Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

SlimWareUtilities reviews

Is this your business?
12 reviews
chris@slimwareutilities.com

12 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

gideonp8
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/19/17

How can I get you to stop sending notifications to my computer? If you do not stop I will go public on all the social medias and tell the world that you have been abusing me and my computer.

Advertisement
milagrosw
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/31/17

I bought their Premium Support last night, I was told I can get a refund if the job is unsatisfactory, WELL, it is unsatisfactory. My computer is suppose to be working better but instead it got worst. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!! called hours later to tell them to cancel, then I was told " ah billing is closed right now, we'll call you at 8am" never got the call so I called around 9:45am. The lady told me I cannot get a refund...I am not happy with the job, I did not see any improvement on my computer, I was told I can get a refund , now I am told I can't get my money back....SCAM...SCAM...SCAM...

jacquelinec51
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/26/17

My laptop seemed to be running slow and kept getting a pop up saying my driver is out of date and must update it. I'm not a very computer savvy person so thought it was something I must do. So I called the number provided. $24.99 is what they tell me. So this I paid and also gave them access to my laptop. They then tell me and show me a few things on my laptop that are very bad and must be removed. That package cost me $139.99. Which also came along with their antivirus. Two weeks after this I went to do a scan and it was unresponsive. I contacted them and was told how to uninstall it and a link to download another. I did so. Still unresponsive. I gave them access to see what the problem was. They worked on it constantly uninstalling and reinstalling it. For two days this happened. When I seen them download something to TWEEK WINDOWS I put a stop to it and told them just to activate my windows firewall and would deal with it later. They have claimed that their server is down and will contact me when an update is available. I had to have Microsoft undo everything that they did to my pc and it was a huge mess. Stay away from these people.

angelaa77
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/19/17

This is not needed and tried to sneak up on me. I have driver update software installed i don't need two. and no you give or sale my info for just using your product. i never ask for it. but thanks for my time to figure all this out. i wasted mine not nice. on top of that if you read the fine print they are getting your info and getting your permission to use,share and sell it. WRONG!! Oh and if i don't agree some stuff may not work and cause problems, Gee Thanks for your help. I can update my own drivers with Windows already built in software I paid for and purchased. I need nothing else AND I DIDN'T SEE THAT IN YOUR FINE PRINT

Tip for consumers: They just show up all uninvited, i hate guest that do that and companies. My private computer, they assume we are dumb & will just install using the windows partner logo makes it seem legit. Wrong way to get my business with 5 stars in future after this still wouldn't use it. My comp gets so logged down because this kind of sneaky practices. If they didn't' exist & not ALLOWED, i COULD OWN MY OWN COMPUTER AND KEEP OUT SOLICITORS even with good stfw some programmer is SMARTER & THRIVES ON.BAD BAD

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
douglasb42
1 review
8 helpful votes
2/16/16

Never heard of this company, now find a $29,97 charge on my Visa Account.

frankm86
1 review
16 helpful votes
6/24/15

Very misleading dialogue on the phone they indicate that they can solve your problems and then connect you to a closer that asked for $249 after i paid the $29.95 to repair the problem. It is misleading and they are cheering in the background when someone closes a sale i can hear it on the phone. they are smooth and canned but very good a conning you. they are in India and are ripping off Americans every minute. do not buy from them.

gregs63
3 reviews
32 helpful votes
10/12/14

Hi community members,

I was hoping to find a way to warn potential "Slimware Utilities" customers about a dirty little practice commonly used by this company. I was having a problem with my computer keyboard a few nights ago. I was offering a bit of tech support on a website that I spend a considerable amount of my spare time on when suddenly, my keyboard started misbehaving. The "shift" key, along with the "A" and the "1" were not working and so it became impossible to complete a sentence w/o "copy/pasting" those characters into the space where needed.

I restarted the computer and tried again but got more of the same. Then I had a notion that the problem was a result of a bad/corrupted/outdated software driver. I remembered seeing a product called, "Driver-Update" which claimed to be able to identify defective drivers, download and replace them with the latest version of the necessary driver. So I went online, googled "DriverUpdate.com" and found the link to download the product to bring my computer back up properly.

The price was $29.97 which seemed fine for a product that could save me time, identifying the driver, and then installing it for me. I hit the download button and watched the process carefully, being cautious not to allow/invite any "third party" component bundles on-board along with my new product software. That part went fine but after I paid for the "Registered license key", I noticed that the price had changed! What was supposed to be $29.97, was now $49.87! They had changed our agreement immediately after I submitted my credit card number to them. "HERE WE GO"... I exclaimed! I found a "REFUND REQUEST" chat box for 'Slimware Utilities' on their website and filled out a form. Being furious, I needed to regain my composure so I wouldn't attack the c/s rep on the other end of this support chat line; realizing that they wouldn't own the company... or delegate company policy. "This is what I wrote":

Notes: "Dear csr

I've just purchased your "Driver Update" software from your website for $29.97; or so I thought... When I received the licenses key/order numb, the price changed to $49.87... That's called "The Bait & switch" technique! Honest people/companies don't ever do that because that's exploitative to it's victims; God be
merciful!"

