SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of DeviantArt

DeviantArt reviews

Is this your business?
58 reviews
67%
Categories: Art, Literature, Photography
7095 Hollywood Blvd #788
West Hollywood, California, USA
Tel: +1.3236456000
media@deviantart.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

58 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
4
Value
3
Shipping
2
Returns
1
Quality
2

All Reviews

saraj50
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/1/16

Do NOT order art from this website!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I ordered a canvas art piece, which would have been delivered to within 10 days but they put the wrong address. Although the address was the same as billing, which is the button I selected "Same as Billing" the payment went through just fine, but my art didn't. I was patient about it and waited like 3 weeks for it to be sent back to them and for them to contact me, or resend it but there was no activity period. They just didn't do anything after that. So I started filling out tickets which is apparently the only was to contact them, but never got a response. By this time, it had been over a month of no activity. My problem wasn't the wait time, I order stuff from China all the time and wait a month. My problem was that they just didn't do anything at all when the art wasn't delivered. Didn't email me, didn't call, didn't send me a message on their website, NOTHING. So I contacted the artist which was the only contact information I could find, but the artist isn't in charge of that. So finally I had to go through the Better Business Bureau to which I finally got a response that they had tried to get the shipping address multiple times. $#*!ing LIERS!!!! Had they contacted me, I wouldn't have had to do all that extra!!!! What is the point of having a "Same as Billing" button if you don't use it?????? They billed my card just fine, why couldn't they send me the art through the SAME ADDRESS. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! WILL NEVER ORDER AGAIN. The artist was great though... Hopefully she finds a better way to share her art.

Tip for consumers: DON'T ORDER FROM THEM!!! YOU'LL NEVER GET IT AND YOU WON'T GET ANY CUSTOMER SERVICE PERIOD.

Service
Shipping
Ask Sara about DeviantArt
Advertisement
sarahn52
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/6/16

I have had different accounts on DeviantArt.The first few years were fine until it started degrading into fetish drawings,Sonic recolours and MLP rip offs. Admins do not do their jobs in practicing quality control. I have had to report several pieces due to sexual nudity that should have seen set to private. The forums are filled with nothing but whiny teenagers. I closed my last account permanently after trying to spark a revolution for the true artists,which basically led to being told to stay off the Internet.

There are also art thieves galore.

Tip for consumers: If you're an artist,don't.
If you're a parent,don't.

Ask Sarah about DeviantArt
snowf1
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/13/16

I found the site through friends 4-5 years ago and it was great. Until last year when they started to dramatically change things. The staff has gotten either lazier, stupider or maybe they do the same thing on their hidden accounts (who knows really) But harassment, trolls, theft and all the other bull crap on there has escalated and you can report all you want but they just tell you to block when about 2 years ago they would take action on these things. I have been harassed for over a YEAR, on and off and even on another site. They never done anything but two years ago they did something about a user going around my blocks and bans just to try and harass me.

Service
Ask Snow about DeviantArt
veronicas39
38 reviews
67 helpful votes
12/30/15

I've been on and browsing dA since around 2006. It's not the same site.
Unless you do fanart or fetish art you'll get buried. There's not quality control, so you can open MS Paint, draw a smiley and potentially get more exposure than someone who actually worked on their art.
There's still some great artists, but it's too easy to get lost in utter $#*!e.

Suffers from a lot immature drama, people who don't want any artistic critism, and tons of lolcows and white knighting.

Tip for consumers: Find a better site.

Ask veronica about DeviantArt
andyd28
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/21/15

I made an account with deviantart a month ago and to this day it refuses to let me in. Ive tried this on other computers, on different search engines, and the website will never let me log in OR create a new account. Other people i've talked to have had the same problem and apparently the "help desk" has no idea what to do either. Sticking to Tumblr and other websites for people to see my art. It would be horrible if i had a lot of art posted to deviantart BEFORE this all happened just to lose it all. thank god.

Ask andy about DeviantArt
vaughns18
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/19/15

This site harbors cyberbullies that go after artists with no good reason but to troll and just to shut the artist up to submission (Shutting down their account). Most of the artists I've met in the past created either Anthropomorphic Caricatures and my little pony. I was one of those that were bullied. The way they shut me up was threatening me with hacking of my accounts (inside and out of Deviantart), accusing me of being a pedophile for creating My Little Pony 3D art, and threatened me to have me arrested and registered as a sex offender. This is not excusable. I was being abused by cyberbullies and the Moderators and Administrators of Deviantart turned the other way and did nothing. AVOID JOINING THIS WEBSITE!

