Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Grammarly

Grammarly reviews

239 reviews
548 Market Street, #35410
San Francisco, CA 94104, US
Tel: +1-916-445-1254
support@grammarly.com

239 Reviews From Our Community

Service
19
Value
16
Shipping
5
Returns
8
Quality
16

All Reviews

ianm266
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/10/19

HUGEEEEE pay wall. I mean huge. The free version corrected ABSOLUTELY NOTHING, and, from what other people are saying, the paid version is also a rip-off. Would not recommend; actually, I would recommend something: run away screaming and wipe your computer (if u paid for it). If u didn't, delete it and think about your past choices.

justinl182
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/6/19

Tried one time off quarterly service, and it renewed for the next quarter by itself without providing any notice in advance . I attempted to contact the customer to solve it and there is even no contact number on their website. Don't try it!

alinai5
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/6/19

I installed Grammarly on my iPad after seeing the ad on YouTube, but then it took me to a permissions area under the Settings and wanted FULL ACCESS TO EVERYTHING. It won't work without the full access.

I'm an author and I really don't want anybody having access to novels that are yet to be released, nor the outlines for other novels. They're something that I don't want stolen or distributed about the internet before they're published.

The permissions for Grammarly say that they want full access to anything you write, or have already written. Basically, everything you type on your device goes to them. That's on the free version and is quite frankly a very scary prospect. I instantly uninstalled it.

Although they say they won't take credit card details, reviews deny that claim and I can't see how they'd be able to take one lot of your data and not all of it. Really think before installing this program and just how much of your private life they're taking through the data on your device.

larryh280
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/5/19

Never worked not even once. Couldn't get help or money back. Citi Bank Credit Card won't give me money back so I'll start using a different card.

blainef14
1 review
10 helpful votes
12/27/18

Use the free version if you must, but don't EVER give them your card or account info!!! EVER. Their whole business model is just to charge and charge and charge. You think you unsubscribed - WRONG! You can never unsubscribe. They just keep charging you.

They put the "screw" in un - screw - pulouls.

wowd
1 review
11 helpful votes
12/18/18

i mean, seriously? seriously? another damn 1 minute ad? i get its space would be filled with something else were it not for you, but i would rather watch 10 minutes of just paint drying than hear another one of your probably underpaid actors talk about how good and free it is. apparently it's not!! even!! free!! and the service that you get without paying is a simple spellcheck which you can literally use your autocorrect keyboard or instant messaging services for. i also hear that you went down the classic road of charging people for the service after they'd agreed to pay for a month. real classy. every precious minute you rob me of from now on will result in another bad review on another site. maybe i'll start a blog! maybe i'll run a facebook hate group! whichever site gets me on the main page first, so you go bankrupt and i don't have to hear any of it again

ariw6
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
12/17/18

I downloaded grammarly to help fix and check my essays. But after using it I found out that it can only fix grammar and spelling for free, which I am already pretty good at. Usually the only mistakes I get are accidental double spaces and noticable typoes.

kathrync103
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/11/18

This would be a five star review if not for the cheap and unprofessional practice of "auto-renew." I knew I had auto-renew. I naively thought that Grammarly would act like most successful companies. I did not expect it to act like a cheap magazine subscription and not bother to send me a reminder. Grammarly has kindly taken the time to send me an email once a week on my Grammarly stats. Then, when Grammarly decides to deduct a large amount of money out of my account, no notice at all. Surprise! This is beyond unprofessional. It's a struggling-business move and Grammarly has a good product and it should be better than this. I'm disgusted and disappointed.

magdalenad5
1 review
8 helpful votes
12/7/18

we aware when you buy a one year subcription there is embedded an auto renewal
When I got the notification from my credit card and charge may be in process, I canceled the subcription right away but grammaly charged it anyways
I had been trying to get the issue resolve and get my money back but nothing so far

ellal41
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/6/18

A great download... IF you have trouble with your spelling. I was writing something and I really wanted to test it out. So I typed a sentence that did not have correct grammar. Grammarly did not detect it... Very disappointing... But, the spelling corrections are on point!

