SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Getaroom

Getaroom reviews

231 reviews
19%
Categories: Hotels, Travel
3010 LBJ Freeway Suite 1550
Dallas, Texas 75234
Tel: 800-468-3578
customerservice@getaroom.com

231 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
15
Value
16
Shipping
9
Returns
11
Quality
13

Review Highlights

carrier20

I read some very mixed reviews, but found a great deal for a hotel, so decided to take the risk. (in 149 reviews)

chasey

I had the customer service call the resort and get me a confirmation number, which she did. (in 49 reviews)

melonyv

LESS THAN A WEEK AFTER I CALLED GETAROOM, MY CREDIT CARD WAS REFUNDED THE FULL AMOUNT!!!! (in 45 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

nealb27
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/29/16

Went thru Trip Advisor to book room at Hyatt Regency Orlando for four days. As going thru booking process with GetARoom watched for any mention of additional charges such as parking or other fees hotels love to charge these days as this is almost pure profit for them. After not seeing any mention of these fees finished booking. When arrived to hotel found they had book two rooms as I had only requested one, ok that was easy to fix. Then at end of stay I found I had been charged additional fees for resort and overnight parking adding an extra $127.80 to pay above what I had already paid for room. After getting home I checked paperwork to see if I had missed something but all it said on confirmation sheet was total charge $xxx.xx. I then thought to look at their Terms and found this "
20.Charges NOT Paid by Travel Agent
Upon check-in at a hotel or for a cruise, customer acknowledges that customer will be required by the cruise line or hotel to provide a credit card to cover any incidental expenses that are incurred by the customer at any time during the stay. These expenses include, but are not limited to, room service, meals, valet parking, additional hotel taxes, internet fees, beverage fees, spa services, picture purchases, and any other fees associated or incidentals with staying at any particular hotel and/or traveling on any particular cruise line."
This gets them out of this type of practice and lets them show rates below what you would see from other sites which include the information they don't.

Tip for consumers: Check hotels web site before all else!

Ask Neal about Getaroom
Advertisement
priscillal4
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/29/16

I had a reservation for 3 nights and after arriving at the hotel 9 hours of travelling later they tell me my reservation was cancelled by "get a room" its a holiday weekend and all other hotels were booked I was left in a city I don't know - no where to go at 3 am with a two year old after traveling such a long time! Meanwhile my reservation was canceled but they still took my 322 dollars!!!! No one can tell me why it was canceled either !When I called to find out what they can do for me their offer is a 50 dollar credit next time i book with them! I will never ever book with this company again! Nor will I recommend them to anyone and will post my story everywhere I can! Worst experience ever! Extremely stressful and really not helpful! Do not bother calling these people !

Ask priscilla about Getaroom
shefm
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/26/16

The worst costumer service ever!!!!!
Totally ripped me off and will never book through them or travelocity again!!

Ask Shef about Getaroom
bernardt6
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/19/16

I inadvertently made a reservation in LaGrange GA as opposed to LaGrange KY. I phoned Reservation Counter who placed me on hold for fifteen minutes and told me the supervisor would not refund the money and the full amount will be charged - over $400. They gave me a number for getaroom.com who told me they could not refund the money and told me to call Reservation Counter again. Finally we were told to call the hotel directly to ask what refund if any they are willing to give. This has been horrible customer service - the entities are working together because they would say "I see you spoke to Frank with Reservation Counter - when I was speaking to gets room.com. My advice, call the hotel directly - do not use the online services to book a reservation.

Ask Bernard about Getaroom
garyp83
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/17/16

Scam. Getaroom publish highly discounted rates for our hotel that are not real or valid. If you try to book, they say there is no availability online - call for unpublished discounted rates. When you call they say they are all sold out, but they can find another deal in the area. Customer service keeps hanging up when confronted. Research online says that they are affiliated with Expedia. Other complaints say they were directed to Getaroom from Kayak, Tripadvisor, etc. However they do it, it is blatant fraud. We have no agreements or relationship with Getaroom. Expedia, TripAdvisor, Kayak (owned by Priceline) would all be better served by not being affiliated with this company.

Ask gary about Getaroom
virginiat19
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/16/16

They charged way to much to book my room.

