Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Zoosk

Zoosk reviews

4,277 reviews
989 Market Street, 5th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94103, US
Tel: 1-888-939-6675
termsofuse@zoosk.com
2018 Customer choice award

4,277 Reviews From Our Community

Service
220
Value
225
Quality
189

All Reviews

spencj
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/18/13

spams the hell out of my email account with tons of emails about some fake profiles that supposedly searched me. i had simply signed up, and did nothing to my profile. no info, no pics, nothing, yet i got constant FAKE messages from girls in my inbox. sometimes i would receive the same message from a different profile with different pics and name. i never tried the site out, but i know from this alone this site is a joke and needs to be shut down.

randyw19
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
5/3/13

The worst pseudo-legitimate dating site ever.

Members cannot search the data base, are asked if they want to meet some person while receiving no information, and for thrills can play "roulette" that randomly selects a member for you to meet ... without telling where the person lives!
This is a double con, giving you nothing of value and also making you pay for it. Then, on top of the membership fee, there is a surprise "activation charge" of $29.95. Suppose that's to discourage you from de-activating.

But I admire the creativity of a couple of the site's hoaxes.

1) Each day you are offered a "scientifically selected match" you agree or decline to meet. The other "person" simultaneously "decides." How convenient that you have been "scientifically selected" to meet an inactive member or a site sprite. Of course their is no agreement forthcoming, so the whole offer disappears until the next day's con game.

2. Members are notified each time their profile is viewed. Big excitement to get so many nibbles, right? Wrong. The site computer generates fake "views," recycling persons - real or not - who have "viewed" you previously. Delete a view notification, and within 2 days that person again will have "viewed" your profile. One "woman" allegedly viewed me 3 times in 24 hours, then gave no response to my contact. Guess she finally had decided against me ... at least until 2 days later, when again she "viewed" my profile.

andrewc51
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/26/13

I signed up for zoosk and used it for several months. Then one day I got a notice that my account was under review. Shortly after I was notified my account was closed. I sent several emails to support@zoosk.com but received no response.

UNDISCLOSED REASON - Today I finally got around to calling their number. The representative confirmed that my account had been cancelled and that I had been reimbursed. I asked several times as to why and each time I was put on hold as they she searched for more info. In the end she said my account was "blocked" because of "fraudulent activity" - but could not state what that activity was, she claimed they were "not allowed to disclose" it, but from the sound of it, here computer screen didn't say and therefore she couldn't.

ACCOUNT STILL VISIBLE - But the worst part was that I asked them to erase my account. She said she could not do that, but not to worry because nobody could see my account since it was blocked. I then informed her that I am getting regular notifications each week from people who have viewed my account.

CANNOT ERASE ACCOUNT - She said the most she could do was to turn off the notifications. It was at that point I realized I needed to warn others of this. I now have a profile that other humans believe to be active online that I cannot get rid of. This is a problem and it is very frustrating.

tw149
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/23/13

You can do absolutely NOTHING unless you pay money. And you have to pay more money if you want coins. If someone sends a chat request, you can't even let them know you aren't a member. It's the worst site. At least you can actually message back and forth on POF. Zoosk sucks BIGTIME.

lynng18
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/15/13

I thought I had deleted my profle..IT was STILL coming up. I had to google how to get it off there completely! Also someone made a profile with my friends pic and her name, she cant sign in to delete it because whoever it was, used their own email address. Now she has to go through a bunch of BS to get her profile that she didn't even create off of there. Its a total waste of time to even sign up they are a pain in the a$$. Totally Sucked!

seanl17
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/11/13

Zoosk is trying to invade sites like plenty of fish and ok cupid to get you to join them but they truly do you no service at all for what they charge. I know of no other dating site that will want you to be interested in talking to someone living in another state unless you are that fake person hoping to gain money from the other person.
When I've contacted them about it, there was no change.
Zoosk sucks badly

johnd181
3 reviews
59 helpful votes
4/10/13

I saw the Zoosk advertisements everywhere so I figured I'd give them a shot.

The only good thing to say of them is they have a brilliant ad department.

It doesn't take long before you realize what they're after. Your money. I signed up for a 3 month stint with the website. First you pay the subscription fee, AND a one time "activation fee." The activation fee is most likely to squeeze as much initial money out of you because they know after you try their service once, you will look elsewhere in the future.

This is due in part to the fact that the number of women on zoosk does not increase regularly. You will see the same profiles week after week before anyone "new" pops up. And there is about a 75% chance that "new" woman will be a fake user created by a scam artist.

After only my first month I was uploading any remotely attractive women's profile picture(s) to google images just to see what "popped up." Amateur porn stars, random website images, and photos stolen from myspace pages was what I got. I repeatedly reported these profiles to Zoosk, but their cracker-jack team of admins and moderators didn't seem to mind. I had accumulated 3 pages of blocked (fake) users and I would still come across a profile I'd reported multiple times in the past in my searches. They ban you for putting your email address in your profile, but post a cropped image of an attractive pornstar and they don't fact check in the slightest.

