We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Freelancer.in

Corporate Values

Overview

Freelancer.in has a consumer rating of 2 stars from 11 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Freelancer.in ranks 73rd among Freelancing sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
1
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • It's been just 10 days, since I, 1st reported about Freelancer's money deposit issue -
How would you rate Freelancer.in?
Top Positive Review

“World best freelancing website as it named.”

Yogesh p.
4/17/18

Satisfied with the service provided by freelancer.in. Got better assistance from support team every time. Understood my concerns carefully and solved them very quickly. Better platform to start your freelancing journey. Thanks freelancer.in

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Stole my money without my permission”

Romit M.
12/18/20

Even I was inactive for months. I just got the message that Rs. 9468. Even close my account so I am not able to contact the customer support team.

See critical reviews

Reviews (11)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

money (7)
yogeshp8
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
April 17th, 2018
Satisfied with the service provided by freelancer.in.
Got better assistance from support team every time. Understood my concerns carefully and solved them very quickly. Better platform to start your freelancing journey. Thanks freelancer.in
ajays28
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 16th, 2017
Hello good evening sir my self chetan i am a Digital Marketing Manager in Seo softech company i dealing work and alll company Nodia
U.S. A, Singapore, New York, Dubai, Forein company,
rohitv3
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
May 15th, 2015
Cxdssscv
romitm1
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 18th, 2020
Even I was inactive for months. I just got the message that Rs. 9468. Even close my account so I am not able to contact the customer support team.
ampeda
3 reviews
18 helpful votes
April 16th, 2016
This website is seriously full of spam with F rating customer service. They also charge you money to take exams where as other freelancer website such as Upwork does not. A client closed the project on me that has cause me losing 10% of "his" proposed money.
This month I started to look for gigs on Freelancer.com. After spending 60+ dollars on exams to look more qualified, someone contacted me for a 600 dollar virtual assistant gig. As we talked about the specific requirements, he wants me to contact him outside of freelancer.com. I sensed that this could be a spam so I refused. (Also in the terms and conditions we are not allowed to contact sellers outside of freelancer.com). As I waited for his response, he deleted the project and disappear all together. Later I checked my bank account and realized I had being billed 61 dollars without freelancer explicitly bill me anything when I accept the gig. I realized why they keep ask us to create a paypal account. I should have refused to create one.
Contacted freelancer customer service, they told me I cannot get my money back. (There was no "service" provide to me, so why should I pay 61 to you Freelancer.com?) and the sellers' account has been closed. The gig has disappeared as well.

I am seriously pissed off how this website exploit the already poor Freelancer by imposing numerous fees. I didn't even realized that they had asked me for a foreign transaction fee. No where mentioned. I will want to request all of the billing inquires and see how you guys lied to me!
ravis14
1 review
2 helpful votes
November 21st, 2014
freelancer.com is the biggest fraud and fake website for any body that uses it... they have hidden costs at all stages and have rules that are bent to make them true every time... dont register on freelancer. Com its a big fake with no support... dont fall in the trap of buying paid membership or in near future your account will be suspended and the money will be taken by them with no response and only one reply that some $#*!ing team is working on your case... Dont register
gauravb
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
October 23rd, 2015
They grabe my money
pankajp1
4 reviews
36 helpful votes
March 18th, 2014
It's been just 10 days, since I, 1st reported about Freelancer's money deposit issue - now just 10 days later more horrible experiences are to be seen. Vendors like ColorGraphicz and PioneerCreations are just duping the customers with support from Freelancer. They are the recommended vendors and when you don't give them 5 star ratings or award a project to them - they openly harass you. Freelancer is least bothered, and when finally you ask them to close your account they in-turn request money from you. BEWARE: DO NOT FALL PREY TO THIS PORTAL!
markw96
4 reviews
19 helpful votes
August 2nd, 2014
Since one year I was registered on this site that allows you to earn with a pay per project system. This website (www.freelancer.com) is managed by such a Matt Barrie, Australian entrepreneur. At the end of a project, the employee receives the money in his account, less a percentage retained on the site. I made in a year and a half 3 projects in my spare time, for a total of 710$ dollars and with the 3rd project I got the possibility to withdraw the money (lower limit is 500$).

First withdrawal request was delayed of 15 days by default and was canceled. Before making the second request I asked precise details to freelancer because I wanted to use the wire transfer.

After I sent the request freelancer found a reason to cancel it: missing informations. When I sent all informations correctly my account has been limited due to 'security reason', for 'antiterrorism' and 'anti-money laundering' fraud. It required me to pass a security document review process. Procedure was suspected, because for sending money on the platform there is no verification. Money come in easily but does not come out from the platform.

In full confidence, I have uploaded the scan of ID card, copy of the contract with my bank to proof my address, a photo of me with the identity card in my hand in high resolution and I also answered to a question: why I connect from a different location respect to my address written on the document: Simply, I'm in vacation, and I use a different connection.

