Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of TeslaMotors

TeslaMotors reviews

Is this your business?
23 reviews
94304
Tel: +1-650-681-5101
2017 Customer choice award

23 Reviews From Our Community

3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

mortyg
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/4/18

Elon is truly a tech genius and a great entrepreneur while also changing the world for the better. The Tesla cars look and feel amazing and I am very excited to see what else is in store from Elon

scottw144
4 reviews
22 helpful votes
4/16/18

This is the car for you. Chances are that's exactly what's going to happen when you activate the auto pilot and fall asleep, thinking you'll make it there. Might as well go out drinking too while you're at it.

sathishk17
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/9/17

Tesla did an amazing job with their cars. I got the chance to ride one during my recent visit to Sydney, Australia. Waiting for them to launch their cars in India and a sport model too.

kristam26
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/7/17

I`m not in condition to buy one of these cars as I`m only a student but I`ve recently driven one of those and it feels magnificent! The time they make the batteries longer-lasting will be the time such cars really become worth the money!

salmank12
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
9/6/17

I bought one Tesla model S i am very safisfied customer thanks Tesla i hope you continue your improvements in this field

markg232
3 reviews
19 helpful votes
7/14/17

I have never seen a more technologically advanced machine. Worth every money, you wont regret it - the technology is amazing.

dang166
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
6/30/17

Tesla is the machine of the future. Although the price is a little bit biting, but it's worth it. And that's just the beginning. Only machines it does not stop.

michaelh359
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/12/17

Futuristic eco-friendly cars of tomorrow available today. Tesla is like Apple of the car industry. Their cars are already legendary. Expensive but every penny is worth it.

andriyb2
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/20/17

Purchased my second Tesla, this time the Model X and couldn't be any happier. Amazing vehicle at a competitive price.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
tomask41
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/10/17

First of all, TeslaMotors is making one of the best cars which help to save our environment. Cars are really fast, fashionable and are not very expensive.They are looking for more places to do their next Giga factory.

juef
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/27/17

Tesla definitely managed to create a fun and practical vehicle. Despite of the pricing which is too great so far - my test was pure fun and delight from driving. Will get one as soon as I can afford it!

dannyj23
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/3/17

Tesla is technologically innovative. That makes their innovations to the front. Autopilot has bugs but is great. I would totally recommend this to everyone

ethanc24
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/10/17

As I said in title - this is not quite a review, though I tried tesla S and it was a fun experience! The idea of denying fuel usage is good, just the e-cars should get a bit more cheaper and maybe change the power source from those battery packs to something new.

astolfom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/17/17

Went to test drive Model S after putting a reservation for Model 3. The associates were very helpful and explained everything we needed to know about the vehicles. They answer every question and allowed us to enjoy the most amazing vehicle I have ever driven. Thanks.

harryj32
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/20/16

This car manufacturing company is one of my best car company. I love there models. They are extremely genius. Tesla Motors will make a bright future of Car Arena. Good Work. keep it up

emekao
7 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/8/16

"The founders have their hands in the future of automobiles. It sure will be a nice acquisition".

leeh60
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/28/15

My buddy recently got into an accident, wrecked the front of his Tesla and you know what they told him at the service? "Repair it and then we'll take a look" so he had to find an offbrand repair company. Luckily most parts used in this bucket are from Mercedes, so he was able to restore it.

waltern4
6 reviews
26 helpful votes
2/27/15

Doesn't really get much better than this.

dana330
4 reviews
7 helpful votes
12/4/13

Dealing with them has been great. I recommend this place highly. They are always pleasant and positive when dealing with them. They are a great place to buy from.

chriso1
656 reviews
3,071 helpful votes
10/10/09

Living in Silicon Valley as I do, I've seen these cars for real. Even though last year's software engineers are now sweeping the streets, it's not that uncommon to see a hundred grand's worth of car sweeping by. Such is the nature of the dot com business and it's what makes the Valley what it is - the place to raise eight million bucks for a softcore porn site or a few hundred thousand for a web 2.0 startup with a bit tacked on for the company car. And this is not your father's company car, not by a long way. It goes like the proverbial bat out of hell and it runs on a thousand lithium batteries - that's one hell of an Energizer bunny right there.

From the front or the back it's every inch a sports roadster, though if you view both simultaneously it's a collision between a Lotus and a Ferrari. Which is not in itself a bad thing, it could have been the front of an FJ Cruiser and the rear of, well, an FJ Cruiser. But it's not, it's a sleek running shoe of a car and it's electric, and the darn thing does 0-60 faster than a motorbike. That's under four seconds, and the site tells us:

"The first time you drive the Tesla Roadster, prepare to be surprised. You're at freeway speed in seconds without even thinking about it."

Clearly, you have to be very, very careful driving this one out of the showroom.

As for the website, it's slick and black and it presents the vehicle competently. Though for a $100k car, it could do a lot better. Using YouTube to host your video clip is workable but not very polished, and I'd really hoped for one of those galleries where the big picture changes when you mouse over the little thumbnails. Ebay has that, you know. And there ought to have been one of those applets where you can get a 360 degree view if you waggle your mouse around.

Ah well, nobody's perfect. And there is a great deal of data on the site, and to be honest it's well presented and a good, educational read. The experience is much like leafing through a glossy brochure in the showroom, while the salesman goes off to make you an instant coffee and mentally calculate his commission.

The most memorable features of the product are that, as mentioned, the acceleration is phenomenal by gas-powered car standards; it will run up to 250 miles on a single charge from any wall socket, and it costs just 2 cents a mile in electricity. Plus, if you can resist the temptation to drive it every day and want to give it a rest for a while, you can put it into "storage mode" and leave it plugged in for as long as you like. Which makes it the only expensive toy that you don't have to take the battery out of if you aren't planning on using it for a while.

If the car can achieve sustained profitability it will be a landmark; it's not the first electric car to be seen on Californian roads, but it may be the first to claim acceptance from a previously cautious market. The Tesla is the hare to Toyota's tortoise, sorry, Prius, which is claimed to be only half as efficient as well as half as sexy. Or less. A lot less. Sadly, only the top dogs among us can run with this electric hare, but I wonder, would it still be so sexy for ten thousand as it is for a hundred? Perhaps exclusivity will be the key to its survival.

lisal
14 reviews
42 helpful votes
10/3/09

My spoiled college buddy just bought one of these cars and I couldn't believe how amazing it was inside. 2X more efficient than a prius and it looks HOT!!! Great news that companies are finally going green like this. Too bad it costs so much money to be green and sexy.

robertn2
4 reviews
20 helpful votes
9/18/09

I'm really happy about the fact that more and more companies are offering cars running on alternative power sources and this site looks great and contains a lot of useful information.

tobyk
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/23/09

It's great!

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the TeslaMotors staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
TeslaMotors?
Post Review