Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Grammarly

Grammarly reviews

281 reviews
548 Market Street, #35410
San Francisco, CA 94104, US
Tel: +1-916-445-1254
support@grammarly.com

281 Reviews From Our Community

Service
21
Value
17
Shipping
6
Returns
10
Quality
18

All Reviews

alenak15
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/25/19

I paid for premium during writing of my diploma thesis and it was decent but certainly not worth the money, it is after all a glorified spell check. However what I am the most displeased about is that I have been unsuccesfully trying to quit the premium for three months now. Eventhough I cancelled my subscription (and got the confirmation email) I had to contact the customer support next month because I was charged again. Customer support let me know that it is definitely my fault but AS A COURTESY, they will refund me (which thanks to the exchange rates and bank fees still cost me money) and they will cancel the subscription for me. Surprise surprise this month I am charged again. I wonder when this will end.

Service
Returns
Quality
petb2
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/24/19

FRAUD! I cancelled my Grammarly trial in March and still received a charge on next June! My mistake was to leave my credit card number on their web site.

There is no support line to call, the number 1888-318-6146 is only a recording with references to the web site. I left several messages on their web site without any reply from them.

I am now trying to dispute the charge with the credit card. But in the meantime I am out $135 USD from fraud

kennethu9
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/19/19

EVERY SINGLE time I try to edit a document with Grammarly I have to refresh my password. I have cleared cookies and history and it still happens. Their site has a lot of drop-down menus but NOWHERE to contact an individual. Paid for Premium and I want my money back!!

willa36
1 review
84 helpful votes
6/18/19
• Updated review

It's help me with my essays, at least with checking for plagiarism. I still say the word choice and style and simple grammar errors are better handled by word if not better than grammarly.

“It's a rip off”
9/12/18
• Previous review

Don't pay for it. Microsoft word does a way better job. And some of the words they suggest don't even fit into the sentence properly. Trust me don't waste your money.

grammarlyd
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/17/19

They buy so much ad space on YouTube and reply the same annoying ads. Just can't wait for the 5... 4 ...3 ...2 ...1 ...Skip Ad to come fast enough.

bubbleb1
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/12/19

I admit it first: I have not tested gramarly. why? because I strongly dislike who ever try to force me doing something. It's irrational as mush as it would be irrational for you to not promote your product, but I heavily dislike the aggressive and self-righteous manner you do your advertising.

I see your advertising almost everywhere, your targetting system may detect me as a perfect client and focused more on me than on the average client but only the first add leave me with a little "why not..."... the hundred following advertising just makes me angry!

And I'm sad to tel that, but all your advertising is crap! Showing your product as so futile and so fake: "interviews" of people who are obiously too delighted to have only looked at the tool, or an other man who is too proud to lie(..?) at his future colleagues about themselves!! I don't consider using modern tool as cheating but your adverting sounds like the opposite. Where someone is pretending to be who he isn't so much that he doesn't recognise himself.

And even if if I don't disagree with using tool to enhance my writing/communication, are you really proud of promoting lies and fakes so much? a tool that promise so much without a single clue! That someone that can't recognise his own work sounds right for you? That insisting so much with a jackhammer that "it's free" just to make you forgetfor a moment that nothing is free in our world and not saying how they fool you to may money from what ever they extract about you?

juanitam35
1 review
5 helpful votes
6/8/19

I was trying to use Grammarly to write a book of my own and to get your improvements you have to pay worst thing ever

bomil
1 review
13 helpful votes
6/5/19

This service is no better than MS Word tool. Don't be blind by the advertisements. Certainly, it will not improve your style and literacy. It does recognize not word poor order.

Grammarly is currently on, and results SEE really terrible. Even "Google translate" suggestions better give me when I Joda style English language use. It ridiculous really is when money paid you to have language better and smarter look you.

