Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Formspring

Formspring reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
Howard Street
94105

8 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

bruceb114
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/25/17

Anonimity when communicating with people should have age restrictions. The site is quite good but lots of underage bullies just make resouces like this crowded with inappropriate content.

jesser2
60 reviews
120 helpful votes
2/17/14

Now simply "spring.me" this is a site that essentially encourages bullies to harass people with anonymous questions. And even worse, my bully would ask HIMSELF anonymous questions about me to get away with badmouthing me.

They get one star back for being good about banning such activity... but that's pretty much the only use for the site. Otherwise it's like a poor man's poor man's poor man's Twitter.

katiej11
3 reviews
35 helpful votes
1/13/14

Yet another basically unmonitored website where many children are bullied and the libel is insane. These types of sites are for those who get some kind of joy out of hurting people and are pure trash.

barbaras28
7 reviews
19 helpful votes
5/30/12

The site is mainly a place for kids to hang out and while some of it is useful, it is basically a cyberbullying site. Formspring has worked hard to make some changes so I give them credit for that but the bullying is still way too high. If the guidelines were stronger, it could be a fun place but if you have children this one I would watch out for.

winonah
3 reviews
18 helpful votes
3/5/12

The law of the land should apply to the internet. I do not understand why so much bullying and libel are allowed to occur. In most states cyberbullying is now illegal. Even Formspring's CEO has admitted it is a problem and says he wants to do more. For now that site needs a lot of work, a lot.

pegr1
4 reviews
26 helpful votes
11/3/11

Formspring is another website of concern. While on the surface it seems like a fun question and answer site, there is way too much bullying on the site. However, pressure on Formspring recently has caused them to admit bullying was a problem and to put in stronger filters and monitoring. A year ago (as an advocate against cyberbullying) I would have given it two stars (not good but certainly better than hate sites like Topix), but with the improvements I give it three stars. When people act human on Formspring it does have its merits at times. I will warn other parents and grandparents out there, a lot of kids use the site and it has limited appeal to adults.

chriso1
656 reviews
3,159 helpful votes
9/16/10

With respect to Susan, the previous reviewer, and without taking anything from the message she's sending about the use of such sites, formspring.me does have an abuse contact address and it's plainly displayed. It also has instructions for blocking people who have upset you in any way, and accepting anonymous messages is optional, not mandatory. I leave the debate over how much responsibility a parent should take, to others. I'm not a parent, I'm not qualified for that one.

As to the site itself, the idea is to allow people to ask and answer questions of each other. People may be anonymous, or not, or just ask or answer their friends. Abandoning all sense of security is optional, but if you do then you will get messages from anonymous and potentially unpleasant people. It's your call, as far as I can tell.

The site is becoming very popular, with something like 7 million hits a month or more, and although it would be cool to be an adult there and anonymously find your boss and ask him why he's such a prat, chances are that it's inhabited by teenagers who, as science tells us, haven't got fully-developed brains yet.

Virtual Reality, whether entered by avatar or text or video, is subject to different rules, different morality and different expectations than the Real World. Take a trip out of the Real World by all means, but don't expect Real World mores to apply once you're there. I guess if they did, then Virtual and Real worlds would become indistinguishable, and some of us would be very sad about that.

A similar project may be found here:
http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/www.anybodyoutthere.com

susanc4
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/30/10

This website promotes cyber bullying doesnt let you know who is saying these cruel and inhuman things about another. Mydaughter is a victem of this at this time. Children feel they have no way out but suicide when they are a victim of the cyberbullying. Please help me I would like a number for whom I can call and report.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Formspring staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Formspring?
Post Review