Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Grammarly

Grammarly reviews

121 reviews
548 Market Street, #35410
San Francisco, CA 94104
support@grammarly.com

121 Reviews From Our Community

Service
12
Value
10
Shipping
3
Returns
4
Quality
11

All Reviews

michaellb
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/13/17

This is the worst customer service I ever encountered. They will not help. They ask for information they do not need to pretend to be assisting you. The responses are canned. This company needs to be nailed for fraud.

Tip for consumers: Do not trust it.

Service
Value
Quality
Advertisement
timothyq2
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/12/17

Grammarly is a disaster for students in developing countries. I'm referring to (graduate) students with mediocre English skills. Feeding their work through Grammarly gives them a false sense of confidence, when the result is unintelligible. The only positive thing is the correction of misspelt words (though verbs are often corrected into the wrong tense). The students have no idea that both the input and output are wrong, and think that the weird sentence structures produced are correct. It seems to me that students become too reliant on such programs, and do not work on their own language mastery.

Value
Quality
jinvsfdj
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/10/17

This is amazing... I CAN'T GET ENOUGH! I legit use it for EVERYTHING. I just wish that it was free. I'm using the free version right now whilst typing this. Very good everything. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! Already recommended it to my principal to install it in all of the computers at my school. Lol, he said he would consider it.

Tip for consumers: I recommend using it with a lot of important reviews and such. E.x. College paper, etc.

Service
Value
Quality
alexl169
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/1/17

Charged my credit card a full year subscription fee without authorisation. Hidden auto-renew. $#*! company.

linw193
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/28/17

I would really give it no stars if I could and yes I have removed it from my computer. After writing and correcting and carefully proofreading twice in word I had no mistakes. Yet Grammarly said there was things I had to correct. I did that and then I found a sentence that was completely unrecognisable as anything I had written. Surprised I copied back to Word only to be shocked to find I now had 387 mistakes!
Stay away from it and save your money and especially if your English is not strong.

students10
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/27/17

why this kind of fraud ? please don't trust this grammarly , its a great cheat.
hidden costs and fraud money making

nicholasp37
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/27/17

Ive been using Grammarly for about a month now and Ive noticed it fails to pick up on simple grammatical errors, such as: I sent an email to a potential employer today, and I was quite tired while I was writing it, so I wrote: Thanks again for taking the time to speaking with me today and Grammarly didnt catch the mistake. This is just one example of many, and now my employer things I cant write. Dont bother, just use Word.

souyoungy
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/17/17

What would you need it for? I say it's for idiots. A lot of spellings they correct or grammar 'errors' aren't always true. Plus they don't know a lot of old English words such as Beldam or thy. They just correct it to bedlam or they. Morons.

pamh74
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/9/17

They charged us double and then wouldn't let us use the premium we'd purchased! And you can't call anyone...

belles6
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/8/17

They literally charged my card the second I tried to cancel. They give you the run around trying to get your money back! You have to email them to get your money, but they make it seem like you only have to cancel and you'll be refunded-- seems like they're hoping people wont notice not being refunded within the 7 days. Grammarly makes more mistakes than it corrects. Overall, bad product and terrible user experience

rachelb144
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/5/17

Grammarly is absolutely an outstanding. I couldn't do without it.
It makes everything easy, perfect and very quick.
There isn't a better product anywhere.
Thanks a million Grammarly!

Tip for consumers: Get Grammarly it is a great tool I love it and could not
do without it. It definitely exceeded my expectations.
It is a top product!

Service
Value
Quality
marianad6
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/2/17

I installed Grammarly both in my Firefox (in my Gmail) as well as in Microsoft Word. BOTH suck. The app won´t correct even the simplest mistake.

tracig6
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/24/17

I recently installed Grammarly and love the free version. I decided to upgrade and after a day or so realized that I didn't really need the full version. I sent a cancellation request and within 20 minutes they had processed the cancellation and refunded my PayPal account. Cancelling a service is typically such a hassle but I can't thank Grammarly enough for how easy and painless this was. Great tool and I would definitely recommend them!

sondray
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/24/17

Actually, I have found more mistakes from grammerly and just want to be free of the app. I just want it to GO AWAY!!!!!!!

Tip for consumers: Don't do it!! You will never be free of it!!

