Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of HelloTotem

HelloTotem reviews

33 reviews
6370 Lusk Blvd Ste F102
San Diego, CA 92121-2754, United States
Tel: (888) 224-7231 6370
nicholas@hellototem.com

33 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
2

All Reviews

yvonnem27
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/25/16

Sent phone in using their protective packaging. When I didn't agree with the amount offered afterward, instead of returning MY phone, they sent me someone else's phone... AND shipped it in an 8 x 11 nylon envelope with 1 layer of thin bubble wrap around the phone leaving the delicate phone to slide around the full volume of the envelope . Needless to say the phone arrived with a shattered glass display. They might as well have put a note in it saying "that'll teach you to waste our time." Spoke with the head honcho, Nicholas, and he was condescending and defiant about a proper resolution to this slap in the face. After I threatened legal action the ass finally sent me a check in the amount I was expecting. Give the idea of sending your devices in to these people a healthy dose of reluctance

vincef8
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/16/16

I SENT MY PHONE BACK IN 2012 WITH FED X TRACKING,NEVER GOT PAID.NOBODY ANSWER THE PHONE AND E-mail address was a fake

debbies65
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/11/15

Sent in husband' blackberry....NEVER received payment!! This has been at least 4 years ago...just adding my disgust with this company!!

mindyl2
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/19/15

I sent in a iphone 4 years ago and received payment as promised, so when I got a new phone I sent in another iphone 4 and have never heard back since. Their website just says that they have received my phone but no payments were ever issued. It's been almost two years now. I'm just wondering why send prepaid envelopes to get people's phones if you don't have the cash to pay them for it? This business is predatory and sellers should be cautioned.

jonathans46
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/6/15

Absolutely a scam. I sent my iPad to them after receiving a quote of $275.00. They even sent me the box to mail it in. That was over a year ago and I have never heard from them since. How do companies/people get away with this? I contacted the FBI online Fraud Center but did not hear from them. Online fraud must be rampant. Very, very sad.

tommyt15
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/10/14

A total scam---sent in 3 mint condition phones! An iPhone 4 a Motorola M and a Blackberry Storm all phone were in perfect condition---nothing. No way to reach them---I emailed numerous times but never once did I get a reply---and it has now been almost 2 years---I wish I would have put my phones up on EBay! I hope there is a class action lawsuit cause I will be on board! POS thieves!

jael2
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/3/14

They're definitely fraud. I sent my excellent condition iPhone 4 and didn't receive anythung. No respond and didn't send payment. And there is no way to contact them.
it was july 2013. Since I haven't heard anything. Don't ever believe that fraud reviews and people waste their money to damn business and got swindled.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
maxp30
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/25/14

I see people saying they worked there and it was a good company. Well I sent in an iPhone 4S in good shape, it worked fine and had been gently used. No cracks, chips, etc. It was evaluated and HelloTotem agreed and said they would send a check. I received nothing, so I opened a support ticket. They said they would send another. I received nothing. They stopped responding to that and future tickets, emails, calls, etc. This was 18 months ago and still nothing. I did not try to rip them off, I was ripped off by these people.

Tip for consumers: Stay away. If you find them, let me know.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
adamm67
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/28/14

NOT A SCAM. I worked for these guys and the truth is most people would send in like old blackberrys and say that they sent in Iphone 4s. I don't know if people know this but there are people out there who aren't completely honest if they think they can get money for it. These guys are great and the idea is great. Liars are trying to put this company out of business.

paulw68
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/18/14

The site is a scam. Took my fiPhone and never responded to a single correspondence or request. Stay away from this site.

mandyj3
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/13/14

What a rip-off. i sent my phone in and never got any money! This site is such a scam. I should have looked deeper, but I had been linked from a reputable site recommending resale of old phones. I lost more than $150!

bm34
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/6/14

This site is a scam! I sent my phone in November, got confirmation that it was received and then nothing until I sent a complaint to the Better Business Beaurue. I got an email saying I would get my check in two weeks that they were back logged. A month later and still no check. How can this site stay open?

jeng10
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/22/13

Sent my phone in, website says It was received 7 Nov, it is now 22 Dec and nothing. I have sent multiple emails and trouble tickets without a single response. Extremely disappointed and will not use this website again. I was trying to get my husband to send in his extra phone and I'm glad he didn't. This is obviously a scam or a floundering company that is in over it's head. I smell a class action lawsuit...

