Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of DuckDuckGo

74 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
1
Quality
3

All Reviews

ck112
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/30/17

Every search term I type in Duckduckgo shows up with all the other search terms typed by everybody else in Google, etc., for the world to see. Every disease, address, name, issue is all out there, exposed, courtesy of Duckduckgo.

Advertisement
bobj151
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/18/17

This is the most bull$#*! $#*!ing website search engine looking thing ive ever seen in my entire life. This $#*! got me porn ads all over my desktop. This is some Gta5 $#*!ing looking ass $#*! like goddamn. $#*! u and ur company

aledl
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/22/17

I fell for the hype, but have paid with a lot of wasted time and effort. Even searching for a document name directly does not lead you to the document, while the same search on Google has the document on the second search result. The image search is worse; try looking for the famous photo of Donald Trump outside of the Scottish parliament while a comedian demonstrated the law of static electricity with a balloon and Trumps wig. You won't find it on any Duckduckgo search results neither will you find image search results for his sons safari kills.... Duckduckgo fails at it's only major objective, being a reliable search engine that provides relevant and useful results!

kz12
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/12/17

I was afraid when I switched over from Google to DuckDuckGo as my home browser I wouldn't get as accurate or useful search results. Boy, was I wrong. I get right what I am looking for with no distracting ads. The best part is I am not being tracked or advertised to. I love it.

rachelw113
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/11/17

If Liberals don't like it than you know you're at the right place! Googles censorship is over the TOP and completely slants to the "Lefts" Narratives, Lies, and Bigotry! DuckDuckGo is fair and allows its users to research and form their own opinions!

jeffb218
1 review
13 helpful votes
8/21/17

I thought I'd give DuckDuckGo a try when I switched over to Firefox. Boy was I shocked by the results of my first search. I searched for Al Gore's funders. The enitre (ENTIRE) set of search results were completely fallacious, rightwing, Nazi nonsense. I couldn't believe it. So, DuckDuckGo is GONE.

jamesh473
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
8/11/17

DuckDuckGo is just bothered about getting you to click ads even if those ads go to viruses or scam websites. Not good.

I use startpage now... uses google search results but doesn't track you or benefits google.

dons134
1 review
16 helpful votes
8/1/17

one reviewer said duckduckgo search of GLD came back as god. False: Came back as GLD etf like it should. There is just too much to gain by Alphabet and Microsoft killing competitors as they have in the past. Google corrects typing, hides results, puts results in the back of their listing and puts titles on queries to favor their political party and products and services they sell. 427 Google visits to white house in first seven years of the last administration to control the world reason enough to use any other browser.

jimmyb63
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/10/17

Duckduckgo: "Are you sure you`re not searching for one of our advertisers?" LOL--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

markt166
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/6/17

DD, search absolutely sucks $#*!ing $#*!. Nothing but $#*!ing ad sites. Stick your $#*!ing search engine up your $#*! sucking ass, mother$#*!er...

lescannel
1 review
9 helpful votes
5/27/17

I do not care about privacy, i care about having less oriented proposition to my query LOLOLOL
google is biased in politic, global warming (lot of site non scientific and pro AGW ) or explicit sex language
make some test yourself

karusunek
41 reviews
44 helpful votes
5/25/17

DuckDuckGo promises a safer search engine for those privacy-minded web users that dislike the idea of advertisers having access to their personal information. While there are no guarantees when it comes to online services, DuckDuckGo has certainly made strides to educate their users in how to keep their online presence private from prying eyes by providing resources that teach you how to opt-out of privacy-violating tracking.

The search results on DDG are constantly improving. Most of the time I am able to find the resources I am looking for. Very rarely I will resort to checking Google's results to see if I can find what I am looking for. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for an alternative since Google seems to be becoming more and more an advertising company rather than a search provider.

pe7831
1 review
11 helpful votes
5/13/17

I have used DDG to search online for purchases because I believed the non-tracking PR. Whoa! All of sudden on the one site I have white listed from adblock plus, the results of my online purchase searches appear on that website!!! Disgusted.

ryanj38
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/12/17

In all honesty DDG is a pain in the arse, i have to use add ons for mozilla fire fox YARP and Element Hiding Helper for AD Block Plus to block and remove all the pop up notification $#*!, and other garbage pop ups DDG keep persisting with that i dont want to see. you need to install and use different Add Ons to make DDG more user friendly, and that should never be the case.

DDG Search Box is a pain in the arse. When you Type a Search Word DDG automatically change your search to some other word. Ive found if you remove your mouse pointer away from the search box its not as bad,

Duck duck Go is an alternative to Google & other Dodgy search engines, but DDG has alot of issues, its Annoying in simple terms, but it doesnt track you
worth no more than a 2 star rating because its a 2 star search engine if it didnt contain all the spamware, POP UP junk!, DDG would be a few stars higher.

DDG is all about Advertising Revenue and it shows. Its a decent Serach engine but a pain in the arse to use.

You cannot Contact DDG by phone or Email, you will see a message telling you they are too busy to bother with emails etc, lack of feedback is an issue.

I prefer Start Page, it isnt any better than DDG but it isnt a pain in the arse to use and doesnt spam you with pop up notifications and other bull$#*!.

