Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Recovery-Disks

Recovery-Disks reviews

16 reviews
6715 NE 63rd. St., Suite 507
Vancouver, WA 98661, United States
Tel: 800.896.2363

16 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

daveg87
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/16/17

Fraudulent company one guy runs in his Momma's basement. Strung me along for 5 weeks until I finally figured this out. No product...no refund. You've been warned.

Advertisement
markp183
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/27/17

Fabulous company, I ordered a set of restore disks for an HP that HP did not have. As usual HP support sucks. Restore disks confirmed my order and shipped the disks to me very quickly. I recommend this company with stealer reviews. Thanks for being there when I needed you.

Mark - Knoxville, Tennessee.

kathys150
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/6/17

No issues installing. As others have stated having issues, I was able to install the media without using the directions. If you have a basic understanding of how this stuff works, there are absolutely no issues, what so ever, getting them installed.

One thing they could do better, is their shipping polices. The website states 14 business days for delivery. Luckily, I did receive mine after about 4 business days. but have heard worse.

santiagog13
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/3/17

Computer was taken out by a virus or three. I guess my youngest and his friends (teenagers,) were using the computer this past holiday break (luckily they are back in school today! Yay!)

Looks like they went to some websites they werent supposed to and ended up getting infected with a couple trojans.

Ordered the discs with overnight shipping last week, got them this morning. Everything installed in about 1 hour and here I am typing my review on the computer.Its working better than it did when I bought it! Thank you!

jonathonp3
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/22/16

Called to find if recovery software has shipped on July 13th, received email saying: your order has been processed and is awaiting shipment. "You should have this long before the 14 business days." Ok, Great. Called back July 22nd. 11th business day. Told by employee Joe the 14 business days rule. I ask so when will they ship. Joe says "I Don't know". But, and here it is. If you upgrade your shipping ($20.00 plus) we can ship them tomorrow. Why are they holding my disks hostage? So, I $#*!ed at Joe for his ignorance an unprofessional response to me. After continued pressure, Joe finally says "you should get your order in the next 1 to 3 business day's. I get email from the telephone tech support guy (joe) saying I have been placed on a block list an can no longer order from them. Why would i? I am bewildered that a low level phone tech has that much athoritity. This company should have business license revoked. Joe should be fired at the very least. This company is the reason why people don't want to make online purchases. Check out website: RIPOFF.COM and others for more stories about recoverydisks.com

Tip for consumers: DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS COMPANY!!! They boast 50,000 customers. 50,000 one time customers would be a more honest statement.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Response from Jonathon C., Recovery-Disks Representative
I apologize about the experience you've had with our company. Please note that on our website we do post the shipping time estimations. It is written in quite a few places. Additionally, there is also a terms and conditions box that you must agree to before you can place the order. Unlike most companies, we try to make the process as painless as possible. That is why our terms and conditions box only has 5 short paragraphs. One of the very first one states that the shipping times MAY be up to 14 business days! Obviously, we don’t want to upset any of our customers so we try to make it as obvious as possible to our customers that there may be a wait for your product. Please keep in mind, we are a small company. We sell our discs at the absolute possible LOWEST price. Because of this, we do not have a large staff on hand.

Please note that you also called numerous times and emailed numerous times. This resulted in your number being blocked by the system for too many calls. Unfortunately, we have a large problem with people spamming our 800 number trying to run up the charges. Because of this, if you call 5 times in a 10-minute period, the system will auto block your number and it might take a few days for someone to verify that it was an accident, or a legitimate call, instead of spam. I do apologize about this.

If you would like to order from us in the future, you are more than welcome to. We will provide you discount off your order and cover overnight shipping for you to try and make you experience more enjoyable. While we do not take full responsibility for the issues at hand (because we delivered well within our time frame,) we would like to extend an apology and let you know that we will make it up to you if given the opportunity.

Thank you and we look forward to working with you in the future.
taffya
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/14/16

Jeremey and Johnathan put together my cardio equipment. They went above and beyond the call of duty. They didn't have to do this. The cashier asked Jeremey if he could do it and he said he would if the manager allowed him. The manager said yes and Jeremey said it will be done in 15 min. Thus young man is very nice and hospitable. I will be back at $#*!'s in Reading.

jasonw107
10 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/28/16

We bought recovery-disks.com set of dvd's to get our office computer back up and running. We ended up having to install the hard drive first and then install these discs. It was a fairly easy process and didn't cause us any downtime. Luckily, the installation took a couple hours and was very easy to do via the included instructions. I did have a small hiccup with the discs, as I thought they didn't send the correct discs. But, once we followed the directions, they installed perfectly fine and there were no issues. I highly recommend these discs are anyone in need of getting their computer installed back to factory specifications with little to no downtime. Also, if you don't see the set on the website, be sure to call them to order it over the phone. I know it doesn't say how to exactly but trust me, you can easily just call their number and explain the problem. They were able to place my order, no questions.

michaelh91
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/14/16

they make it sound like they have original disks. but if you found them online you can find the same drivers for free.. they are NOT original. and guess what.. no refunds.. ripoff!!

