Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Omegle

Omegle reviews

Is this your business?
26 reviews
5889 Greenwood Plaza BLVD
Greenwood Village, COLORADO 80111, United States
Tel: 1465491732
leif@omegle.com

26 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

alexisp45
24 reviews
28 helpful votes
3/26/19

Omegle is one of those sites a lot of people have a lot of nostagia for. They remember the glory days of when you could go on there and not encounter any perverts or bots. A lot of people are looking at Omegle through rose-tinted glasses.

Here's the thing: Omegle has always been filled with bots and perverts. Even in 2011, when the site was ostensibly at the height of its popularity, the site had a lot of bots and perverts. The only difference between today and 2011 is that less people use the site, so the perverts and the bots become far more noticeable.

Omegle is one of those sites that I've used on again and off again for several years now. I'm always amazed at how long some of the bots and spammers will use the site. I'm fairly sure that one of the bots on there has been going for something like three or four years now.

There are some genuine people on the site, but don't expect to be having long lasting conversations with them. Most of the people who use Omegle are people who aren't looking to make new friends or anything, they're just looking to waste a bit of time before they have to go do something else.

So long as you go in knowing that most of the real people on the site are just there to waste time, you'll be fine. But that's the kind of expectation you should really have of any chat room, not just Omegle, so I think that's more than fair.

If the powers that be in charge of the site would crack down on all the bots, the site would probably be okay. I don't think it'd ever be the best site ever, but it'd be a passable place to spend a bit of time if you're bored. As is though, you'll probably walk away frustrated after twenty or thirty minutes because of all the bots you encounter.

lindad516
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/25/19

I completely understand that there are a lot of robots but the lengths this website goes to to
"prevent" robots is extreme and makes it not worth it for people just trying to not see gentles

anaw27
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/14/19

Just the sheer idea of talking to people on the other side of the world that have the same interests as you. It's nothing like face book because on Facebook you see people from all around the world but you can say hi all you want there never going to answer you back and on this site your chatting with the.

emilj8
21 reviews
92 helpful votes
11/28/18

Just look on YouTube how awfull Omegle is and it is also full of pornstars, 17 year olds with no life and possibly cybersexists

dickl22
7 reviews
10 helpful votes
7/29/18

id give it a 5 if it allowed to use tag in adult section,
and if it enforced its age rule..
too many pedobait kids on there
most likely getting their lives ruined by aging old balls
but then again a service is offered with a set of rules,
if parents didn't throw money at them kids to be left alone and not raise them properly.. then maybe they would be supervised
So i do not blame the platforms for such lazy parenthood

Tip for consumers: use tag : kawaiisenpai <-- to see some of this

Service
Value
Quality
alanb97
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/31/16

Use Omegle at your peril. Young adults assume that anyone who is of mature years should not be on it and there may be something sinister about them.
They think that they are the only ones around.
This site is a waste of space - 99% of the people are not interested in chatting about anything - just flicking through. Never let young kids on as it is purely of adult content and that has to be seen to be believed. Honestly, there are people on there that should never take their clothes off.
This site is a totaly waste of time if you want to meet and chat.

elenn2
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
5/19/16

If this site actually offered the Talking or Conversations it promises then it would be one thing, however, it does not. I have to agree with many people on here its a smut fest with pedophiles and people half naked wanting to show their junk to any random stranger. We should actually take our own advice! We tell our children "Don't talk to strangers" why do we have a standard any different? I was excited at first to see this, now, the rose coloured glasses are off and i see it for what it is. A new avenue for our children to be exploited by the first pervert out there that gets their hands on them. No thanks, this should not even be an option online. Or ban the naked people if you want to offer that SEX service then do it on a separate site. Don't offer a chat site for people to meet and form Friendships when its not what its about. Omegle is definitely not a site for any adult looking to meet Friends its an avenue for sexual predators to have their freedom and anonymity.

paulg112
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/24/16

There is absolutely no safeguards on this site. It is pure porno. All you see is disturbed adults playing with their genitals or trying to soliciting young children pretending to be older. It needs to be closed down.

bernieb34
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/26/16

I keep getting banned. I have sussed out that they plant women where they think guys are flashing but sometimes as has often happened to me these vindictive $#*!es will have you banned even if you don't flash. I'm sure if you have previously been banned then your ip sets off a buzz or something.
Now I pretty much can tell who the plants are and as soon as I'm suspicious, I move on

stant109
1 review
6 helpful votes
12/3/14

People make assumptions, particually about age, I am 70. so according to others I should not be on line, I have been told this whilst chatting, fortunately most ignore age, Some seem to have ther idea once 65 is reached, then no more sex. boy! how small minded can you get.
write up if you have encountered this sort of objection.
Keep writing

emile294
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/26/14

i plis jo men jour plai omegle

alecw18
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/4/14

This site is ok for the fact it is fun to talk to new people and improve your language skills, but I think there moderators are corrupted for they let people in video chat masturbate, but if I say I'm not gay in chat they ban me.It seems like they are Anti-Straight and the moderators need to be fired.

