Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of OpenOffice.org

OpenOffice.org reviews

Is this your business?
24 reviews
Forest Hill, Maryland, United States
users@openoffice.org

24 reviews with 5 stars

marcelc21
8 reviews
4 helpful votes
4/13/17
In my early days when I started in my business I've had to go by a limited budget and needed such type of tools. The Open Office suite has everything a small company might need in terms of office software and it does the job well.
justusb9
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/19/17
As all the reviews say - its a good free alternative for MS Office. I completely agree with that. Especially that comes in handy during some trips when due to some circumstanses you need a PC with Office isntalled, and for instance the hotel has onnly the PC (yup, I go on vacations gadget-free). I recommend!
djfemmiej
35 reviews
31 helpful votes
8/9/16
ALSO YOU CAN SAVE DOCUMENTS AS A PFD VERY EASY AND HAS all the suites you will be happy with this also it is compatible with WINDOWS AND MAC. AN AWESOME PROGRAM A MUST HAVE. GET IT YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.
josephl89
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/7/16
This is a great replacement for the MS office software and the best part is that it's free!
dg59
7 reviews
10 helpful votes
4/18/16
Mostly happy with Office substitutes, but their macro system in Writer was too convoluted to be useful. Went back to WORD.
kevint47
15 reviews
140 helpful votes
2/21/16
To the life of me I cant figure why so many people are so diehard about microsoft products. That company has left all computer users subject to hackers, malwares, adwares, and system crashes for several decades.

Trying to use MS Office Suite is only as good as the operating system you have and computer you have to run them off of. Considering the nightmares that 4 out of the last 5 windows operating systems have been, thats scary.

Count them up: Vista bad, 7 great, 8 bad, 8.1 marginal but bad, 10 going fastly to the bad. That creates a problem. Especially since MS office suite auto links all your office suite items to your operating system files and guess what if some virus or malware gets into your machine....

you may be able to reinstall the system.....but your documents are all lost.Even if you try storing them on another drive or partition.....windows later may not recognize the access file in its system needed to find them and make them accessible all because they were referenced in your previous OS.

Open Office is the ONLY word product I use. I highly reccomend coupling it with a pdf product called FOXIT.

Freewares by college professors and tech teams have always been a great thing. Now they are abundant and reliable and pretty nice. I highly recommend this.
waftt
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/3/16
Very good site for getting free software.
pamelaf11
10 reviews
3 helpful votes
10/30/15
Thank you Open Office for helping us express ourselves in a economical way. Plus you except donations. How does it get any better than that?
colbertc
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/28/15
The open office paper program is comfortable to use. On par with Microsoft word, i would say
demirm
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
9/29/15
free and best office program developer
mikes311
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/21/15
Much better than microsoft products, takes a bit of getting used to. Keep up the great work!
deepikag1
7 reviews
7 helpful votes
7/9/15
I loved OpenOffice its Open source and get rid of any licenses..thanks to Open Office
faunab
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
5/13/15
I use MS office at work, but Open Office at home. When I need to move files in between them, I use google drive. It takes effort to save precious dollars.
burtm19
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
4/15/15
Does everything that MS Office used to ask money for. A fraction? Better make that free, what could be better?
johnl196
7 reviews
3 helpful votes
2/11/15
I prefer their software. Fewer upgrades to a great product. They are comparable with the top end softwares too.
terrancew3
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/5/15
adamp21
9 reviews
47 helpful votes
7/30/13
Great software. Easy to use, perfect alternative to Microsoft Office. Best part, it's free.
kathyh3
37 reviews
323 helpful votes
8/10/11
Open source always gets my attention, and this is one of the best of them.

It's basically a completely FREE alternative to Microsoft Office. It does every single thing that Microsoft Office does, except it's free! Now, the best part....is that it will open and save to Microsoft Office formats, but you have to deliberately choose this.

Let's say someone sends you a .doc document, and you need to edit it. Just make sure you save it as .doc, (the default is odt) and then they will be able to open your altered document.

This is available for Windows, Mac OS and Linux, so everyone can use it!
byebyez
byebye z.
85 reviews
57 helpful votes
7/2/11
Not reviewing the site but the software:

In fact openoffice has it's own file format, but it can read Microsoft files and saves in both formats. Openoffice can also save as *.pdf file so can be read by everyone with acrobat reader. The only main difference, apart the price, is that the language in the macro functions is not exactly the same. So Excel macros can't be used "as is".

But it's a real working alternative to Microsoft Office. (Sorry Bill G.)
hughr
12 reviews
29 helpful votes
1/30/11
I have used Open Office through 5 versions now, both for word processing and for spreadsheets. It has become better with each version and in virtually all instances is a complete substitute for Microsoft Word (and the related spreadsheet, etc etc software - OO is a full suite too). It is free to download, and I have run it under both Windows XP and under Linus OpenSuse with equal success. Unfortunately some people running older versions of Word can't open the standard Open Office ODF file if you send it in that format. There are two answers to that. One is that OO will always save a file in DOC format if you select that - end of problem. The second is that there are several download options for plug-ins which enable Word to read the file. An unexpected bonus of OO is that its ability to open files ranges across so many formats it can open files which Microsoft products don't open. Format and compatibility problems from OO 3.2 onwards are now rare. The main criticism of OO has been that it is a large download file and needs a general code "clean-up" to get it to run faster. OO 3.3 addresses that to some extent and there is more to come. Finally part of the OO team left to develop Libre Office, which is intended to be an enhanced, free, version of OO but with improvements. If you are running a standalone system this is vastly better than spending real money on Microsoft Word.
js16
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/16/11
Excellent, reliable..have used it for years. Only the ignorant pay $$$$ for big-name products!
sprklbuzb
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/26/10
This site is absolutely amazing! When I purchased my new macbook, I really didn't want to spend the money to purchase Microsoft Office for Mac. My dad has a friend at work that told him about this program and it is absolutely amazing! It is totally free, you can use Microsoft word, excel, and powerpoint and it is totally compatible with other computers. I have to do a lot of file sharing for online classes (I am a college student) and it works perfectly. Don't waste the money on Microsoft Word, openoffice.org is the exact same program at the perfect price... free!!
jesseg
31 reviews
215 helpful votes
6/6/10
First let me start by saying I love anything free. Open office website overs you the ability to download their program and use it for free. The best part is that the software they offer is comparable to Microsoft Office. The program offers a word processor similar to word, a program like Excel, and a comparable power point software as well as some others.

The best part of all is you can save any open office project as the comparable office program. This is great if you have Microsoft office at work but not home. You can open a office file from home with the program work from it and save it as an office file. Great feature if you don't want to spend the money for Microsoft office.

I highly recommend you save some money and use this great program. The website will allow you to download it. Give it a try.
marions
35 reviews
198 helpful votes
2/22/10
It is hard to do better than free. OpenOffice.org offers a free office productivity suite that will meet the needs of at least 90% of computer users, and they do it for FREE! Download your free copy!

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the OpenOffice.org staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
OpenOffice.org?
Post Review