumers: DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY AT ANY PRICE

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the ScootaMart staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for ScootaMart

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
ScootaMart?
Post Review