Another thing is the Zoosk Scientific match, and Carousel. Which is where the micro-transactions come in.
Zoosk will regularly send you emails about a "scientific match" which just means, "You're Christian? SHE'S Christian! You smoke? SHE smokes! You guys should totally hook up!" If you agree to the match and she does too, she becomes your "Mutual Match" which must be unlocked with "Zoosk coins" a fake currency that you have to pay real money for, or sign up for spam, surveys, and other garbage to obtain. Carousel works the same way.

So after all this bs you're left much poorer with scarcely a lady in sight. With terrible moderation, horrid pricing, and fake users galore stay away from these rip-off experts. Just do Plenty of Fish. There may be fake users, and scam artists on that site too, but at least I can get the same "benefits" of Zoosk minus the price of admission.

michaelp66
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/13

couldn't get messenger to work right. terrible pay structure isn't worth 5.00 month let a loan 20

alexb50
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/22/13

Horrible payment structure if you actually plan to try to message someone and an otherwise clunky UI. only redeeming factor is that i could delete my account.

melindal1
67 reviews
910 helpful votes
3/14/13

I got a free trial to Zoosk about 2 months ago.... and I just sort of lurked there until this morning... I woke up early today and decided to pay the $80 for 6 months.... and I had at least 50-60 emails to respond to. So i was happily doing that until suddenly I got this message that "WOW! You have been busy! You have reached your limit for today. Please visit us in 24 hours."

Ummmmm.... No where when I was signing up did it say that a person has a daily limit on how many messages I could send. I called the company and explained to them that they either needed to lift the restriction for me or refund my money and they opted to refund my money. I think when I spend $80 for 6 months on a buggy dating site, I should be able to spend as much time as I want. It's not like I have hours and hours every day to do this sort of thing....but I woke up early today and decided to try it out.

I don't have any advice on where to go for a good dating service, but when I do, I'll write it up....

joem71
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/19/13

Well i just like to meet new people and some cities are all about money and not for what people really are looking for.

jayr19
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/19/13

As a paid member, you can't search for other members using their screen name; that option does not exist. There is no way of knowing if the person that you are interested in is a member or not unless you subscribe only to find out that they can't contact you.

If you mutually like someone on the Carousel that persons profile gets instantly hidden. To unlock their profile, you have to buy coins in addition to your already paid for subscription. They must also have a paid subscription and purchase the coins if they want to see you in return.

The chat system sucks, it is very slow and buggy. Messages have a serious lag, and get lost.

As a paid member you can send messages to a non members but they have to subscribe in order to reply to you after the initial one line reply tease that they are allowed. Non members can initiate a one line message to a paid members but they are then locked out unless they subscribe.

When you subscribe not only do you pay for a subscription by the month but then you are also hit with a one time activation fee of $29.95 on top of the subscription price. If you don't cancel your subscription it will auto renew every month. When you cancel your subscription you can use up the period you paid for, and it will not renew monthly after that.

paula151
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
2/13/13

absolutely terrible! a site full of fake profiles and total ugly ass freaks! They send you fake messages too from fake profiles! Lets all take out a lawsuit on them!

robp14
4 reviews
7 helpful votes
2/11/13

I first signed up about a year ago but after 3mths did not bother renewing as they were not listening to my complaints they sent contacts that were too far away and mostly older than me regardless of my preferences.
I kept getting email updates which i was ignoring until in december I got a message from a member who said she wanted to meet me.
Only way to communicate with her was to signup again which I did.
After getting zero response from person I complained to Zoosk who said they dont refund but could return part of my subscription to downgrade to 1 mth. I was told it may take up to 7 days to rollback 1 mth later it still hasnt happened.It seems that Zoosk sucks people in by allowing women to join free and the guys have to pay to reply to time wasters.
I strongly recommend everyone avoids this site setup by a couple of student programmers it is a total waste of money and a CON.
It is listed and appears to be worth quite a bit http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/zoosk-secures-30-million-in-series-d-funding-78418052.html
Only use free dating sites avoid any that need money to chat unless you want to be scammed Zoosk appears to be the worlds biggest Dating Con site.they appear to be using facebook ads to suck in new members.

pauls79
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/10/13

rubbish site, none of the women reply (just seems to be an ego boost for them)...and the messages that do come through are from fake/ closed accounts

lour22
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/13/13

99% of men there are REAL ugly and dumb, i only wonder how they all got concentrated on this partic site? it should be called not zoosk but "ugliest losers of the universe", women who doesnt seek lowest kind of men- dont waste ur time on there!

lindaa17
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/7/13

Lets just say, if it seems to good to be true, it probably is. Lots of smooth talking, slick foreign men praying on females who are truly sympathetic to most peoples concerns.

