Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Chemistry

151 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

lindar239
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/4/17

This site is a joke!! I found maybe 10 gay women that were listed as matches total. I emailed demanding a refund and company had the nerve to say because I sent an email out they cannot refund my account! Umm-Yeah I attempted to see if any profiles were even real! Serious scam artists so do not waste your time or money!!

Advertisement
jessicaw148
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/30/17

I wouldn't recommend this site. Cannot say that it's the worst site ever, but I'd rather choose another one the next time.

johnn1049
1 review
10 helpful votes
1/23/17

Im not going to say what most people do and go on about how great Chemistry is. Im happy with it, sure, but its no better than the other site I use for setting up dates (WeJustFit.com). The thing about Chemistry is its almost becoming a victim of its own success because you expect to find love in a short time and if you dont your disappointed! I like the site a lot but its been months and im still as single as a pringle go figure! Anyway, Chemistry will prob always be number 1 but dont be scared to see what else is available would be my advice. John, 36

annes89
2 reviews
22 helpful votes
1/15/17

I signed up for one month. Canceled in two weeks. I had 7 scammers. Only a couple legit men. The scammers were all "Widowers", mushy emails to me. Then ask for my phone number and email address. I said, "I would rather communicate through the Chemistry.com website." Never heard from them again. Watch out ladies, more scammers out there than real men looking for a partner.

eddards
4 reviews
28 helpful votes
1/12/17

In my opinion more people are using Match and you will find a better man-woman-ratio on Mingle2day but it looks like a legit dating site. A+ !

garethm8
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/12/16

Wont diss Chemistry too much as I aint sayin its a total disapointment but still think it could be a lot better. If you tried hookuphangout.com you'll know what im saying, yo! Loving that action so far! Boom!

jimmym43
13 reviews
45 helpful votes
9/21/16

Don't bother go elsewhere.

janed169
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/21/16

Fraudulent website -- never been on or signed up for Chemistry.com or Match.com and received an 'interested in you' email from chemistry.com. I got off eHarmony 3 yrs ago and been married for 2 years. Chemistry.com must have hacked into eHarmony and stolen my old profile and email. Chemistry.com should be sued and shut down!

fentonh
2 reviews
15 helpful votes
9/20/16

Suddenly now bogus text messages started arriving from a dating site which I had never signed up for........is Chemistry.com owned by match.com?
What crap....can't these companies be banned for fraud?

Here's the format of one such message"
"Txtme6463974O27 is interested in getting to know you and has sent you an email"

Of course, there is no "unsubscribe" link and if one clicks on "change my e-mail options" there is no possibility to "unsubscribe". Anything which one undertakes to get off of their spam list requires log in.

kettouz
41 reviews
24 helpful votes
9/13/16

Thank you for what you'doing!

jonathanc73
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/19/16

Chemistry.com is what you expect, similar to the other sites in that network. Personally I get a bit p*ssed off with all the Russian girls messaging me when im in Norwich! I know im an international player but come on ;-) haha! Ive never had that issue on WeJustFit.com and ive been using that for months. But its not a big complaint really as you can just ignore or use the block button if you need to, which is good. The mobile app is really good though, maybe the best ive used so far. I also like that its free for women as it means there are more girls online than other sites. Overall Id rate it as a little over 3 stars.

denisec66
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/22/16

This site is a joke! Everyone is a liar and a fake. All they want is your email address and phone number. Then you find out that it is a different person. Even their pictures are fake! DONT DO IT!

jime45
2 reviews
24 helpful votes
6/6/16

I suspect that "Amberleigh" is actually a forty-eight year old man in a wife-beater with a cigar in his mouth and a bottle of Thunderbird in his desk-drawer.

To get the most out of Chemistry.com, you will require:

(1) A mental prophylactic. Most of the people on the site will give you syphilis just by thinking about them.

(2) A certain unscrupulousness when it comes to deception in the quest for romantic fulfillment (usually called "foreploy").

(3) A taste for rowdy, juvenile, mindless, narcissism.

Chemistry.com is, however, useful for a drinking game that I call "Play No Games." Take a drink for every variation of "No game-players!" or "I don't want to play games!" Do a chaser or shot for every case where this non-game-player shows evidence of playing games.

Finish a bottle of Thunderbird if the non-game-player is looking for a good Christian man or woman.

robertm357
1 review
5 helpful votes
6/3/16

Joined up for about a week then cancelled. They refunded all my money. But every woman who contacted me was in their 20s and 30s. I'm 64. Come on, all scams. The last one had the name of Sharon in the title, but the profile description was BRIAN, a man. Even the scammers can't get it right. The site is infested with criminal types, time to get the internet cops in and close it down.

juanitac13
1 review
14 helpful votes
4/15/16

I had contact with 4 men within a 1 week period. 3 turned out to only be looking for someone dumb enough to send them money to Ghana or Malaysia or somewhere else. The other one hacked into my account. When I called Chemistry about it they scammed me by sending me to technical support. They told me my email account had been hacked and charged me $200.00 to fix it. They did not fix it and when I called Chemistry back, they said I had been scammed and they sent me to another onsite company that would get rid of the hackers and the worm my computer now had. I ended up taking my computer to a local IT place and nothing was wrong with it or my email. When I called back again trying to get back into my account so I could cancel it they rep told me I was stupid because I wouldn't let them get rid of the hacker. I finally got through to the billing department and told them what was going on. They said my profile had been shut down and they refunded my money. I'm checking my credit card to make sure they don't charge me again. I will not use Chemistry or refer anyone to the site. SCAMMERS!!!!

marquesn1
1 review
13 helpful votes
3/15/16

I have had the same experiences as "William P". My computer keeps telling me that this site is not safe to use?! What is going on here?!