Ask Virginia about Getaroom
kimv22
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/14/16

A reservation agent took all my information and then said to hold for a confirmation number. She came back on the line and said hotel was booked and she wouldn't charge my card. When I walked into the hotel the desk clerk said there were 4 reservations in my name and he couldn't cancel them bc they were with 'expedia' and/or Get A Room. Spent next 3 hours trying to get a resolution with no resolve. Expedia said reservation was with their third party affiliate and they couldnt do anything. It had the expedia name on it so bad for expedia in my opinion. Horrible experience. Never again!!!

Ask Kim about Getaroom
sandraa55
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/12/16

I booked thru get a room paid on my credit card and when I got to my hotel the hotel charged me again....will never book thru kayak or get a room again.

Ask Sandra about Getaroom
darylr7
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/10/16

Made a reservation in St Louis through this company but I needed to cancel due to my radiation treatment appointment. I called to cancel 3 days in advance but they refused to refund anything. Shame on me for not reading the fine print, but that is just very bad business.

Ask Daryl about Getaroom
georgiac12
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/6/16

I booked a hotel through them but had to cancel. The hotel said they canceled but what they canceled was the first room I booked through another company. When I booked wth getaroom I never received a confirmation. But the man I was dealing with all but called me a liar. The hotel said I never had a room through them except through the other company which was canceled. The would not give me a refund and were so rude. Never ever get involved with getaroom.com they are cheats

Ask Georgia about Getaroom
toddm56
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/4/16

Bedbugs in the room we stayed in, the hotel offered a refund, sent the refund to get a room, get a room refused to pass the refund back to me. DO NOT EVER BOOK THROUGH TRIP ADVISOR, or GET A ROOM. they refuse to give management names or disclose their partners who dictate the refunds. These people are true terrorists.Stephen Kaufer, CEO of Trip Advisor, and David Litman, CEO of Get a Room need to make changes before a class action suit follows!

Ask Todd about Getaroom
joa2159
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/4/16

I had the worst experience they took 540$ and its on hold , try to get my money back they had the worst customer service she with an attitude and closed the line at me

Ask Jo about Getaroom
larrys109
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/27/16

I wanted to book one night at La Quinta Inn, Dalton, GA. I went online the night before I left on my car trip to get the phone number to call on the road for booking the next day. "getaroom" disguised the website as the actual site for the hotel with an 800 number to make the reservation. When I called the number, I got a voice which said "hotel reservations." I thought I was working with centralized La Quinta booking. The total cost for a $103.00 room was $152.00. When I told the agent that I was expecting a room charge in the $115-120 range due to taxes and that this amount seemed awfully high, she agreed with me, but said this price includes all fees and taxes. However, she did not tell me the fees were a $30.00 booking fee for "getaroom". In fact, at no time did she identify the phone call as going to "getaroom". I told her I would book it and talk to the hotel at check-in to resolve the fee issue not realizing that I was dealing with a separate company. I gave credit card information and was given a confirmation number. As soon as I got off the phone, I looked up the hotel's phone number and called them. They then checked the reservation and let me know I had booked through "getaroom". I was told by "getaroom" that if I canceled by 6:00 pm that evening, all charges would be canceled. I did that and was told I would get an email confirmation of the cancellation and charges would be removed from my credit card within 3-5 business days. I never received the cancellation confirmation, and charges are still on my credit card. I have contacted my credit card company and am disputing the charges. I also asked for and received a copy of the cancellation notice they sent to La Quinta at checkout, so I have documentation of the cancellation. I would tell you to stay away from this company, but it appears they are disguising their websites. For example, I made the same on-line search tonight and found their phone number for reservations on a site with the title "Resaver" on it. This site had actual photographs and website information of the hotel. it certainly looks legitimate. it would not surprise me if they are constantly changing titles of their websites to avoid detection. If I could give them a - 1million star rating I would!

