Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of eTeacherHebrew

eTeacherHebrew reviews

125 reviews
8 Oholiav St.
Ramat-Gan, NY 52522, Israel
Tel: 1-800-316-3783
support@eteachergroup.com

125 Reviews From Our Community

Service
7
Value
7
Shipping
5
Returns
3
Quality
7

All Reviews

firef1
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/18/19

After having the most hideous experience with this company 10 years ago where they managed to get out a few hundred dollars from my card but actually tried more but my card was already maxed out, I see they are still going strong and up to their old tricks. A formula that has worked well for them. One of the ways they scam you is by sending you out samples but when you sign for them, then they can say to the bank that this was a purchase and hence the charge.
Today I received an email from another company in Israel trying to sell stuff and I wonder if they sold my email address too.

magedw
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/15/19

They will follow you with offers ( some of that offers fake ) and they will be decent till they get your credit card details , after that no reply , they take money from your bank account without your permission , they will say they will call you and they will never do that , they will ignore any messages from you to help , they do not respect their policy, no notifications if they cancel classes , and never give you money if they take it , they will send you Email to threaten you to give them money of classes that you do not take
escape and block them

nal4
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/22/19

Worst class I've ever taken. I was insanely disappointed and they refused to give me any money back. Was 3000+ sheckels and I didn't learn a thing even in the hardest level class. I spent 75% of each lesson listening to low level students trying to get through their sentences, and reading religious texts. I am still so angry and want my money back, but I know I will never get it.

jamien53
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/22/19

I would do zero stars if I could. I paid $1600 in tuition over a period of 3 months waiting for a teacher to contact me about classes. I was never assigned a teacher, and after a few more weeks of calling I finally got ahold of them to request a refund. They denied my refund request, and after multiple calls they supposedly approved a $1200 refund and said it would arrive after 3 weeks. When it didn't arrive, I called back multiple times and they won't answer my calls.

tembis
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/1/18

Listen - You are thinking about taking biblical or modern Hebrew...these guys are almost a scam. They offer classes and they are going to reach out to you over and over again when they sense they have a fish on the line. However as soon as you have a problem, there will not be anybody at the phone. You will be dialing in the middle of Beersheba in a well somewhere because no-one will ever answer the line again. They steal money, they are fraudulent, they use switch and Bait tactics, they are dishonest, they will lie to the credit card company, they will falsify any documentation they can make up and I dare you to try and find them in Israel somewhere. You cannot be warned more. You may think you have gotten a decent deal because they will negotiate and negotiate to give you a "good deal", but this is buyer beware!!!!!

polinad1
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/28/18

Хотела пройти курс, но не была уверена, что у меня хорошо пойдёт обучение (и что мне это нужно). Договорилась с консультантом, что плачу частями и смотрю продолжать мне или нет.
Первый платёж составил 160$, я была на 2 занятиях (вместо 4). Сами занятия, в принципе, неплохие. Все дико подробно (то же самое все есть бесплатно в интернете). Правда на первом уроке у учителя отключили свет и мы минут 15 её ждали.
Учебник, как обещали, скачать так и не удалось (написала в службу поддержки, но по этому поводу ничего толкового не ответили (кинули ссылку, а то, что после ввода данных также меня выбрасывало, им было все равно), проблему не решили. Видимо, с тем, чтобы я дополнительно заказывала учебник за 65 $).
В итоге, после нескольких уроков я сообщила, что не буду продолжать обучение (я даже не требовала ничего мне вернуть). На что мне сообщили, что я должна оплатить весь курс, что я подписала какой-то договор (любопытно какой? На мою просьбу его отправить, мне не ответили) и теперь обязана платить за непредоставленную услугу (иначе обещали подать в суд) .
Не забываем о настойчивых звонках и куче письм от поддержки, что я должна денег.
Люди, желающие выучить язык). Будьте аккуратны, а ещё лучше учите по урокам, выложенным бесплатно. Абсолютно то же самое.
А вы, уважаемые мошенники, сделали день моим адвокатам. Они давно так не веселились. Сказали, чтобы вы обязательно подавали в суд. И совет вам). Прежде чем обещать суды, потрудитесь ознакомиться с законодательством страны подачи (также неплохо иметь образовательную лицензию действительную на территории РФ, чтобы не имели вас). Требовать плату за неоказанную услугу, малоэффективно. Скорее всего это будет квалифицировано, как неосновательное обогащение или мошенничество. Я уже не говорю о необходимости лицензии, оформления учебного центра и налоговой отчётности. Ну и моральный вред посчитают+судебные издержки (а мои адвокаты стоят много дороже ваших курсов)).
Вот такой поворот с чудесными курсами.

