Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of ScreenRant

ScreenRant reviews

24 reviews
Ogden, UT 84404, US
Tel: +1-202-382-4357
news@screenrant.com

24 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
Service
3
Value
3
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
4

All Reviews

ryanp313
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/19
This website does not pay it's freelance writers, as a former worker they put money in your face on what you COULD earn, but they don't communicate how they will pay you. Even in the training course you had writers trying to reach out to management on WHERE THEIR PAY WAS. They will fire their writers for asking about how they will get paid as they leave it very vague and do not communicate a method with their freelancers.

They overload work on their writer forcing them to do all the work of a publisher, editor, and writer, essentially forcing low-quality articles. The "editors" do not edit that's all up to the writers.

The next time you read one of their articles, remember that they scammed the writers to do it for free.
nicolaih1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/5/19
It's not a coincidence the videos are 10+ minutes long. It's so they can throw more ads on them. But that results in videos that just draaaaaaaaaaag AND their conclusions aren't even accurate. Seriously, STAY AWAY. The only reason it doesn't have 0 stars is because of Ryan George's Pitch Meeting videos that are worth 5 stars. So when I decide to give SR 1 star, you can tell just HOW LOW the rest of the quality on this site it -,-
nathanw147
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/5/19
Inaccurate and click-baity. Screenrant are clearly more interested in $#*!ting out new articles and content quickly than they are about the quality and accuracy of it.
ryanc480
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/29/19
Even if you can get past their political agenda, they clearly aren't fans of the characters and movies they cover. My guess is they decide on a topic that'll get views, they do just enough research on the important characters to look like they knew about them before, and if they can't find enough material for their topic they'll ignore/twist/cherrypick the story until they find what they want.

Tip for consumers: Don't, go literally anywhere else.

Service
Value
Quality
nelup
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/15/19
I was expecting to find discussion and criticism about movies and tv series but it's actually just some people desperately pushing political agendas.
tome153
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/14/19
They are not professional whatsoever in rankings, they have clear favourites and clear dislikes, this makes them biased.

Following on from the last point, when they have an opinion, they will never let up, they will poison people's opinions. This makes them bigoted

Finally, they lie and paint completely inaccurate pictures of something they want to "smear". This makes them bull$#*!, they should be thankful I can't give negative ratings.
firstn13
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/30/19
Every title is clickbait, each review is hateful rather than critical so they can get more buzz. Each 'list' that they do can't even have any consistency. Case in point, their 20 things wrong with Black Widow list. Obviously people are thinking of the MCU character when they look for a list like this. But they had to stretch as far as one obscure COMIC story that no one even knew about to make the list. Sensationalism in every sense of the word.
alw124
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/3/19
Lobbies for industry products instead of truly and objectively critiquing them. Reviews and news particularly regarding Star Wars media promote it as if Screen Rant were a pitch to sell the product and writers ignore/dismiss very present and relevant issues regarding the franchise.
line6
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/15/19
si la película no muestra mensajes políticos de su preferencia, la critican negativamente. Además de tener favoritismo por casas de películas famosas
susant471
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/25/19
The articles and "reviews" are mean-spirited, dishonest, and unprofessional. It goes beyond opinion into actual hate and harassment. I used to read the articles and laugh at how stupid they were. One went too far. It was an undeserved attack on the show, characters, and actors. I will never read or visit the site again. I will also warn friends about it's polarizing content.
afifz
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/5/19
Too many rumor thats not true, and many articles are hate speech. This site also show disrespect to official and director film. Please, search other news site. This one is unreliable and full of fake
malcolmr37
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/5/19
I thought ScreenRant was fairly okay before, but at least as it exists today, it is of fairly dubious quality content at the very best. Many of its articles these days are nothing but: "It's wrong to think of this character or that character as anything but villainous" or "These moments in these movies are not acceptable today".

Dozens of users on sites such as Reddit have also highlighted the apparently low quality of ScreenRant articles nowadays, and how unconfirmed rumors and poorly sourced fan theories are often used to write articles to generate more views -- or which actors on some TV shows have a worse reputation than others (one article mentioned how "it has been said" by certain seemingly unnamed peoples that an actress "can be rude" at conventions). A bit ironic that so many writers at a site who constantly write about things being "offensive" do not seem to hesitate when viciously attacking, labeling or smearing other individuals quite regularly.

With all due respect, from my personal impression, some of their articles seem more like high school girls' high-strung social media rants rather than truly legitimate and valid criticism of any piece of art or entertainment. Please, for the sake of us all, do a little better, ScreenRant, and try to re-evaluate and improve your standards.
jond183
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/3/19
They hire just about anyone. Just saw a link on Google titles "write for us". Clicked on it and it's your name, phone number, and email with OPTIONAL boxes to state your merit and any ideas you'd have once hired. Every single topic, whether it be videogames, anime, MBTI, cars, celebrities -- you name it -- is completely off and very obviously not researched. If you want anything accurate, don't go to them. Sites such as The Gamer, EuroGamer, Polygon, Forbes, etc., are also highly inaccurate. ScreenRant seems to be the most inaccurate and the most consistently inaccurate.
alexanderc114
1 review
7 helpful votes
1/21/19
There are no sources or citations to back up any viewpoints made, their content is mainly unbacked opinion and open conjecture.
acirp
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/12/18
The formula is: Dc comics negative highlights generate clicks for the Marvel fans and for the DC fans...and the random ones.

Marvel Comics negative highlights generate clicks only from the MArvel fans and the random ones. No Dc fans.