Ask Larry about Getaroom
jenniferw156
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/26/16

I recently used TripAdvisor for my first time ever to book a hotel for my best friends wedding. TripAdvisor sent me to another site to book called "getaroom.com". This website charged me $140 per night for my hotel room. When I arrived to my hotel the public rate was actually $114 per night. Here is where I made MY mistake, I thought oh awesome I will be charged less than I thought. BOY WAS I WRONG. Turns out getaroom.com still charged me a total of $326 for the two night stay when the hotel charges were $256. So therefore according to my math this website profited $70 off of my ignorance for these "cheap hotel websites". They are refusing to honor the price the hotel was charging. That means approximately 25% of my charges went directly to getaroom for doing nothing but booking a room for me. I cannot express how disgusted I am with this company as well as TripAdvisor for partnering with a company that takes advantage of their customers to this extent! Then when I contact this company to make it right they offer me 10% off my NEXT purchase with them!? I will NEVER use EITHER of these websites EVER again this was my first experience and I'll be sure it is my LAST!! It saddens me that these companies take advantage of customers so bad and can still sleep at night. I am absolutely DISGUSTED and will be sharing this experience with EVERYONE I know because I don't wish this type of rip off to my worst of enemies.

Ask Jennifer about Getaroom
maryt127
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/25/16

I don't understand why they can stay in business. I would think they would be flooded with lawsuits. Thank goodness we only booked a room for one night. Thought we were getting a nice room for $80.13. It was a very old motel, had to push furniture against the door to make sure it was secure. At least he was pretty clean but very old. When we checked out they said the room was $57.24 and had been already paid on our credit card. When I called Getaroom they basically said too bad, the motel must have quoted us the wholesale rate Can't rate them less than one star or I would.

Ask Mary about Getaroom
allegraj
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/21/16

We booked one night at the Days In on Market Center Blvd in Dallas, TX via Get A Room. Got to the place and quickly realized that there was prostitution and other unsavory activity going on there, plus a filthy lobby!. We expressed concerns to the hotel attendant and Get A Room and tried to get out $ back. The hotel refused stating they disagreed with out observations and Get A Room did not try to help us either. They did not even offer another solution. In good faith we could not allow or daughters and ourselves stay to stay in that place. Once Get A Room has your $, you are on your own. I will never ever use them again.

Ask Allegra about Getaroom
bashirb
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/21/16

the worst! what a true rip off company! I cancelled my room immediately after I realized it was for the wrong date and they are giving me the run around about giving me my money back, as if I should accept the loss of 72$!!!! DO NOT book with this company!!!!

Ask Bashir about Getaroom
brendam39
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/21/16

Booked a room through Getaroom, stupidly without reading reviews. Confirmed, all fine, with cancellation up to 2 days before arrival allowed. Next thing I know, someone calls me & says, "Sorry, hotel is overbooked. We've moved you to another hotel" - that other hotel was decent, so I agreed. They send me a confirmation of the change to agree to and it says "Non-refundable Rate." I said, so, the rate is refundable until 2 days prior. Argued this on several back & forths & they finally said that's the way it is, take it or leave it. AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Ask Brenda about Getaroom
sharonb104
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/18/16

Do not use this site. I booked a room through them and two months later they called and cancelled my reservation and said thee hotel was overbooked! In the meantime they had charged and used my credit card over 2 thousand dollars and sent me a confirmation email. So they used my money for 2 months and left me without a hotel for my trip. There customer service is non existent and they just don't care that they have ruined your vacation. I would highly advise everyone to stay away from this site!

Ask Sharon about Getaroom
luisa82
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/9/16

I booked an hotel with getaroom.com and they charged my credit card a value ABOVE what they informed me on ttheir website.
The proce on the website was cheap, what they truly charged me was the most expensive of all.
I believe this is a scam website.

Ask Luis about Getaroom
cheryls65
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/8/16

My husband accidentally booked with this company thinking it was the hotel website directly. The prices were $24 per night (staying 7 nights it adds up) higher than the hotel's website! I called hoping they could adjust, I was told they CANNOT change reservations and the cancellation policy absolutely stinks!! BE CAREFUL WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS! Why anyone would purposely book through them is beyond me. Warn your friends to double check where they are booking. Spread the word about this awful company!

Ask Cheryl about Getaroom
lcb
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/6/16

I was a little wary of booking through getaroom.com due to posted bad experiences. But I think these seem to be much more from some time ago, many fewer recent problems.

