We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Mayo Clinic Rochester

Corporate Values

Overview

Mayo Clinic Rochester has a consumer rating of 2.83 stars from 6 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Mayo Clinic Rochester ranks 37th among Doctors sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Quality
    1
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
1
View ratings trends
See all photos
How would you rate Mayo Clinic Rochester?
Top Positive Review

“Exceptional care, compassion, and outcomes!”

Stephen P.
5/9/19

Just weeks out from double cataract surgery with the inimitable Dr. James Garrity, M. D. (ophthalmology): Went from extremely near sighted (for 50+ years) to visual acuity of 20/15 - with distance vision IOL (intraocular lens) implants that provide exceptional clarity from computer to horizon. I do have post-surgery glasses with clear lenses atop a reading power, but use them occasionally and only for extremely close reading purposes. Dr. Garrity and staff (notably, Ms. Cheryl Gwynn, C. O. A) were exceptionally personable, informative, empathetic, and responsive to all my many inquiries (both pre- and post-op)... and both surgeries were expedient, painless, and thoughtfully administered with the utmost care and consideration. I have had multiple surgeries at the Mayo over the years - spinal, cancer, urological, and now ophthalmological - and have never failed to received the quintessential patient consideration and outcomes: Dr. Garrity continues to uphold that stellar standard, time and time again...

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Non-experienced based article - "Kratom: Unsafe and ineffective"”

Paul B.
1/30/21

This is a typical scare tactic article filled with erroneous, misleading, and unrelated facts. I am not going to waste too much of my time on the misleading details of this piece (please do much more research from non-biased, science-based reports) but to name a few - 1) babies being born with Kratom related effects? While this is certainly unfortunate, it has no bearing on whether the responsible use of Kratom is safe and effective. 2) Some people take kratom to avoid the symptoms of opioid withdrawal. Great! How wonderful that there is a legal, accessible alternative to help someone discontinue the use of Opioids w/o putting additional strain on our healthcare system. 3) Kratom is also used at music festivals and in other recreational settings. Really? Completely unrelated as to whether it is unsafe OR ineffective. But, YES... it is unregulated. So if you suffer from Depression, Anxiety, (PTSD) or other conditions that KRATOM may be your best solution for, please seek out a supply source that maintains a reputable backing. 4) Substances that are made from kratom may be contaminated with salmonella bacteria. The holy grail of Scare tactic! Salmonella could be in the spinach I'm about to go buy at the supermarket. I am not a conspiracy theorist, but yes, I am a liberal. Please look for some Scientific Facts. And facts period - after years of struggling with depression, anxiety, and PTSD - which previously lead to alcohol abuse - Kratom is my lifesaver. Cliche, maybe. Unsafe and ineffective?... I beg to differ.

See critical reviews

Reviews (6)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

stephenp28
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
May 9th, 2019

Just weeks out from double cataract surgery with the inimitable Dr. James Garrity, M. D. (ophthalmology): Went from extremely near sighted (for 50+ years) to visual acuity of 20/15 - with distance vision IOL (intraocular lens) implants that provide exceptional clarity from computer to horizon. I do have post-surgery glasses with clear lenses atop a reading power, but use them occasionally and only for extremely close reading purposes.

Dr. Garrity and staff (notably, Ms. Cheryl Gwynn, C. O. A) were exceptionally personable, informative, empathetic, and responsive to all my many inquiries (both pre- and post-op)... and both surgeries were expedient, painless, and thoughtfully administered with the utmost care and consideration.

I have had multiple surgeries at the Mayo over the years - spinal, cancer, urological, and now ophthalmological - and have never failed to received the quintessential patient consideration and outcomes: Dr. Garrity continues to uphold that stellar standard, time and time again...

genes89
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
October 9th, 2017

AN excellent source for anyone looking for information on health issues, medications, options and more.
Use it regularly.

debbief25
23 reviews
68 helpful votes
November 30th, 2015

This site is very good for medical information so that one can be informed when going to the doctor.

