Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Kijiji

Kijiji reviews

Is this your business?
204 reviews
500 King Street West
Toronto, Ontario M5V 1L8, Canada
Tel: +1 780 966 6664

204 Reviews From Our Community

Service
12
Value
14
Shipping
7
Returns
8
Quality
13

All Reviews

tammyh224
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/19

I use to use Kijiji for buying and selling. Now I find that there are way too many stores and dealerships on this site that was suppose to be for the average person trying to sell their old stuff. I dont use it anymore..check buy in sell marketplace in your area .

jeddc
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/19

If you are looking for ANYTHING, now kijiji puts ads for "new' and Dealerships before anything from users that are selling their own stuff. So if you want a particular item, be prepared to have to look through hundreds of new items from online stores or dealerships with the random item from a user or owner thrown in here and there. Its unbelievably ridiculous to use now. Where did all our options go? Oh right, Ebay bought it. So now we have to be spoon fed all the garbage. What a $hit site this is now. Such a shame.

ds504
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/29/19

KIjiji allows scammers to stay and rip people off. I was ripped off by a used car dealer in Tecumseh Ontario by the name of Mak Auto sales back in 2017. No more cars for me now because I drive an electric bicycle. Too many scammers online now so I don't see how people will be buying much from this website anymore.

dougs269
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/27/19

It's a shame that something that worked well, doesn't anymore just because it got bought by the bigger "but not better" eBay. Been a member for years, but not at all happy with the search features being stripped to bare bones. Hard for buyers or sellers to narrow things down. eBay F****d up a good thing!! Hopefully the Kijiji creators start up something new!!!

noney17
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/27/19

Garbage company. Doesn't even tell you when you have messages.single dad trying to make money and kijiji won't even give me messages. I'm done. Let go here we come.

danal114
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/21/19

Total scam. I will never use Kijiji again. This girl Lori Anne Vickerson - Fenelon Falls totally stole my money asking for a deposit claiming she was on her way with my firewood (truckload). Stupidly I gave her an eTransfer deposit (of course went straight into her account, no password) since I thought she was on her way. Nope - no product, no refund after like 30 requests, 30 days later. Buyer beware! She claimed I cancelled with her and she had a cancellation policy. BS - it's no different than going into a store, handing money to the clerk, her saying "oh we are out of stock but I'm keeping your money". Just a warning since this troll likes Kijiji and seems very versed in scamming and hiding her identity and address. If this review is still up - it means she has still not refunded me...

Tip for consumers: Buyer Beware! This is the very last time I will be scammed on Kijiji and using it.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
ianb236
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/9/19

They put the ads in the most annoying spots for trying to browse on mobile I will not be using this site anymore.

vv26
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/27/19

They are owned and operated by Ebay, which makes them a global monster of a company. What they do is they run their classified market for their own gain - meaning the company itself is the real buyer in most cases. They monopolize the internet classifieds marketplace, corner the sellers into selling at retardedly low prices, put stuff into storage warehouses and resell it to a waiting public on their own site at a markup that dwarfs the profit made when the item was sold new. They are a monster. They need to be stopped. After 10 years of struggling with this site, I'm done.

jimb133
4 reviews
28 helpful votes
5/25/19

It says here on Site Jabber , to add photos or proof of purchase , but , Hey !! I have not been able to purchase anything . Every time that I see what I want , I send the message , and then ...nothing ...yes that's right ,..nothing , as if the add is a phoney .
I even sent a message to an ad , after it was posted for only 20 min . , and today ,10 Hrs later , still nothing . I am not looking to lowball anybody either , but no reply .

rossir2
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/20/19

The concept is great, the people that respond suck, very cheap and Inconstant.