Tip for consumers: If you really want to join this website, join at your own risk. Avoid the trolls and cyberbullies as best as you can, but if you are being abused both overtly and/or unjustified, report it and keep reporting it until Administrators and Moderators take note on who the real criminals are. And if they don't listen, then you have found the real criminals.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Vaughn about DeviantArt
gans1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/28/15

Great place to meet new people and find awesome artists

Ask Gan about DeviantArt
caseyf3
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/16/15

I'm user for a year, and DeviantArt is fun, but there are some things I got for you:

1: Beware of 'PornLinks', By that I mean, I met about 4 accounts who had month from creating and were created by people from Pakistan and were used to put links to porn sites in comments on other accounts..

2: ShareZone: You can go 'Jail' for unknown reason, and some people can be a bit rude.

3: Art that you prefer to not see.. I mean when I've been on really good My Little Pony art, In 'More From DeviantArt" I saw Fat shaking asses.. without age restriction.. I'm 16, and I don't want to see that, and that Pony art didn't had any relatives with it.. There's ART, Not PORN...

4: I met Trolls.. Like always..

5 To don't get misunderstood, Think twice before you comment..

Tip for consumers: To don't get misunderstood, Think twice before you comment..

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Casey about DeviantArt
robins60
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/19/15

alert On 2/18/2015 10:08 PM, a transaction in the amount of $4.95 was approved at: WWW.DEVIANTART.COM, CA

Ask Robin about DeviantArt
lyricjams
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/8/15

I give it 5 stars because the site actually achieve its purpose. Which is to create a sense of community for artists and viewers. Some people might judge it badly because of the content other users upload, but as any site with social interactions you need to be prepared for any sort of material or commentary (it's not the site's fault), in my case I only focus on what I like (professional fan art from my favourite fandoms and good designs) instead of bashing on the awful submissions, (like kid's drawings on paint, weird fetishes, extremely mature content, etc.). The site even attracts extremely talented people which build contemporary content for our tv shows and videogames. And some contests running in the site involve pretty big companies searching for talent for designing their content.
I also like reviewing my favourite images every time I can, either to admire others work or to learn from it.
I'm telling you this from my experience form the last 5 years, and the sense of excitement for watching other's reaction to my content never gets old, specailly from the art groups I belong.

Tip for consumers: If you want to view proffesional art about your fandom or what you love, this is the right place, just search for the most recognized groups on the topic (They usually compile the best content in one place).

Ask lyricjam about DeviantArt
laurenb21
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/18/14

I wouldn't recommend this site for some viewers or to those who love to write, do photography, or any art hobby. My parents have a concern for those who are on that site like there could be sexual predators or pedophiles that could be posing as a girl, or guy. It depends. You have to be careful on this site I had trouble with cyber bullies. and it can be difficult referring to some safety concerns.

Ask Lauren about DeviantArt
marissav2
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
12/17/14

You have to pick through the dung pile to find the diamond ring with this site. Art is subjective and all but sometimes it goes without saying that some people just don't have talent. Most of the people on here are younger than 13 (and say they're older) and offended or put off by anything that isn't completely positive about their work. Anyone older than that is usually an elitist, cyber bully, or fan girl who draws bubbly looking anime guys making out.

Its rare that you'll find something you'll enjoy since now you have to pay for pretty much anything useful pertaining to the search engine on the site. Prepare to be harassed by children and ADULTS begging you to write or draw you something for FREE because a couple bucks is too much for your hard efforts. Also, expect for people to steal your art.

There are some good people on this site and excellent art, you just need a ton of patience.

Value
Ask Marissa about DeviantArt
laurenb19
8 reviews
18 helpful votes
11/20/14

I had trouble with cyberbullies on this site, you see it is worse then facebook. If I were you it is a bit of concern to my parents that people on there are sick and twisted even if there is great art. You see you never know if there are petifiles on there. And people make up rumors, and other nasty things becareful and chose your friends wisely or only friend those you know.

Ask Clover about DeviantArt
rebeccac2
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/11/14

I'm now going on four years as a proud deviant. I've earned a lot of friends here, and for the most part, people are nice. A lot of amazing art on here, and many many people with potential that I just love encouraging. <3

The deviantART staff are very busy, so be patient when submitting a question. I have seen them handle many "trolls" effectively. If some kid decides it'll be cool to steal art, everyone is on your side and they get banned almost immediately. In all honesty, these trolls are freaking hilarious, but if you have better things to do, just ignore them.

People will kindly give you critiques. On occassion you'll find an a--hole who has to argue with everybody; just ignore them and know you're the better person. You'll find trolls everywhere, not just dA.

I love the community and there are so many ways to ge discovered!

Ask Rebecca about DeviantArt
kellyd26
7 reviews
11 helpful votes
5/21/14

I love this site. So many talented people with awesome ideas. Every time I visit their site I see so many new things and learn so much and have met some really cool new friends who share similar interests. .

