Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

LightSaver.co.uk reviews

Is this your business?
20 reviews
Tel: 0121 350 1999

20 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

mikej96
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/5/14
kevl
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/20/14

just been told that they gone into liquidation : (and they didn't complete our order that we paid for ?

martinb56
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/8/14

Horrible experience. They are very quick to sell but not so quick to deal with any aftersales issues. I requested to return outside lights that my electrician said we not fit for purpose and when he tried to install them noticed that they were already starting to rust. Had an email from Marie who said I could not return them as its was over 30 days. Emailed her back to tell her they were faulty...no reply...called and was told to email photos over to Marie and that she would come back to me...5 days later nothing.

Unlike this website suggests, this site saves you zero £££ in the long run.

I will be taking my complaint to a manager and then trading standards.

anng12
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/29/13

I found the light fitting I required on the site and ordered one. I needed 3 ceiling lights with 3 matching wall lights but wanted to make sure they were what I was looking for before placing the entire order. The order arrived a week later and looks absolutely fantastic. As we were due to go on holiday I emailed customer service regarding the other items I wanted and spoke to a very polite young lady who advised me to place the order before going on holiday, adding a note regarding delivery date. I did this, and on my return the young lady telephoned me to say the order would probably arrive the next day. It did, and I am delighted with them. I found Marie from Customer Services was very helpful and polite and the company a pleasure to do business with. I would certainly recommend then and will use them again in the future.

mariam47
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/10/13

I needed new lights for my kitchen but really didn't know what I wanted. I called lightsaver and spoke with a very polite lady who was so helpful, after telling her what I was trying to do she directed me to the fittings that would be the best for me. I placed my order the same day, Monday, and to my surprise they arrived the next day. My lights are fitted and look fantastic, the whole experience was sooo easy from start to finish and I will definatley shop with them again, price and service first class, I'll be back.....

leem29
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/12/13

Appalling customer service, never get back to by phone or email regarding repair of faulty light they first wanted me to change the transformer myself but as I'm no electrician refused and for 2 months they have had my light.
I have to say that this is the kind of behaviour of a firm in trouble

reecehh
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/12/13

Best customer service I have had when purchasing items online, brilliant prices and impressive delivery time. I will definitely use lightsaver again and will continue to recommend this company to all family and friends.

andreww34
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/27/12

Awful experience. Returned a faulty light fitting over a year ago and still not had a replacement, money back, nor even the original fitting back. Would go to the small claims court, but not worth the stress nor time.

andreww21
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/14/12

The worst company I have ever dealt with. Be very wary when buying from this organisation. If there are faults with your light, it may be extremely difficult to get a replacement or refund. Calls are not returned, emails not replied to. This has all the hallmarks of a business in trouble and I would strongly advise paying by credit card.

pw10
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/7/11

When we wanted ceiling lights for our company, we were recommended to contact Lightsaver by one of our trusted business contacts who uses them on a regular basis. When we called Lightsaver to describe what we originally thought were our requirements, they told us that there could be some other considerations, and options that we might like to think about and invited us to call in to see them, so that they could demonstrate a number of products to us, in an 'installed' setting.. They prepared a display of several different light fitments and went through the pros and cons of each of them with us, on our visit. The information and expert guidance that they gave to us was exactly what we needed. This company does not just sell lights, they have an in-depth understanding of the technicalities of lighting systems and have highly qualified personnel with many years of experience in the lighting industry to assist customers. We could not have been more satisfied with their products and level of expertise! We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending them to anyone requiring lighting products or technical advice as they offer a level of service that is hard to find these daysit certainly well exceeded our expectations!

mauricej1
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/14/11

Ordered 8 recessed low voltage hexagonal downlights. Price included halogen bulbs and low voltage transformer. Received items in good time but 3 of the bulbs were of the square type instead of hexagonal so not useable with the light fittings which required the hexagonal type .

The lighting was installed as part of a complete kitchen renewal supplied and installed by Homebase, which included all plumbing, gas and electrics as well as all new kitchen appliances. The electrical installation consisted of a new consumer unit, new ring main and various additions to the electrical outlets to accommodate the new appliances as well as the installation of the lighting purchased from Lightsaver. All the electrical installation has been certified in accordance with building regulations by Homebase.

