Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RitzCamera

RitzCamera reviews

37 reviews
2 Bergen Turnpike
Ridgefield Park, NJ 07660, US
Tel: 855.622.7489
customerservice@ritzcamera.com
2018 Customer choice award

37 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

michaeld883
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/24/18

After purchasing a lens, was told they me they "were unable to obtain the product for sale".

Yet, the product remains for sale on their website.

$#*!ty customer experience... $#*!ty website and product management... will NEVER purchase from them again.

sarahl398
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/23/18

My husband ordered his camera lens from this web store and he was utterly satisfied with the quality of the lens. He wishes to shop again from them.

rajeshc12
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/13/18

Do not buy if you are not 100% sure about the product you are buying. They don't pay return shipping fee (which may be ok) and also charge 10% restocking fee. They don't explain this clearly during sales process. Please STAY AWAY from this vendor.

nates33
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/8/18

I ordered a lens for my Canon EOS Rebel on 12/28, it still has not shipped. I called customer support today to find out what has happened and was told that it is due to ship on 1/24. I don't recall ever seeing a notice of this when placing my order and certainly wouldn't have ordered if I had known about this delay. I tried to get the customer service rep to cancel my order and was told that they could not cancel it because the order has already been submitted. I asked to speak with a manager and after waiting a long time on hold i was told that the supervisor would check with the warehouse to see if it could be shipped sooner and that I would receive a call back. The callback never happened.

mehulb
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/14/17

Pathetic option if your looking for camera. They always have wrong deals to capture user data. I feel like their collecting data with tempted deals and sell it to other marketers.
Order gets canceled with reason of system error and even after reaching customer care, it seems no one care and they don't even have curtness to send any response to their customer.

Be ware of such crappy service.

karenk167
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/14/17

I ordered a camera on November 23, 2017 it was in stock at the time and ready to ship. I checked frequently to see if order had shipped, it hadnt but it showed that I should receive it on December 12, 2017. I called the first week of December just to make sure everything was still on track. I was told (after being on hold for at least 10 minutes) that if I sent an email and requested an update on my order that I would be moved up and my order should ship and I would still receive my camera for Christmas. I then did a Live Chat on December 12, 2017 and they informed me that the camera was out of stock and they did not know if or when it would ship. I requested that my order be cancelled and was told they would send an email to that effect. No email was sent so I had to request a second time for my order to be cancelled. Very unhappy they should have informed me sooner that the camera was not in stock as this was to be a Christmas gift. No communication on their end at all. Will never use or recommend this company to anyone.

ec107
2 reviews
17 helpful votes
12/5/17

Ordered a Canon 80D from them. They canceled the order days later and could not care any less about it, because they want your personal information! They want your personal information and credit card number, then cancel your orders!

erniep22
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/4/17

very poor service , i ordered a sb-700 flash on cyber monday.. i had to email every day to find out status.. they said it in process,.. then finally 8 days later i called, and they said its going to be about 30 days?

poor poor service.. they should not put some thing on there site that they dont have... poor . i got a refund

lucastac
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/11/17

Will take your money and NEVER TELL YOU WHEN THE ORDER WILL BE SHIPPED OR ANYTHING ABOUT YOUR ORDER! TRY TO CANCEL AND YOU CAN'T BC IT'S BEING PROCESSED SO AFTER 16 DAYS I'VE LEARNED THEY STOLE MY MONEY AND I'M NOT GETTING MY ORDER

waynet27
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/12/17

Ritz Camera is a dishonest seller They also have conflict resolution process that is designed to wear their customers down instead of working their tail off to try and correct a problem. Look at their negative reviews and you will get a better understanding of what I mean.

I thought I was buying a "new" Phantom 3 Professional drone from Ritz Camera, but instead of getting a new drone Ritz Camera sent me a used one.

I finally had to file an A-to-z claim through Amazon. That's when Ritz Camera showed me how deceitful and conniving they really are.

I argued with Ritz Camera for a week through Amazon's email address. Ritz Camera would not even speak to me except to say they need to "investigate" and that until I sent them pictures they were not going to help me. Literally, they sent me a one sentence response saying that the burden of proof of "their wrong doing" was on me. Repeatedly.

Once Amazon got in the middle and told Ritz Camera to take my return, they said they would take my return but charge me a 15% restocking fee, and I had to pay for the return shipping costs. Are you serious Ritz Camera?! They advertised that the product was new, knowingly sent me a used and defective drone, and then they had the audacity to want to charge me a 15% restocking fee and shipping charges.

Imagine you decided to spend $1,000 with RitzCamera and something unexpected were to happen to your order...

My experience as well as others who have done business with Ritz Camera have found that their standard procedure is to:

- first, make it difficult to contact them, then stall by saying they are "investigating" the matter;

- second, make you try and prove that they didn't fulfill your order correctly by sending them pictures; and

- third, once Amazon chimes in and forces them to take the return, Ritz Camera will tell you to pay to ship their mistake back to them and charge you a restocking fee, you know, for "their" trouble.

If it happened to me once, do you want to be the one who it happens to again? Does Ritz Camera sound like a good seller to you? Are they a company you want to do business with?

After reading how they treated their customers other than me, are you willing to "trust" that they won't do the same thing to you? That if you give Ritz Camera $1,000 or more of your money that they will honor their commitment and actually send you the product you ordered? What if they don't? What if you happen to fall into the same trap I did and others?

