Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of SeekingAlpha

SeekingAlpha reviews

Is this your business?
76 reviews
15203
Tel: 4465867634

76 Reviews From Our Community

Service
6
Value
6
Shipping
3
Returns
4
Quality
5

All Reviews

thomasw436
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/18/19

Good articles, wide range of interesting and insightful people weighing in, with what I believe to be full disclosure as to their motivations.
I avoid using SA's 1 year history charts, as the time scale is way off, making it a headache to use.
Am I the first to turn this in?

rachell220
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/19/19

Useless information. plus if you disagree with an article they delete your comment. They published an article from a guy who hated gay people and used this to trash Enbridge..was some sort of religious values investor. The fact that they would give a platform to people like this is unreal.

johnd2254
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/16/19

The comments underneath stories reported in the news are absolutely horrific. The website is extremely toxic when interacting with other users. Everyone is always hurling an insult because someone doesn't have their same viewpoint rather than having a fact-based discussion to analyze a company or story in the news. There is supposed to be a code of conduct but the moderators of the site allow for the worst comments including racism and sexism.

bbt2
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/7/19

SA used to be much better but now the comments are highly censored and not posted in real time so unless your posts agree with the moderators reading it, they are simply deleted.

Pathetic at best and anything that isn't pro investing or positive is deleted most days.

Obama trashing is fine, but nothing negative about Trump period.

Even if you have proof that the economy or the middle class is losing ground, it simply will not be posted.

I found something better and you should too.

francoisef1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
1/6/19

When I first started subscribing this site used to be more substantial. Now it is mostly filled with rubbish by people who don't even have real names ie. Calafia Beach Pundit, Acting Man, Ironman at Political Calculations. Hard to take seriously anymore....

victori8
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
1/5/19

They are nothing but snakeoil salesman, they force you to register if you are trying to read their free articles and after you register you get spammed with incessant offers. They charge over $300 for their premium service which is rubbish i don't know how they are still in business

samk183
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/14/18

They seem to just publish whatever opinions writers have. Not based on facts or real data. Laughable...

nevinb1
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/7/18

Readers should be aware that articles are often printed for the purpose of sending the stock up or down. Negative reviews of a company are often designed to send the price down by short sellers who make money by scaring you into believing that the share price will tank shortly.

A good case is the negative reviews of BPT done in a barrage fashion in the last few years, with Seeking Alpha contributors (with short selling aims) warning that it was a 'dividend trap' and going to be dissolved, designed to die, in 2018 and such. Well, these articles did have an immediate effect in 2015, inciting investors to unload their investment and inviting many unsophisticated investors to get into short selling. Well, after a while people began ignoring the doom and gloom reviews and the trust surged with the price of oil. From a low of about $15 in 2015 it is now at $28. Like many energy companies BPT is a straight play on the price of oil. When oil goes up it goes up, it goes up

And therein lies the problem with these sites be it Seeking Alpha, Motley Crew et al. Unless the authors have no stake and are trained investors, you are likely to lose and lose badly following the analysis and recommnedations

rayj57
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/30/18

SeekingAlpha moderators do not allow opposing views in the comments section. I tried to post a factual, on-point response to a comment from "Jason Cawley, Contributor" on article https://seekingalpha.com/article/4225631-bonds-yields-continue-mystify
but my comment was not allowed to see the light of day. I'm cancelling my membership and unsubscribing from their mails ASAP. Censorship will not be tolerated.

sd301
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/26/18

I am in my third year of subscribing to The REIT Forum on SA. Given the name, as you would expect, dividends are big part of the focus. It has been surprisingly accurate. I am a long time market investor, but admittedly not an expert. This is not a get rich quick site, in fact, it is pretty much the opposite, steady and conservative, which is why I like it. As the name implies it is all REITs, mReits, with a special emphasis on preferred reits. The chat room is real-time and with savvy investor commentary. The author answers questions rapidly in the chat room. If you are looking for stock tips to get rich quick then you are a fool, Motley or otherwise.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
robertb29
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
11/15/18

I am a Seeking Alpha contributor. I wrote an article that they published as an "Editor's Pick." It took me months to research and write the article. They never paid me for it. I decided that I did not wish to make pennies an hour, so I never submitted another article. Their policy back then was to only pay when your account's payable reached $100 or more.