naomis46
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/27/18

Really BAD SERVICE from the bunch nearer the top of this smoke screened company - poorly paid lower level service team working globally, on the other hand, much nicer - exploited like the people enrolling on the courses
Company won't make itself transparent - as to it's structure - a bunch of youngish yobbish, males trying to sweet talk or bully people into paying more for silly courses and so called special offers- a lot of sweet and elderly, gullible people on these courses that have been taken advantage of - all the images however on the slides we see are of teenagers and people in their 20's - rather funny as most of the people - we 've seen in the classes are older - so frustrating - the lack of politeness - and clarity as to whats going on - 'Enjoy your profits while they last - as it probably won't be for much longer!' - Perhaps you can go back to falafel market stalls instead and be as gruff as you like!
If you are not happy with a course - they refuse to refund you and put someone else to replace you in the class - far to expensive for what you get - easily downloadable material - but teachers overworked and - for sure underpaid
We are just persevering til the end but definitely wouldn't recomend it - Don't enrol - Get a private one to one teacher - it would be much cheaper and far more rewarding
You will get simply barages of emails and calls from them - all disconnected - making no sense - an email congratulating you on being able to accept a special offer as you are supposedly doing so well - followed by a creept phone call by some gruff male - trying his best to be polite with a sarcastic and aggressive tome to his voice - just aswell we don't have to see them face to face
On an educational level - the information is good and most of the grammar explanations - the teachers are genuine - just the group running the business - would be better selling dodgy cars and calling themselves Arfur Dailey's tat for tit!

benedictsl
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/29/18

There is no justice. At the first chance they get you will be ripped off. Once they lay hold of your money forget the refund because you won't get it. They do not comply the rules. They are lawless, arrogant. They set themselves on a pedestal and looked down on non Jewish. They are Khazarians from central and eastern Europe. They are deceptive. Aggressive telemarketers.
Learn free Hebrew online at WWW.ANIMATEDHEBREW.COM and HEBREWFORCHRISTIANS.ORG and buy complete set from CHRISTIANBOOKS.COM for only $100.00.
Don't throw your money because you pay to be humiliated and insulted. Very controlling.They mock Christians. FAKE FAKE FAKE

elib35
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/15/18

I wanted to cancel my learning costing me £317/ month for 4 lessons.
Then I faced the team member that told me Eteacher will refund me £119.
1 hour after saying this to me the same member told me the refund is not makable and cancellation fees will be £399.
I said I dont want them to take any further money from my account and he said sorry but this needs to be done after the call ended, I checked my account and the money was gone already. Eteacher took 5 paiements of £20, £30 etc to reach £399. My bank is on its way!!!! Im furious!!!!

alinap13
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/28/18

I am so happy to start Ulpan 3 four weeks later with the teacher Orli Shair. I feel I learn Hebrew. Aharon Rosen School of Hebrew is very professional indeed. They do their job well, they are friendly, polite and very helpful. Yes, the courses are expensive but Hebrew is a difficult language that requires much effort from both sides. I think they do their best.
Good day!

dinah55
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/5/18

The teacher is really nice, friendly, patient, professional and explains everything. The course material is well established and explained by the book as well as the teacher really well making the studying process easier. It is quiet expensive, but definitely worth if if you're determined to study the language.