melaniet5
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/19/13

If I could give them a negative rating I would. DO NOT SELL YOUR PHONE TO HELLOTOTEM.COM: You will not get your money and you will never see your phone again!! I sent my phone to them on 11/01 receiving confirmation from them that they received it on 11/07. It is now 12/19 and I do not have a phone or the money they promised! Please please please if you are reading this review there is a reason they don't allow reviews on the website. Don't use them and get screwed like I did!

mikeb131
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
12/12/13

What a rip off and scam. Their site is no longer working but if Nicholas Fiorentino starts another website for phones, do NOT trust that site.

https://www.gripevine.com/hello-totem-nick-will-steal-your-phone-and-pay-you-0-hello-totem-gripe-20967398

@cash4iphones is another one I found that seems to be him. Do not sell your phone there http://www.cash4iphones.com

shannonm22
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/11/13

Like several others, I saw this site on Good Morning America and Huffington Post. Sent my phone in October - mint condition - haven't received payment nor any response to emails/support tickets. No means of getting in touch with them.

Shame on the reputable news sources for promoting such a scam company!!

renees6
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/11/13

In October I sent my mint iPhone 4 to HelloTotem. I was promised $95 for the phone. On 11/19, the company received my phone and has yet to pay me. I have sent them several requests for support but my requests are "being reviewed by our support staff" and no one has contacted me back. HelloTotem promises payment within 2-3 days of receiving your device.

The company is a scam.

mikew78
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/10/13

I sent in my iphone 4S over 2 months ago. Their website status says they received my phone but no payment has been sent. I submitted a "request" in which they told me there is something wrong with the website that payment sent status isn't updating. They said that payment was mailed on 11/15/13, but its been 3 weeks and still no check.

mattk26
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/9/13

HelloTotem is a fraud. Sent them an Iphone 5 two months ago. Haven't heard back from them since. I filed complaints with BBB and the Internet Crimes unit.
To test them, I offered to sell them an IPad. They promptly sent me the mailer.
I filled the box with old counter tiles and sent it back to them.

joellep
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/4/13

I sent in our 32gb iphone 4s in mint condition at the end of October. They received the phone on 11/05/2013 now it's 12/05/2013. I have sent several e-mails inquiring on where our money is with absolutely no reply. DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY! They have stolen our $220!

crystalj3
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/26/13

I picked this company based on a recommendation from the Huffington Post. It's apparent that they did not do their research about this company before listing them in an article published in September. I am appalled that a company is allowed to continue to run while committing consumer fraud. It is apparent by EVERY website about this company that they are a scam. I have written the CEO several times as well and have received no response. I know they have my phone based on my tracking number and yet I have received nothing. I will not let them live this down and am looking into legal action if I do not receive my check soon.

jeffj15
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/26/13

I sent in my iPhone 4s and HelloTotem recieved it almost two weeks ago. On their website, they say that if everything checks out, you will be paid within 48 hours. Since I had not received a check, I submitted a ticket and sent them several e-mails asking for the status. I also e-mailed Nicholas, as suggested by the HelloTotem rep who has responded to some of the other reviews on sitejabber. So far, no response back wahtsoever. Very disappointing.

Update--I did get a check from them, so in the end it worked out. However, they were very unresponsive during the process which was frustrating.

mattf20
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/25/13

I followed their instructions and sent in my mint condition iPhone 4. The website says that upon receipt of the phone, I would get my check for $75 in 2-4 business days. It's been nearly three weeks and they aren't responding to e-mails and don't have a working telephone number. DO NOT SEND YOUR PHONE TO THEM UNLESS YOU LIKE GIVING AWAY THINGS FOR FREE.

codyg12
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/5/13

I sent them my working iPhone in February after receiving a quote of $150. They initially tried to claim the phone was broken, but I subsequently (a month later) got a supervisor to review it. He found that it worked and agreed to honor the original quote. I heard nothing, until June, when I got an e-mail telling me my payment was in the mail. I still have not received it, nine months later, and all attempts to contact them through their website since have been ignored. A trouble ticket submitted a month ago is still "waiting for assignment to a representative".

This company has effectively stolen my phone. I have complained to the Better Business Bureau as well.

kassidys
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/29/13

So I sent in my mint condition white iPhone4 over a month ago and I have yet to hear ANYTHING back.

They said it would only take a few days for my phone to be reviewed and for them to send me my payment but that was such a lie! They don't provide a contact number and won't respond to my tickets or emails...they flat out stole my iPhone!

DO NOT SELL THEM YOUR PHONE, THEY ARE THIEVES!

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the HelloTotem staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for HelloTotem

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
HelloTotem?
Post Review