They were offering a good Copenhagen 4 star hotel at £50 a night a month or so in advance, including what turned out to be a huge, lovely breakfast each morning. 3 nights, so 3 breakfasts.
No extra charges, free cancellation online up to 2 days before the stay (note the time limit for cancellation, 2am or so, so nearly 3 days before stay, and note summertime / GMT differences at the time of year).

Getaroom.com did not send an email confirmation after I booked and paid by card in full at booking time, which I was a bit worried about.
But I looked and it said it wouldn't send an email.
I just had to keep the booking codes written down safely and log in to the booking, to see it and make any ammendments or cancel online if desired.

I checked the booking a number of times, so at least you can see and check your booking to reassure you.
Strange - most online agents are big on email confirmations.
Getaroom.com just doesn't do them, there you go, that's how they work.
I think you can get the booking codes sent to your email or texted to phone if you lose them, but I'm not fully sure (you might have to phone), so be careful with your reservation codes.

Anyway, when I arrived in the hotel in Copenhagen, the staff said they were waiting for me.
I had booked a room for one person which must have been reserved as a double - the hotel said they were expecting two people to check in.
Without a delay, the hotel reception confirmed the length of my stay, the breakfasts and that everything was prepaid through the agent Getaroom.com and there were no further charges.
Check-out was simple also, nice hotel, easy booking, the best rate for that hotel by probably around £10 per night to the nearest other online agent offer.
It was a good rate in expensive Scandanavia, actually turned out to be the rate for two, with huge hot & cold breakfast and good facilities (complimentary sauna and penthouse gym, restaurant, bar).

I recommend getaroom.com. My experience was fine.
I have no idea what their phone / online / email customer is like as I didn't use it. (I've had hotels cancelling before while traveling, when online agents stepped in to make them honour the booking.)
So, for this kind of thing, I don't know, but for the basic reservation service to a hotel - fine, very good.
(The hotel, Scandic Sydhavnen.)

Ask LC about Getaroom
koyim
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/29/16

They took the $$$ then cancelled reservation after an error in zip code. But why take the $$$ if you see an error. Then they tell you they take money in advance. Bad bsn practise.
Most hotewla dont charge you until you check on. No i am waiting for my $$$$$. Super pissed!

Never ever again.

Ask koyi about Getaroom
stephens106
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/27/16

Getaroom had the best price at $77.98 for a Super8 room at Portland OR airport. So I clicked on it, gave them my Visa info, and without reading it carefully, I punched "confirm." Then up came the full charges, with the "tax and fees" -- at $33.98. That amounts to a tax of 43%, particularly unamusing since Oregon has no sales tax. Included was a "privilege fee" of $24. Apparently their privilege to help themselves to your money. This so irritated me I called the phone number provided by "Resaver" on the printout, and the girl on the phone, so used to angry callers, just kept repeating a scripted response that makes no sense. Somebody ought to put these people out of business!

Ask Stephen about Getaroom
simonh66
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/26/16

We booked a hotel in London through Getaroom.com. They sent booking confirmation. The day before we were due to travel a friend told me to check my reservation with the hotel as he had heard getaroom were unreliable. I checked and the hotel knew nothing of the booking. After numerous calls to Getaroom costing me over £30 it was sorted out. Only contact number for them is in America and they didn't answer my emails. They have refused to refund the cost of my calls and refused to call me back saying it was company policy not to call customers back. When we arrived at the hotel they told me that they get numerous problems with Getaroom and advised I use another agent in future. I strongly recommend you stay clear of this lot!

Ask Simon about Getaroom
leighs26
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/21/16

Booked the wrong room for me. They told me I could cancel by 6pm and then LIED to me when I tried to cancel. I called before the deadline for cancelling but after being on hold by the representative on the phone I ended up past the deadline and he told me I was too late. Asked for a supervisor, he also said I was too late and he said he could not help me and would not refund my money. Tried to verify the name of this business and the supervisor lied to me and told me they were Reservationdesk.com.

Ask Leigh about Getaroom
hollys48
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/21/16

This site advertised free cancellations - then refused to cancel. Customer service was very condescending and did not tell me the truth about my reservation. Turns out they had booked the reservation through a 3rd party which was unauthorized by the actual hotel.