I have been using this site in the past and I liked it but now it seems like I need to use some other dating site. Has anyone ever used Mingle2day? It seems to be one of the best sites. Or what about Match? I think it is associated with Chemistry so is this a great alternative?

williamp101
1 review
8 helpful votes
2/27/16

Chemistrys user data base has been hacked or they are selling personal user information. During the past year or so every time I log on to Chemistry I immediately receive several pay for play or or porn type invitations on my personal e mail account.. Lately I have been getting e mails on Chemistry using my real name. There is no way other users could have gotten this except through Chemistrys member data base. I tried to live chat with a Chemistry customer service rep about this and she rudely terminated the chat.

addisonj5
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
2/18/16

They trick you with the ad and then you are stuck. No unsubscribe link from the constant emails. And it's not at all what I thought it was going to be. Stay away from this one!

debram42
1 review
8 helpful votes
2/15/16

Match needs to shut down Chemistry. It makes Match look bad to be affiliated with it. I stupidly paid to join Chemistry in one of those free for a night come-ons that Match does with Chemistry. What a mistake. I get nothing but TextMe99[number], CallMe[number], and any dating site that allows online names such as this is a bad site.
Don't waste your money on Chemistry.com.

kathrync22
1 review
11 helpful votes
1/31/16

Chemistry.com seems to mostly a place for scammers. I would say 90% of the contacts I receive are from 'text me' accounts that disappear if you want to view them. I few contacts I have had ask for my phone number in the 1st or 2nd message and stop if I decline. Also the matches about 40% of the time are completely opposite my preferences. I advice everyone to stay away!

dianer49
3 reviews
12 helpful votes
12/27/15

I sometimes think that Chemistry is a place where Match sends misbehaving employees as punishment, or perhaps it is just a honey pot for scammers, or maybe a place where failed web programmers are sent to work. Or all of the above. It is, hands down, the very worst singles website in existence, if you don't count the ones that apparently are reserved for North Korean political prisoners.

On any given day, I can guarantee that I will get more scam mail than real mail, most of it beginning with the phrase "txtme" or some variation thereof. If *I* can figure out that 100% of the time such a prefix is 100% indicative of a scammer, why can't the employees ? Yet, literally thousands of these messages roll in, every day, inundating the site. One would think that at least the scammers themselves would give up, except they don't. Apparently some people are stupid enough to be scammed....even by really obvious scammers.

The site itself is pretty exciting in that it can take 2 seconds or 5 hours to load, so you never know quite what you are getting if and when it finally does. And if it does, you might get text, or HTML, or some weird mixture of stuff that is unreadable. Considering the impeccable appearance of match.com, I can only conclude that neophyte and/or failed programmers are sent to Chemistry as penance.

The loading times and variance indicate to me that the site itself is running on an Apple II that is so caked in dust and debris that the internal temperature is about 10K Celsius - the approximate temperature of Hell. I am equally certain that the internet connection is a 56K modem also running just a little too hot (!) on dial-up 100 year old copper lines still managed by Pacific Bell.

Finally, just to make it all fun, there is the "Free Communication Weekend", which is exactly what it sounds like - a weekend in which you can do...whatever it is you do, free. Which would be good except that every scammer on the planet takes advantage of these weekends to blast out as much garbage as they possibly can ("am 34 Year old man lking fr wife. My heart stop when i see yr Profile. and i know at that moment that we are destined to b togther. snd email to me gorgscam@twk.ghana.net so's we can gt to know ech other rightaway" etc. Ad nauseaum.

So yeah, Chemistry.com is a great place to have a good laugh, meet a bunch of scammers, and learn to identify a scam *very* quickly. A great example of how not to run a website!

edwardd24
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/4/15

Chemistry.com is a Total SCAM! I get 60 fake profiles contacting me every week.

Like everyone else people NOT named "textme1234567890" or {_txt7776665555" and every permutation thereof.contacting me. Some profiles use the same photos. ALL of the profiles contacting me,except one, are from other areas, WAAAAy below my age preference, etc, ETC!! I have contacted the BBB (better business bureau), the FTC (Federal Trade Cpommission), etc. BTW As soon as I sign online there I get a flurry or fake profiles contacting me. I believe they pay people to contact me under false pretenses.

carlosl36
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/27/15

Warning warning !!!in less than one week I caught 4 scammer. And those are the ones I replied to .
One used porn star pics they stole from the net the other hooters girl picture all fake all ask for money
Its possible to do a Google search in pictures you will be amazed at what you will find most of these fakes are from Ghana this is a huge red flag carefully they also use prepay phones manic Jack and internet phone so you can't trace .if the person does not have a phone from USA 100 % fake if they tell you they are American but working or selling art gold jewels probably fake.I complained to chemistry and nothing was done.zoozk is about the same just wanted to share my experience thanks.

marcoa16
11 reviews
32 helpful votes
11/17/15

I used chemistry.com a while. I got no good results at all. I found datingme.org and i got really better results!

stevens96
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
9/14/15

I discovered this weekend that www.chemistry.com has been charging my credit card since 12/1/13. There have been 21 unauthorized transactions against my credit card. I called them today. The confirmed that NONE of the information on file (name, e-mail address, city, state, zip code) associated with my account was accurate. I have no idea how my bank authorized the transactions. Nevertheless, they REFUSED to refund the 21 fraudulent transactions.

Their business model appears to be based on fraudulent recurrent credit card charges.

102 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If it is done through a link do not open. This is how they hack into your account and send viruses to your computer.

By Juanita C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I think you're going to have to call or chat with a customer rep. I actually had that happen on Match.com and they were very helpful. You can look online to get the contact information. Good luck!

By MartAnn G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Chemistry staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Chemistry?
Post Review