We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Dresssale.co.uk

Corporate Values

Overview

Dresssale.co.uk has a consumer rating of 1.24 stars from 17 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Dresssale.co.uk also ranks 332nd among Wedding Dresses sites. The most common issues with Dresssale.co.uk are around returns, which are more complicated than expected by some customers.

  • Service
    0
  • Value
    0
  • Shipping
    0
  • Returns
    0
  • Quality
    0
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • I ordered a wedding dress and a bridesmaids dress, they looked absolutely beautiful on the website.
How would you rate Dresssale.co.uk?
Top Positive Review

“Order from this website !!!”

Alanna V.
11/27/12

Order from this website !!! I ordered a grad dress from here and it turned out PERFECT! it fit completely amazing and it came on totally on time! Such a cheap price for an awesome dress that u get ! Don't judge this website by 5 reviews ! They phoned me as soon as I placed my order to ask for my height and how much I wanted added to the bottom of the dress for heels! And sure enough they followed up on there promise ! Definitely worth it! Just order it far in advance and say your event is earlier " you will be sure to have your dress in on time ! Definitely worth it !!!!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“A Big NO”

Dianne P.
6/17/15

This company is one of the worst I have ever dealt with. I ordered a dress for my son's wedding. When it finally arrived (6 WEEKS for an off-the-rack), the zipper would not move, up or down. I don't know if the dress will fit because I am unable to try it on. DresSale first suggested that I take it to a seamstress to have the dress fixed. I declined and asked for a return address and a full refund. They have since offered me a 15% refund as compensation because, as they say, it costs the company a lot to make the dresses. What a joke. It isn't any of my concern how much they spend to make their dresses. I paid the amount they charged. Their website states that they will accept returns for damaged merchandise. That's a lie. I will never be able to wear the dress. They take your money and run. This is a company in China, so there is very little recourse. Wish I had read the comments before I wasted my time and money. Do not order from them.

See critical reviews

Reviews (17)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

wedding dress (3)
diannep4
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
June 17th, 2015
This company is one of the worst I have ever dealt with. I ordered a dress for my son's wedding. When it finally arrived (6 WEEKS for an off-the-rack), the zipper would not move, up or down. I don't know if the dress will fit because I am unable to try it on. DresSale first suggested that I take it to a seamstress to have the dress fixed. I declined and asked for a return address and a full refund. They have since offered me a 15% refund as compensation because, as they say, it costs the company a lot to make the dresses. What a joke. It isn't any of my concern how much they spend to make their dresses. I paid the amount they charged. Their website states that they will accept returns for damaged merchandise. That's a lie. I will never be able to wear the dress. They take your money and run. This is a company in China, so there is very little recourse. Wish I had read the comments before I wasted my time and money. Do not order from them.
heathera14
1 review
2 helpful votes
November 3rd, 2014
This company is on the top do not buy sites. I ordered a wedding dress, never came.. Wouldn't refund me. Opened a claim and they have been blowing my phone up for the last two months everyday telling me to close the claim with ebay... Do not buy from them. Google companies before you shop!
alannav1
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 27th, 2012
Order from this website !!! I ordered a grad dress from here and it turned out PERFECT! it fit completely amazing and it came on totally on time! Such a cheap price for an awesome dress that u get ! Don't judge this website by 5 reviews ! They phoned me as soon as I placed my order to ask for my height and how much I wanted added to the bottom of the dress for heels! And sure enough they followed up on there promise ! Definitely worth it! Just order it far in advance and say your event is earlier " you will be sure to have your dress in on time ! Definitely worth it !!!!
jacquelinel1
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 3rd, 2014
Please do not use this company if you value your money. I ordered a evening gown from this company and they sent back a dress which was a pinkish color and the sleeve were purple. It looked like a halloween costume. When you tell them that you are not satisfied, they will not refund your money. THIS COMPANY IS A RIPOFF.
glendam5
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 17th, 2014
I ordered the mother of the bride dress in Us size 10 as recommended by measurements. I normally wear a size 8. The dress was at least 2-3 sizes too small. No luck on returning. Scam
andrekkal
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 15th, 2013
I just ordered 2 dresses last night for a pageant I am participating in this August. I did receive a phone call as soon as I ordered the dress, but the lady is asking about sequins and beads, stating they do NOT have the crystals pictured, then I found out that the velvet pictured is only in black and for one of the dresses and they keep trying to force me to say "okay" to some silver sequin and beading without a description or picture. When I've used the live chat and phone and ask multiple questions, they tell me to email them about it--which I have been doing repeatedly since the order and phone call, with no resolution and I feel as though I am being bullied into using silver sequins instead of AB crystals (no difference there right?). It hasn't been 24 hours yet, but I think I'm just going to cancel my order and keep searching for my dream dress elsewhere.
lyndseyk
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 3rd, 2013
I ordered a wedding dress from this website. Worst mistake ever.
Never turned up and when I e-mailed the customer service team well one big joke. Just kept replying nonsense answers. Keep well clear. paypal should not even be linked to them .
karenl5
1 review
5 helpful votes
October 2nd, 2010
Well what can i say other than avoid avoid avoid, ive had the same issue with the comment above, other than im still going through the motions of trying to send the dress back! I think my 2yr old grandson could do a better job! Only wished i had read the returns section first as this explains all and that the dresses are not the real thing... but who would read that part first?? They need to be taken off the websites!!!! Im one very angry customer.....
cheryls11
1 review
4 helpful votes
August 27th, 2011
All I can say is I wish I would have found this site before I ordered my dress. It looked lovely on line but when it arrived it was a joke. It was huge! I had sent all my measurements as they requested and it did not fit! I have been e-mailing back and forth with them and so far they have offered 30.00 to try to satisfy me. Far cry from 175.00 originally paid. Am hoping PAYPAL will help with getting my money back. STAY AWAY from this company, it is a rip-off!
cindys24
1 review
2 helpful votes
October 17th, 2013
This site is the BIGGEST rip off you will ever find! I ordered a high collar dress and the space between the neckline and where my bust line should have been was WAY off - but there is NO WAY these people are giving you your money back, an exchange or even store credit for anything that you have ordered. In addition the staff that you are dealing with don't speak enough English to understand or answer your questions correctly.

