Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of PayNearMe

PayNearMe reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
292 Gibraltar Drive Suite 104
Sunnyvale, CA 94089
Tel: 888-714-0004
info@paynearme.com

8 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

kevint365
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/1/19

I made a 300 dollar payment to my credit card. I always get an email confirmation and this time I did not. I called paynearme and their clueless customer service agents from overseas tell me to call my credit card company with the payment confirmation number and they should be able to see it. I called my credit card and they said that they can't see anything using a confirmation number from paynearme. I feel like I am being scammed. Paynearme claims the payment went through but even in the app it doesn't show the payment completed like another payment I made. I am livid and will not use this app again.

stephenk101
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/26/18

I had to pay my directv and century bills, after making them payments I was told it would take up to 4 business days to post a payment. Imagine, I did this on a Saturday, so I had to wait until Thursday to get my service back on. Never ever will I use this company, I think it is better off using money gram or western union. They are horrible, refused to reimburse my money so I can find other options. I repeat, never ever used this service if you want immediate results.

tamikad5
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/30/17

It stated fast service...fast payments BULL$#*!!!! I WILL NEVER USE THIS APP AGAIN...WASTE OF TIME...DON'T LIVE UP TO ITS SAYING....THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS BAD...NOBODY REALLY KNOW WHAT THEY'RE DOING....ASK TO SPEAK TO A MANAGER I GOT HUNG UP ON...THE CUSTOMER REP TOLD 2 DIFFERENT LIES...FIRST HE SAID IT TAKES UP TO 5 BUSINESS DAYS..THEN WHEN I CORRECTED HIM BY WHAT A MANAGER TOLD ME 4 BUSINESS DAYS THATS WHEN HE AGREED!!! ASK FOR A REFUND GOT HUNG UP ON AGAIN..WILL BE REPORTING THEM TO BBB

dawns114
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/20/17

Their website sucks on many levels. The design is terrible. When you sign up it only asks for either your phone number or emailnot both, which is poor design. Once you sign up and login there is no mechanism to view your account info or profile, so that you can associate both an email and phone number to the same account, and verify that your account info is correct. Then when you go to pay a bill, you get a message that they need some more information about you before you can make a payment, but it never prompts you for additional information. Instead you get an error message that they could not verify your identity. WTF? Based on the poor user interface, design, and usability of this system I'm not sure I would trust it for making your payments.

jackieb46
3 reviews
23 helpful votes
7/12/17

Do not just jump in and try paying an urgent bill or a large bill if you can avoid it. Of course the advertising will play it up. In the end it is all that but in our experience it wasn't at first. Customer support is awesome!! I did have to ask for a supervisor to get past the wonderfully trained first rep - he was clearly limited as far as what he could do but fhe was very professional and nice. Once I talked to supervisors I had 2 people calling me and following up - they really cared about our experience with the product.

Here are details you need to know:
CHILD SUPPORT: BE AWARE THERE COULD BE A DELAY - make sure the recipient has time - it ended up taking 4 days to go thru (not bad) but it showed immediately at the child support office and that was scarey.
1-The bar code quality of the phone may not scan well at the cash register - assuming printer quality could be the same issue - I have suggested to the company to add punch in numbers
2-The cashiers at these places are not experienced with this and may be very limited as far as helping you - and you might be their first customer using it
3-From my experience, you need the app - and that is not clear on the site
4-KNOW that your payment might take a few business days to be credited even tho it goes right thru and is seen on both ends.
5-There seems to be a need for more clarification on max amounts and debit cards, atm, etc. It says max $1500 - but that was not the case so they need to clarify this. There are advertisements and FAQ's that say you can use atm and debit cards - NO - only cash so that needs clarified and they need to set it so you can use a debit card - at least a debit card since that is just like cash.

I can't give it a 5 star and even 4 is generous considering the issues we had but it was the customer service that got the 4 stars. Not everyone will go that far - if they have problems, they may not call and may not use it again. But, if you do and the first rep can't help you, don't get mad - go up the chain and you WILL get taken care of. It will be better when they get the bugs worked out - our experience was child support.

I think it would be wise to try to get more education out to the places that you can use this at - a way for the cashiers to be able to use it confidently and help the customers. It puts everyone - the cashier and the customer in a frustrating position and that, can cause people to not try it again. I would strongly suggest a short video for getting people thru this - supply it to the stores or even on the internet so it can be used at the register,

In the end - in our county it was a great way to pay child support - after the initial frustration and scare. I would like to see people more aware of it and more use of it. I would really like to see them make it so a person can pay from their debit card thru the app directly and not have to go to a store.

yldan
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/18/17

I have to wait up to 4 days to get my service back because they don't send the cash payment instantly, this ridiculous.

cleor19
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/6/17

Payment processing through them takes 2 to 4 days. Fast processing my a__!
Was told to use them but when i did my cable got turned off becuz the payment wasnt recieved and wouldnt be recieved for up to 4days. And they wont give a refund even if you pay cash. So i was just out of money and internet and cable even though i made my payment. Ended up paying a reconnection fees becuz of it.
Buyer beware!!!!!!!!

bobr23
19 reviews
80 helpful votes
7/15/15

Something new for those who need to send a fast payment. This takes the place of the "GreenDot Moneycard" that was giving many people a problem and getting scammed by thieves over the phone. "Paynearme" is great. If I want to pay a bill I forgot about and don't want the hassle of dealing with a customer service idiot who's gonna tell me there's an extra charge of $10 for the expedited service, I can go to a "Seven-Eleven" or a "Family Dollar" store and get it done immediately for less than $5. I think it's actually $4.99 for up to sending $500. I use it for funding my handicapping accounts in Thoroughbred Horse Racing. Faster than an electronic bank withdrawal and much - much cheaper than using a credit card. Just join up, find your nearest location, print out the bar code and you're good to go. By the way, I love going to those Dollar stores anyway. Just sayin'.

Service
Value
Quality

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the PayNearMe staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

2 Photos for PayNearMe

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
PayNearMe?
Post Review