Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Grammarly

Grammarly reviews

107 reviews
548 Market Street, #35410
San Francisco, CA 94104
support@grammarly.com

107 Reviews From Our Community

Service
7
Value
5
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
5

All Reviews

miken127
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/18/17

Grammarly is waste of money and does not correct easy grammar errors. examples to and too, then and than and forget about trying to use a semi colon. I can't believe anybody could give Grammarly 5 stars,

vivecae
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/17/17

I still have a contract to next year with Grammarly. I've changed my Email adress and now I can't log in. Your customer service is terrible. No agent to talk to. Ready to cancel but even that you cleverly have made hard to do.

wl46
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/11/17

This service is a subscription service that you attach to all of your browsers, your email, basically any digital communication you do, so it pops up anytime you use your computer/phone. This has to be one of the most surreptitiously intrusive spyware that you pay to invite into your personal communications, centralizing all of your communication data. I would deter anyone from using a central service like this one. People complain mightily about the poor quality of the app. That little effort has resulted in such a poor app suggests the value of the product is its ability to aggregate communication for data mining. This is a Ukrainian based company (with a US "face" officed in CA), but where ever it came from, this model of open access to all of one's communications across platforms is a very bad idea for privacy rights and security. Do not pay for people to monitor and aggregate your personal data under the guise of a grammar program.

aldrin16
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/9/17

Why would anybody pay to have their grammar looked at? Beats me. Haven't you been educated for sixteen years now (give or take)? If you have to pay some $#*!ty service to proof read and tell you where you are wrong in grammar you probably have to use your brain more often and efficiently.

georgeg144
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/9/17

I will start with the most annoying thing that happened to me, and I do not want any other student who is going to use this service to experience. I purchased the annual plan of Grammarly. One year after, I checked my debit card, and I found a charge by Grammarly for renewal in my annual plan which I did never ask for. So, I sent an email to the customer support, and a lady called Olivia responded to me the following:

"Were sorry for the misunderstanding about our payment policy. At this time, we dont send automatic billing reminders, but when you subscribed to our service, you agreed to our Terms Of Service and License Agreement, which states that you will be billed if you do not cancel before the next billing date. I have reviewed your account history, and, unfortunately, we are unable to refund your renewal payment per our Terms of Service and Refund Policy. Grammarly will not refund any payments that have been made to your account after the initial 7-day period."

The thing was that I did never receive a notification about this charge and also that the moment that I sent to them this email it was the 7th day of this plan. As a student, my budget is very limited, and I cannot afford a charge like this, but in Grammarly, their priority is not the students.

Thank you for your time.

tomr158
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/3/17

I have found Grammarly to be the best app for online writing, period. Not only because of the superficial repairs to writing but also that it is easy to find deeper details on grammar usage via links. I appreciate especially that they allow us non-writers to access the app for free.

ruthw44
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/27/17

Why do I have to pay to get corrections??? I'm a student and I need Grammarly! Every commercial I've seen has chalked it up to be so great and FREE and its not!! #falseadvertising and also I have to download every doc that I want corrected, but sometimes the doc can't be downloaded so I have to send myself an email with the doc link! I am not paying 139.95 per year for something that doesn't correct whatever I'm writing in any engine or page online!

dotsiew
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
9/24/17

As annoying as a buzzing fly about one's face.

(+to attain 100 characters xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

mattl82
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/11/17

If you need to harass me with an advert embedded into every video I watch on YouTube then your product obviously does not have the power to gain positive traction in the market place by word or mouth or otherwise. You have turned me off from ever using this product by shoving it down my throat and drowning me in it.

hordep
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/8/17

So I decided to enroll in a subscription, it said $11.66/month, so I was like "oh cool." But right below that price, in tiny letters, it said: "Billed as one payment of $139.95." Well, I didn't read the tiny letters and then I find that I was charged $139.95 via Paypal. I contacted support within 5 minutes, told them I wanted a refund (didn't even state why), and five minutes later Olivia responds and gives me a full refund. That was pretty cool. I think the product is too expensive but good customer service from my experience.

chrisg186
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/5/17

You will find that it will swap out words and create arbitrary sentences that make no sense at all. It doesn't happen often, but enough to make me comb through suggestions twice. On another note, I work on a Mac and use this software to check online courses, it consistently crashes my browser. I can't open it up and work on it using the standard software provided. Instead, what I have to do is work in the backend (code) which only catches about 3/4 of the grammar mistakes. It's a bit frustrating, especially since I opted for the upgraded version at $29 a month. For that price, the software should work flawlessly.

denisep47
9 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/31/17

If your paper is a mess, grammarly will help you to put it in order. It will make your sentences more storng and convincing. When i doubt about my grammar and lexics, i always use grammarly. This the service, i can really rely on in my studies.

Service
alexm278
9 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/31/17

I use Grammarly for a quite long time and I always liked it. Recently I've got a very responsible task to write an article to a college newspaper so that I must have been very attentive and grammatically correct. As usual, I turned to Grammarly and checked the text for grammatical mistakes. I made all the tweaks and sent the article. But what was my disappointment when I was said I must check it once again because there were some grammatical mistakes. From that time I understood that free version of Grammarly detects not all the mistakes. In order to get a really accurate report, you must upgrade to a premium status which is actually paid (the price is rather considerable).
I'll continue using Grammarly cause it's pretty good, but not in cases I need super-accurate detection of mistakes.

leoz8
1 review
9 helpful votes
8/26/17

Worst company ever. Can't even cancel my policy when I don't need it. They force you to use the service until your next renewal date.

silvioe
6 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/22/17

I've been using the browser plugin for some time and it's a great way to catch a lot of common errors and improve your writing over time. The paid plan is a bit expensive but the browser addon is spot-on.

