We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    DressDo.co.uk

Corporate Values

Overview

DressDo.co.uk has a consumer rating of 2.16 stars from 45 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. DressDo.co.uk also ranks 150th among Dresses Other sites. The most common issues with DressDo.co.uk are around returns, which are more complicated than expected by some customers.

View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Two month ago,i bought a evening dress for my party in last week,and i set the wrong size.

Critical highlights

  • They say there is a no returns policy as the dress is made to order!!
  • They are refusing to give me a return address or refund.
How would you rate DressDo.co.uk?
Top Positive Review

“I ordered a beach wedding dress from here and...”

cdjr g.
7/3/15

I ordered a beach wedding dress from here and am absolutely delighted. I sent all my sizes and it is exactly what I ordered. I made a big change request to the back of the dress which was made to perfection and cannot thank them enough. Take the risk as the price is fantastic. Thank you Tip for consumers: Send your sizes and be very clear of any changes. They follow it exactly.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“DON'T DO IT”

Joanna C.
1/22/17

Easily the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. Bought 3 bridesmaids dresses and all 3 came 4 sizes smaller than what I ordered. Material was very poor. Stiching was a joke all 3 looked different even though they where supposed to be the same. Most stressful part of my wedding was trying to get my money back in return for these. I had no chance. Nor will you. .STAY AWAY. SCAMMERS!!

See critical reviews

Reviews (45)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

returns policy (4) return address (3) evening dress (3)
joannac21
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 22nd, 2017
Easily the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. Bought 3 bridesmaids dresses and all 3 came 4 sizes smaller than what I ordered. Material was very poor. Stiching was a joke all 3 looked different even though they where supposed to be the same. Most stressful part of my wedding was trying to get my money back in return for these. I had no chance. Nor will you. .STAY AWAY. SCAMMERS!!
electraj
1 review
2 helpful votes
April 7th, 2016
Worst company I've ever dealt with. Ordered a blue dress and sent them my measurements. Received a black dress that didn't fit. Also it is very badly made, the stitching is caught and the material is cheap and nasty. Tried to return it and they won't even provide me with their address, asked for a refun they offered £20 'for little colour troubles'. Infuriating. Please avoid at all costs.
margaretm95
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
January 8th, 2016
The website show,s beautiful dresses, I've just paid 206.82 for a long evening dress for my son,s wedding, it looks cheap and nasty, I could never wear a dress that looks like this, I would not recommend anyone buying from this seller, I can't get my money back because it was made to fit, which it doesn't fit may I add, don't be fooled by the pictures like I was, it really is badly made like it's just come out of a Christmas cracker.
solmazr
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 26th, 2016
AVOID, AVOID, and AVOID Dressdo! they are total scammers, dresses are total disaster and look nothing like the pictures.I have lost a lot of money on one dress which they would not refund the money for! they are obviously cheap scammers wit no tailoring skills!

I even cancelled one dress before it was made and yet hey did not refund my money for that one either.

They don't even deserve 1 star review
cdjrg
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
July 3rd, 2015
I ordered a beach wedding dress from here and am absolutely delighted. I sent all my sizes and it is exactly what I ordered. I made a big change request to the back of the dress which was made to perfection and cannot thank them enough. Take the risk as the price is fantastic. Thank you

Tip for consumers: Send your sizes and be very clear of any changes. They follow it exactly.

Tip for consumers: but Time may be a little delayed

sarahm149
1 review
8 helpful votes
August 1st, 2015
Purchased a bridesmaid dress which comes up a size too small. Ordered another one 3 weeks prior to the wedding. Paid extra to get it delivered (£37 in total). Two weeks later the wrong dress turns up!! Made this clear to the poorly speaking customer services and their solution.. to send another dress which I'll get in 20 days.. 14 days after the wedding! No offer of a refund!! Very annoyed!
lillys4
1 review
4 helpful votes
November 29th, 2015
Just received my wedding dress, well where to start...completely different than pictured, not made as per my measurements so it is too small. Everything about this dress is wrong, sleeves are different length, one side is more loose than another, it is a poorly made dress!
Support office not very helpful, offered £20 compensation (I paid £170), it's a joke!
Definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone. Avoid them please.
evelynk8
1 review
6 helpful votes
April 17th, 2016
AVOID DRESSDO! They made us pay for a replacement dress cos the first one was the wrong size. Then the one they sent was the wrong colour (supposed to match another bridesmaids dress they made) and wouldnt replace or give refund. Now too late for our wedding so we had to get 2 more quickly at huge expense. Avoid Dressdo at all costs!!!!!! Please, for your own sake!!!
sharonw64
1 review
4 helpful votes
January 8th, 2016
I had a dress made by this company. They made the wrong size, and will not replace the dress or refund my money. I would advice to keep well clear. Never dealt with a company as bad as this. I have been trying to get my money back ( £100 . 00 ) for 3 months and they have no intention of refunding or replacing, even though they admitted the mistake was their fault. ( They made the dress in the wrong size and is of no use to me). It makes me so cross that these companies get away with "ripping people off" and get away with it. STEER WELL CLEAR!
jodiel17
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 23rd, 2016
I ordered dresses back in early January and have not received my goods I have looked into it and no one else have received the goods if they do turn up they are no good I have had stress I have literally got weeks to find five new bridesmaids dresses they are a Chinese based company who do you not look good and no refund at all they are rude and do not respond to any emails
michelleg73
1 review
6 helpful votes
November 23rd, 2015
Worst company I've dealt with. They don't admit they had made an error and will fob you off constantly with pigeon Engligh emails. I'm £103 down with a dress that may only fit someone of 4ft something. They expected me to get the dress altered and that they would reimburse me instead of just sending the dress back and refunding me. The likely hood of getting anything back from thin non U.K based company is zero. My advice is stay well clear.
susannaz
1 review
15 helpful votes
August 12th, 2015
I believe this company used to trade under verydress.co.uk or still does who i ordered a prom dress from which arrived in the wrong colour and bad fit, no reply when i emailed them, no return address so i went back to my card provider who has now given me a charge back for the £116 i paid out....THEN today i get a email from dressdo.co.uk to ask me to withdraw my charge back and they will then give me an address to return the dress to at my expense!!! Don't think so!! They are con artists, not based in the UK but Hong Kong so do not be fooled by the .co.uk address!!
colinq1
1 review
13 helpful votes
July 2nd, 2015
A nasty surprise awaits you when order is delivered. package arrives at your door with additional 'VAT and Duty' charges to pay prior to delivery. This was not made clear in any way at time of ordering.