The quality of customer is the big issue , it's a low life site.

terrancem29
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/14/19

Honestly I spent over 2 years being banned censored and abused by kijiji. I was forced to switch to viuble.com after kijiji cut me off for the last time. Now my ads never get censored or deleted and it's extremely user friendly and far superior. Even thou its still growing I can see it destroying these existing sites that have wronged me for so long......

calvins50
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/5/19

At one time Kijiji used to be good and cater to buyers and sellers for used items but now it's the Wild West with businesses over taking running constant ads of new products pushing people's used items further and further down and really getting in the way of what Kijiji used to be "A place to buy used items" not new. People have a hard time getting a fair price for the item they're selling when new products pop up and buyers are low balling price comparing new for used strollers, car seats, audio, furniture etc trying to low ball 60-70% off the used item without seeing it in person. There's lots of flakes that don't show up at an agreed time and place. Kijiji has no buyer rating system for reliability to pick-up and they should, that way Sellers can pass on those with a lower rating. Kinda like what EBay has with its Sellers and Buyers. It's very difficult to sell stuff on Kijiji than it ever was 10+ years ago the business ads are so distracting, there's too many people that flake out, and tons of low ballers that are bored I'm sure and spend their entire day asking to buy something at ridiculously low unfair prices.

miljurkov
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/22/19

I tried to post my drone and Kijiji refused posting my add with explanation that they cannot accommodate businesses. I am neither business nor I tried to post anything illegal.
This lousy platform is manipulated and will NEVER post anything there again.

sarahj441
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/19/19

Kijiji is just full of ads now. I am looking for cheap local used chairs BoOM- a million ads for wayfair and every single dumb retailer in my province. I will use facebook buy sell groups from now on to buy and sell!

ryann103
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/6/19

Be aware of a bunch of scammer responding to your ad. I put my vehicle up for sell and some $#*! want to pay me by PayPal lol. Claim he's out of town and someone will pick up my vehicle. Call him out on this horse $#*! and ask where my vehicle is headed? Nigeria. Took off the ad and repost my ad a month later. One lady call me within 2 minutes while the other text me from California. Asking why he looking for vehicle in Canada. Said his father is buying it for him and asking me to email him with his link that he has provide in his email. He can you know what with himself. Where are these low life is coming from. Becareful regarding any site and make sure you received and verify the payment is ligit before you relinquish your posession.

staceya28
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
3/17/19

I have bought and sold items on Kijiji for many years. I really enjoyed browsing ads after the kids went to bed. It has been the last two years that I have become frustrated with its searches and custom filtering. Might I mention all the ads that need to load on every loaded page that slow my searches considerably. What used to be an enjoyable time randomly searching many ads now is painfully exhausting. Scanning through dealer after dealer, new items when I can't filter used items. I enjoyed the auto trader when it was first developed and religiously picked up the trader publication. I hope someone at Kijiji reads this and thinks wow there are devoted people that actually enjoy what Kijiji produces besides a business money making machine only worried about the financials. Keep it real Kijiji

bossg10
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/12/19

Service is half working, you cannot even see the message sent from the buyer. App needs to be updated seriously, very poor management. Considering this is the biggest marketplace in Canada

vladt8
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/11/19

The management at kijiji are some of the stupidest people in the world. They are trying to legitimize this site by adding more metrics, analytics, bad rules and user racking. Some idiot decided it would be good to include how often you respond so they can block and ban you later with a point/credit system and of course track you at time of response. But how stupid and unfair is this? 90% of the replies from kijiji are lowlifes, kids and drug addicts. Some don't even need a reply because its just someone saying call me at xxx-xxx. Kijiji always rigs the system so the honest seller has to respond to trash and be rated for it. Why would anyone respond to a lowlife when you already put your best price, let's say $50 and some lowlife or reseller offers you $10. You are supposed to respond and say no thank you sir. I heard this same story from my friend who's a car dealer and they list cars for $4000-$5000 and people offer them $1000.