ilianb14
1 review
13 helpful votes
12/4/18

It's like a scam, if you pay for a month, they well keep charging you without any notice. Plus, there is almost no difference between the free and premium account.

anyas12
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/30/18

I got this to help in my spelling I am a student and liked that it was free plus a lot of my friends got it to. I was happy the first few days it was working nice and then it told my to sign back in and so I did and soon it would ask me ever time it sign in I was O.K with it. Soon after that it was tell me that now it is disable on chrome I wanted to talk to they support team like on other apps but I could not find anything . I was in class today it popped up saying that I need to sign in as I got home I did try to sign in and it told me that the password was wrong so I am telling you do not get.

allisonp58
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/30/18

I actually have come to love Grammarly. As a writing instructor, when I first saw the commercials, I though, "Oh, great. Another spell-checker." However, my institution has an account, and I grew to rely on it as a busy writer. It is very easy to make little typos when shooting off hundreds of emails per day, so using Grammarly comes in very handy and saves me time. In addition, the support team was nice enough to refund my Premium subscription 24 hours after I accidentally bought it (I didn't know my school already had an account with them). If my school no longer wishes to use the premium, I will go ahead and purchase the product at that time. I can use it across platforms: in Word, Google Docs (Beta) and my phone.

shawa1
1 review
17 helpful votes
11/27/18

DO NOT USE THIS WEBSITE! THEY WILL CHARGE YOU FOR NO REASON!Service is not good at all and do not have a way to contact them by phone.

yonnia
1 review
6 helpful votes
11/26/18

I had a problem with accessing my Premium and needed assistance to reset the password. The response was slow and did not resolve my issue. I was unable to cancel my subscription either. Initially, when it did work for me I thought the program was useful, but if you run into problems there is no satisfactory help. Would not recommend on this basis.

jakeb128
1 review
10 helpful votes
11/23/18

This is the equivalent of google translator for reviews, also the forgot my password never send you an email. So have fun paying for another membership... complete rip-off!

janw167
1 review
14 helpful votes
11/11/18

The program seems very complete in the trial version. But to be honest, the Pro-version can't do anything more. There are better alternatives for free.

samy26
1 review
14 helpful votes
11/6/18

I'm a professional editor and writer (NY Times, Psychology Today,
Men's Health et al.), and the author of a style and usage manual.

Grammarly is crap. I signed up for a free trial (and damn, it was hard to remove the
thing from my computer afterward), and submitted a short paragraph simply
dripping with errors of spelling, grammar, usage and punctuation. Grammarly
missed every one of the mistakes; it flagged only one word as a possible
error---one that was not an error at all.
I distrust all spell-checkers and other computerized editing tools, so yes, I was
biased going in, but Grammarly's performance in my brief test more than
justified my bias. Stay away from this program.

rizkir1
1 review
6 helpful votes
11/5/18

I started to use grammarly in the middle of August 2018. Using free account, I feel quite satisfied with the feature that it provide. It is really help me writing business email, since i am not english native. Then I was tempted to use premium membership in expectation that the premium will bring much more special feature that the free doesnt.

So I purchase it, in Sept 2018 for Annual plan, considering the fee per month is the cheapest. And that was my biggest mistake of the year, I was really disappointed. There is only small different between what i got from free compared to premium one. I was expecting soo much of it.

juliew278
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/2/18

Make sure you watch out for their non refundable 139.95 annual subscription fee.
I called a number they list for contact (888) 318-6146 and they just dumped me.

trevorg45
1 review
7 helpful votes
10/30/18

There is a huge lack of customer service options. I wanted to unsubscribe 3 months ago but the reoccurring charges kept coming back up on my bank account. I know I already unsubscribe and followed their directions specifically but I just got charged again today. There is no customer service number, or at least, it is extremely difficult to find. You have to fill out a request form and then wait for someone to get back to you. It's far too expensive of a service to begin with, and with their significant lack of customer service, I would never recommend getting this.