I recently received an email that if your account does not reach $100 within any given 12 month period, then they will claw back whatever amount they owe you. So, don't believe them when they say they will pay you. They won't. It is a scam.

iggie
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/7/18

Fake news with the aim to manipulate the market and trick small investors. Google please remove this site from your searches.

jf282
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/18/18

This site is garbage! Anyone can post an article and Alpha SELLS you this?
This has the most misleading articles available. It is a showcase of what you should IGNORE on the internet. I suspect it will be shuttered due to misrepresentation soon.

saic4
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/12/18

If you go to Seeking Alpha you will be bombarded with ads. What's more? They added a modal that asks you to register and that is impossible to block. If you do, the site becomes unusable and the developer purposefully made it extremely hard to get rid of the registration modal event along with the scrolljacking and other assorted tricks they use to make sure you never ever get rid of the registration modal unless you register. That wouldn't be an issue except if you do register, you get bombarded further with incredibly spammy emails, even if all you wanted was to read their articles in peace and give them clicks and ad revenue.

It's so underhanded and unethical in design that I worry whether the site is safe to use!

Seeking Alpha is infuriating and it doesn't help that they're often the first site that comes up when searching for news on business and the stock market. As far as I can tell they're run by a team of grey hat hucksters. Steer clear!

Tip for consumers: Don't

nigelv8
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/30/18

Articles for every point of view on a stock. Never fact based and often use misleading stats. The web would be better without it. <search> -seakingalpha works so much better.

matanm1
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/23/18

The site is biased and does not rely on facts. The items they publish are on a specific line of opinion and even as a stock behaves not according to their predictions, they will never post bullish when their opinion has been bearish.

talyr
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/2/18

After reading several reviews in here, I concluded to state my review. My experience with this website is that it creates hype on positions to get investors to buy and then the website (supposed analyst) change their perspective when the situation merits to their advantage. Not a objective source of information. Stay away. Sadly, Google engine prioritizes this POS.

roberths
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/17/18

Most authors not only have no knowledge of finance or the industries and stocks they cover, but also display exceptionally poor logic and writing skills.
In addition, the editors act as a deterrent to whatever quality content could slip into the site, since they heavily promote their 'friends and family'.
Wouldn't read Seeking Alpha for free, let alone pay for it.

barryt46
9 reviews
20 helpful votes
7/7/18

You are forced to sign up if you want to read the full article, then when you sign up they plague you with offers and their premium service is so pricey and yet so useless that it's unreal that there not 10X more bad reviews online

basitha
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/21/18

Most of the authors has their own agenda, working for some one else beside you.
If you do any decision on their research it could be disaster for your finance.

Tip for consumers: n/a

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
fredg101
11 reviews
26 helpful votes
5/29/18

Full of wannabe experts who focus more on hype marketing than real analysis. The articles are usually well written but the data and analysis are questionable

johnathanm24
7 reviews
45 helpful votes
5/24/18

Most of the authors are completely clueless the only talent they seem to have is to be bombastic when they put pen to paper. There used to several good writers that I used to follow back in 2011 and 2012 and they all left. I asked them why, the reason was simple, SA was forcing them to focus on garbage and did not let them use Technical analysis or give them room to express themselves in their unique way. What ticked me off was these authors were the few that were right consistently and yet SA found a way to drive them away.

Secondly when you comment you have to comment like a good little boy if you don't your comments are taken down.

And the biggest insult is the almost $200 a month charge for their premium service, which can only be labelled as "premium crap". I speak from experience i took the annual membership (as I knew there was a 30 day free cancellation period) and I cancelled in less than 9 days so that tells you how great this service is. It took 5 days to get my refund back.

Overall you can do a lot better by paying for subscriptions from other sites that are 5X cheaper and 10X better

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
randya62
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
5/14/18

There is no worse site on the web than Seeking Alpha. Their iOS mobile app is 1000 times worse than the desktop version. They make it virtually impossible to report bugs, as email and pw is required, then you're informed it's incorrect. NOT!

Many decent writers have abandoned the site for greener pastures and though there are still a few articles worth reading, the majority are from uninformed people who don't know much about investing.

The recent iOS update made the already terrible experience almost completely intolerable.

POS-that's all one need say about this.

vladb8
7 reviews
49 helpful votes
3/14/18

Most of the authors have an agenda, the site is completley biased against Technical Analysis, even though many of the authors have good track records. I remember following Sol Palha and Arvy, and suddeny Sol Palha stopped publishing. I asked him why, he responded that they would not publish any article unless he included fundamental analysi and kept the TA to a minimum. The ironic part is that this author proved himself over and over again through the articles he had published on other sites but they would not have it. So he Sol left and then Arvy also left.

Their premium service now that is a joke, who would pay $200 for such a service. I asked someone that used it for two months, they said got nothing out of it.

zionc2
3 reviews
13 helpful votes
3/6/18

back in the day I loved to follow their feed and even their articles... but since it has gone down hill. lots of people selling services, they sell their own, I guess everyone needs to make money. but for me it was at the cost of a quality site with good content. too bad

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Please explain what you mean by illegal research!

By Arne S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the SeekingAlpha staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for SeekingAlpha

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
SeekingAlpha?
Post Review