We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Squirrel

Corporate Values

Overview

Squirrel has a consumer rating of 4.7 stars from 1,298 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Squirrel also ranks 55th among Mortgages sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 97.9%
Positive
1,270
Neutral
22
Negative
5
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I have received outstanding service from my Squirrel mortgage broker from the very first contact.
  • They made the whole process so easy and provided great assistance and information for first home buyers.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate Squirrel?
Top Positive Review

“We were recommended Squirrel by a family member and...”

Paul A.
2/9/20

We were recommended Squirrel by a family member and they were fantastic. They made the whole process so easy and provided great assistance and information for first home buyers. I always recommend them to others when people ask how we went about the home buying process. Our broker was lovely and friendly and we greatly appreciated the follow up phone calls when our mortgage rates were up for review.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Although she was a lovely person the service wasn't...”

Lily F.
2/3/19

Although she was a lovely person the service wasn't great. For example, she told us we could not get money we needed to finalise the contract from the bank which would have meant that we could not buy the house. When my lawyer got in contact with the bank, we realised that she'd only sent an email to the bank and didn't explain the situation which is why they automatically denied us. After my lawyer got in touch, we were able to get the money. Another example was when the contract was finalised, I later realised that she didn't explain the repayments process at all as the ASB customer Service worker explained things very simply and clearly to me. Additionally she'd confirmed to me that our repayments would be a specific value but when I noticed that the actual amount coming out of my account was different she said she would follow this up but then I never heard back. I think she was nice to speak to however I wouldn't use her again or recommend her to a friend.

See critical reviews

Reviews (1,298)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

mortgage broker (19) home buyers (6) mortgage advisor (5) great service (7) great communication (5) tyler dellow (3) estate agent (4) loan approval (3) great experience (8) mortgage process (3)
paula778
Paul A.
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 9th, 2020
Verified purchase
We were recommended Squirrel by a family member and they were fantastic. They made the whole process so easy and provided great assistance and information for first home buyers. I always recommend them to others when people ask how we went about the home buying process. Our broker was lovely and friendly and we greatly appreciated the follow up phone calls when our mortgage rates were up for review.
stephaniey15
Stephanie Y.
10 reviews
1 helpful vote
January 2nd, 2020
Verified purchase
Not a bad experience. i never really understood the process until i went through other brokers as it was my first time.
anthonyr93
Anthony R.
12 reviews
0 helpful votes
February 1st, 2020
Verified purchase
Gentleman I worked with was great , communication and friendliness were second to none. There was a little issue with Kiwi bank and he was more than willing to rectify the issue to make it easier for us.
doreeng25
Doreen G.
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 11th, 2020
Verified purchase
we never used a broker before but htey made it so easy. Helped with all the challengers, Gave the best advice.
colleenn13
Colleen N.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
April 1st, 2020
Verified purchase
It was the first time I've used a broker and it was just so easy. I'm a corporate banker, and leaving it to Paul is one of the best thing I've ever done. I was moving cities, and he just made it so easy, he arranged valuations, he even at one stage, talked to the agents - he just done everything! He was amazing!
karam59
Kara M.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 24th, 2020
Verified purchase
Very Professional - always willing to go above and beyond to help with what was a difficult situation.
jayi12
Jay I.
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 3rd, 2020
Verified purchase
It was initially scary as we didn't know what to do but squirrel adviser helped me get what i was entitled to and im really thankful for that.
michellen106
Michelle N.
11 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 17th, 2020
Verified purchase
Lindsey was recommended to us by my brother and he was excellent. Very knowledgeable and efficient and easy going to deal with. We will be back to see him later this year.
lilial4
Lilia L.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 23rd, 2020
Verified purchase
Was happy with the process, it was easy process. I was not happy about the rate as I thought it was to be signed off, it was not clearly advised.
timothyq5
Timothy Q.
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 26th, 2020
Verified purchase
I never give a 5/5 rating on anything, but I have to give a 5/5 rating. Extremely happy! Paul is very knowledgeable.
annas292
Anna S.
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 14th, 2019
Verified purchase
Our first experience was excellent in the lead-up, with great communication and support, but ended feeling very rushed, with us deciding on loans we didn't fully understand. The most recent experience we had involved great advice from a very skilled broker, Shaun, but became messy and time-consuming, mostly due to some bad timing, which seemed to cause a breakdown in communication between Squirrel and ANZ. We're very happy with the end result, but could have done without the added stress it took to get there.
divyak17
Divya K.
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 7th, 2019
Verified purchase
We had a smooth and pleasant experience with our mortgage adviser. Would definitely recommend their services to friends and family.
aidang21
Aidan G.
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 23rd, 2020
Verified purchase
It was really good. our advisor was really good and explained all of it really well for us to understand.
jasonb419
Jason B.
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 28th, 2017
Verified purchase
Overall it was pretty good, I did sometimes feel that we were being pushed towards one provider over another, but I guess that comes back to the adviser knowing without having to talk to the banks which ones are more suited. Just from a customer point of view though it'd be good to have all the info so you could be sure yourself that the one you're going with is the right one - and just to know why none of the other ones. Overall though what we ended up with was fantastic.
edgarm73
Edgar M.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 26th, 2020
Verified purchase
Marilze was really good, genuine and empathetic. She got us the best deal that was out there on the market for us!
thomasc236
Thomas C.
16 reviews
1 helpful vote
July 23rd, 2020
Verified purchase
Lindsay was really responsive. We had never bought property in New Zealand and explained the terms and processes in a way that we understand.
monalizae
Monaliza E.
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 11th, 2020
Verified purchase
broker gave us good advice , was so professional and to the point. SO helpful and so responsive. Wouldn't own a house without our broker.
chloeu3
Chloe U.
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 12th, 2020
Verified purchase
Local knowledge that John had was great, he knew area and real estate agents well and the advice he provided was personalised and in depth
melissaa114
Melissa A.
12 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 23rd, 2020
Verified purchase
It was really good. The contact was really quick and the lady that i worked with explained everything for me as it was my first time.
guye12
Guy E.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 3rd, 2020
Verified purchase
I don't remember the name of the broker but i thought she was fantastic. This Woman went above and beyond. She suggested things that made her life harder but made ours alot better.!!
seani8
Sean I.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 23rd, 2020
Verified purchase
It was really good. Dealing with Ash was really good and took a lot of weight off our shoulders and was done quickly.
margaretk79
Margaret K.
8 reviews
0 helpful votes
January 31st, 2020
Verified purchase
I haven't had much interaction with squirrel but from what i have had , it has been really good and also informative.
rachelm208
Rachel M.
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 1st, 2016
Verified purchase
I felt like I had to tell my broker to do everything rather than him taking initiative and doing it himself. I only got the final rate I settled on because I made him go back to the bank. A broker should make the experience easier but I think I would have had an easier time just going straight to the bank.
nataliek56
Natalie K.
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
December 26th, 2019
Verified purchase
For first time buyers we felt totally in good hands , everything was easy and once we supplied information the process just flowed. Paul was incredible , he kept us informed and kept checking in. We were offered so much advice when buying.
devesha
Devesh A.
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 20th, 2019
Verified purchase
The communication between my husband squirrel has been amazing. Amazing experience. We call and ask questions and always get follow up calls to check in on us. Our mortgage broker has been amazing.

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Squirrel staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Squirrel?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Squirrel?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business