Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Kijiji

Kijiji reviews

Is this your business?
189 reviews
500 King Street West
Toronto, Ontario M5V 1L8, Canada
Tel: +1 780 966 6664

189 Reviews From Our Community

Service
11
Value
13
Shipping
6
Returns
7
Quality
12

All Reviews

staceya28
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
3/17/19

I have bought and sold items on Kijiji for many years. I really enjoyed browsing ads after the kids went to bed. It has been the last two years that I have become frustrated with its searches and custom filtering. Might I mention all the ads that need to load on every loaded page that slow my searches considerably. What used to be an enjoyable time randomly searching many ads now is painfully exhausting. Scanning through dealer after dealer, new items when I can't filter used items. I enjoyed the auto trader when it was first developed and religiously picked up the trader publication. I hope someone at Kijiji reads this and thinks wow there are devoted people that actually enjoy what Kijiji produces besides a business money making machine only worried about the financials. Keep it real Kijiji

bossg10
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/12/19

Service is half working, you cannot even see the message sent from the buyer. App needs to be updated seriously, very poor management. Considering this is the biggest marketplace in Canada

vladt8
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/11/19

The management at kijiji are some of the stupidest people in the world. They are trying to legitimize this site by adding more metrics, analytics, bad rules and user racking. Some idiot decided it would be good to include how often you respond so they can block and ban you later with a point/credit system and of course track you at time of response. But how stupid and unfair is this? 90% of the replies from kijiji are lowlifes, kids and drug addicts. Some don't even need a reply because its just someone saying call me at xxx-xxx. Kijiji always rigs the system so the honest seller has to respond to trash and be rated for it. Why would anyone respond to a lowlife when you already put your best price, let's say $50 and some lowlife or reseller offers you $10. You are supposed to respond and say no thank you sir. I heard this same story from my friend who's a car dealer and they list cars for $4000-$5000 and people offer them $1000.

This is especially bad in big city like Toronto where its all refugees and refuse. The other thing people do is reference some ad 5000 miles away in Arizona and ask you to compete with it. Screw them. Just delete the account and put it on craigslist. Any site that forces you to sign up to tracking and metrics should be banned from Canada. Why even bother with Kijiji since their ads are way down and the prices are way up. The sellers lost about $13,000 since I stopped buying there because that is about what I spent last year before the bad changes.

aliu6
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/8/19

I'm shocked to see Kijiji allowing to post animal abuse posts like stuffed dead animal trophy or hunters and weapons that is disgusting. I will not use Kijiji anymore. I posted an add in cat rehome about to be careful to who you rehome your pets kijiji immediately banned my post by saying keep your opinion to yourself. I'm ashamed that I used kijiji services, Kijiji is a greedy bloody website where promotion of abuse and murdering of animals gladly promoted and my post removed when I'm trying to warm people about responsibility rehoming pet. Now you think what kind of website is this Kijiji definitely not on my list.

marcelom31
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/7/19

You waste time posting your AD, next thing you know, you find an email saying your AD is removed for some stupid reason. It just a job posting and they will remove it. You try to get in touch with them through chat? They will give you a sentence answer to your question and will drop the chat from there. Dont use this website.

massotherapyp
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/21/19

Before I used to be able to post without paying and now I have to pee and on top of it the ad goes down so fast. I'm a registered muscle therapist and also on eyelash technician and now I'm disappointed on going on the website because Kijiji is allowing a lot of girls who show that they're not professional muscle therapist at all and their pictures look inappropriate for a Kijiji. I'm really not happy of how they are working now the prices to post an ad is way overpriced and they charge way too much 4 month even weekly it is very ridiculous and I'm so disappointed. And to chat with them some of them they can be nice and a lot of them can be real jerks they don't even try to understand your situation once I put a picture of myself and it was not even a body picture anything and the guy said my picture was inappropriate but absolutely it wasn't it was just a head shot of my picture and then there's pictures of girls were like full-body picture and their blurring the face and that's how you know this isn't professional when they post pictures like that. Even the way they write and say that the real registered muscle therapist some of them are not because I contacted them and pretended to be a client and when I asked them for their license number so I can check with my insurance company they refuse to give it so that's how you know they are a scam. atlrast be registered..... you know....I used to really love posting on this website but now I am so disappointed and not happy. GGG needs to upgrade on fix the way they provide their services and their chat people and also they need to improve because also people are trying to sell stuff and they can't even do it properly because of them such a disappointment.

alexf178
0 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/19/19

I used kijiji many times in the past for buying, selling and jobs.Not anymore people are stupid the post ads only for fun no reply nothing.You try to find something or buy stuff they would send you an address which does not exist.Contractors posting ads just to see how many people are checking on the ad nothing else.People nowadays are realy stupid and uneducated in any way .
One example three years ago i found a good deal on camera lens i contacted the seller asking about the lens price, we agreed upon the price.At the i asked him when and when i can go pick up the lens hes response was" You can find at square one" in Mississauga.Everybody know how big that mall or area is.I replied to him keep your lens if you ever had any and shove it up your ass.Unfortunately kijiji can not do anything about it.
Kijiji is one of the worst of the worst site ever made.Filled with junk stupid uneducated liars thieves and $#*!ed up people .