quentinh8
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/3/13

this is an overpriced site. You will sign up and pay, but find a lot of girls on their have not paid, so you cannot communicate with them so easily. You can try and provide email address, but Site Admin will delete it. Anyway I did get a couple of dates. One was from a Greek lady, who could not stop swearing in a conversation. The other was a German, who straight away wanted me to model for her. I have now become great friends with the German girl. Now there are more real people on their rather fake which is good, but be careful of the recurring charges when subscription runs out. I will give 3/5 as I did make a good friend out of it, but if that did not happen, it would have been a 1/5.

jonathanj10
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
1/2/13

It says free sign up everywhere but once you try to use it you find out you have to pay to even say hi

aril
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/18/12

Zoosk is a police state. First of all, if you don't have a Facebook account you can't edit your profile. That is a load of garbage. Second off, they have a policy about what kind of PEOPLE are acceptable...if you don't fit their image they won't allow you to find people. This site really, really, REALLY needs to be shut down.

all924
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/18/12

Have to say, Zoosk is one of the worst dating apps. People who have free memberships can't really do anything with the site. When you send a message to someone, it says you must pay for a membership. When you receive a message from someone, you won't even be able to see the message unless you pay real money by use of 'zoosk coins' or by paying for a the membership. What a way to rip off unassuming people. Also, the membership charge is almost the charge of the major online dating sites - http://match.com, http://eharmony.com, and zoosk's functionality is nowhere near that of those sites. Not only that, they charge a ridiculous 'activation fee' in order to get more money out of you. It's a dumb dating app and I don't see the point in using it for people who are free members.

alisonm13
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/12

they mine your email addresses and spam your friends!!!

dsfoijdsofd
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/14/12

terrible site. most of the "people" that contact you are not even real. they are like bots that just send everyone messages. you can spot them easily because they use pictures of super models and no descriptions. plus they start giving u their emails and phone numbers before you've even said hello to them. who does that? so one moment you have a new "flirt" or new "chat request" and then you go login to check it out and they're not even there anymore. literally, their profile and everything has vanished from zoosk. this dating site is a scam, no matter how unsatisfied u are, terms say no refunds. dont waste your time or money.

chrism69
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/8/12

Zoosk is a scam! You need to subscribe. Majority of the girls are hook up models. They are real ppl but not where they say there from and will ask for money. If they give u a chat line to go to that's one of them. Be sure to get some raunchy pics of them before disregarding. They're not shy in that aspect. If u get annoyed by the amount of them their e-mail names are real and you can f/b them. Maybe if we all started playing the game they will go away and give ppl seriously looking for a relationship a chance

johnnyr8
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/23/12

Zoosk not only controls and limits your emails, they also have many planted accounts there to attract you but to never respond to your emails. I've used DateHookUp and Plenty of Fish with no problem connecting with women and communicating with them.

1,170 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Most of the profiles are fake. PROOF: After 26 days, I deleted all of the information and pictures on my profile and canceled but my subscription still had 4 more days. Each of those four days, I had numerous messages from women wanting to talk with me and each message then had an overlay telling me that it wasn't too late to change my mind about cancelling. Zoosk IS A SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Herman M.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

NO MA'AM IT IS NOT. In fact I only used the coins when I could get them for free. Under the system that's no longer possible. Nobody takes that sort of thing seriously, and for a woman it's even less relevant.

By Kevin W.
Helpful answer 10
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They aren't really viewing your profile...Zoosk populates your Views with people to make you think you are popular, so you will frequent the site. Zoosk is deceptive and playing games with your emotions!

By Don J.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Most of the profiles in Zoosk aren't even current, so what you are seeing are basically phantom profiles. For instance, once you decide not to renew your profile, they keep your profile up anway [instead of taking it down] and they use it sending out mechanical greetings attached to your profile to unsuspecting members. In other words, don't be expecting anyone to even write back. Chances are you will be communicating with an old profile that has expired a long time ago.

By Ray S.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Chances are you're sending a message to someone that was a member long ago and isn't registered any longer. Zoosk is a total scam.

By tom r.
Helpful answer 4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I believe it is. But how safe is the internet these days. Just don't be quick to give too much information too soon you will know when its right to share. Good luck

By Anthony H.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yep, you gotta pay for the subscription!

By Mel D.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Just a damm good money making machine imho who the hell os going to go 300 miles plus for a date and the majority of profiles are expired but kept on to look like they are active save your money mate

By barry s.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I'm not sure. When I signed up, I thought it was only going to cost $29.99 for 3 months. When I got to the end they wanted to charge another fee, I think for processing or something. I backed out. Later I got an e-mail telling me that the fee was dropped. I did meet one man, he was nice, but wasn't for me.

By Debbie P.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am a paid member and I keep getting the same thing. I don't get it either. It is usually after I message them and have have view my profile. I get a message at the lower left portion of my screen and click on it, and it takes to where you do the messaging, but there is NO WAY to accept the messaging. And I never get a message from that person! The Zoosk message that initially pops up saying that " " wants to chat with you just goes away and you are left wondering what the HELL just happened. I know your problem. It is infuriating!

By Justin B.
Questions? Get answers from the Zoosk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Zoosk?
Post Review