Ask Kelly about DeviantArt
mckennap
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/31/14

I just hate it.
The people on there are rude.
Please, if you go on it be careful.
I don't want anyone feeling worthless.

Ask McKenna about DeviantArt
courtneyc19
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
3/20/14

I have been a member of Deviantart for over 8 years.
The site itself is great, no complaints. Layout makes submitting, viewing, searching, ect easy and enjoyable.
The only problem I have on this site is with the younger/immature users. If you become a pretty popular artist, You will run into harassment and "trolls" whom will attempt to insult and discourage you.
Just ignore them, block and report. Deviantart staff have always been fast and reliable for solving my problems with such users, suspending and freezing their accounts fairly quick.
You may also have problems with art thieves. But, Deviantart protects all your work and is also fairly quick to remove it from the thieves account and banning them from the site.
They also help prevent theft of your work posted on other sites.

Ask Courtney about DeviantArt
theawesomey
7 reviews
8 helpful votes
2/24/14

I love going to deviant art to look at the great work that various artists have created. Anything you can think of can be found there. It is free to use and user friendly. I would highly recommend it.

Ask TheAwesome about DeviantArt
bertrandh11
5 reviews
27 helpful votes
1/31/14

This is a photo sharing site that used to be good, but is getting a bit out of hand. At first, it was a good site for photographers to have their photos critiqued. But lately, it has been overloaded with lots of semi-porno type images, which seem to be the most popular. That's not so bad, but it seems a lot of those 'adult photos' have links to websites that are more x-rated related than photo related.

Ask Bertrand about DeviantArt
audreyg4
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
1/4/14

DeviantArt is possibly my favourite website ^^ It's full of absolutely wonderful and talented people, and everyone shares wonderful works of art, literature or games ^^ You can also do RP with people, create a club of your interest, buy ACTUAL stuff with either money or points, there are sales with holidays or in general, etc. DeviantArt is, personally for me, one of the most used websites for me ^^

Ask Audrey about DeviantArt
chancep3
6 reviews
15 helpful votes
11/2/13

Here's the thing about DA... it's extremely complicated to categorize, just like art itself. DA basically boils down to, "What is art?" DA is like the single source on the entire planet where that question is fought (besides the whole video game art situation.)

So when you go to DA, plan on trying to realize that art is extremely subjective and just because you don't like what you see, or are offended... that's too bad. Art is art and it boils down to intention.

So are you going to see great art? Yeah. Will you see a lot of adult content? Yeah. Will you see everything in between? Yep. Does the adult content filter work? Most of the time. Can you get the moderators to take care of business when there are seriously violent / criminal acts being posted? Yes but they're a tad on the slow side due to staffing. They seem to get to it about as fast as Twitter does.

DA is only ever going to be as mature as the people that visit. As long as a mature audience is there holding the line, DA is going to be the beacon for art on the internet but if we get frustrated and leave we're going to lose it and never get it back again.

Please come to DA, help keep it clean and in perspective where your knowledge is strongest, otherwise try not to be offended just because you don't like something. And if you see something violent, do the right thing and report it.

Ask Chance about DeviantArt
paulc77
81 reviews
57 helpful votes
10/29/13

Worst art site ever. It used to be the best, but when I reordered Core Membership after it expired, I never got the features again. It costs $50 for one year of Core. Mom got charged for buying this, so after two weeks, I contacted them to see why I don't have the features, but received no response. Their phone support sucks, too. They don't answer. You have to leave a message. Then they're supposed to call you back. They DID NOT call back at all. And so I checked the site more to see if I had forums to ask for this help instead, but there aren't any. And I also asked my friends on the site about the problem, but they had no idea why I didn't get the features. So overall, a very bad site that I would NOT recommend anymore. That's about it.

Ask Paul about DeviantArt
leee13
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/15/13

Purely an amazing site. Better than linkedin for finding graphic talent. The collaboration is second to none.

Ask Lee about DeviantArt
shawnw13
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/11/13

The Artist and Artist Community are great the company is terrible I have had nothing but issue and problems trying to buy anything from them and now the store is closing? I sure understand why! but I have a outstanding order over seven weeks old every time I ask about it they say well just wait another week and then they close my service request and won't respond back or reopen it that has now happened three weeks in a row.

Ask Shawn about DeviantArt
stephs4
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/3/13

The art is great, but beware the website. In downloading a 'free' image, it also loaded several other programs and junk to my computer, changed my browser, my homepage and corrupted Chrome. And that was after I unchecked everybox that asked if I wanted any extra crap with my photo. It took me a solid 24 hours of screwing with the computer to restore everything. I guess you get what you pay for.

Ask Steph about DeviantArt

Questions & Answers

LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the DeviantArt staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
DeviantArt?
Post Review