Service
Value
Quality
berjamina
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/5/18

The Teacher explains very carefully the pronunciacion and the grammar.
You have to work the next lesson, before the class : you have to make the exercices and learn the vocabulary of the next lesson and review the vocabulary of the previous lessons.
That is the condition of success.
Teacher is very patient and helps students, very much.

zhaks
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/2/18

This course is most certainly worth ones time and money. I still have eleven lessons to go, guided by an amazing Teacher!!! Take the course! You will be forever thankful you did...AND, a finer group of classmates you will never find! We care about each other, and have become family. Im really going to miss seeing and hearing them every week when this course is finished. I will definitely be signing up for more courses!!!

nitap5
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/2/18

With our local exchange rate courses are very expensive but the scholarship has made it possible for me to continue with studies. Also having the classes recorded means my study time is flexible and I can listen to something as many times as needed.

verah9
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/28/18

El metodo me parece muy bueno, la conexión de la imagen con la palabra ayuda, el ritmo de las clases se sobrelleva bien, la hoja diccionario de cada curso muy util. en general muy satisfactorio, se aprende con relativa facilidad. aprecio particularmente haber podido seguir con la misma maestra, lo que me ha facilitado considerablemente el camino.

yaelh2
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/28/18

I have tried many Hebrew learning programs on my own, but my teacher and the materials really helped me learn better. I was able to strengthen my foundation and increase my confidence in speaking. I saw complaints about the aggressive sales tactics, but Israeli businesses style is very direct that way. There were some discounts and financing options which made it affordable. I really enjoyed the small class group with students from all over the wold!

laurai22
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/27/18

He descubierto una lengua única, con mucha riqueza y conexión con Dios.He aprendido a reflexionar según su filosofía y ver la existencia desde otra optica

mirjamb1
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/27/18

Ich habe bei eTeacher Biblisches Hebräisch und Ivrit gelernt, und durch das viele interessante und ausgiebiges Lernmaterial ist nicht nur mein Gehirn sondern auch meine Seele gefördert worden. Im Unterricht wurde ich zu aktivem Teilnehmen aufgefordert, was Mut verlangte und mein Selbstvertrauen förderte. Humor von seiten des Lehrers gab der Länge der Stunde eine gewisse Würze.

nancyk110
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/27/18

j'apprécie énormément de pouvoir apprendre une langue aussi belle que difficile que l'hébreu, grâce à votre méthode.
l'enseignement est remarquable.
cependant, je rencontre des problèmes techniques, quant aux cours à enregistrer.
je n'arrive pas à les visionner sur mon ordinateur, alors que j'ai scrupuleusement suivi la procédure, donnée à maintes reprises, par vos services techniques.
comment faire pour avoir tous mes cours bien enregistrés pour visionner mes cours directement sur mon ordinateur ?
en effet, si ce problème n'est pas résolu avant la fin de mes cours, je ne pourrais plus les visionner en ligne

marieg81
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/26/18

i have been studying for 4 years. They offer a good curriculum and the teachers have been good. BUT THEIR BUSINESS POLICIES AND SERVICE ARE TERRIBLE! 1. They will use high pressure techniques and not take NO for an answer. 2. You only have about 2 days to get a full refund. After than cancellation fees are 50-100% of the enrollment cost - that is about $600-1200 USD 3. They will charge you to change your start date if you attempt to do so more than once no matter what is said by the salesperson 4. If you have a financial problem with them, they will stonewall you and since they are not bound by US laws, there is little recourse. Kiss your money good bye. Their business practices are unjust, disrespectful and unfair. So be very careful when you buy something from them - and record your conversations if possible. Good luck. If you know this before you sign up, you won't get stuck. (PS - and yes, if they incorrectly charge your credit card just submit it as fraud because they will never admit that they screwed up and don't seem to have a reliable accounting system).

Response from eTeacher H., eTeacherHebrew Representative
Shalom Marie,

I was very upset to read your review and I would like to begin by apologizing for the unpleasant experience you had with our staff of course advisers and customer care representatives.

As you could probably see from the many other positive reviews written in this website and in many others, it is highly irregular that such an unfortunate experience like the one you had arise, and therefore I would like to try and see if there's anything in our ability to do in order to correct the negative impression that was created. It is a shame that the overall positive impressions on your learning process with us, the teachers and the syllabus would be tainted, and even though it is difficult to correct first impressions, we in eTeacher would like to give it our best shot.

Please contact me personally at michael.jacobs@eteachergroup.com and I assure you that I will dedicate my undivided attention to your matter.