trevorf36
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/1/19

Most of the serious/intelligent buyers & sellers have left Kijiji. Now the site is infested with nothing but scam artists & local business ads. A complete waste of time. I've found much better success on Facebook & Varagesale over the last 6 months. Less ads, less pro sellers, less headaches. lol... everything Ebay touches instantly turns into $ H I T

stephenc329
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
1/31/19

Kijiji is now a scam and the good sellers have been eradicated like on ebay. You can't post here unless you subscribe to the one of track and watch type emails like yahoo, gmail and so on. If you try using a real email, where your mails aren't read by google losers then your posts will never show up. The site and sellers are garbage and buying anything is a waste of time and money. It's funny how these scam company demands you to be a perfect seller yet they can't even get to 10 positives while there is 140 negatives. With that kind of sub 1% ratio it shows what kind of scam company and management they have.

michaelg1120
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/30/19

Kijiji is the worst place I've been to for any purpose! Buying or selling! people are dodgy and like to waste your time. There is no good to come out of that site! people/trolls have destroyed it

christineb343
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/16/19

Beware of two listings on Kijiji, in the Moving and Storage category. Ad ID 1279833298 and ad ID 1279835578. Both run by the same scammers. They charged me twice what the so-called contract said. Held my furniture in their truck until I paid them in cash. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE. Here are the names and numbers to avoid: Monoj 647-328-1484. Jason 416-399-4180. Desh 647-225-4266.

Tip for consumers: Only use movers listed on the Better Business Bureau or the Canadian Movers Association, or a business who does not advertise on Kijiji. A moving business like Allied, or Taylor or Mayflower. Most of the movers on Kijiji are flakes and some even thieves.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
kela6
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/12/19

Kijiji used to be great. I made lot of business out of Kijiji in the past. Now a days, it is a piece of junk. Very rude customer support. Charging fee for posting on many categories. Unfortunately I didn't find any alternatively either. But I really hate Kijiji now.

mp230
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/1/19

I spoke to several dummies at kijiji... julien, pascal, ian, etc... not one agent was able to give me a clear explanation as to why my ads are no longer allowed. They just don't care!

alexanderb134
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/27/18

Julien: Welcome to Kijiji's Live Chat! I would be delighted to help, please allow me a quick moment to review your request before we get started.
I REQUESTED TO CHANGE A BUSINESS ADDRESS THAT HAS BEEN BUILDING VIEWS FOR THE PAST 4 YEARS, 3 YEARS AGO CHANGING THE ADDRESS WE STARTED FROM OUT OF OUR HOUSE TO OUR FIRST. RETAIL LOCATION.

FREEMIUM STYLED FEATURE REMOVAL ONE BY ONE TILL not a single person will use this company.

Julien: Hi there Alex, I understand your request to change the address on your ads but unfortunately it is not possible to make these changes after the ads have been posted. New ads would be required in order to post a new address while creating the ads. I apologize for the inconvenienceé
Me: Thats completely outragious i request a supervisor these ads are a digital asset because of the traffic
Me: that policy you just stated
Me: is less old then these ads
Me: therefore
Me: these ads those policies do NOT apply to
Me: So kindly
Me: Escalate this issue IMMEDIATLY i can not express how important it is to keep these ads with the amount of views we have on them
Julien: I understand your frustration Alex. The changes are not technically possible in our systems, by me or a manager/supervisor. We cannot physically change the addresses on these ads unfortunately, It is impossible at this point.
Me: That is completely false I know you can. I know how websites work. Back ends of POS systems. This is all because of your new policies, Pass this issue off to someone with more authority please. We run a digital asset creation company as well. I am not stupid
Me: What kind of company REMOVES THE ABILITY TO LET THE CUSTOMER CHANGE ADDRESS
Me: ON A BUSINESS AD....!?!?!
Me: Pass me off to someone else please
Julien: I understand your request fully Alex, but I regret to inform you that even my manager does not have the ability to make this change. This affects all Kijiji users. If a new address is needed, a new ad must be posted.
Me: With more patience and actually wants to help me, that can see the importance in my issue here today.
Julien: I understand that you think I don't want to help you Alex, but I'm trying to be real with you
Me: Pass me off to someone else please, Pass me off to someone else please
Me: With more patience and actually wants to help me, that can see the importance in my issue here today.
Me: You say that but you really are not trying at all. You can;t help me i understand that. Get me someone who can.
Julien: No one can change the address for you on the ads I'm sorry, just trying to be real with you Alex. I can have my supervisor contact you of course bu they will tell you the very same thing.
Julien: I understand that the views on the ad are important of course. But it's not often that a business changes addresses so this will not be happening often.
Me: That is completely false. Do not tell me missguided infomation. If you cant help me then just help me get in contact with someone who can try
Julien: OK well I can have my supervisor contact you Alex.
Me: You have been trained in the new criterea so you are totally unaware of the way things on kijiji used to operate.
Me: THank you
Me: [
Me: Much appreciated.
Julien: Please, I've been with Kijiji for years.
Me: This sites obiously a "Freemium" styled classified site now
Julien: I will request contact from my supervisor to you.
Me: thank you\
Julien: No problem, do you have any further questions?