Grammarly is supposed to point out unreadable or unclear texts. See the above lines. No comment on that. Grammarly does not give good alternatives on most occasions. Barely detects redundant words. Barely detects nonsense or absolute crap. The corrections suggestions I receive are more than rudimentary. The number of false positive is quite big. It even cannot recognize the use of acronyms or names. Definitely, I will cancel my premium account. So for a spell checker or basic grammar - yes it will help. If you want more - better spend on English lessons with a reputable teacher. It will make more sense. The worst money I have ever spent for an online service.

hatew
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
6/4/19

They have a free version if you want and it's also great. Love the emails where they say how amazing you are :)

michaelc1716
1 review
10 helpful votes
5/27/19

Grammarly kept causing Outlook 2016 to crash I removed it and problem solved in minutes. I love the concept of what Grammarly does but not with all the issues it causes

brandonl119
1 review
11 helpful votes
5/26/19

Grammarly has been aggressively advertised to me on YouTube and as a student with trouble writing, I was eventually convinced to try it. The free version seemed to work as intended. The program will show you the errors it finds in your writing but will not offer the solution to some of them until you buy the premium version. After buying the premium version, the "help" for these errors is functionally useless. The suggestions either do not work with the context of the writing or magically disappeared after buying premium. Now the vanishing errors may just be coincidence, but the high price tag and poor customer service options, make me suspicious. I wish I had looked for reviews of this service after seeing the price options. All the payment options are WAY too high for the "upgrade" you get. The "upgrade" being you are no longer taunted with answers to mistakes that may or may not help you. It also changes the popup ads to upgrade to popups to use Grammarly when you are typing in a search engine. Grammarly is a scam. It plays on peoples' insecurities, pressures them to waste up to $130 dollars, then hopes you forget about the charge until they can auto bill you again. Auto-bill is the default, the prices are high and you will not get a refund. This service has made me decide to start blocking ads on YouTube. I will not support Grammarly or those that help them. If YouTube is willing to help scammers then I will not help YouTube. I will use other methods to help creators. Congratulations YouTube, I tolerate your ads less then the ads on porn sites.

avan7
1 review
43 helpful votes
5/23/19

Three years ago I purchased the program the day after I noticed the program is not useful so I tried to cancel and emailed them a couple of times no answer so far!! I had to close my bank account.

jamess1710
1 review
44 helpful votes
5/21/19

I paid around £135 for a premium subscription, but when I went to open the grammarly app it showed up as if I still had the free version, after hours and hours of research and contacting them I got a VERY reluctant HALF refund. I am outraged.

bodzm
1 review
55 helpful votes
5/19/19

Used it for 10 mins before deleting it. $#*!in stupid ads pop up evrywhere! they can kindly suck my .

michaelf767
1 review
83 helpful votes
5/14/19

Grammarly is a rip off.

Run, don't walk from this thieving, dishonest website.

We were charged duplicative fees for both a monthly and annual membership at the same time!.

When the annual charge hit our credit card account on top of the monthly charge, we disputed the charge, canceled the service, and received a written confirmation from Grammarly all within the space of under an hour, but Grammarly refused to remove the unauthorized charge.

After we canceled the service, Grammarly continue to charge our credit card

We're in the midst of a credit card charge billing dispute, and are preparing to Sue.

Run, don't walk!

chc7
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/13/19

Program is great, customer service is very poor. I paid for the service and was very happy with it. I logged out and could not remember my login info. I contacted customer support, I had the transaction number, date, amount, everything they requested. I literally spent hours on this all to no avail. I was given instructions that sent me in repetitive loops. So I have a premium service, which is completely useless now. I typically detail all my login info but did not this time for some reason.

javierl31
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/9/19

Sometimes, it's pretty confusing when you use Grammarly with MSword. Different spelling errors, MSword has it's own spelling correction and Grammarly as well. I hope there's a updates on this matter.

kazk1
1 review
14 helpful votes
5/4/19

Microsoft word process is much more accurate than Grammarly. Do not waste your time and money on grammarly and plz dont be fooled by their Ads

hanks29
1 review
87 helpful votes
5/2/19

They charge you automatically for a service that you haven't even used and then won't refund it. They deliberately make sure to automatically renew the service to a whole years so that they can take your money.

I'm suing.

marciah2
3 reviews
26 helpful votes
5/1/19

You have a fairly decent product, albeit its recommendations are questionable at times. My subscription ended yesterday and I cancelled yesterday. However, you still charged my account. Your practices are deceptive and what is worst is that customers have no way to contact you. Your product is not worth $139.00. Please refund my account.