The Dress comes to you folded into a small FedEx envelope. The zipper on the dress stuck on the first use and their sizes are VERY small. DO NOT get sucked in by the low prices. When you add the shipping and the fact that you probably won't like the dress you can do just as well with a reputable dress shop.
kirstyj
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 28th, 2011
I ordered a light blue prom dress from this site, and i didn't even receive the dress. They said we had to wait another month for the dress and it still didn't show up, so my mum asked for her money back, and she still hasn't got it. and know they just keep adding the time. and its now been 5 months since we ordered the dress! this website is a total rip-off !
marlissk
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 7th, 2013
Dress came on time but hem was 3" shorter on one side, jacket and dress were lined with two different fabrics (sheer overlay) so jacket looks a different color. Embellishment in the front is not in the center. Jacket is not the jacket pictured. Won't allow me to return and won't refund my money. RIP-OFF, RIP-OFF, RIP-OFF
tinar6
1 review
5 helpful votes
March 22nd, 2011
Worse purchase I've ever made. I ordered a dress for my daughter from this company in CHINA about two months ago. They called me and asked for her height because the dress is custom made. I should have know then that this was a bad idea. Red flag#1. They also told me that the dress would arrive at the end of March. I asked them if it was possible they send it earlier because I was leaving for my destination wedding at the end of March and I really did not want to cut it close. She said, "Don't you want us to take our time and do a good job?" Red flag #2! I did get the dress last week. The shipping cost $30 and the dress was $40. Well the dress is such poor quality. The stiching is loose in some places, the inside liner of the dress has little rust colored spots and it is 10X too big for my daughter. I don't have time to return it so it's at the tailor for repair. Oh that's only $45 to remake the entire dress. The length isn't even right!!!!!!! I will NEVER buy anything from his company again!
carlyj
1 review
6 helpful votes
May 17th, 2011
Ordered an orange prom dress a month ago. Had a delivery today in a plastic bag, no paperwork and it was PINK. Not very well made. No phone number to ring! Just sent email and awaitin reply. Biggest mistake I made ordering that.
suziew
1 review
4 helpful votes
June 14th, 2011
I ordered 3 bridesmaid dresses from this website. I can't complain about the delivery as they came on time and the quaility was ok but the customer service is very very poor!! None of the dresses fit and I wasn't able to return them. I know this is stated in their policy but I ordered 2 size 14's and a size 10-12 person couldn't fit in it!!!! Be very careful if you ever order from this site, once ordered theres no going back. I have since had to buy another set of dresses from a well know highstreet retailer and I'm now left with the hassle of trying to sell these dresses.