Service
Value
joeb340
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/21/17

Just thought I would add that I used the product for 7 days, thought it was okay, but couldn't afford it at the moment, requested a refund and got it back right away.

clarew28
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/18/17

Paid for the premium service 5 days ago and still not able to use it. I have had no response to any of my requests to have this rectified. It is a scam, contacting my bank first thing Monday morning to put in a claim for fraudulent activities.

mikel349
1 review
9 helpful votes
8/10/17

Sorry but the word spell and grammar checker, as modest as it is, catches more.

Thye, caught by word, not Grammarly

NB; thye caught by both

At the intro of an email

Hi Dan,

it always wants to say Hi, Dan

Misses too much to use it exclusively

timothym95
1 review
20 helpful votes
8/2/17

Why do they have to trap you into an automatic monthly payment? Why can't I talk to a person on the phone? Why can't I get a refund for the rest of the month when I cancel on the 1st day? Why do they say "it's free" then you have to pay to see any potential errors?

bowiec
1 review
14 helpful votes
7/31/17

Grammarly offered a 7 day free trial. I cancelled on the 6th day of a one year subscription [which incidentally was almost double for what I pay for MS Windows or Office. They told me that I needed to contact another department. By that time I had gone past the expiration date and they charged me almost $160+, a full year's subscription, when I complained they reduced it to $29.95. It's not much better than the free edition that comes with MS Office.

alanc99
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/30/17

This is part of a short story that won an award for grammar and content Yet Grammarly gave this short part 2 critical mistakes.
It was some time before the train reached the tunnel leading to the citys main station. I was not too concerned, as I was in conversation with the most beautiful women I had ever seen. Her name was Rita and she lived less than a mile from where I worked which, as coincidences go, this was up there with the best.
Rita promised to meet me the following day at the local watering hole, Cullens emporium.
I hoped she would not change her mind; I spent hours thinking about her and what I would say when, and if, we met the following day.

christopherp90
1 review
14 helpful votes
7/22/17

It's terrible. Advertisements make it even more unbearable. I teach non-native English speakers grammar, and many of them ask about using software like this. I tried it, and it's hardly any better than the one for Microsoft Office (which my university already pays for).

ultrivezg
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/17/17

Grammarly is great if you need a simple grammar checker, you can't get software that's any better than it. However, I'm not gonna pay 30 bucks a month for a better version of the same software. It would also be amazing if they added English (Canadian) as one of the languages. As a Candian, it sucks to have to choose between American English and English. Overall, it's not bad. but you'll have to pay $30.00 if you want it to be great.

(I'm currently using non-premium Grammarly to write scripts for my YT channel and this very review. It fixed 7 mistakes in this review. So you get the idea.
YT channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXcYXI3yysGFi5Y9sCzztfA)

yey2
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
7/15/17

Im not paying that much a month for grammar... seriously.. go to school if you need to buy this. and if your a writer or something I accept that you need this sometimes but aint no body gonna bay that much money for words... And I tried the free extension.. It didint fix anything..

padminij
1 review
11 helpful votes
7/13/17

These people wont return my annual subscription fees although I cancelled within a week as per their rules. I am supposed to get a full refund. Now, I am forced to use the app because they dont respond to my emails., I have been writing to them in the hope of getting some justice. I am a student and I feel utterly frustrated and disgusted with them. I want to know how to proceed against them legally.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I agree with everyone else. I have been using grammarly for almost 2 years and I never had a problem with viruses or anything. It is a good product and well worth the investment.

By Rose B. on 1/5/16
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Grammarly is a scam.

By Steph J. on 7/22/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Steph J., I think it is free, but now I'll have to check to be sure of that.

By Warren J. on 8/22/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is just something mega unusual about the profound resistance of this company against communicating. They will not communicate with the public by phone. If you use their listed number, it is a dead-end answering machine that directs the caller back to their web site. Their product is far from perfect but still is useful and will likely get better. My issues are less about their product than with their impenetrable communication. While I can see that they may not want to offer phone support for such a complex program, the fact that they will not speak to customers about billing issues communicates sociopathic tendencies. Whomever is running the company tries to act like computers more than behaving like people.

By Ed N. on 10/30/12
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Customer service is nonexistent at Grammarly. Their competitor, however, is cheaper and offers live chat. www.whitesmoke.com

By Timothy M. on 5/11/17
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Danielle, Thank you for your question. The cost of a Grammarly subscription goes toward helping us constantly maintain and improve the Grammarly Editor. However, if you sign up for an annual subscription, you can save a bit. (See subscription plans here: https://www.grammarly.com/pricing.) Additionally, you can use the Grammarly Chrome extension for free (http://bit.ly/grammarlychrome). Thanks again, Danielle! Kindly, Ann E. Social Media and Community Analyst Grammarly ann.edwards@grammarly.com

By Celeste M. [Grammarly Rep] on 4/30/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No. They will tell you for free how many potential errors they detected, you have to sign up for monthly billing to find out what the errors are.

By Timothy M. on 7/18/17
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No. Grammarly works only in web browers. Your apps are not supported. You'll also lose all character formatting with copy/paste to/from the web browser.

By Steph J. on 5/17/17
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can go to school.

By Karina P. on 2/27/17
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

if your problem is small grammar mistakes it's likely that Grammarly can help your grades. It helped me keep my grades up throughout high school.

By Katie S. on 11/21/16
Questions? Get answers from the Grammarly staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Grammarly?
Post Review