Ask Holly about Getaroom
darrellg6
1 review
9 helpful votes
3/18/16

Getaroom had a website disguised as the hotel website, with the hotel name in the URL, even had a local phone number! My call was re-directed to their booking agency. THEY ASKED FOR MY CREDIT CARD TO "HOLD THE ROOM" AND THEN CHARGED MY CARD DIRECTLY without informing me they were going to! They charged me in US dollars even though I called a Canadian phone number for a Canadian hotel and charged to my Canadian credit card! They did not at any point say funds were US dollars. So I paid $50 per night more than I thought I was paying. What's more, when I arrived at the hotel they said they wouldn't give me loyalty points or membership perks because they said the booking wasn't through them.

Ask darrell about Getaroom
barbarad60
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/17/16

liars, I specifically asked are you the "Crown Plaza" because something felt wrong. the young lady said yes we are central booking for them. I was told I would get the room for 116 a night plus tax. 4 dollars more than my per-diem rate but I needed a room. They never mailed me a confirmation or receipt, what I got instead was an invitation to join getaroom.com. Four calls later after being hung up on 3 times I was sent a receipt. I was charged three different rates non of which were 116 and a lump sum for service fee and taxes that cost as much as a nights stay. I will be lucky if I can get reimbursed. They have hijacked the hotel web-site and unless you are paying more attention than I was you will pay more than the hotel charges for the room. When I complained to the hotel they were aware it was going on and told me they had several rooms at my rate and I should have just called them. Buyer beware. There should be a way to stop what they are doing.

Ask Barbara about Getaroom
katys13
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/17/16

Worst, worst, worst experience when booking a room! I have never left a review before in my life but this was beyond words! They gladly took my money in booking a room and when I just went to "double check" my reservation by calling the hotel directly - they have no reservation and are completely full. I'm currently on hour 4 and still no resolution. They are trying to find me a comparable room - ugh! Words of wisdom...book directly with a hotel. For the few dollars you save its NOT worth it! NEVER AGAIN!!

Ask Katy about Getaroom
artm26
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/16/16

I USED GET-A- ROOM. WHEN WE GOT TO THE HOTEL THERE WAS NO ROOM BOOKED.......SPENT 45 MINTUES ON PHONE TO GET IT WORKED OUT.....NOW TODAY I FOUND OUT THAT MY CREDIT CARD HAS CHARGES THAT I NEVER CHARGED.... AND I HAVE TO GET A NEW CARD.........DON'T USE THIS SERVICES.

Ask ART about Getaroom
melissar68
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/10/16

I used getaroom.com when I was in Denver. My brother and I booked a room and double/triple checked with the agent that he was booking the correct La Quinta. Well, he booked us in the wrong one. Mistakes happen and I would be willing to deal with that if it weren't for what happened after. My brother called and made the complaint. They requested some time to review and listen to the recording. They agreed their agent made a mistake and refunded his credit card and agreed to refund mine as well. Both bookings were made on the same call, with the same agent. They then decided NOT to refund mine, saying I stayed in the room. I called customer service and was put on hold for more than 30 minutes many times. Until the last time, I had to hang up because I was out of time. When I finally got them, they were not helpful. I sent a copy of my credit card statement showing that I stayed in the other La Quinta that night and after 6 days (they said 48 hours max) I finally got a reply. I did get refunded, but they were not helpful and I spent easily 8 total hours and it took 2 and 1/2 months to get my money back.

Ask Melissa about Getaroom
neetas4
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/7/16

I have cancelled my booking thru trip advisor but it still shows as not cancelled status. Trip advisor is as fraud as getaroom and i will never book thru tripadvisor too.

Ask Neeta about Getaroom
km118
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
3/5/16

Should have checked her before booking with getaroom. What a rip off. Thought I was getting a great deal for south beach hotel but when I checked out the price the hotel had was $70 cheaper than getaroom. Buyer beware!