I will NEVER be buying ANYTHING from this website and I urge anyone considering to think otherwise!!!
carleyc
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 3rd, 2013
DONT GO NEAR THIS SITE!!! I got a dress for a wedding I was going to it was completely different to how it looked in the photo and so so long it had cap sleeves on it and instead of them sitting on the shoulder like they were meant to they sat 2 inches above and were just one giant point instead of capped around the shoulder. It also had a bust line design but when the dress arrived the bust line was 3inches too low so turned into a waist line. I tried to get the dress fix by a dress maker as it was completely unwearable but it worked out that I'd be better off buying a new dress all together. I am currently in the middle of trying to discuss a refund and so far it has gone along the lines of a £30 refund for a dress I paid £116.71 for so I said no then they offered me £40 I said no then they reworded it to try and trick me into thinking they were going to give me £70 when really they were say £40 again. This site is a joke!!! Stay well clear!!!!!
stephaniew1
1 review
4 helpful votes
September 20th, 2010
I have had a very bad experience with dresssale.co.uk, firstly they are based in China, not the UK. I ordered a wedding dress and a bridesmaids dress, they looked absolutely beautiful on the website. I ordered and paid via paypal. I received the dresses a few weeks later. Both dresses were faulty, there was a lot of loose stitching and straps that weren't sewn on properly. I emailed dresssale.co.uk the same day as i received the dresses to tell them that the dresses were faulty. They emailed me back asking if i could send them photos of the faults and that they would make a decision of what they would do. I sent them photos and they replied saying that if i send the dresses back then i would havve to pay a re-stocking fee of £115 and that they would not be able to sell the dresses because they were custom made for my size. This was a bit contradictive, why would i need to pay a re-stocking fee if they can't re-sell the dresses! Their website does state that any custom made dresses are non-refundable but it doesn't state anything regarding if the dresses are faulty, they only thing it says is to contact them within 2 days of receiving the items. I told them that i was going to send the dresses so they told me not to send it to the address on the packaging that i received the dresses in, so i asked them for their address to send the dresses back to. They sent me several messages saying, it is not in my best interest to send the dresses back and that i could keep the dresses and they will give me a £30 refund. This was rediculous, the dresses were not fit for wear. To cut a long story short, i carried on emailing them asking for their return address which they never gave to me. they even emailed me saying that the dresses would not look as beautiful as they do on their website because the photos on their website are photo shopped. surely this is false advertising! they kept avoiding the fact that the dresses were faulty. I contacted paypal and completed a dispute form. Paypal were fantastic, they investigated the issues, and decided in my favour, they told me to send the dresses back and they provided me with the return address. I sent them proof of returning them (photo's of the receipt and parcel force despatch form) and they recovered my money for me, the full amount. Dresssale.co.uk acted very un-professional and its like they just wanted to argue with me, at the end of the day, they sent me fault items. on their website it states that they do a 25 point check on all items so i guess they forgot about checking my dresses. I spent £70 to send them back to China with parcelforce as the dresses had to be tracked, this money i will not get back so i have lost £70. This experience has really upset me as i was shopping for my wedding dress. I will always use paypal when shopping online, they were fantastic. Thank you paypal.

Stef
London

Q&A (3)

Answer:

If you cannot discuss with someone your dress over the phone, go somewhere else. I have seen so many people get scammed on fake wedding dresses that never arrive in time for the wedding.

By Todd L.
See more answers (7)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Dresssale.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Dresssale.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Dresssale.co.uk?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business

Related articles and tips

6 Prom Dress Disasters

Prom season is here, and you deserve to look and feel amazing for your big party! Whether you are attending prom for the first... read more