Response from Jonathon C., Recovery-Disks Representative
Michael,

I apologize about the experience you had with our company. I assure you that our discs are copies of the original discs that came with your computer. You CANNOT find these for free on the internet. Please stop spreading false information. It is fairly obvious from the other customers that have written reviews that our product does work and is exactly what they need to restore their computers back to full functionality.

Additionally, I cross referenced your name and account information provided and it does not appear that you are a customer of ours.

We do not appreciate our competitors spreading false information.
christiang28
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/23/15

I must agree with the other reviewers here. The product itself does work great and is very easy to install. The company is easy to work with, responded to my emails and even helped me find my product key stuck to the side of my computer. The reason for the three start review was the fact that it took 8 days for me to get the package. If you order something online, it should be delivered within a few days. I don't understand why it takes over a week for me to get my package from these guys. Everytime I called, the guy was a litttle snippy to me asking me to review the website terms and conditions. Stating that they are a small company. WELL HIRE MORE PEOPLE. It shouldnt take 8 days. Yes, I realize that the website says 12 days, but who reads that small print anyway?

samk61
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/8/15

I'm fairly computer savvy and was able to follow the directions in the package to install them. I've read some of these reviews and am appalled that some of these people couldn't figure out how to install these.

I've installed about 3 or 4 different sets of disks and dell disks are by far the easiest. I was able to get them installed in about 2 hours and have everything up and running and installing updates.

keep in mind once you get the disks installed you need to install virus protection that will work for your machine. These guys sell virus protection which is some sort of lifetime protection software that I decided to buy. it turned out to work very well so far. Its only been about a month but my machine is still running like new.

If you're able to read, you should be able to install these disks. Don't listen o these other idiots on here.

caito
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/3/14

Never order anything from this site. They sent me disks that are defected (Geek Squad was not able to use them). I then attempted to contact the company numerous times and the ONE time that someone responded to me they were so rude and short with me it was beyond unhelpful. As if this wasn't bad enough, they are now refusing to give me a refund

Response from Jonathon C., Recovery-Disks Representative
Thanks Caitlin, for your review. I do apologize about the experience you've had with us and would like to point out a few points for the potential customers that might be deterred from our service by reading your review.

1. When you called, I was the technician that answered and helped you. I was not aware I was short and rude with you. I apologize about that. I do remember our conversation and I remember laughing and joking with you about the geek squad. No rudeness or shortness there.

2. We have contract with the Geek Squad, I work with them on a daily basis (why they didn’t call us directly for help is interesting.) They are high school students that are not qualified to work on computers. I asked you to go get your computer and your money back and I would help you myself with the installation. I do not believe offering you support and help is rude, or being short. Please, in the future, do not trust your expensive electronics to Geek Squad. It’s been proven in the past that they will tell you something completely different is wrong with your computer or that something doesn’t work so that you will buy a new machine in-store. I am of the opinion that our average customers is much more qualified to use these discs (they're that easy!)

3. I have called you and texted you numerous times about this. You responded the first few times and then failed to do so after offering support to get this squared away. You do not appear interested in a resolution. My experience of customers who complain about the discs not working and then cut off communication later, is that they eventually do get the discs to work and then no longer want to talk to us to resolve the issue, because it’s already resolved. If it is resolved, please remove this review, or at least post a follow up review. Additionally, you could remove the review altogether.

4. All CD sets are tested before they leave our office to avoid situations like this. We test every product to make sure that issues like this are kept to a minimum. You would not believe how many calls with get from Geek Squad or other big box stores that are UNABLE to follow the directions included with the order. The majority of technical calls we get are from "technicians" that state there is a problem with the CD. As soon as they start following directions, they have no issues installing them. In fact, I know for 100% certainty that you would have no problem installing the discs on your own. They're that easy to install!

5. Please call me or text me back to resolve this. If you are genuinely still having an issue with your computer and the discs did not work, I want to help resolve it. If it is a problem with our discs, we will replace them IMMEDIATELY.

6. As posted in the terms and conditions on the website, there are absolutely no refunds or exchanges under any circumstances. That is because they're a technical product, we test it for functionality before it leaves the office.

The discs do come with clear and concise directions. Out of 100 orders, maybe 5 people call in with issues similar to Caitlin’s, above. If you find yourself in a similar situation and are frustrated, please do not blame the discs. Give us a call directly at 800-896-2363, option 3, and explain your situation. We will do our best to point you in the right direction. Thank you.
johnr103
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/12/13

I ordered a restore disk set for a Dell Latitude computer on March 3rd. 2013 - It was $50 or thereabouts. I made sure to read over their terms and conditions because of the complaints I had read about these guys. When they claimed it would take 12 business days for my disk to arrive, I was a little apprehensive to order, but because I couldn't get them anywhere else, I went ahead and did so anyway.