Ask k about Getaroom
lenb34
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/4/16

I called a number listed in prominent place on hotel website. It was a hotel in Burnaby BC Canada. I live in Canada. Person who answered the phone gave clear impression they were from the hotel and told me hotel was full except for upgraded room. I agreed to upgraded room and the price. I was told because the hotel was full that I had to pay in full and no cancellation allowed. I was never told that the price was in USD so I ended up paying $144 more due to exchange. They refuse to correct. Deceptive and unethical to say the least. What makes it worse they are either owned or affiliated with Expedia. Tried to cancel the charges with credit card company and told it could not be done and told this is a common situation with this company.

Ask Len about Getaroom
elliote3
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/4/16

This wonderful company decided to cancel our booking whilst we were mid air to Thailand.

Being on the very south of Phucket there was no easy alternative accommodation.

Shocking company best avoided.

Expedia resolved all our issues!!! Stay with the best!

Ask Elliot about Getaroom
heatherw48
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/2/16

I made the reservation on February 17th for a check in on Friday February 19th. And because my friend that was going with me got kidney stones and wasn't able to go I tried to cancel the reservation not even cancel it try to postpone it move the dates on it getaroom.com told me that they could not do it that I was within the cancellation policy the three days and I said but I booked I have no cancellation policy I only had two days before check in and they told me that there's nothing that they could do about it and so I decided I would call the hotel directly the hotel was willing to move my dates they said no problem I told them it was for my 30th birthday was already turning out bad my friend wasn't able to go it was there anyway I can move it to March the hotel to me yet all you have to do is have getaroom.com write a letter or some kind of note and send it to the hotel that the hotel with had no problem with me moving it so I called back to get aroom.com and they told me that no they could not do that because it's against their policy. So they don't even follow the hotel's policy is that you book through because they have their own b******* policy

Ask Heather about Getaroom
lindal171
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
2/23/16

At first I was impressed with the rates they provided until changes needed to be made. I had five very difficult reservations and multiple changes in reservation#'s. When the trip was cancelled all together I called and cancelled all the reservation #'s I had and then asked them to be sure I did not have any other reservations, which to their response was that all my reservations were cancelled. Conveniently, the telephone conversation that this occurred on apparently did not get recorded and they still are trying to stiff me for the fee. All my reservations were cancelled, why would I still have this one when the people never arrived into the country? Been fighting them now for two months and and am ready to turn over to fraud department!

Tip for consumers: WOW! They are still denying my refund! I asked if all my reservations were cancelled and that there were no more listed under my name and Angie said yes! Hmm funny guess that conversation was not recorded. Again, why would I not cancel all reservations when visitors were not arriving! The prices may be enticing, however the red-tape for changes or cancellations seems to out way the minor $ difference. Respectable business are very difficult to find. More Fraudulent and scammers a foot! Taking t

Ask Linda about Getaroom
luvak
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/22/16

Was booking a room at Howard Johnson in Yakima, Wa. Went to a sight for the hotel and there was an 800 number. Called and first tipoff should have been that they asked what hotel chain I wanted. I proceeded and wanted to have the option of being able to cancel so that meant a higher rate, final total was quite a bit and more than online listed price. And they charged my credit card immediately. Talked to my daughter 5 minutes later, who is staying at same hotel and she was telling me great rate she got by actually talking to the HOJO reservation service. Called, the actual number and rate is over $100 less and still can cancel up to 24 hours and no pre charge on my card. Called getaroom right back and room is cancelled with them but it might take up to 30 days to get credited to my account, when all this happened within 10 minutes. It was deceiving that their number was on the hotel websight for reservations and saw no notice that this was a third party sight. Don't think I will be using it again nor could I recommend it. Will see how the refund plays out.

Ask Luva about Getaroom
jackb162
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/8/16

My brother booked a room at holiday in I Sydney n.s for 3 nites first of all he was charged in American funds instead of Canadian and he only stayed 2 notes and was charged for 3 . he was here for our sister who passed away while he was here. This getaroom outfit is absolutely the biggest ripoff in the hotel chain. I see a lot of very serious complaints and it just seems to go on. On a scale of 10 this site should be rated - 9

Ask jack about Getaroom
tonyh72
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/7/16

Booked through getaroom.com thinking we were using a British company, we actually paid for a room in the English lake district in us dollars via getaroom.com and with the difference in exchange rates we paid 30 English pounds less than our friends who booked with someone else, also we had a far superior room with a beautiful lake view.
Getaroom.comdid us proud, no complaints at all, delightfull.
Regards
Tony hacking England uk