nikag1
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/23/14

I was just banned for the NINTH time for no apparent reason. I have never done anything that is prohibited by the terms of service, nor have I ever received a reply from Omegle explaining why I continually get banned for an unknown reason. Omegle spends its time banning people who abide by the terms instead of taking care of those who don't.

reneer4
11 reviews
39 helpful votes
10/13/13

This website is fun to go on if you're bored and want to laugh at the stupidity of some people. The website is poorly moderated and put in a section where they say you won't be talking to perverts, however, the new "moderated" section still has people on there doing inappropriate things.

lukee10
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/23/13

Well, I have to disagree on one thing: This site is NOT full of lonely, unhappily married men. It's mainly populated with ignorant, illiterate sad, little boys who actually believe that saying you're 22 is believable if you type like a 4 year old.
The room's users are the type of internet warrior that have an endgame in sight (making someone angry) but cannot quite think of how to get there so they spout $#*! insults which bore but not quite anger.
They also believe that age and gender are relevant for more than making them look like paedophiles.

harveyb
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/5/13

This site should ask for age verification it's full of pornography.

dianad7
12 reviews
24 helpful votes
7/2/13

Not what I thought. I'm just a kid, and honestly, I thought this was a site where you just innocently have a chat with strangers. But no. It's just a bunch of lonely, unhappily married men "looking for some fun."

williams235
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
5/10/13

I think the site itself is an entertaining concept, and that you can occasionally get an intriguing conversation out of it. However, all too often the people you end up talking to are either trolls, or sex crazed idiots. I never go on to video mode, because every single person there has his $#*! out (and on the tiny chance that they don't have their $#*! out, they'll immediately disconnect once they realise you're not a girl.) It has been attempted to fix this recently by monitoring the chats, but honestly I don't see any difference, every time I go on there's at least one person I run into with his $#*! out.

larsl4
20 reviews
26 helpful votes
1/21/13

I guess Omegle is ok if you're into online communities where profanity is a perfectly normal and acceptable greeting and conversation starter.

brianb25
17 reviews
21 helpful votes
11/11/12

Lots of dudes with their *ahem*, you know....their.....They're rocking out with their cocks out.

luisg11
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/9/12

I thought it would be a little fun to go online an talk to random strangers, but this site is very wrong. all it is, is a bunch of lonely sick men doing inappropriate things in front of a camera. and the worst part is that their is no filtration anyone can go on no verification nothing, all you can do is skip on to the next person, but you never know if the next person might be even worse. I believe this site should be taken down permanently.

katherinet
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/30/11

Omegle is a site that should be taken off the web as any similar site should. It does NOT have any log in information, no age limit, no anything. It is a site that allows any body talk by video or just text chat to complete strangers. This site is just asking for trouble. It's a site that pedophiles will easily pray on our children and for that reason it and any other site that does not require limiting of age should be removed from the internet.

cathys4
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/11/11

This is a preditory website, parents do not allow your children on this web site. It is a video chat that grown men expose thier genitles and masterbate while speaking with your child. A child who has body issues or low self esteem will certainly be coersed to expose herself. It happened in my family and I am devastaded!

alexp9
108 reviews
974 helpful votes
3/29/11

I'd give it the worst rating except that it's fun to go on at work when there's nothing to do and you need mindless entertainment. That being said, the entertainment is far and few inbetween since you either run into adult site bots or people looking to cyber.

tn1
270 reviews
1,587 helpful votes
3/14/11

As an educator, I was excited to hear about sites like Omegle and Chatroulette. I thought it might offer up my students a good opportunity to practice communication skills with others through video chatting. And if the person on the other end didn't speak the same language, it would be an ever better chance to practice nonverbal communication skills.

But all my hopes are dashed by the lack of moderation on these sites. There's no way of knowing whom or what you will see on the screen next, and frankly I'm not sure I like the site's motto of "Talk to Strangers". As I've gotten older, I've certainly gotten slightly more conservative, but I suppose it happens when you've got some little ones under your charge.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Most chatroom owners are pretty lazy. They don't really want to fix the problems because they know that, for the most part, they can still make a little bit of money off the site so long as it doesn't become notorious in the media for being a place for pedos. I think most of the moderation is done with some kind of algorithm that assumes anyone who skips people without saying anything will get a ban or people who swear a lot get a ban. The trouble is that the moderation of stuff has never been super consistent, so sometimes you'll get a ban after you've skipped a bunch of people or cuss a few people out one night and sometimes you can do it for weeks at a time without a ban. So either it's a badly designed algorithm or it's a lackluster mod who only mods when they feel like it.

By Alexis P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

a vpn, full cookies storage or bad previous cookies, poor internet security or speed outdated browser would most likely be one of the causes

By TenInchSenpai L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The only way to get rid of the captcha is to not use Omegle for a while, as far as I can tell. Sorry.

By Alexis P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I'm not entirely sure that it's possible at this point. Maybe the best thing your daughter can do about this is to set up a new snapchat and only give it out to certain people.

By Alexis P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Omegle staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for Omegle

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Omegle?
Post Review