Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RomanticGowns

RomanticGowns reviews

Is this your business?
9 reviews
2755 East Olive Road
Pensacola, FL 32514, US
Tel: 850-474-3778
romanticgowns@aol.com

9 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

saraf14
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/31/14

I found a dress I loved on this site before my wedding in 2011. Delivery was very quick (within a week!) and the dress was packaged very carefully. The quality was excellent. Unfortunately, it didn't quite fit my body type. I contacted the site and they said as long as I returned it within 3 days I was entitled to a full refund. They gave me a number to write directly on the box and I sent it through the post office with their fastest rush service. I waited a couple weeks but hadn't gotten the refund, so I contacted them again. They said that their account manager was very busy, but that my refund would be on the way soon. I told them I was worried that maybe the dress hadn't gotten back to them in time and they told me no, it got there just fine. A few more weeks went by, when I contacted them again there was no answer. I disputed the charge through my bank, who then contacted me saying they spoke to the company who claimed they never received the dress back. Since I hadn't kept a log of dates I called/who I talked to/the number on the return package, I was basically SOL. I never got my money back. Now I wished I just kept the dress and donated it :(

Tip for consumers: Perhaps they are more open to exchanges than refunds. Make sure the item you want is truly what you like, if in between sizes, go a size up and have it altered accordingly.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
ek9
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/2/13

I bought my wedding dress there, which is lovely, but I am not happy with one aspect of their service: refund! When I was looking at their site, I asked the sales rep, Kim, about alterations to the dress. Kim said they didn't offer alterations, so I said I would only THINK about buying the dress because I really needed alteration. However, when I continued to surf the site, I saw that they have a page saying they offer alterations, so I went back and asked Kim about the alteration page. Kim quickly said she was mistaken before and that they did offer alterations. With this happy news, I bought the hem alteration in addition to the dress. However, the day after I made my purchase, Kim e-mailed me to say the seamstress was leaving the company, so they do not offer alterations after all. She offered me a refund or a veil. I told her I already have the veil, so I asked for a refund, which she said would come in 14-16 days. After 16 days, I e-mailed, and Kim said it would take till the end of the month (i.e. 30 days) for the refund to go through because they had a new accounting system. At the end of the month, I did not get my refund. I e-mailed and e-mailed, but the company no longer responds to me. It is my belief that the company (or the company rep) purposely misled me into purchasing a service they do not offer (because that was what made me to decide to buy the dress) and then made me wait over 30 days for a refund that was never going to come (so that disputes through Paypal becomes extremely difficult). The rep was all nice and reassuring before the 30 days, but, right after that, the company completely ignores me. The company still has the alteration page up (Why would they if they no longer offer the service?), and they have not responded to my complaints through Paypal or the Better Business Bureau. If you go to the BBB website, you will see that the company has a rating of F:

http://www.bbb.org/dayton/business-reviews/bridal-shops/international-bridal-in-centerville-oh-7005975

So far, there are 46 complaints, 8 having to do with delivery and 38 having to do with their product/service. I think that company has no business ethics. You can make purchases easily, but heaven help you if there is an issue with what you've purchased.

sandrap9
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
2/23/13

I submitted an e mail as instructed to order the gown I had chosen. The response was quick and I was told that this company was local out of Pensacola, FL. I was told the dress I had selected was being discontinued but that there were two left in stock that could be altered to fit my measurements. We set an appointment at Two Times a Lady, the Pensacola store, with the alterations specialist for a fitting. I sent another e mail also requesting a specific jacket but received no response. I arrived at the appointed time and was told the alterations person had just left to take care of another customer who had a more pressing need. The owner then brought out a gown that was 4 sizes too large and could not possibly be altered to fit my size. The owner then started rummaging through the racks--overfilled with uncovered/unprotected gowns--trying to find something similar, then gave up and stopped to take care of another customer who walked in. I left and went to David's bridal where I found a lovely gown and received outstanding service.
The service from Romantic Gowns/Two Times a Lady was unprofessional and unsatisfactory in every respect.

alannaa
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/7/11

I ordered my gown from romanticgowns.com on March 12, 2011.At this time I specifically questioned them about shipping and when I would receive my gown. I was told I would receive my dress before the end of June. I asked if there was any way I could get it sooner than that as my wedding was July 23, 2011 and I wanted plenty of time to arrange for alterations if necessary. They informed me that I could pay rush shipping and receive my dress by the middle of June. I agreed and paid $120 shipping instead of $60.