After a few hours I received an email inviting me to send further informations, as well as the information of my profile have to march with my profile (they match, just Country is different due to my old mobile number), a coloured copy of the bank contract (the bank is online and they sent to me just a black and white copy, they can't do more). I'm a student and I do not have any bills with my name and address, I live with my parents. They asked me why I'm connecting with proxy or VPS, they want another hi-res photo and contract with my bank has to be 'coloured'. Very good in fantasy stories. Despite my e-mails to customer service, everything was designed to block the withdrawal.

After a quick search on the internet, I've found a lot of cheated persons. Identity theft, theft of banking data extremely sensitive, high-resolution pictures with ID card in my hand and over $700 of mine unlawfully retained without permission or license granted by a credit institution or financial intermediation. I gave them 24 hours to solve the problem but they didn't care of my mail so I got to the police of my country and opened a law proceeding. I also advised mastercard, visa, paypal and skrill payment processors of the fraud by attaching the law proceeding and advised my bank of the fraud, filing a report with all data sent. Next step will be an enquiry to the international credit institutions for stopping this not-legal fraud (contract they show on website is not valid and full of illegal statements, they are not a bank).
shallug2
1 review
3 helpful votes
July 13th, 2014
My Freelancer ID is ShalluFreelancer. I worked on three projects almost 2 months back. Not sure about the exact date for the completion of these three projects. I think it was before 12 May 2014. The Employer username on Freelancer.in is serzenisser and here is the profile url

https://www.freelancer.in/u/serzenisser.html

After 2 months, Employer breached Terms and Conditions of the website as per the email received by me. I got three separate emails for these three project and finally these three projects were removed from my profile. I got three reviews. They were removed too. Along with this, shocking information is: Freelancer.in website took my $235. I was informed that the Employer has breached Terms and Conditions of website and that's the reason $235 are taken from my account after 2 months.

My Question is:
$235 are removed from my account. Three reviews are removed from my profile. How can Freelancer.in do this? I just saw profile of FreeLancerID: serzenisser is closed. In case he breaching your Terms and Conditions, What's my fault in this case? Why did Freelancer.in website take my money. I earned this money from these three project almost 2 months back and they closed his account today. How can they take my money which is earned 2 months back?

I am here in Freelancer.in to lose money or earn money? This is funny.
chandans
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
May 12th, 2014
Hello,
My freelancer id is foxytechnology, we had good reviews, and we were working there from past 1 years.

Some employer for which we had done the Ridez Taxi application, all the codes and every thing was submitted to the employeer he has given us also positive feedback, but after 10 days i got email from freelancer that my account is suspended as i had not completed the job they had asked to submit the proof that we had completed the job. We had submitted the screenshots from skype where the employeer has said that yes he is satisfied and also he was talking about to pay us the bonus, all the codes were already submitted, i had given all the screenshot with the APK to the client also all the email screenshots every thing which prooves that we had done the job, then also freelancer from past few days saying our account is suspended and is under review.

So my question is-
-why freelancer support has stopped responding to my emails,
- i had 1000USD in my freelancer account, why they had cancelled my withdrawal and blocked my payments.

- if the employer was not satisfied ( according to him) then why he has paid us all money and also given us 5 start with good review in comment box.

- why without any reason freelancer has not cross checked my proof and suspended my account.

This is going to worst, i had never seen such site where the support system is not responding to our emails and all.

I had total 4 projects IN PROGRESS with clients on freelancer. And here is what i am thinking to do now.

If freelancer will not check my proof carefully, the dates of my chat conversations done with client, and what proof client has submitted date. Then i will stop all client works and tell them that go with the charge back options.

As i am suffereng, i had put alot of efforts to get this account in 5 start ratings and earning with 6.2 ratio.

This is going to be worst. Believe me freelancer is ignoring me, they are not properly responding me by any means, nither on facebook not in emails, even they dont have any phone number so that i can contact them and request that what is going with my issue.

Every thing is transparent, the proof clearely says that employer is trying to do the fraud, cheat, but then also the support system is helping him to do the same.

In the end i can say please respond my emails, and tell me what is going with my account. Otherwise we will stop working on the site and all the current clients will losse their money, and also i will suggest them. I had already sended proof to all my clients that we had done the job. I had sended the APK and showed the database of the app to my clients they all says yes you had done the job, even our clients email to the support and they says that this is privacy concern so that cant disclose any thing with them. I dont really understand what kind of privacy policy they actually have.

Is this privacy policy is to help SCAMMERS, or WHAT.

If any of the support system is looking into this then i request to tell the support check things as its more than 7 days and they had stopped responding me. So please do the needfull, just dont say we are checking from last 1 week.

Thank you
Chandan sharma

Q&A (1)

Answer:

Not just freelancer.in, you should not share your card details with any one. Whenever you are making a payment for some service, ensure that it's online reviews are good and the checkout payment gateway is well known and uses a secure connection. You never know how freelancer.in is storing your card details; some hackers might be able to get hands on them very easily!

By prasad p.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Freelancer.in staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Find & hire top freelancers, web developers & designers inexpensively. World's largest marketplace of 28m. Getting started is free. Receive quotes in seconds. Post your job online now.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Freelancer.in?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Freelancer.in?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business