This is especially bad in big city like Toronto where its all refugees and refuse. The other thing people do is reference some ad 5000 miles away in Arizona and ask you to compete with it. Screw them. Just delete the account and put it on craigslist. Any site that forces you to sign up to tracking and metrics should be banned from Canada. Why even bother with Kijiji since their ads are way down and the prices are way up. The sellers lost about $13,000 since I stopped buying there because that is about what I spent last year before the bad changes.

aliu6
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/8/19

I'm shocked to see Kijiji allowing to post animal abuse posts like stuffed dead animal trophy or hunters and weapons that is disgusting. I will not use Kijiji anymore. I posted an add in cat rehome about to be careful to who you rehome your pets kijiji immediately banned my post by saying keep your opinion to yourself. I'm ashamed that I used kijiji services, Kijiji is a greedy bloody website where promotion of abuse and murdering of animals gladly promoted and my post removed when I'm trying to warm people about responsibility rehoming pet. Now you think what kind of website is this Kijiji definitely not on my list.

marcelom31
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/7/19

You waste time posting your AD, next thing you know, you find an email saying your AD is removed for some stupid reason. It just a job posting and they will remove it. You try to get in touch with them through chat? They will give you a sentence answer to your question and will drop the chat from there. Dont use this website.

massotherapyp
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/21/19

Before I used to be able to post without paying and now I have to pee and on top of it the ad goes down so fast. I'm a registered muscle therapist and also on eyelash technician and now I'm disappointed on going on the website because Kijiji is allowing a lot of girls who show that they're not professional muscle therapist at all and their pictures look inappropriate for a Kijiji. I'm really not happy of how they are working now the prices to post an ad is way overpriced and they charge way too much 4 month even weekly it is very ridiculous and I'm so disappointed. And to chat with them some of them they can be nice and a lot of them can be real jerks they don't even try to understand your situation once I put a picture of myself and it was not even a body picture anything and the guy said my picture was inappropriate but absolutely it wasn't it was just a head shot of my picture and then there's pictures of girls were like full-body picture and their blurring the face and that's how you know this isn't professional when they post pictures like that. Even the way they write and say that the real registered muscle therapist some of them are not because I contacted them and pretended to be a client and when I asked them for their license number so I can check with my insurance company they refuse to give it so that's how you know they are a scam. atlrast be registered..... you know....I used to really love posting on this website but now I am so disappointed and not happy. GGG needs to upgrade on fix the way they provide their services and their chat people and also they need to improve because also people are trying to sell stuff and they can't even do it properly because of them such a disappointment.

alexf178
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/19/19

I used kijiji many times in the past for buying, selling and jobs.Not anymore people are stupid the post ads only for fun no reply nothing.You try to find something or buy stuff they would send you an address which does not exist.Contractors posting ads just to see how many people are checking on the ad nothing else.People nowadays are realy stupid and uneducated in any way .
One example three years ago i found a good deal on camera lens i contacted the seller asking about the lens price, we agreed upon the price.At the i asked him when and when i can go pick up the lens hes response was" You can find at square one" in Mississauga.Everybody know how big that mall or area is.I replied to him keep your lens if you ever had any and shove it up your ass.Unfortunately kijiji can not do anything about it.
Kijiji is one of the worst of the worst site ever made.Filled with junk stupid uneducated liars thieves and $#*!ed up people .

trevorf36
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/1/19

Most of the serious/intelligent buyers & sellers have left Kijiji. Now the site is infested with nothing but scam artists & local business ads. A complete waste of time. I've found much better success on Facebook & Varagesale over the last 6 months. Less ads, less pro sellers, less headaches. lol... everything Ebay touches instantly turns into $ H I T

stephenc329
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
1/31/19

Kijiji is now a scam and the good sellers have been eradicated like on ebay. You can't post here unless you subscribe to the one of track and watch type emails like yahoo, gmail and so on. If you try using a real email, where your mails aren't read by google losers then your posts will never show up. The site and sellers are garbage and buying anything is a waste of time and money. It's funny how these scam company demands you to be a perfect seller yet they can't even get to 10 positives while there is 140 negatives. With that kind of sub 1% ratio it shows what kind of scam company and management they have.

michaelg1120
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/30/19

Kijiji is the worst place I've been to for any purpose! Buying or selling! people are dodgy and like to waste your time. There is no good to come out of that site! people/trolls have destroyed it

3 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Internet vendors have no interest in people who can't afford to have a cellphone or connect over a personal IP address. Poverty sucks - you'd better get used to it. Only the govt can change change that, but don't hold your breath.

By Guy S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

When American companies take over they ruin everything!!

By Lois O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Kijiji staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

9 Photos for Kijiji

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Kijiji?
Post Review