"And here's their reply"...

"Hello,

Thank you for your email. We have processed your refund as per your email request.

Please allow up to 15 days for your credit card issuing bank to post this refund to your credit card statement. Or if you paid with PayPal please allow 24 to 48 hours for the funds to show in your PayPal account. If you are unable to locate your funds, please contact your credit card issuing bank directly for assistance.

If your credit card issuing bank is unable to locate the funds, please initiate a conference call with yourself, your bank, and SafeCart. we can be reached toll-free at 1-855-XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday from 6AM - 5PM PST.

Thank you for using SafeCart. Sincerely, Lindsay"

My problem with this transaction wasn't the EXTRA $20 that they helped themselves to. My problem was that the reason for the extra money withdrawal was that they were going to automatically extend my agreement w/them into 2016... and all future extensions were to be debited automatically from my checking acct; no accountability there WHAT-SO-EVER! And they weren't even going to tell me that they had INDEPENDENTLY and UNILATERALLY decided to debit my bank account 'in whatever amount, denomination or frequency that they so chose.

So, you have ALL been warned about the company "SLIMWARE UTILITIES" and it's (at very least) shady/illegal business practices! "...So be careful"

GLS (new member)

dedef1
1 review
15 helpful votes
9/27/13

I should have known better. I paid. I received the serial number that was supposed to let me download the driver update. It is not working. The site is trying to get me to buy more things. I have called the credit card company to dispute the charge. I am demanding a refund. I will not work with this company.

giw1
7 reviews
20 helpful votes
8/20/13

This web site should be totally avoided at all costs!!!!!!! They are affiliated with driver update and fix cleaner and the technical support staff are rude, obnoxious and totally unreliable in fixing computer problems and issues. They are famous for taking remote access and leaving a paying Customer out to dry-meaning the
problem you had from the start will only get worse if you allow these so called computer JERKS any access to your computer for any reason!!!!!!! Save your money and find a reputable company which these web sites are not!!!!! You will end up spending more money to fix a problem they create!!!!!!! AVOID support@driverupdate.net and their telephone number of 228 273 1197 as they will never return your calls and the only way to obtain a refund is to raise HELL
with the bank that accepts the payments for these low life cheating and scamming vendors to date!!!!!!!

brucel16
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/19/13

THIS PROGRAM IS A MESS, IT CAUSED NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS FOR US AND CAUSED OUR COMPUTER TO CRASH.... IT COST ME $200.00 TO FIX....STAY AWAY FROM THIS

staceyd1
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/6/11

The website is great, as are the products from SlimWare Utilities. I've downloaded and installed them all on multiple systems, and enjoyed the ease of use and friendly atmosphere developed by the team at SWU on socnet sites such as Facebook, where they held a great contest drawing for thumb drives and gave tee shirts out to those that would provide reviews for their new products. It's all provided through cloud technology, making it free and free to everyone. Get with these guys and enjoy the SWU touch on your computer(s). And no... they didn't pay me to write this. I just like to turn good people onto good things. Oh, but I DID get one of those nice tee shirts. Give Slimware Utilities a go and see for yourself!

ianm11
143 reviews
594 helpful votes
7/16/11

I found a review on this site on a blog a couple months back, so thought I would give one of their downloads a go. So I installed SlimDrivers - after installing the product, it prompted me to create an account with them (which made me suspicious at first), but it was well worth it in the end. SlimDrivers is free and saves time. It found 26 driver updates for my computer and it gave me a link to click to update my drivers - was that easy. In the end - it really does save you time searching the net to find out if your drivers have updates.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have done this twice and I still have not received my refund!!!

By Bernadette S. on 5/3/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Nicole, Here's a place where you can get the latest drivers for your Dell computer quickly, safely and FREE! http://windows.microsoft.com/en-ie/windows7/automatically-get-recommended-drivers-and-updates-for-your-hardware ...they'll also have all the latest computer repair software tools, anti-virus/malware, tech-support ...etc! Hope this helps!

By Greg S. on 11/2/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Thomas, My intention towards you is NOT to be cruel or unkind, however..., if you're still asking about the price after all of these testimonials then you've truly missed the whole point! Their products are just bait!! Once you've given them your credit/debit info, you're not getting anything that works... you'll be signing an agreement that allows "Slimware utilities" access to your computer (via remote host), private files, bank acct's, unlimited random withdrawls... Please DO NOT give 'Slimware utilities' your money or any personal information! "It's a scam!"

By Greg S. on 10/1/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the SlimWareUtilities staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
SlimWareUtilities?
Post Review