Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of AngelList

AngelList reviews

Is this your business?
11 reviews
16 Maiden Lane
San Francisco, CA 94108, USA
Tel: +1-916-445-1254
team@angel.co

11 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
2
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

wendyb209
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/25/18

i want to tell you about the best pool store i have ever had the pleasure to deal with the people were friendly and funny i had a green!!! pool so i took some water in for testing when they got done and told me what to put in and how to put the chemical in i felt very confident that i could do this myself they also told me about phosphate so i went home and did exactly what they wrote down for me to do and in three days my pool was crystal clear it never looked so good highly recommend that if you take care of your own pool you have to go see wave pool and grill they really know there $#*!!!!

lefelom
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/22/18

Did an excellent job and extremely the me efficient. Plumber was Robert B Luttrell, Leaky Pipes Plumbing. Email is leakypipesplumbing@gmail.com

lewism72
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/7/18

TL;DR -- Do your research. Avoid scammy, vague companies. Use LinkedIn if options are exhausted. Don't be afraid to ask tough questions. And never EVER work for free!!

If you Googled "Angellist review" then congratulations!! You're not a sucker!! Angellist has tons of small to medium companies looking to prey on young professionals, mostly straight outta college, who probably don't have a clue how the job market works.

If you're lucky, IF, you'll find that one company on Angellist willing to pay you $15/hour with full benefits AFTER 3-5 months of full time work. Unless they don't find some way to get rid of you, OR MAKE YOU QUIT, BEFORE THOSE BENEFITS KICK IN!!!!!!!

Some will even try to make you sign a ridiculous contract promising equity and whatnot . And if you decide to quit, you can't go and find another job in the same industry (non-compete clause) for at least A FEW YEARS!!!! And that's after realizing you're not getting paid for the amount of work you're doing because you were afraid to ask !!!!

And there's more... if you do research and look up the company's name and the "founder" you'll find an address. LMFAO!!! Some of the locations you Google lead to a house, an apartment complex, the middle of nowhere, or a 7-11... miles from the city location. If the company is from Boston, and the address is located in Worcester or Springfield, is it still from Boston???

NO!!!!!!! Omg.

Sometimes, if you're working for these little companies you'll be communicating via Skype or some other app all the time. It's only after you realize the farce and leave that when you think back, YOU NEVER MET THE "FOUNDER" IN PERSON AT ALL!!!!!

Well, it's not to say that LinkedIn has a few bad apples itself, but at least it's better than here. Please just do your research. Ask lots of questions. Even the awkward, cringe inducing ones like compensation and benefits! You're probably doing them a HUGE favor by not asking those questions because in their minds, you're just another clueless sheep willing and desperate to earn a paycheck by any means necessary.

THANKS FOR READING!!

lolem
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/18/18

Can't go a day without being spammed by Captchas and even complete blocked access to some sites. The help service email at team@angel.co is headed by a snobby guy who refuses to fix this.
Moreover, a lot of the companies here are scams and fakes trying to use labor at no to little costs at all. Because of the lack of filters on this site, it makes it worse. Don't use this site

Service
Value
Quality
joannad38
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/24/18

If possible I would give them minus rating. Idiot services, cheaters, scammers, worst people to work with.

danad87
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/24/18

SCAMMER, CHOFER.COM LLC - GUS CIFUENTES this man is looking for drivers for his courier delivery service and DON'T PAY DRIVERS after a week of work. The address mentioned on his website and online are FAKE. He blocked phone drivers after one week of work to avoid paying all services done, gas and tolls incurred! GUS CIFUENTES- CHOFER LLC is recruiting new drivers every week. If you were a victim of this man, please put your review and email to legaldeptdd@gmail.com open a legal case. He advertises on craigslist and maybe changing the phone numbers and his name. Phone numbers used 305-820-7000. 877-993-0009. 954-957-7000 SCAM

jayc191
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/6/17

Tried it out for a week, ended up basically giving free labor with the "promise of compensation" at the end, however; ended up being scammed by company (TalkTravel- founder Saurabh Jindal). Save yourself the time and effort, you can find a better, more trustworthy position elsewhere.

johnc707
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/26/17

Want to work for free, well sign up here, worthless site. Promising fake equity, really a big waste of time, don't bother! never work for free!

robertb102
5 reviews
22 helpful votes
9/28/16

I discovered AngelList recently. I tried the service to look for jobs in start-ups as Angel List is dedicated to the world of start-ups, promoting them, posting jobs for them, trying to find investors.

I was first surprised by the amount of good job offers and the amount of start-ups "hiring".

I quickly came back to earth. False advertisement and fake job posting are not only the specialities of big job boards or large corporations, nor is fraudulent advertising.

I don't know if the start ups posting their ads on Angel List are the one at fault or if they work together with Angel List to create some website traffic, attract attention, gain users and clients, but most of the job posted are fake or outdated.

I have also identified some fake companies and fake profiles there, taking advantage of this website to do some "con artist" jobs.

Angel List is competing with other so called "social' network like Linkedin and need to gain audience and users, so it wouldn't be surprising that they are working together with some start ups to create the impression of job abundance and success by posting many fake jobs.

It allows start ups to look profitable and attract would be investors and it serves Angel List to attract users and future customers.

Thats how it looks like after having experienced it for a while.

donaldl31
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/16/15

If you're looking for young, hungry smart employees, Angel List is the place to go. The best of all is that it's all essentially free. Much better than most job boards and Craiglist. The only downside is that it only really works for recruiting if you do all the outreach (similar to LinkedIn unless you pay).

Value
Quality
michaelv49
11 reviews
28 helpful votes
12/16/15

I work with a lot of small companies so when I saw this site I was happy to give it a try. The obstacles to profile creation were immediate. One of the profile items you MUST fill in is prior gigs/jobs. Enter a type (Employee, contractor, etc) and then enter the company name, which brings up a type ahead list of known companies. The type-ahead presents and immediate problem. The issue is if the company you want to enter is not on the list, you can't add that experience to your profile. I've worked for a lot of small companies, and some start ups, many of which have been merged or sold to other companies. For what ever reason those company names have never made it into Angle.co's company database. This situation is surprising since the site's purpose is building a talent pool for start up companies.

There are other issues as well. The edit profile screen seems to loose information from one save to the next, forcing you to reenter some bits of information (like years of experience) each time.

I've made several attempts to enter parts of my profile into their site but have been unsuccessful after a week of trying. Without the completed profile you cannot go to the next step (they'll flag the profile as incomplete, making it unavailable to potential start up companies). Because of this obstacle, I cannot make any claim as to the viability or the quality of the opportunities listed on their site.

Until these issues are resolved, I don't see this website as a reasonable alternative to other job posting sites.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the AngelList staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
AngelList?
Post Review