Within 1 week of the lighting being fitted 3 of the 8 transformers failed. During the next 2 days all 8 had failed.

I emailed Lightsaver informing them of failings. No response. Two days later called their 0845 number and spoke to customer services. They stated that the transformers would need to be returned for testing as "it is highly unusual for the transformers to fail in such a short time" and they would send me an email with a returns reference to be attached to the returned items. I needed to call Lightsaver again 2 days later to remind them to send the returns reference. Once this email arrived it consisted of the following conditions:-

I believe the supplied product/s to be faulty as per the above information
I confirm the product/s has been installed by a qualified electrician in accordance with the fitting/assembly instructions.
I understand that as the product/s has been installed/assembled and can not be resold as new I am returning the product for testing.
I will accept the outcome of the test results.
I accept that fact that if the product is proven to be faulty I will be issued with a refund or replacement as per my request within 7 days.
I accept that if the product is not proven to be faulty the product will be returned to me at my expense and I will pay the sum of £20 to cover the collection, packing and re delivery costs of the product/s. Please note you will not be charged for the testing of the product.
I accept that if the product is not proven to be faulty this payment must be made within 14 days of notification.
I accept that if I refuse to make the payment or accept the redelivery of the product within the specified period I waive any right to a refund and that my product/s will be disposed of.
I accept the above to be legally binding. Your statuary rights are not affected.

I accepted the conditions SUBJECT to my rights provided by The Sales of Goods Act 1979, The Sale and Supply of Goods to Consumers Regulations 2002 and the Consumer Protection (Distance Selling) Regulations 2000.

I subsequently had to chase Lightsaver for the result of their tests. Their findings were:-

"Upon inspection it has been noticed that all of the supply cables to the transformers have indents on the insulated sleeving from the terminal screw in the connector.
If the terminal screw is tightened on the sleeving and not on the conductor of the cable the contact will be no more than strands of the core touching the inner of the connector block. If a 50 watt bulb was in use this will draw 4 amps from the supply. The bad connection will compound that current and cause heat build up which in turn can cause the pcb to fail."

The Homebase installer informed me that it is common practise for the bare wire to be folded back onto the insulating sleeve and the screw on the connecting block tightened on both. This provides a stronger grip of the cable making it less likely that the individual strands of wire will break.

I have passed the "technical test report" to the Homebase installation manager who has passed it on to their technical department.

As a gesture of "good will" Lightsaver offered a reduced cost replacement of the transformers. I refused as I'm not in the habit of throwing good money after bad.
I have since replaced the transformers with those obtained via Amazon. All are working perfectly with no issues. A for the 3 square bulbs, still waiting for these to be replaced with hexagonal but not holding my breath on that.

So, to avoid mediocre customer service, shoddy not fit for purpose goods, frustration and wasting your hard earned cash, AVOID Lightsaver.

rebeccac4
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/12/11

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!
Order was faulty on receipt. I emailed them 3 times to arrange collection of the goods but received no response. Phoned them and was told that i would have to complete a returns form and they would arrange the collection. The form has a rather long disclaimer list which leaves you a bit stuck as if you don't agree to it they won't collect the items.
I have been told that if a set of plug and go lights i ordered are faulty due to the bulbs or cross threading in the wiring then i would have to pay the collection costs. They supplied the bulbs and any cross threading would have happened at point of manufacture. I explained this to them but they just kept repeating themselves that i would be liable for the cost.
the disclaimer reads:
I believe the supplied product/s to be faulty as per the above information
I confirm the product/s has been installed by a qualified electrician in accordance with the fitting/assembly instructions.
I understand that as the product/s has been installed/assembled and can not be resold as new I am returning the product for testing.
I will accept the outcome of the test results.
I accept that fact that if the product is proven to be faulty I will be issued with a refund or replacement as per my request within 7 days.
I accept that if the product is not proven to be faulty the product will be returned to me at my expense and I will pay the sum of £20 to cover the collection, packing and re delivery costs of the product/s. Please note you will not be charged for the testing of the product.
I accept that if the product is not proven to be faulty this payment must be made within 14 days of notification.
I accept that if I refuse to make the payment or accept the redelivery of the product within the specified period I waive any right to a refund and that my product/s will be disposed of.
I accept the above to be legally binding. Your statuary rights are not affected.
I wouldnt go near this company

mandyt1
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/14/11

I cannot fault Lightsaver and am delighted with the service I received from them. I placed an order online on Sunday and my goods were delivered on Tuesday (within 48 hours) well packaged, in perfect condition and of excellent quality.
I phoned customer services to confirm they had received my order and found them to be extremely helpful and pleasant. I will certainly shop with Lightsaver again. So don't be too put off with the negative reviews.

