Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RentalCars.com

RentalCars.com reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
Sunlight House, Quay Street
Manchester, LONDON M3 3JZ, UK
Tel: 1465368706297
peterrooney@rentalcars.com

8 reviews with 4 stars

robertr708
7 reviews
13 helpful votes
1/4/19

The price quoted for a rental car means nothing unless it includes insurance and collision damage waver. I'm an American living in Thailand and have used them 5 times to rent cars with no problems.
The best part is that for USA rentals to foreigners (or Americans living abroad) is that they package up the car rental, liability insurance and collision damage waiver into one price that's far less than I could buy it at the counter. They use all the companies, but avoid Dollar and Thrifty. You'll be happier and wait about an hour less if you spend a little more and get Avis or Hertz.

rossh59
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/20/18

I booked a car with Rentalcars.com and was quoted and paid a charge of £66.49. However when I went to collect the vehicle from Budget I was told that the rental cost was £144.36 and I was going to be charged an additional £77.87. I then spent over 30 minutes trying to get through to their customer service to resolve the issue. When I eventually got through I was reassured that I would pay no more that the original contracted amount of £66.49 and that if Budget did charge me the additional amount that Rentalcars.com would refund it.

However today they have contacted me and basically told me to get stuffed and that they won't refund me anything as the charges relate to supplement..strange that this was never mentioned in any of the conversations I had at the time of collecting the car.

Clearly they are colluding with the car hire companies to shaft customers when they mess up.

Clearly seems to be some communication issues within the company. But I was fully refunded.

michaelf544
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
6/24/18

We have rented a panda in Prat, Barcelona last Thursday 21/6-18 & were rather apprehensive having read all the horror stories about rip-offs, insurance scams, endless waiting & extra charges...
We could just say no thanks to extra insurance & other options when Andrea proposed them. We got the car fast even where there several clients before us.
We reserved a deposit as we have a credit card & not just a debet.
Fiat was rather new & clean -there was a scratch in the front & missing anatena & this was noted in the protocol. Minor scratches were not noted as they should be over 5cm.
We returned the car clean & with full tank without any problem.
We got real value for our money...

michald3
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/17/17

Booked a car in Jersey City for 5 day. Price was very good. I asked question on their support about the booking and they reacted promptly and accurate. The actual rental company was Budget.
Overall I had no problem with rentalcars.

roberts623
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/24/17

So rented a car from RentalCars. Flight cancelled, the next delayed so picked up a day late. Talked to RentalCars via Skype and they were fantastic, no problems, cancelled first and then rebooked.
However when I picked up the car at Malaga, the people there didn't know what I was talking about, then found my booking but still charged me, not much but some, for 'administration', I also took their insurance deal. So all in all £164 for 9 days, £123 of that for insurance. Not bad but still not sure how this is supposed to work.

Tip for consumers: Ask a few questions about how it works and what you do at the other end. Also take a look at Money Saving Expert.com for car hire insurance while abroad.

Service
Value
Quality
jesperz2
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/4/17

I've used Rentalcars several times on various locations, and I've recieved great service, correct pricing and delivery each time.

Highly recommendable!

grahams27
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/14/17

At Miami Airport I was quoted $13 per day for my wife to be added as a driver by all rental companies. This is a scam. In Florida a Spouse is automatically covered under state law. I found out too late and Rentalcar didnt tell me. Who controls these firms?

yug2
9 reviews
12 helpful votes
10/23/15

300 Euros for 6 days in Bordeaux, fair and good.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Took their bait of "Free Cancellation" and made a reservation then found that the coverage they were including for Iceland was bare bones. Found that for the same cost other rental car companies in Iceland include CDW so cancelled my reservation to get an email back that my deposit had been 'forfeited'. So beware "Free cancellation" is a bait and forfeiture will be the switch if you cancel. If you don't cancel your cost for CDW could double your cost. Then you can also imagine the CDW that a sneaky and scammy outfit would provide you. To carry your own CDW for any car rental I recommend the coverage provided by Allianz. I found them under my AAA membership. Go to aaa.com then look under Travel > Travel & Trip Insurance. Currently the per day cost for 40K USD covergae is $9.

By A M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I totally agree and I also mentioned the same in my review but the 1 thing I always wonder that when you search for the rental cars, this company appeared with 4 star ratings. It seemed that this company is so CROOKED THAT THEY EVEN TEMPERED THE RATINGS AS WELL.

By Javed W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Stay away, if something goes wrong and you cannot pick up the car, they will keep your money. All of it.

By Norman N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

John P Mate I was unfortunate enough to contact these Criminals and pay them money I have nothing to do with them and am simply warning other people not to be fooled by them and to loose therehard earned money. Take up your complains with Rental car. Com if you want to f and blind direct it to them. I understand the frustration with this company. Steven P thank you for your response to John P What a world!!!

By Jean l.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No.

By Xophe X.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RentalCars.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for RentalCars.com

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
RentalCars.com?
Post Review