miken269
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/21/18

Kijiji is now tracking both buyer and seller and it should be obvious their changes were not about safety or security but control. They started years ago with masking, then withholding other sellers ads, then blocking numbers, then forcing selling accounts and now even buying accounts. Each time they waited about one year to not totally turn everyone away and make the next negative change. Today kijiji is the disgrace of the internet, as soon you hit the page there is third party tracking all over and the choices to buy are no longer there, since they don't attract anyone but low class business or service spammers. The worst of it is the CUSTOMER suffered drastically, I am now seeing 10 year old junk at 2x the price it was last year and things that are up to 50% less on craigslist, because there is nobody listing but people who accept their controlling terms they've created a rip off only market under full tracking. Works great for kijiji as they sell the data, and sellers doubled their prices on a lot of things. I would never sign up to them and as a result will never buy anything. Best place now is craigslist. Kijiji are nothing but liars and cheaters and they don't even belong in Canada. Its a US company with foreign employees.

garp3
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/19/18

We need to find a better ad posting vehicle than Kijiji. It's gone so far downhill as to pretty much useless to the average home user. It now seem to simply full of commercial sellers with hundreds of ads. Good luck getting your $10.00 toaster ad even seen now. Worse yet is something I'm seeing now which makes no sense whatsoever. I post fairly regularly under my city and under a certain heading. I log in and see that Kijiji states my ad is on page one. (for example) I then log out and do a search for my ad under my city again and under the same heading. Sometimes I can find my ad way back on the last page (after kijiji stating it's on page one) but more likely what happens is after viewing several pages of commercial ads often a couple hundred Km away, My ad is not there at all. I log back in to check and it again says page one.
Hopeless really. So
KIJIJI YOU SUCK

nicj6
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/5/18

This site wouldn't let me login. Captchas for 15 minutes, starting to think I'm a robot. Also I've been scammed before

prannaym
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/1/18

people get scammed on this website and kijiji cannot do anything about it. There is no legal team of expert that can help you once you get scammed.

anni10
14 reviews
29 helpful votes
11/14/18
• Updated review

Kijiji used to be Canadian website a place you could go to find people who had something want to sell locally you can pick it up or even use shipping but now have advertising for Chinese seller .
This service since eBay has taken over has gone nowhere but down. We want our old website back.

“Kijiji is now very bad”
5/11/18
• Previous review

What happened? I used Kijiji all the time now is bad as eBay.
This service since eBay has taken over has gone nowhere but down.
They got too big to give a damn about their customers
Horrible search options, Pleas give us our old Kijiji back.
too many advertisers.
stop placing ads on Kijiji and go to Craigslist.

katm70
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/8/18

I used Kijiji for years, since the beginning for selling and for my business providing services. it was the go to place to advertise for free or a small fee. I trusted Kijiji for over 10 years for result on my ads. Now after months of ad placement, i see not one reply ever! The new format will be Kijiji's downfall.

janp123
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/7/18

I tried for one hole day to cell my used phone on it, well I only tried to get the ad online. But everytime I got deleted or delayed. I didn't do anything wrong, just some pictures of my device and a basic description. After contacting several times the support I only got this useless Answer;

Upon review of your account, we've made the decision that we are not the appropriate advertising platform for you personally or your business. We appreciate your understanding and cooperation and thank you in advance for respecting our decision.

Best of luck and have a great day.
Me:

They leave the chat straight away without trying to explain why they choose so. Bunch of r*tards

alm130
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/4/18

Kijiji is a terrible place to advertise your business. They will delete your ad without any reason, they just a money gready folks. Stay away from them. They don't care about their customers.

reelm
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/1/18

Kijiji will allow anyone to advertise and you must be very leary of who you work for! One instance is Reaper Ventures out of Vanderhoof I warn you do not work for this guy or you will be sorry. Im not just some ranter but we need a venue to warn people of these sorry excuses for companies

kristant
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/1/18

The new platform is a waste of time. All pop up adds and businesses selling there products. I have used kijiji for many years and has become impossible to use and keep track of email addresses and people. No rating system so you have to deal with "kijiji" people. Done with this site.

cathien3
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/31/18

So sick and tired of looking for something and the first 100 things you see are Ad's. I don't even come to kijiji much anymore because of it. If I wanted brand new I would not come to this site. Isn't this site for used items?, or is it an ad campaign? Some of the items you type in aren't even in the right category and they try to sell you things brand new on that page. Ridiculous. Good bye kijiji.

3 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Internet vendors have no interest in people who can't afford to have a cellphone or connect over a personal IP address. Poverty sucks - you'd better get used to it. Only the govt can change change that, but don't hold your breath.

By Guy S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Kijiji staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

8 Photos for Kijiji

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Kijiji?
Post Review