At the beginning of June I called to confirm that I would be receiving my dress with in the next couple of weeks. They said that yes I would be receiving my dress by the middle of June.

On June 15 (a Wednesday), I called again and was told that I would be receiving my dress by the end of the next week and I could call back on Monday to confirm the dress had been shipped and get a tracking number.

When I called on the next Monday, June 20, I was told the dress should be arriving at their warehouse either Tuesday or Thursday and once it was received I would get it within 3 or 4 days.

I have called them every week since then and have heard the same thing.

Last week I was "guaranteed" that the dress would be arriving on their shipment form the manufacturer on Thursday, June 30, and that it would be shipped to me on Friday July 1 and that I should be receiving it either Tuesday or Wednesday, July 5 or 6th.

Yesterday I called them again, which is the day they told me I should receive my dress. And surprise surprise, I was told once again that I would be receiving my dress by the end of next week. This puts me receiving my dress on July 15 and my wedding is July 23.

Needless to say I was not happy. I asked what they expected me to do if I did not receive my dress in time and was told that they would refund my money if the dress did not arrive before the wedding date. I replied that this was all well and good but that I could hardly get married naked and would they be reimbursing me for the expenses I had paid out to plan the wedding. Their reply was that I would receive my dress before the 23rd. I said it does me no good if I receive the dress the day before my wedding if it needs altering.

I then hung up on them.

This company is a joke. I read many reviews about them before I decided to order my dress from them and all the reviews I found indicated that customers were very happy. What I realize now is that those customers were all ordering dresses that were in stock in the warehouse.

Since my dress was not in stock, it had to be ordered.

So I suggest that you be very careful if you are going to order an out of stock dress from these people and leave yourself more time than I did to get your dress.

I will be going dress shopping this week to see if I can find something off the rack in case my dress does not arrive before my wedding as promised.

winniew1
7 reviews
23 helpful votes
5/24/11

I'm in the UK and ordered a lovely wedding dress,it was shipped within a day and in the UK within the week, but I was not told about extra customs charges over and above the £88 mailing fee! I am on a tight budget they really should make overseas customers aware of this as I really couldn't afford this and would have had to look elseware.

bingb
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/28/11

Just realised u never did write a review once I had received my dress. It was stunning a d everyone was amazed by the price and the quality. I absolutely loved my dress and since had it prof cleaned and packed. It's now sat in my loft as I have a little girl who can c if they want it when they're older.

I've had numerous ppl asking me to sell it on and been offered the same price I paid not knowing how much I paid..hehehe

michelea1
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/23/11

This had to be the best online shopping i have ever done!
i just brought my wedding dress online and everyone was so helpful.
but best of all! if my dress does not fit or i decide i don't like it i can exchange it!
no one does that! <3

juliew2
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/11/11

I just received my wedding dress, veil and garment bag today. I to, like many others was a bit nervous about ordering my dress online especially from a company that I did not know anything about. After Googling them and reading other reviews I felt confident in ordering from them. I placed my order on Tuesday and received my dress on Friday! The dress is more than I expected! It is so beautiful! The veil I ordered is also very stunning. I have went to local bridal shops and the veil similuar to mine was $250. I only paid $100 and it is nicer than the one at the store. Also, Romantic Gowns surprized me by giving me a little wedding gift. They had included in my order at no extra charge a satin wrap and a bridal purse that had embrodered flowers and beaded strap. I HIGHLY recommend this company! I will tell everyone that I know about them!

indereir
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/26/10

I just ordered my wedding dress from them 3 weeks ago (02/11/2010), and i should have gotten it by today, talked to a rep yesterday 25/11/2010 (holiday Thanksgiving) and they had contract issues with USPS, tonight (10pm 26/11/2010) i was told that it will go out on Friday 26/11/2010)5pm EST (express) and should get here (Australia) by mid next week, i will re-review once i receive it in the mail...

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RomanticGowns staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
RomanticGowns?
Post Review