Dr. Hawk

aasswwx
1 review
8 helpful votes
4/25/19

The failed program tries to input politically correct suggestions on words that it deemed sexist!! If I want to write "manhole" I do want it to be manhole! But I found out that grammarly is cater toward female!! I am glad this program is such a failure! It tries to promote female empowerment but neglect the other half of the population!

sakaanee
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/16/19

I tested the free version of Grammarly today on a business document and two fiction pieces. The failure rate for Grammarly's suggestions was greater than 50% on the first document; 100% on the second (one critical error where Grammarly's correction was blatantly incorrect in context); and about 45% on the third. Most often, Grammarly failed to correctly identify the subject of a sentence so suggestions for word replacements were incorrect. Additionally, due to the free version not including genre settings and similar options, many of its suggested corrections interfered with style. This means that, on average, the author cannot really rely on Grammarly to assist with writing corrections unless the author already has a good understanding of writing rules and can therefore properly evaluate what Grammarly is suggesting. This is really no different to using Word's spelling and grammar checker, although I would say that between the two, Grammarly probably does a bit of a better job.

As a tool, it's fine to have Grammarly on hand the same way it's fine to have a hard copy dictionary. But, it should not be viewed as a one-stop solution and none of its corrections should ever be blindly accepted.

robl41
8 reviews
19 helpful votes
4/11/19

First, I feel deceived. While using the free version, it checks my document and has a few suggestions (all missing commas) and says I should upgrade to premium to see 3 more corrections. I pay the $29 because I'm not committing to a year yet, and what are those three corrections? More commas. You really couldn't give me the commas for free?

It's also inconsistent. It flags that I have the word "awkward" twice in back to back sentences (which is awesome) but fails to notice that I used the word "moment" twice in back to back sentences (not so awesome).

Another thing is that it misses a lot of corrections so you can't rely on this at all and seems it takes even longer to edit.

Lastly, it's not compatible with Apple Pages so I have to open MS word or use the Grammarly site.

I won't be keeping this product.

emmaw146
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/10/19

I am a student and had a essay due tomorrow and decided to download grammarly to just check it before I send it in. It worked like a dream and found lots of errors and helped me to find ways to put what I wanted to say better. I was so shocked about how good it was so I just had to say something about it. I know this sounds like a fake review based on how the other reviews are so bad, but I think it did what it was supposed to do and I am happy with it. It is free so just test it out.

amieb17
1 review
114 helpful votes
4/6/19

Dude, it doesn't correct my obvious errors, makes my writing weird and WORD IS BETTER THAN THIS TRASH!!!! >:( BIG FAKE! Uninstalled it before anything bad happened. Don't ever use this. If i see another add, i will scream! I do not know what Prenium is all about, but i suspect it's bad!

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 9
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Grammarly is a scam.

By Steph J.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I agree with everyone else. I have been using grammarly for almost 2 years and I never had a problem with viruses or anything. It is a good product and well worth the investment.

By Rose B.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can go to school.

By Karina P.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is a limit, but I find that only a minor inconvenience. If the document goes over the size limit, just cut and paste the document by halves or thirds and run Grammarly checks on each part.

By Ed N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is a free version that works really well. Based on the above reviews, I don't think I will risk paying for the upgraded version. This is where people seem to have the biggest complaints. Also, it doesn't see to work on Google.docs (so not helpful to dyslexic or other students who struggle with spelling and punctuation) or on Word.

By Linda M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is just something mega unusual about the profound resistance of this company against communicating. They will not communicate with the public by phone. If you use their listed number, it is a dead-end answering machine that directs the caller back to their web site. Their product is far from perfect but still is useful and will likely get better. My issues are less about their product than with their impenetrable communication. While I can see that they may not want to offer phone support for such a complex program, the fact that they will not speak to customers about billing issues communicates sociopathic tendencies. Whomever is running the company tries to act like computers more than behaving like people.

By Ed N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

nothing. this scammer will not do any return. now you need to make sure you uncheck the auto-renew option because by default, it's checked.

By abby t.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't install this spyware! it sends everything you type to them! It's literally a virus keylogger!

By Vlad R.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Customer service is nonexistent at Grammarly. Their competitor, however, is cheaper and offers live chat. www.whitesmoke.com

By Timothy M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't be a stupid fool, you know that spelling and grammar are important but clearly not as much as the substance of your work. You can't get perfect mark without work. But it every one start to use this kind of tools and the average people start to becoe near perfect in spelling and grammar without effort in order to get an easy advantage, then in this case yes! teaches will start to slowly expect perfection by default. Do you want that? I won't because it's not the aim of this exercise.

By bubble b.
Questions? Get answers from the Grammarly staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

10 Photos for Grammarly

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Grammarly?
Post Review