I was pleasantly surprised when my disk set was delivered to me on Wednesday the 6th. It only took two days for the discs to arrive. I believe this is because of how close I was to these guys.

**Update - installing the disks went just as planned. Utilized the included instructions, took about 2 hours from start to finish. Computer works just as it did when I bought it 5 years ago. Will recommend them to others in need of restore media for their computers. Some of these reviews had me worried, but my experience totally differs. Cheers!

jimc52
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/21/13

My computer was dead and I needed to revive the computer to its original state. The disks provided by recoverydisks.com worked perfectly once I followed the directions. I would certainly like to recommed this company for its service. Other companies were considered other providers but this was the best in my opinion.

jimc22
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/3/12

Ill start by saying that Recovery-Disks.com offered me 30% off to review their service from beginning to end. They asked me to be honest in my review of their services and I would receive the discount off my next order.

I found recovery-disks.com by google searching for a recovery disc for my machine. When I got to the website, I noticed that it is professionally done albeit somewhat hard to read because of the contrasting colors, I was still able to navigate around it.

I did some research on them and found this website. While I was hesitant to order, I placed the order anyway. It looks like they've been in business for a long time, and when you're one of the only companies that offers this service, I'm sure they receive a lot of orders, and being in the industry, I know its difficult to keep people happy. I placed the order and hoped for the best.

The order arrived 6 days after I placed it (4 business days.)

I received the tracking number and invoice in my email inbox. It did go to the SPAM folder so I had to retrieve it from there.

After using the product, the computer is recovered back to the way it should be. I used the product key sticker on the machine to activate it. Some of you state that it didn't have this, but in their FAQ it shows that you are required to have it and its a sticker on the machine itself. If you don't have that, you probably shouldn't order because you might need it to activate your machine.

Those of you getting not authentic copies, need to use your key to activate windows properly.

So, all in all, I'm a happy camper and will be placing another order soon. I own a local repair shop and need these to repair my customers computers on occasion.

Also -- As the owner of a local repair shop, I will say, its not easy to use these discs. There is a reason you pay a computer repair shop a fee to fix your machine. We go through years of schooling to learn how to do this properly. If you aren't able to follow the directions included with the discs, don't expect them to work. You need to have a decent understanding of the English language and some ability to work on computers. After reading some of these reviews, it seems that some of you need to take the discs and the computer to a shop to have it repaired and installed properly.

I will give them 4 stars. Minused one star for ease of use of the website.

dana48
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/16/11

I think this place went out of business or something.

After nearly a week, my order didn't get processed and the company NEVER returned any calls/emails.

I ended up having to dispute the charges through my bank.
AVOID!

Response from Jonathon C., Recovery-Disks Representative
Thank you for the review Dan. I apologize about not replying to you sooner. We didnt realize that we had a SiteJabber page in which we could log in and communicate with customers. We apologize about your experience.

When I look up your name and account with the information provided, it appears that your package was delivered within 5 business days as was our policy back in 2011. Please contact us directly at 800-896-2363 option 3 if you have any questions.
profsb
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/20/11

Found the sites link on another site, the site has lots of brand listed on the site and the service is pretty good.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You get all of them that the manufacture includes. Some programs are trial software and are on extra disks that would come with the machine. For instance, a Microsoft Works trial or software disc would not be included with the manufacture installation media. However, you do not need this disc. What you need is the operating system, the drivers and utilities and software necessary to properly operate the machine. ALL OF THIS software comes with the discs as original. The discs that you get will have all of the necessary components and software required to operate the machine properly, as intended by the manufacturer.

By Jonathon C. [Recovery-Disks Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, you need to pruchase the exact recovery disks off the website or by calling 800-896-2363 option 3. Someone will assist you in ordering the disc for your 660s. please have your credit card and the service tag ready when you call in. This set will reinstall everything onto the new computer just like it was. It comes with easy to read instructions also.

By Jonathon C. [Recovery-Disks Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello. There are no such thing as generic recovery disks. You want a disc that will install the operating system and the drivers and utilities. Our product does install those the OS and Drivers. In some circumstances you might need your product key sticker. In most situations, you WILL NOT need it. We require all of our customers to have a valid product key before purchasing in the off chance that you do need to input the key. If you wish to chance it, and order anyway, you're more than welcome to. However, we do not accept refunds or exchanges on software. Thank you for your business. If you have any more questions, please contact us at 800-896-2363 OPTION 3.

By Jonathon C. [Recovery-Disks Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Good afternoon Brian. We do have that particular disk instock and ready to ship. You can place your order by visiting the following direct link product URL: http://www.recovery-disks.com/hp-pavilion-p6210y.html If you experience any problems placing your order, please call us directly at 800-896-2363 OPTION 3. Thank you for your business, Recovery-Disks.com

By Jonathon C. [Recovery-Disks Rep]
Questions? Get answers from the Recovery-Disks staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Recovery-Disks?
Post Review