It is totally disingenuous and misleading of this company to use a .co.uk website in order to fool people into thinking they are uk based and as such no vat would be payable.

At no point was this extra delivery amount communicated to me, so that I could make an informed decision on whether to go ahead or not. At no point this was mentioned in the online shopping process.

This is my chance to at least try to help someone else not fall into the same trap.

If you're based in Ireland, don't buy from this site unless you are willing to hand over considerable extra money for Customs Duty/ VAT
aluar
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 20th, 2017
Spent almost £300 on two dresses for a wedding that arrived late and 4 sizes each too small and incredibly cheap and tacky looking!! Spent months exchanging emails with a person named 'Coco', sending pictures of the faulty items yet no refund given. I contacted my bank to try and get a chargeback but they told me I was unable to as the time period to do so had passed. Since then, the China based company have stopped responding to my emails. They will basically keep you in an email exchange until they know your ability to get a bank chargeback has been lost. My advise: STAY WELL AWAY FROM THESE SCAMMERS! If you have already received your undoubtedly faulty and cheap-looking item, please, please call your bank and get a refund via a chargeback immediately! Do not bother exchanging emails with www.dressesdo.co.uk as they will deliberately try to delay you getting the chargeback by false promises of a minimal partial refund which you will never see. Just go ahead and get the chargeback right away. They are total fraudsters! Totally frustrated at the time i have wasted writing them emails and having lost £300!

UPDATE: The last email i got was 'Coco' telling me the company no longer exists and therefore any refund is no longer possible. She also "hoped I understand"(!)...URGH!!!
lilyb15
1 review
5 helpful votes
December 30th, 2015
Two month ago,i bought a evening dress for my party in last week,and i set the wrong size. But the site's customer service reminder timely to help me make the right adjustments,and I got my package a week ahead.Last week,my friends said the dress were very fit for me, it looked very significant figure,thank u so much!!
anaz4
1 review
2 helpful votes
November 24th, 2015
several days ago,according to my relatives,i suddenly noticed this website.In accordance with the reviews on the website,i bought a dress from their dresses.
now,i had received the dress,which was really a enjoyable experience,all of my friends were shocked by the high quality and well-made designs
thanks with sincere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
helenr30
1 review
11 helpful votes
September 11th, 2015
i received my wedding dress 5 days ago, however although i ordered custom fit it is way to small. a good 4 inches all over,the only thing that fits is the length. after several emails their solution is to sell it and they will refund £30, i paid £185 for it,so they get £150 for "making"a dress that i cannot wear, they said i cannot send the dress back as it has been custom made and they cant do anything with it!! This company is disgraceful i wish i had seen these other reviews before ordering, If you are thinking of ordering from this site, BE VERY AWARE
sandraa44
1 review
6 helpful votes
December 9th, 2015
I ordered a dress for my sons wedding from this site it arrived the wrong size have been in all sorts of wrangles and they will not provide a refund under no circumstances use them the worst service I have ever had
dianem52
1 review
5 helpful votes
December 8th, 2015
Such a bad company ripping an elderly lady off as well as all customers below, they should be ashamed to call themselves a business, with my Mum they did admit the size was wrong after severval photographic evidence but still wont refund,
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY !!!!!
shalav
1 review
6 helpful votes
December 11th, 2015
Please don't use this site. The dresses look nothing like they do on the website and will only cause you a lot of stress.Ordered my formal dress-custom made from dressdo.co.uk, received the dress completely different than pictured, not made as per my measurements - it is too small! Everything about this dress is wrong, sleeves are different length, one side is more loose than another, incorrect measurements - it is a very poorly made dress. Customer service not very helpful, offered £40 compensation (I paid £117), they also told me that i can give the dress to someone.
Definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone. Avoid them please. Just i copied their last email that i had from them.
it's a joke!