Service
Returns
Quality
colleeng29
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/21/17

There are several spell check tools available -- Grammarly must have paid all the reviewers to give them good reviews. Don't fall for it. You will spend more time undoing the ridiculous changes this tool requires, like going to the beginning of a sentence when one wrong letter has been typed. It is worthless and worth (even in free version) more than your time.

michaelh425
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/19/17

I've been searching for grammar app for a long time, but after installing Grammarly there is no reason to search any more. The app is great and helps me to deal with minor mistakes each day on Gmail, Wordpress, Stackoverflow and other sites. Also it's free to use if don't need to write more than 200 words a day. Thank you!

miken127
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/18/17

Grammarly is waste of money and does not correct easy grammar errors. examples to and too, then and than and forget about trying to use a semi colon. I can't believe anybody could give Grammarly 5 stars,

vivecae
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/17/17

I still have a contract to next year with Grammarly. I've changed my Email adress and now I can't log in. Your customer service is terrible. No agent to talk to. Ready to cancel but even that you cleverly have made hard to do.

tomr158
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/3/17

I have found Grammarly to be the best app for online writing, period. Not only because of the superficial repairs to writing but also that it is easy to find deeper details on grammar usage via links. I appreciate especially that they allow us non-writers to access the app for free.

ruthw44
1 review
9 helpful votes
9/27/17

Why do I have to pay to get corrections??? I'm a student and I need Grammarly! Every commercial I've seen has chalked it up to be so great and FREE and its not!! #falseadvertising and also I have to download every doc that I want corrected, but sometimes the doc can't be downloaded so I have to send myself an email with the doc link! I am not paying 139.95 per year for something that doesn't correct whatever I'm writing in any engine or page online!

dotsiew
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/24/17

As annoying as a buzzing fly about one's face.

(+to attain 100 characters xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

mattl82
1 review
17 helpful votes
9/11/17

If you need to harass me with an advert embedded into every video I watch on YouTube then your product obviously does not have the power to gain positive traction in the market place by word or mouth or otherwise. You have turned me off from ever using this product by shoving it down my throat and drowning me in it.

hordep
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/8/17

So I decided to enroll in a subscription, it said $11.66/month, so I was like "oh cool." But right below that price, in tiny letters, it said: "Billed as one payment of $139.95." Well, I didn't read the tiny letters and then I find that I was charged $139.95 via Paypal. I contacted support within 5 minutes, told them I wanted a refund (didn't even state why), and five minutes later Olivia responds and gives me a full refund. That was pretty cool. I think the product is too expensive but good customer service from my experience.

chrisg186
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/5/17

You will find that it will swap out words and create arbitrary sentences that make no sense at all. It doesn't happen often, but enough to make me comb through suggestions twice. On another note, I work on a Mac and use this software to check online courses, it consistently crashes my browser. I can't open it up and work on it using the standard software provided. Instead, what I have to do is work in the backend (code) which only catches about 3/4 of the grammar mistakes. It's a bit frustrating, especially since I opted for the upgraded version at $29 a month. For that price, the software should work flawlessly.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Grammarly is a scam.

By Steph J.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

As far as viruses etc..I've had no issues. Grammarly Support is a nightmare (there is no support) and for editing a manuscript it's useless. I think for basic grammar okay but even then mistakes occur. Good luck!

By karen j.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can go to school.

By Karina P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is a free version that works really well. Based on the above reviews, I don't think I will risk paying for the upgraded version. This is where people seem to have the biggest complaints. Also, it doesn't see to work on Google.docs (so not helpful to dyslexic or other students who struggle with spelling and punctuation) or on Word.

By Linda M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is just something mega unusual about the profound resistance of this company against communicating. They will not communicate with the public by phone. If you use their listed number, it is a dead-end answering machine that directs the caller back to their web site. Their product is far from perfect but still is useful and will likely get better. My issues are less about their product than with their impenetrable communication. While I can see that they may not want to offer phone support for such a complex program, the fact that they will not speak to customers about billing issues communicates sociopathic tendencies. Whomever is running the company tries to act like computers more than behaving like people.

By Ed N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Customer service is nonexistent at Grammarly. Their competitor, however, is cheaper and offers live chat. www.whitesmoke.com

By Timothy M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No. Grammarly works only in web browers. Your apps are not supported. You'll also lose all character formatting with copy/paste to/from the web browser.

By Steph J.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

if your problem is small grammar mistakes it's likely that Grammarly can help your grades. It helped me keep my grades up throughout high school.

By Katie S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It doesn't take long and often it catches little errors I would have missed, so I'd say, yeah, it's worth it. It's never made my grades worse, only better.

By Katie S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I can't really understand your question. Can you explain more specifically what you are seeking the product do that it is not doing?

By Ed N.
Questions? Get answers from the Grammarly staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for Grammarly

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Grammarly?
Post Review