Overall i use DDG and Start Page, Never Google, Yahoo, Bing or any of the dodgy search engines, If Popus and Spam dont bother you, DDG is fine.

bobb1239
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/25/17

hate it hate it hate it hate it hate it hate it hate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate ithate it

hubhubb
1 review
8 helpful votes
3/6/17

I found out that DuckDuckGo used to set a tracking cookie, even though they claimed they didn't. (!) Back then, I used DuckDuckGo as my default search engine believing I was totally safe. Now I hate them more than Google, at least with Google you know what you're getting yourself into. You can read all about it here: https://archive.is/qntuk I would switch to secure search engines like ixquick, searx or Startpage.

davids704
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/5/17

Just as often as not when I want to see a geographical location--i.e., a map--this inept would-be search tool offers nothing but articles or images with no map option. Simply put, literally half my searches for locations end in Google. Why bother. Much like the false hype of Apple.

piperm1
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/20/17

Accidentally bumped into this search engine while using one of the known browsers. Seems to work well, but I dont really get the point of actually using this.

billp92
5 reviews
30 helpful votes
1/14/17

You want to know why the bad reviews you see here? It is very easy to understand last year in june 2015 DDG exceeded 10 million searches in a day. Google and some of the others are seeing that as taking a cut of their profits from selling you out for cash money......lol By all means feed the machine Google didn't get where they are from allowing others to cut into their profits. Even though they are small in comparison to Google they provide a vastly superior service for FREE they don't sell you out track you or abuse power. Out of the bad reviews I really can't put any stock in any of them. Hi jacking your browser....lol what a joke DDG don't install anything on your end. It is a link in your browser and that is all. I run a good AV and it SAYS that DDG is not tracking you and it is a Premium AV and rated among the BEST. Google that is a different story I get several tracking responses there. As well as yahoo, Bing, and most the others as well. Can't uninstall another joke of a remark a 3 year old could uninstall it is so easy! I personally feel they are paid spammers just like AVAST I think they are in bed with the completion. By their own admission on their forums they said they have found nothing wrong with DDG but yet they recommend changing your search engine because it might not be safe.

jessicas213
1 review
12 helpful votes
1/9/17

If you originally have trouble finding what you are looking for with duckduckgo, you can improve your searching strategies and get pretty good at it...there are lots of options available in the advanced searching. However if you have little or no patience searching and don't care about your searches getting logged or not and being traceable in realtime, this probably is not a good search engine for you.

Service
Value
Quality
genes70
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/25/16

DuckDuckGo came with an update of my SeaMonkey browser. I read mostly positive reviews about it but when I tried it, it couldn't find "Rose of Alabama", a civil war song. Instead it gave me Rose Warehouse a business as the only option to my search.

ralphe20
1 review
16 helpful votes
12/21/16

Having been with Microsoft and changed to Ubuntu I have now changed from Google to DuckDuckGo. My computer just loves these 2 simple changes. I consider Microsoft and Google to be just a bunch of money grabbing s-l-o-w my computer down crap. Install Ubuntu and DuckDuckGo and your computer will fly.

ueberu
Ueber U.
7 reviews
17 helpful votes
12/10/16

Good search results, often quite similar to those of Google, but DuckDuckGo does not track you like some other search engines do. Clean interface, too. And you can decide if you want to see ads or not.

bobh133
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/10/16

I search for GLD, the investment symbol for GOLD, and Duck changes it to search for GOD!
Many times I do not realize they have changed the search item title and I waste a lot of time wondering and searching the results for GOD. There is no way to opt out of this automatic "correction", so I have gone back to Google. DuckDuckGo just doesn't get it.

ronaldm84
1 review
16 helpful votes
9/2/16

clean layout, good results (not great), MAJOR BENEFIT, you can search on a topic without fear of getting slammed with banner ads related to that topic, which seems to be how Google operates. I would rather stick with good search results from a company that is getting better, than work with better search results from a company that is getting worse.

14 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I used it when I was on Vista OS it was simple to install with no hidden folders/files left on my system. Have no used it yet with windows 10. You want no popups go to the settings for yr browser itself.

By Thomas I.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you have foxfire refresh it. go to their sup[port sections and type in refresh and then go thru all of the foxfire settings. As for Google make sure you check all of yr privacy settings. and double check yr addons in both foxfire and google

By Thomas I.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am considering a download of DuckDuckGo but have read one comment that says once downloaded it cannot be removed. Is this true? How is this program deleted if it is not as portrayed?

By Carol S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

use the help feature in the program you want to change it in. it will explain how to change your personal choice for search engine.

By Bill P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

yes you can have several search engines but one will be designated as a default Add a search engine Many websites offer search engines that you can add to your Firefox Search bar. This allows you to search that specific website directly from your Search bar. To add the site-specific engine, visit the website for your desired search engine. (We'll use youtube.com as an example.) Click the magnifying glass on the Search bar on your toolbar addsearch

By Thomas I.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

get rid of yahoo all together. do a complete check of all programs install on yr PC, Check for any files on yr computer that you don;t recognize and be careful what you delete. Last check all of yr setting especially privacy setting and don't trust just any add on.

By Thomas I.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Just install Firefox and set DuckDuckGo.com as default browser, I wound not use anything with Google if I was you

By re Z.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Not being more advanced than you, I suggest the standard advice which is to temporarily disable the app Avast. The Avast FAQ and forum might have an insight.

By Echosyn E.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Questions? Get answers from the DuckDuckGo staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
DuckDuckGo?
Post Review