So i will drop any generical negative angle for any DC productions and garantee my internet cash! That´s it.

it´s just a fanboy Marvel site to proliferate any fake news and speculation only for the clickbait sake. If no conflits comes around, if the nerdsphere is in peace with complete satisfaction for all the productions that come with us...this site will genereta enough negative buzz for no marvel studios productions just for the sake to generete conflit...stay relevant....and more clicks.
nicholasp85
1 review
9 helpful votes
8/17/18
Every last article and video they make is $#*!. It's an insult to film and fans of film. They clearly are just click baiting $#*! and SJW pandering asses who literally do stuff like this solely made to make money and $#*! and insult people, this and Channel awful are the most evilest websites known to man.
carmineb20
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/10/18
Imagine an entire website that lives on Clickbait. Desperately attempting to gain views by publishing identical articles that say the same thing, put on three different titles and there are three hit pieces. This news outlet puts CNN and FOX to shame.
christopheri4
1 review
15 helpful votes
4/24/18
I used to work for Screen Rant, so I have first hand experience witnessing their decline. From the standpoint of the reader, the site actually has solid news coverage, attracting exclusive interviews with big name celebs like The Rock. What ruins Screen Rant is that their news coverage isn't popular enough to sustain them, so in the last few years they turned to doing listicles to boost the clicks they get. And to their credit, the plan was successful. But the problem is, the listicles have now become the focus of the site, and the news has taken a backseat.

As someone who wrote for them, I can tell you that the editors don't care what the readers think. They advised us writers on numerous occasions to just not read the comments so we wouldn't have to see negative feedback. If you criticize them, the editors dismiss you as a baseless hater.

Screen Rant has continued to struggle even with their listicles, so they've slowly ramped up the workload for the writers, and delved into sleazier topics to get attention. It's not uncommon to now see articles about sexualized superheroes, celebrity drug scandals, and other tabloid quality writing. It doesn't even pay well anymore since they have repeatedly slashed the pay for writers. At this point, I'm glad I'm gone from there because the whole vibe behind the scenes is that Screen Rant is a sinking ship.

There are so many better news sites out there, so support them instead. Don't give your attention to Screen Rant now that they have devolved into shameless clickbait. They are unprofessional and not worth your time.
Value
Quality
contemptm
1 review
8 helpful votes
10/1/17
I'll just cut to the chase, Andrew Dyce is a shill. I'm not sure how much money Sony/Disney/WB is throwing at this guy, but it's pretty obvious. These guys are hacks at best, slaughtering both the English language and journalistic integrity in one fell swoop. They now feature anti ad blocking that obscures the whole page (unless you know how to remove the new code, like I did.). Lastly, there so much quality cinema that they never even speak of. Out of 5 stars, they get -3.
ninab33
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/6/17
Bigotry and Hitler-like train? I'll pass and pass this info on to all my followers. Click-bait garbage too? Skipping this one for sure!
barryb63
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/1/17
This site used to be decent, now it's nothing more than "click bait" and "bigotry"...if anyone dares to post a comment opposing their special "hitler" like train of thinking than they delete their comments or in some cases just close the whole conversation down.....figure anything they post now is pure biased crap.
brookh2
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
4/20/17
Screen Rant was a great source of news and review for a long time. I think that when Vic sold the site that's when it became click-bait garbage. The writers somehow think throwaway sentences from impromptu interviews count as news, and they've been called out for making mountains out of molehills. Most recently I remember James Gunn criticized them for misrepresenting a quote of his about Guardians of the Galaxy 2, where the "journalist" in question wrote an article for a shocking headline but ultimately betraying the trust of the filmmaker, a filmmaker that screen rant's editors claim to enjoy.

Speaking of, even the lead editor of the last 7+ years recently left the company. Could it be that the new owners are more interested in clicks than quality? That'd be a shame, because it used to be the opposite. Now Screen Rant pumps out crap like opinion lists and quizzes. The occasional movie review slips through, but usually their reviews are out of touch. For example, when Iron Fist was released on Netflix, Screen Rant easily put out more than ten articles on why Iron Fist was so bad and no one liked it, even though their comments section was full of readers who claimed they DID in fact like Iron Fist. Sadly, the truth about Screen Rant lies in their comments section, as long are allowed to post. After calling out perhaps one too many writers/editors for wrong facts or misrepresentation, my comments are automatically marked as spam. There's no spam, I'm not pasting links or soliciting business. I'm merely sharing my opinion and knowledge. The old Screen Rant loved their fanbase interaction, but now it's some sort of totalitarian regime. So I say so long Screen Rant. Good luck with the clicks.

Tip for consumers: Don't read the articles. At most check their sources. You'll find much more reliable news that way.

Service
Quality
js186
1 review
8 helpful votes
1/7/16
I agree with Maverick O.'s review stating ScreenRant blatantly clickbaits its headlines, copy/pastes stories without an editor's eye, and censors comments it does not like. This morning I pointed out two clickbaiting headlines titles that were outright lies. SR deleted my (and others') posts, as well as a comment I left about how doing so was pretty shady. I'm now apparently banned from commenting because SR is incapable of receiving criticism. They lost a reader because of that.
Service
Value
Quality
mavericko
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/26/15
If you start to actually care for the site and want to go into leaving comments, beware! They will censor you if the users start to care about your comments. Their information is also nothing but copy-paste from other sties AND a ton of their article title's are clickbait.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Complete scam. They hire mass amounts of writers and do not pay the ones they let go, forcing them to do slave number of hours on articles. As a writer for the company, they will swing money in your face then you will not get paid.

By Ryan P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Not at all easy, customer service and management are horrible at communication and responding to emails.

By Ryan P.
Questions? Get answers from the ScreenRant staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
ScreenRant?
Post Review