Ask Tony about Getaroom
laurab152
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/6/16

I booked three rooms in Mexico City. Well before the cancellation deadline, I contacted them to cancel one of the three rooms. They said that it is "impossible" to modify a reservation. They could cancel the reservation and in theory rebook two rooms, but they said the hotel was "sold out." I noted that if we cancelled my three rooms then the hotel would no longer be "sold out" and we could rebook two of them. They said that was "impossible." So they were trying to force my hand to keep a reservation for a room that I didn't need. Fortunately, the manager at a hotel where I was staying quickly determined the hotel was NOT sold out, so I cancelled all three reservations with getaroom and rebooked the two rooms we actually needed directly with the hotel. Of course it is always "possible" to modify a reservation; just not if you are a ripoff company trying hard NOT to meet basic customer service needs. Now, let's see if they actually refund me all my money. (Note that they charge your credit card for the full amount of a reservation even months before you show for your room.)

Ask Laura about Getaroom
tims109
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/3/16

Stay away...do not book a room with these guys. They ripped me off approximately $30.00 US dollars. An advertised room for $67.00 (which when I booked it did not state in US dollars). I told them that it is wrong that they can't advertise a room without stating what currency it is in then charge me US dollars. When I got my bill it was over $140.00 Canadian. When I called to complain they admitted that they are having a lot of complaints but NOW the website states in US dollars, Rip off artists big time. Stay away!!

Ask Tim about Getaroom
danm125
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/3/16

I DID not realize I was on a third party web site.Be careful when you search online for a hotel. You think you are on hotel's website but you may be on a third party web site. Just call the hotel directly.

Ask Dan about Getaroom
russp8
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/27/16

We weren't notified that the hotel was being renovated and there was no restaurant, bar or lobby. It was a construction site. They were notified and advised to let their clients Know the situation. The reservation was prepaid so they had their money and couldn't care less about our vacation

Ask Russ about Getaroom
tomc117
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/26/16

same comment as all of those that follow - don't use get a room. Deal directly with the hotel. I was in a hurry on a web search and did not notice that I clicked on a marriott.getaroom site.

Ask Tom about Getaroom
rk67
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/22/16

They falsely advertised the price of a room and I ended up paying $500 extra for a room that they of course refuse to refund, despite the fact I immediately canceled the reservation. The customer service agents are of no help. Avoid them like the plague!

Ask R about Getaroom
olwynm
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/22/16

Just read the reviews on this company and I am worried I have booked through this company through trip advisor. I am surprised that trip advisor allow this to happen!!

Ask Olwyn about Getaroom
lindal162
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/20/16

Just got stuck with a bill for a room I did not use. Husband cancelled at the hotel, which did not advise us of the third party booking partner and the need to contact them directly. Unhappy with the lack of communication and at paying an unnecessary bill.

Ask Linda about Getaroom
lakishat2
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/20/16

You can find a good rate using other sites. There is a blizzard heading in my direction and we decided that it was not feasible to go on our trip for fear of coming back in time and we did not want to leave the children home stuck in a possible blizzard alone. They were not understanding and nor did they give me my money back or try to rectify the issue. I cancelled the room and am not getting any money back nor can I use this to stay at a hotel anywhere else. This site is TERRIBLE AND UNFORTUNATELY EMOTIONLESS.

Ask LaKisha about Getaroom

21 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Getaroom staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
1 week ago
Answer
km118
A: I would not use it. Better to reserve thru the hotel directly. I used them and thought I was getting a good deal but in actuality paid more than hotel was offering at the time.
1 week ago
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
4/21/16
Answer
luvak
A: Thought I was booking on the actual hotel sight but was deceived in as much as it was Getaroom. Talked to someone else also staying at this hotel at the same for about a third less. Called them right back and had already charged my card and it would be up to 3 weeks to refund. That's about what it took but did get refund. Then checked reviews and no one had anything good to say about getaroom. Go straight to hotel sight of one you know and trust or stick with something like Travelocity.
4/22/16
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See more Q&A
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Getaroom staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?
×
Have a question about
Getaroom?
Post Review