steveg10
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/6/11

Fantastic price & products delivered safely in good time. Spoke to them on the phone a couple of times to check sizes and they were nice as pie & seemed happy to help. I'll definitely use again & can't recommend them enough.

lightsavermugh
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/1/11

this firm are a bunch of cowboys. im still waiting 9 months later for an illuminater mirror to work. it failed after 6 weeks bulbs and starters gone. they refused to replace the item took months to send new starters, which were wrong when they arrived.they then insisted that the mirror was returned "to be tested". it eventually came backe minus 3 of 4 bulbs. now they say they don't know what length the bulbs are and will have to take another mirror apart to find out the length and wattage ( my heart bleeds!)
AVOID THESE PEOPLE LIKE THE PLAGUE, CALLING THEM INCOMPITANT IS BEING KIND TO THEM. EVEN S#@T IS BEING COMPLIMENTARY

fredp5
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/27/11

Really good stock,ordered system ok.Cheapest prices available. Customer service really really bad no update emails, had to phone them 0845.... said would call back they did not then they cancelled order and returned money after I sent them a email stating if they could get the goods I still wanted them. A great shame would be a good company if they lived up to their end.Really Dont waste your time you'll just get frustrated waiting or waiting for the order to be cancelled.

nicholasm2
7 reviews
14 helpful votes
12/8/10
carolm4
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/5/10

I was recommended to use light savers by a friend and was not disappointed. Beautiful selection of lights and found the perfect lights for our home. Compared a few prices (as you do) and couldn't find cheaper plus lights I wanted were in stock where most seemed to have to order in. I placed my order for several different lights on the website. I placed my order on Monday afternoon and received an email asking to allow up to 7 days for delivery but got a notification of despatch on the Tuesday and my lights were delivered on the Wednesday. I received exactly what I ordered as well as all the light bulbs that were needed. I ordered quite a few down lights and when my electrician came to fit we decided to put a couple more in the alcoves of my living room. As needed just a couple extra I phoned and got through to a Shivorne in customer services who was extremely pleasant and waived the carriage on the order for the extra 2 as I had already placed a carriage paid order previously. It was only a few pounds but a really nice gesture all the same. Thank You! Despite being recommended I think if I'd have read the reviews published here I would have been hesitant to order but from my experience couldn't be further from reality. I adore our lights which make the so much difference to the rooms. I had a stunning modern crystal piece for above the table in our kitchen diner (party room!) which all our friends have commented on. I have recommended light savers to them and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone else.

ruppertb
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/30/10

Worst ever experience on the internet from begining to frustrating end. Following threats of legal action my factual and accurate review has had to be removed. Do not make the same mistake that I did, spend your money at B&Q!!

conniet
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/12/10

These are the delivery terms on the webiste: Goods will be sent using a 24H service from completion of order; Goods are available for despatch within 7 working days of receipt of order; Goods that are out of stock may take up to 14 working days of receipt of order.

The item I ordered is listed as In Stock but after I had waited for over 7 working days I heard nothing, I emailed and got no reply and I had to call (10p per min). I was told that I will receive the delivery within 3 workings day but then I got a voice message 2 days later saying that the stock will be in after 1.5 month. The staff asked me if I have any issue. What the hell does she think! I had already been waiting for 3 weeks and do I want to wait for another 6 weeks?! Remember they took the money from you bank right on the moment you place the order...very dodgy way of doing business.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

This company are very poor and their customer service is abysmal. Their staff appear to lie or are clueless - it's very difficult to tell which. I have waited a year for a part and it's still not arrived. Their site says that they are part of the lighting association and their site bears their logo - but the lighting association says they are definitely not a member. Steer well clear of them!!

By SDOC O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the LightSaver.co.uk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
LightSaver.co.uk?
Post Review