Sincerely,
Michael Jacobs
Head of Online Customer Relations
eTeacher Group
kristiane2
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/23/18

I have experience of several different teachers. All of them are just excellent! There is so much background knowledge (etymology) you do not receive from other schools.

janicey14
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/21/18

The class is well paced with a logical flow. My teacher Naama is very patient and yet challenges me to use the word and phrases I am learning. It is exciting to see the progress I am making in Hebrew speaking and comprehension.

petrab16
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/5/18

The lessons and teacher are great, but the aggressive mannerisms and rudeness of the call centre people made me not want to sign up with them for any more lessons.

I will find someone else to take lessons through locally.

Which is a shame for them because I was going to sign up for two more classes.

When I told them not to contact me by phone but only email, they refused and called me anyways. When I told them to stop sending me emails asking me for payments 4 months in advances for classes, they also ignored me and continued to send payment requests. When I asked this individual to NOT CONTACT me any more, he continued anyways asking for payment requests. When they called me this morning, after I had asked them not to, and the agent continued to speak to me in an aggressive and rude manner, he told me before hanging up on me, "You probably shouldn't learn hebrew anyways."

Response from eTeacher H., eTeacherHebrew Representative
Shalom Marie,

First of all I would like to apologize on behalf of eTeacher Group for the unpleasant experience you had with our team of course advisers and customer care representatives.
As a Call-Center based operation, we are aware of the misunderstandings that can occur once one of our student requests to communicate solely via email correspondence.

Nevertheless I understand your frustration from the interaction you had with us and I can assure you that your issue is being checked thoroughly by us in order to avoid future misunderstandings.

As you could probably see from the many other positive reviews written in this website and in many others, it is highly irregular that such an unfortunate experience like the one you had arise, and therefore I would like to try and see if there's anything in our ability to do in order to correct the negative impression that was created. It is a shame that the overall positive impressions on your learning process with us, the teachers and the syllabus would be tainted, and even though it is difficult to correct first impressions, we in eTeacher would like to give it our best shot.

Please contact me personally at michael.jacobs@eteachergroup.com and I assure you that I will dedicate my undivided attention to your matter.

Sincerely,
Michael Jacobs
Head of Online Customer Relations
eTeacher Group
theresaw47
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/13/17

I now have private lessons and its awesome. I improve real fast and the teacher helps me to reach my personal goal in learning to speak Hebrew.

maries132
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/8/17

I have thoroughly enjoyed the course with teacher Yona Gur. I have learned so much during these months. Yona is a great teacher, patient, funny, yet demanding. Perfect!
Todá Rabá!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

1200 USD really? If you negotiate like you're buying from the infamous old style kazbah you can get a better price. why do you think eTeacherHebrew DOES NOT POST ITS "TUITION" costs online? They want to see how much they can get out of you. Tell them 1200 USD is too much and they'll start to negotiate. In a legit business or educational institution they post the tuition online and it's the same for everybody. BUT NOT ETEACHER HEBREW - THEY TEACH YOU BY SMACKING YOU DOWN UNTIL THEY GET YOUR CREDIT CARD. Then you'll find out how they play fast and loose with the numbers and with the facts. ALSO NOTE eTEACHER HEBREW HAS TRIED RE-BRANDING now that theire sneaky shell game has been exposed. First they tried going throught the foreign students language program at the Hebrew Univ. of Jerusaem under a few categories that include linguistics or bilbical languages or any of a variety of name brands for their program. Now they've also added the ROSEN SCHOOL OF HEBREW but it's all the same scam at the core. Thieves, thieves and thieves. Do not deal with any of them. That's all separate from the fact they don't know the legitimate old consonants or the variation of vowels depending on the region where it was spoken. They're mostly people with no day job looking to meet a quota and take a cut from the theft. STAY AWAY FOR YOUR OWN SAKE. KEEP YOUR OWN MONEY IN YOUR OWN ACCOUNTS.

By Frank B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

3000 sheckels, one time payment, no option of getting one sheckel back if disappointed.

By Na L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you want to complain to the Israeli consumer council= please click on the following link: http://www.consumers.org.il/category/encontantus Good luck! Don't give up!

By Dana R.
Questions? Get answers from the eTeacherHebrew staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for eTeacherHebrew

From reviewers
From the business

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
eTeacherHebrew?
Post Review