Dear customer,

If you don't like the dress, could you sell it on the internet to get some money back? we can also refund you 40 pounds as compensation.

Best regards,
Christine
Customer Service Team
*******@dressdo.co.uk
jackiew19
1 review
9 helpful votes
August 5th, 2015
I ordered an evening dress from this site, which I ordered it to my own measurements. I paid £15 for a rush order in total £115.00. I have to say the dress arrived within 5 days. However I can't wear it. The quality of the dress looks like I should have paid around £10 for it, the size is so way out, it is too small in some places and just hangs on me in others!! They say there is a no returns policy as the dress is made to order!! DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS SITE!!
colettem5
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 4th, 2016
We bought 4 bridesmaids dress 2 size12 & 2 size 14 more like sizes 8 and 1. Mother of bride dress size 12 also more like size 8. Dresses posted from Taiwan. Are they using American sizes over there. Also customer service in uk were hopeless. Dressdo never again
susans167
1 review
5 helpful votes
November 23rd, 2015
I received a dress in a total different colour than I ordered. It has been a nightmare trying to get them to accept responsibility. No return address either and no UK phone number I could contact them with. Constant crap e-mails and getting nowhere.
romanab
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
July 31st, 2015
I try to contact customer care after I buoyed two dresses which they are to small with out any success Mrs r boon
lorettam5
1 review
4 helpful votes
December 12th, 2015
The dress I ordered was not the dress I received. Far from it. The material is totally different. Instead of a fine beaded elegant material the dress delivered was made of the cheapest synthetic lace which was stiff as cardboard and thrown over an appallingly made underskirt. There was no beading, just cheap sequins sewn on with stitches two inches long and all visible through the lace. The lace was roughly cut and not finished off leaving raw edges round the neckline. The seams were terrible, the lining hung below the top dress and the entire garment was so poorly stitched that it was puckered and lop sided. The company will not refund my money and asked me to sell the dress or give it to someone. They are fraudsters and I wish I had seen these reviews before I put my order in. I will not let this drop. This is fraud.

Q&A (15)

Answer:

All I can say is what a bunch of scammers.. I am in a dispute with them through my bank who are going to recover my funds from them . Never ever ever again !! . This experience with them has made me sick to the stomach. They should be reported for fraud and closed down . End of !!

By Dionne W.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

China - avoid at all costs, you will be disappointed!

By Julie F.
Answer:

I have the same problem! they are Such a terrible and unreliable company ripping me off as well as my daughter and a friend of mine. Definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone. Avoid them please.

By shala v.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

I went through my credit card for a refund. Not heard back from barclaycard as to what happened but whe dreesdo received the chargeback request they sent me an email asking me to cancel it and they would give me an address to return the dress and then refund. NO WAY! wouldn't believe a word they say! Original emails they sent after ignoring me for several told me that i had to keep it as it was custom made and they had to pay the people that made it and they would give me a discount on my next order. My daughters dress wasn't huge on the top even though i sent custom measurements but would have fit as it was a corset back but it wouldn't have stayed up very well as the boning wasn't very strong and the elastic in the bra strap they fitted to the back was useless! Good luck, go through your bank!

By Michelle B.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

Please dont lesson to the anyone, DO NOT BUY ANY THING FROM dressdo.co.uk!!!!!! They obviously write their own reviews to try to override genuine reviews. My message is DO NOT BUY, they will con you. You will receive a bad copy of the photo, poorly made, cheap material and they will not refund you.

By shala v.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

The company is a con! If you do receive you are likely to be very disappointed and if it doesn't fit, they will blame you for making errors when ordering. The actual dress looks nothing like the photo! I foolishly thought it was a UK company as they con you to think they are. I'm surprised that Trading Standards have not yet stepped in. I learned the hard way, lost money, disappointed teenager etc I will never knowingly buy from China and certainly would never order this type of item online. Let's face it, they are not cheap! The owners of this company must be rubbing their hands with glee every time an order request arrives!

By Julie F.
Answer:

they will not give you a penny!! No matter how many times you send them complain email or pictures of default dress. Their answer is the same ( they say' keep it or sell it) . call you bank for dispute transaction.

By shala v.
Answer:

maybe you have some misunderstanding with them,contact would make things better

By martina j.
Answer:

We received the dress but is too small, they took ages to come back to me and then kept saying they 'understood our disappointment' and then asking me to send the sizes implying that it was my error. They have now told me to take it to a 'local tailor' as they left extra material should it need changing!! What a joke, they have offered me £15 compensation for a £90 dress. Seriously bad customer service. Avoid this scam, I hope you get the dress but even if you do.. I hope it fits (btw it will look nothing like the photo either!!) The .co.uk website is misleading, I would never order anything from China knowingly - you only find out when you pay!

By Julie F.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the DressDo.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about DressDo.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about DressDo.co.uk?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business

Related articles and tips

6 Prom Dress Disasters

Prom season is here, and you deserve to look and feel amazing for your big party! Whether you are attending prom for the first... read more