After hearing my story, are you willing to risk it? Risk losing $1,000 by dealing with Ritz Camera? A thousand dollars is a lot of money to a lot of people. It certainly is to me. My experience is that Ritz Camera doesn't respect that. They haven't shown me any respect, not doing business they way they do. They haven't shown me any appreciation for spending my money with them.

In fact, they have done quite the opposite. They have treated me and others with suspicion. They have treated my problem as just that: my problem. Not their problem. Not their responsibility. Not their concern. They just turned their back and tried to ignore me.

I got fooled into thinking that Ritz Camera was a good seller because they had a ton of positive reviews. But that was a mistake. It's easy to get a positive review if you put the right product in the mail. But now I know that's not how you judge the quality of a seller. I should have looked closely at their negative reviews...I would have seen that my story is a pattern with Ritz Camera.

When something goes wrong--which is when a seller shows their true colors--do they show a pattern of treating all their problems the same way? Ritz Camera sure does. They make you jump through hoops, even when they were responsible. Look, no seller is perfect. But a pattern of similar negative reviews on Amazon for Ritz Camera is pretty telling.

dantet2
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/19/16

"I'm so disappointed in the customer service of Ritz Camera. I paid for a camera for my girlfriend as a surprise Christmas. UPS delivers the package to the wrong place and I paid for 2 day shipping. After an endless runaround with UPS, I'm now on an 8 day wait to see what happen to the package. Next business day I call Call Ritz to see if they can fix it. The simple solution was for them to send me a new camera next day so that I can get it for Christmas or just give me a refund and they work it out with UPS. I'm being put on the back burner as if this isn't a priority when it comes to a solution for me. Now I have to file a claim with my bank to get my refund back. This is how you are treated when you try to support companies and not buy from Amazon. Will never purchase from here again. No Camarea No refund. Buyer Beware "

kennethc50
1 review
8 helpful votes
1/11/16

Ordered a Nikon DSLR body on the Monday the week before Christmas. No word from Ritz by Thursday. Called and left 4 voicemail messages by late Friday morning including cancellation of the order. Never received email from them nor returned phone calls even though their site clearly states that you will receive an email shipping notification. Nobody answers the phone, ever! Received the package on Tuesday before Christmas. The camera body was from a foreign country not USA! There is no warranty for such in the USA. The web page describing the product said nothing about it being a foreign product! Email to their tech support from my gmail account bounced continuously. I use Gmail for web transactions, but had to use another non-gmail account to contact them. Mike said they'd be happy to accept the return as long as the package was unopened (it was not opened. The outside of the box showed that it was not a USA product), but there would be a 10% restocking fee.

Summary: Ritz has lost my business and the business of my friends and family! The lack of disclosure that it was a foreign product on the product web page, the lack of email confirming shipping (even though their site states you will receive email notification, the lack of returned phone calls and the restocking fee of 10% under these circumstances all add up to a scam and a totally unacceptable way to do business! Spend your money elsewhere and be happy you did!

trevors25
8 reviews
11 helpful votes
11/21/14

My wife had bought through them. I hadn't heard of them but I will say, they came through. Fair price and quick to ship. I'll use them in the future.

hagenb
2 reviews
17 helpful votes
8/3/14

This is not the ritzcamera of old. The original ritzcamera went bankrupt. A new company bought the name, and it's TERRIBLE. Customer service is terrible.

dannya13
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
7/10/14

I had a positive experience with ritzcamera.com and I will definitely buy from them again.

Firstly, I contacted ritzcamera.com via chat to inquire about Nikkor 55-300mm lens for my Nikon D5100. I wanted to get their confirmation about compatibility and product availability. The person I dealt with answered my inquiries politely and straight to the point.

I placed the order for a Nikkor 55-300mm lens and paid for the item exactly as advertised - no shipping, no tax and including the Ritz Special Savings! No surprises here. The order was placed online on July 7th, 1 AM and I received the package on July 9, about 5pm.

I give ritzcamera a BIG THUMBS UP.

philliph2
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/1/10

I bought my canon 5DMII the day it came out through ritz and was able to preorder it. I got it months before anyone else did and was a very happy camper. They did charge full MSRP but when you buy things the day they debut that is to be expected. Great site and they are always reliable.

geraldp3
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/12/10

Free shipping and no sales tax means that even if their price is the same as my wolf camera shop there is no reason not to buy online. Plus they are often cheaper and I can get accesories cheaper here than at wolf camera. Basically I can buy my camera here and have money left over to get an extra battery compared to buying at home at wolf.

edwardk
19 reviews
44 helpful votes
3/28/09

Cameras - This is an awsome site. Its basically deadicated to helping photographers find the riht camers for you. I bought my camera from them and i was very satisfied. I recomend this site to anyone and everyone!!

tomf
4 reviews
11 helpful votes
12/24/08

Ritz Camera a good supplier - I have had the oportunity to order from Ritz several times and I have never been disappointed. I would highly recommend this site.

steved136
4 reviews
9 helpful votes
12/17/08

I was skeptical, but they came through - When the new %D mark ll came out, no one was taking pre-orders online except for Ritz. I signed on and was skeptical, but they got me the camera ordered in days after it's release. BTW, I love the new 5d mark ii.

oscarj
83 reviews
762 helpful votes
2/7/08

online store is cheaper than retail store - The online store is cheaper than the retail store because they will sell it to you tax free and free shipping. Same company, same product...no point to actually buy it in the store unless you need it that same day.

16 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

We are a Canon authorized dealer, all our Canon products are brand new.

By Suppor t., RitzCamera Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RitzCamera staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
RitzCamera?
Post Review