Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of OpenOffice.org

OpenOffice.org reviews

Is this your business?
34 reviews
Forest Hill, Maryland, United States
users@openoffice.org

34 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

kathyh3
37 reviews
323 helpful votes
8/10/11
Open source always gets my attention, and this is one of the best of them.

It's basically a completely FREE alternative to Microsoft Office. It does every single thing that Microsoft Office does, except it's free! Now, the best part....is that it will open and save to Microsoft Office formats, but you have to deliberately choose this.

Let's say someone sends you a .doc document, and you need to edit it. Just make sure you save it as .doc, (the default is odt) and then they will be able to open your altered document.

This is available for Windows, Mac OS and Linux, so everyone can use it!
andreyl
12 reviews
47 helpful votes
7/19/11
OMG. I had the most annoying experience with Open Office. I would give it one star if it costed anything. First off just from the look of it, it look very outdated, compare the newest one OpenOffice to Word 2010 and you'll know what I mean. I strongly recommend getting Microsoft Word 2010 or 2007 at least instead of OpenOffice. I know Word is around 100 dollars but I used OpenOffice and I bought Word b/c I disliked it so much. Microsoft = User FRIENDLY. OpenOffice = User ATTACKER
byebyez
byebye z.
85 reviews
57 helpful votes
7/2/11
Not reviewing the site but the software:

In fact openoffice has it's own file format, but it can read Microsoft files and saves in both formats. Openoffice can also save as *.pdf file so can be read by everyone with acrobat reader. The only main difference, apart the price, is that the language in the macro functions is not exactly the same. So Excel macros can't be used "as is".

But it's a real working alternative to Microsoft Office. (Sorry Bill G.)
hughr
12 reviews
29 helpful votes
1/30/11
I have used Open Office through 5 versions now, both for word processing and for spreadsheets. It has become better with each version and in virtually all instances is a complete substitute for Microsoft Word (and the related spreadsheet, etc etc software - OO is a full suite too). It is free to download, and I have run it under both Windows XP and under Linus OpenSuse with equal success. Unfortunately some people running older versions of Word can't open the standard Open Office ODF file if you send it in that format. There are two answers to that. One is that OO will always save a file in DOC format if you select that - end of problem. The second is that there are several download options for plug-ins which enable Word to read the file. An unexpected bonus of OO is that its ability to open files ranges across so many formats it can open files which Microsoft products don't open. Format and compatibility problems from OO 3.2 onwards are now rare. The main criticism of OO has been that it is a large download file and needs a general code "clean-up" to get it to run faster. OO 3.3 addresses that to some extent and there is more to come. Finally part of the OO team left to develop Libre Office, which is intended to be an enhanced, free, version of OO but with improvements. If you are running a standalone system this is vastly better than spending real money on Microsoft Word.
zoes1
31 reviews
165 helpful votes
1/17/11
This is great for mac users. The mac does not come with microsoft word. You can download this program for free on their website. You can save documents in microsoft compatible format. You can also open microsoft documents.
js16
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/16/11
Excellent, reliable..have used it for years. Only the ignorant pay $$$$ for big-name products!
sprklbuzb
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/26/10
This site is absolutely amazing! When I purchased my new macbook, I really didn't want to spend the money to purchase Microsoft Office for Mac. My dad has a friend at work that told him about this program and it is absolutely amazing! It is totally free, you can use Microsoft word, excel, and powerpoint and it is totally compatible with other computers. I have to do a lot of file sharing for online classes (I am a college student) and it works perfectly. Don't waste the money on Microsoft Word, openoffice.org is the exact same program at the perfect price... free!!
jesseg
31 reviews
215 helpful votes
6/6/10
First let me start by saying I love anything free. Open office website overs you the ability to download their program and use it for free. The best part is that the software they offer is comparable to Microsoft Office. The program offers a word processor similar to word, a program like Excel, and a comparable power point software as well as some others.

The best part of all is you can save any open office project as the comparable office program. This is great if you have Microsoft office at work but not home. You can open a office file from home with the program work from it and save it as an office file. Great feature if you don't want to spend the money for Microsoft office.

I highly recommend you save some money and use this great program. The website will allow you to download it. Give it a try.
marions
35 reviews
198 helpful votes
2/22/10
It is hard to do better than free. OpenOffice.org offers a free office productivity suite that will meet the needs of at least 90% of computer users, and they do it for FREE! Download your free copy!

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the OpenOffice.org staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
OpenOffice.org?
Post Review