johnd2037
1 review
8 helpful votes
10/30/18

Tried to cancel on the last day of the billing cycle and they charged us for another year! Bunch of A#holes, now I have to fight this with my credit card company. I will never use the service again. Bunch of short sighted morons!

eddyb25
1 review
12 helpful votes
10/26/18

I was quoted $29.95USD per month and they actually charged me $550USD all at once without specifying the fact that I would be charged in full. Then when it came to talking to someone to get the situation resolved I find out that they don't have a call center for client resolution.

frederickl50
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/24/18

Okay, I'm talking about the paid, premium version here. In my case, I used the Microsoft Word add-on.
In its favor, it does actually catch a lot of errors that Word does not. That's about the only good thing I can say about it.
The most basic of features are absent. I can't take a passage and tell it "Don't review this, it's in a foreign language."
The other downside is that it stores errors on a server (I think!) and not in the document itself. This requires a constant internet connection for it to function. Yet, even though I have a very good internet connection, it still has problems.
For example, I'll go through a hundred errors in a document and click "ignore" or I'll accept the correction. I'll save the document and close it. When I open it up the next day, Grammarly will have forgotten all of the edits I made and I'm back to square one.
Also, Grammarly will tag parts of words that are misspelled. E.g. If I have the word "would", it will highlight "woul" and say it is a misspelled word. I hit "Ignore" and the next time the document opens, the "error" is still there.

ryann90
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/23/18

Ok, I see that the consensus of the service is negative due to people relying on it too much. This site is reliable for catching some mistakes in your paper, but it's definitely not to be used as an actual real life editor! What you write should be edited by YOURSELF first and try to see if your writing makes sense to the person who's going to read your paper. Sentence structure and transitional words is what makes a paper readable, not a website that spots a misused comma.

The non-premium version catches a decent amount of mistakes but it's the premium service that locks the majority of your mistakes behind a pay-wall. In my opinion, I think it's worth the $30 for the month, it catches a lot of my mistakes such as commas, active-passive verbs, sentence coherence, etc.

This website is a good alternative if you don't have a person that can physically edit your paper. It is always best to allow a knowledgeable person to help you understand your mistakes.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 5
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Grammarly is a scam.

By Steph J.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can go to school.

By Karina P.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is a limit, but I find that only a minor inconvenience. If the document goes over the size limit, just cut and paste the document by halves or thirds and run Grammarly checks on each part.

By Ed N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is a free version that works really well. Based on the above reviews, I don't think I will risk paying for the upgraded version. This is where people seem to have the biggest complaints. Also, it doesn't see to work on Google.docs (so not helpful to dyslexic or other students who struggle with spelling and punctuation) or on Word.

By Linda M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I agree with everyone else. I have been using grammarly for almost 2 years and I never had a problem with viruses or anything. It is a good product and well worth the investment.

By Rose B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is just something mega unusual about the profound resistance of this company against communicating. They will not communicate with the public by phone. If you use their listed number, it is a dead-end answering machine that directs the caller back to their web site. Their product is far from perfect but still is useful and will likely get better. My issues are less about their product than with their impenetrable communication. While I can see that they may not want to offer phone support for such a complex program, the fact that they will not speak to customers about billing issues communicates sociopathic tendencies. Whomever is running the company tries to act like computers more than behaving like people.

By Ed N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Customer service is nonexistent at Grammarly. Their competitor, however, is cheaper and offers live chat. www.whitesmoke.com

By Timothy M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I think you can like chargeback.

By your m.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No. Grammarly works only in web browers. Your apps are not supported. You'll also lose all character formatting with copy/paste to/from the web browser.

By Steph J.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

if your problem is small grammar mistakes it's likely that Grammarly can help your grades. It helped me keep my grades up throughout high school.

By Katie S.
Questions? Get answers from the Grammarly staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

7 Photos for Grammarly

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Grammarly?
Post Review