paulb2613
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 30th, 2021

This is a typical scare tactic article filled with erroneous, misleading, and unrelated facts. I am not going to waste too much of my time on the misleading details of this piece (please do much more research from non-biased, science-based reports) but to name a few - 1) babies being born with Kratom related effects? While this is certainly unfortunate, it has no bearing on whether the responsible use of Kratom is safe and effective. 2) Some people take kratom to avoid the symptoms of opioid withdrawal. Great! How wonderful that there is a legal, accessible alternative to help someone discontinue the use of Opioids w/o putting additional strain on our healthcare system. 3) Kratom is also used at music festivals and in other recreational settings. Really? Completely unrelated as to whether it is unsafe OR ineffective. But, YES... it is unregulated. So if you suffer from Depression, Anxiety, (PTSD) or other conditions that KRATOM may be your best solution for, please seek out a supply source that maintains a reputable backing. 4) Substances that are made from kratom may be contaminated with salmonella bacteria. The holy grail of Scare tactic! Salmonella could be in the spinach I'm about to go buy at the supermarket.
I am not a conspiracy theorist, but yes, I am a liberal. Please look for some Scientific Facts. And facts period - after years of struggling with depression, anxiety, and PTSD - which previously lead to alcohol abuse - Kratom is my lifesaver. Cliche, maybe. Unsafe and ineffective?... I beg to differ.

ofeliab2
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 14th, 2019

My primary doctor is at the Mayo Clinic Doctor Benjamin Cochran Jacksonville Florida location, so on April 10,2019 I went in for what was a physical during my appointment the doctor said that it was time for me to schedule a colonoscopy so I did, the next available appointment was not until May 7th, well I had it done and they found a Polyp but did not take it out, so me worried and not understanding why it was not taken out I tried to reach out to my doctor but every time I was unsuccessful and every time I was given the run around or lied. Then finally on June 13,2019 I received a call from Doctor Cope he was very apologetic that no one had reached out to me to explain the procedure, and said that he was going to have scheduling reach out to me to schedule to remove the polyp they found and explained why it was not removed. Okay so now I was feeling better until the scheduler said that I had to do an office visit again to get clearance because 30 days had passed, I said "what", you are billing me again? For this visit because no one reached out so that we can schedule the removal on time. Her answer was we are going to bill the insurance, yes but that is not free money, and I also have to pay again. And if you have been to Mayo Clinic it's not on the cheap, be careful too because they bill procedures wrong, my procedure was preventive, and they billed as a diagnostic. I have decided to find a more caring doctor practice I have never in my life dealt with so many people that showed no caring all they do is apologize for their mistakes but make you pay for them and that is just policy I was told by the last two ladies in scheduling Tomesha Tunsel, and Felicia Foster. Stay Away if you can.

innov11
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 11th, 2017

Wow, what a terrible experience. I saw Dr. Michael Feinstein at the Mayo Clinic in Phoenix, Arizona. He looks like hes 80 years old. Im not kidding. I would think with a lot of experience. He sent me downstairs for lots of blood tests. He got the results and a week later had me back for lots more blood tests. So, I finally get the phone call from his assistant who doesnt leave her name stating, Stop taking the Synthroid. Theres only one problem with that. I am 60 years old and have never taken Synthroid. So I call them and leave a message. They return the call again without name and say they made a mistake, Stop taking Crestor. Ive never taken Crestor either. I never go back or call back again. Then, I get the bills. SEE THE ATTACHED. This goes on for over a year. I dont owe anything but I better pay it by tomorrow or else! In July, I get on a three way call with my insurance company and Mayo Clinic. Mayo Clinic finally says all set, youre all paid up, no more bills. Then, three months later I get another bill. What a bunch of clowns? I could have gotten treated badly like this anywhere. Why go to the Mayo clinic?

Tip for consumers:
Try somewhere else.

Service
Value
Quality

Q&A (2)

Answer:

Exceptional quality of care, compassion, and outcomes!

By Stephen P.
Answer:

Exceptionally easy, both via phone and their website!

By Stephen P.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Mayo Clinic Rochester staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

William Worrall Mayo, M. D., a frontier doctor, settled his young family in Rochester, Minn., when he was appointed as an examining surgeon for the Union Army during the Civil War. In 1883, a devastating tornado struck the town. Dr. W. W. Mayo called on...

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Mayo Clinic Rochester?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Mayo Clinic Rochester?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business