Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Maplin

Corporate Values

Overview

Maplin has a consumer rating of 3.67 stars from 3 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Maplin also ranks 115th among Marketplace sites. The most common issues with Maplin are around customer service, which is not as good as expected by some customers.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Shipping
    1
  • Returns
    1
  • Quality
    1
View ratings trends
How would you rate Maplin?
Top Positive Review

“Google Chromecast bought with great customer...”

TA S.
5/31/16

My Husband and I had been trying to connect our tablet to the tv to watch some of our showbox films. Firstly we bought the standard cable connectors but was advised they may not work but could bring them back and exchange them. Yep they didn't work so off I went with them and the staff at Scunthorpe Maplin were brilliant they had exchanged them for the chromecast version 2. It was easy to install and I was reassured buy the Maplin team that the product would work. So forget the conventional computer tv places try maplin for a friendly but very knowledgeable team. You don't have the loud music or TV's blaring out so you cant think in Maplin like you get in the other large stores. 10 out of 10.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“May 2016 bought item, July 2016 Item broke...”

jek l.
7/24/16

May 2016, I got a new professional 48w lcd display soldering iron station from Maplin_Webdeals via Amazon online as it was offering a £4.99 discount from its normal price from the stores. Yesterday, 23rd July, the unit stopped working. Attach is a photo of the screen which shows a reading that doesnt change as the solder iron doesnt heat up even after 30 minutes left switched on! I was told by my local Maplin shop I can bring it down with my invoices for a replacement. Went down today, spent over an hour there as the shop assistant tried to get it authorised by HO who couldn't find my purchase details. Apparently HO insist I should have received a Maplin invoice by email. Maplin refuse to accept my Amazon invoice, eventhough it says seller Maplin_Webdeals! Initially I wanted a replacment but after this awful experience, I don't want this item anymore nor do I want to use Maplin any further. Will be askng for a refund and get another unit from another retailer who knows how to service and value their customers.

See critical reviews

Reviews (3)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

johnt228
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 4th, 2015
I have been a enthusiastic customer of Maplin for some years now.
My original brush with this company was due to my interest in constructional electronics.
This required accuracy in supplying orders to a very high degree which was achieved in a very admirable way. Usually I received the jiffy bag the next morning so could continue building!
A brief sojourner in the Maplin shop in person or online will tempt the technologist/hobbyist/I've got some pocket money to spendist, badly!! Whatever you want there is a good chance that Maplin has got one if you're lucky it will be in a half price used sale and be extremely affordable (as I must admit a lot of my things have been :-)
if you are not so lucky hey pay the price you will not get rubbish generally from Maplin!
I would say, generally, that Maplin will have something for everyone and possibly something more for those like me technologists, like building things and making things work.
Maplin's constant cycling of stock through special offers can be very useful if one is looking at a new area. Yes I still find some things turn up next day much to my delight.
They used to have loads of tokens for money off offers, these have been replaced by the many discount offers. If you are stuck try ringing Maplin and ask a Mapliner as their friendly advice will probably sort you out if not will redirect your investigations.
If you can get into Maplin I have found most of the people you end up talking to are helpfulness itself - if they are not tell somebody as something is wrong.
I have bought a number of household appliances from Maplin with great effect.

No I am not being paid by Maplin :-) I am actually a genuine customer who has to look at other emails, rather than be tempted by looking at the Maplin's emails :-(
to sum this up I can safely recommend Maplin and its operations to you as a long-time satisfied customer I reiterate my comment if things aren't right for you talk it over with a Mapliner and I suspect things will get better :-)
my best regards John
tas216
7 reviews
1 helpful vote
May 31st, 2016
My Husband and I had been trying to connect our tablet to the tv to watch some of our showbox films.
Firstly we bought the standard cable connectors but was advised they may not work but could bring them back and exchange them.
Yep they didn't work so off I went with them and the staff at S$#*!horpe Maplin were brilliant they had exchanged them for the chromecast version 2. It was easy to install and I was reassured buy the Maplin team that the product would work.
So forget the conventional computer tv places try maplin for a friendly but very knowledgeable team. You don't have the loud music or TV's blaring out so you cant think in Maplin like you get in the other large stores.

10 out of 10.
jekl
7 reviews
15 helpful votes
July 24th, 2016
May 2016, I got a new professional 48w lcd display soldering iron station from Maplin_Webdeals via Amazon online as it was offering a £4.99 discount from its normal price from the stores. Yesterday, 23rd July, the unit stopped working. Attach is a photo of the screen which shows a reading that doesnt change as the solder iron doesnt heat up even after 30 minutes left switched on!

I was told by my local Maplin shop I can bring it down with my invoices for a replacement. Went down today, spent over an hour there as the shop assistant tried to get it authorised by HO who couldn't find my purchase details. Apparently HO insist I should have received a Maplin invoice by email. Maplin refuse to accept my Amazon invoice, eventhough it says seller Maplin_Webdeals!

Initially I wanted a replacment but after this awful experience, I don't want this item anymore nor do I want to use Maplin any further. Will be askng for a refund and get another unit from another retailer who knows how to service and value their customers.

Tip for consumers: The only reason I got this item from Maplin is because I thought I will have reliable stress free service should it go wrong. The unit could be obtained from other sellers at cheaper price. After this experience, there are now no advantages to pay more and use Maplin any further.

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Maplin staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Customer Service UK: 0333 400 9500 www.maplin.co.uk Customer Service Ireland: 01-8782800 www.maplin.ie

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Maplin?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Maplin?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business