Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

New-Mexico-Catalog reviews

10 reviews
3940 West Picacho Avenue
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007, United States
Tel: +1 575-525-0585

10 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

andreap186
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/15/19

I ordered from this company twice. The 1st order was late. I emailed to inquire about my ordee and they responded with attitude saying New Mexican food is made from scratch and takes time to prepare. I used to live in NM and it doesn't take 3 weeks to make tamales!
So I gave them another chance because the food was actually good and ordered for Christmas with a Christmas delivery guarantee. My food never showed. Was still waiting on Christmas Eve. They never answered my emails or phone calls. Two weeks later 1 package of store bought tamales (La Bonita Brand) arrived along with 1 package of home made tamales and no Chile Rellenos. I had ordered 2 Chile rellenos. So basically for $120+ I got one item out of the 4 I ordered and two weeks late. I continued to call and email with no response. They could care less. Order from Chile Monster this company is a scam.

andrews535
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/7/18

Ordered fresh and roasted. Communication is terrible. Never notified that the roasted was going to be delayed. Uses USPS for shipping fresh. They just left the box on the side porch sometime around 7PM with no notice that it was there. Found it the next day after the product had been sitting out all night in the heat. When I complained I was told it was my problem. Rude, dismissive rep (Linda) basically said I had no reason to complain. I cancelled the rest of the order. Never will I buy from them again.

karenc258
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/14/17

Ordered 5 pounds hot, 20 pounds medium fresh chiles. They all arrived in great shape and within time frame stated on web site. Would have been nice had they noted on the tracking info they sent me that it was a partial shipment and that remainder would go out next day, but that's my only complaint.

kimm203
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/3/16

I placed my order in late August and had not received after about two weeks. A quick email asking when I could expect my order received a prompt reply of "the week of Sept 17". Arrived as promised, still frozen (very well packaged), and super tasty. I just ordered two more 3lb packs of the frozen chili.

Tip for consumers: Have reasonable expectations as to order fulfillment, be patient and be nice.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Response from LINDA T., New-Mexico-Catalog Representative
Thank you for your positive review. We have been working very hard to be the best that we can be and appreciate you recognizing our efforts. We also have an A with BBB and appreciate their recognition as well.
Sincerely
Linda
sandyt14
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/7/15

Have never delivered my order nor answered any emails with explanation or answered any calls

Response from LINDA T., New-Mexico-Catalog Representative
Since this review was written in 2015, and we do not know who you are, we can only say that we are sorry for your experience you had with us. We do care very much about customers and must have had a bad customer service agent which was not taking care of you. We have an A with the BBB and 4.4 out 5 stars with Amazon are will indeed reship you if you were not taken care of in the past. Please let us know what you would like us to do to make up for this experience.
sincerely,
joanw19
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/27/15

Placed an order the end of August, was sent a message that the order would be shipped the week of Sept 14...still nothing..sent two emails no response. $70 I will probably never get back, nor the food. Someone should shut this outfit down as they seem to continue to rape customers and get away with it.!!!!! Giving them one star is too generous.

Response from LINDA T., New-Mexico-Catalog Representative
This review was written in 2015 and we do not know who you are to respond to you personally , If in fact you did not receive what you ordered or was not refunded please let us know immediately so we can do so. We have been in business for 31 years and every day in every way try to be a little bit better. The # of years in business hopefully shows how dedicated we are to our customers, our vendors and to the industry we represent. We apologize if in fact you did not receive the merchandise or a refund.
Sincerely
LInda
westellow
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/9/14

Terrible customer service. My brother ordered me tamales for Christmas; just got here Feb. 5th. They made every excuse they could and still didn't get them here on-time. To boot, they did NOT send them overnight and they were thawed. Their own label says to keep them frozen until you use them.

Don't shop with them.

Response from LINDA T., New-Mexico-Catalog Representative
Your complaint was written in 2014 and we do not know who you are so is difficult to see what actually transpired. We usually have a cut off date for Christmas delivery which is around the 15th of December as our products are perishable and we do not want them stranded some place over the Holidays. We ship priority mail 2-3 days or if close by Fed X ground. If our customers wish to pay extra we can ship over nite . We can not be responsible for the carriers delays of shipment but will always replace the product if it was our mess up. If you will give us your name and address we will replace your food even though it was in 2014 to show our good will to our customer ,you.
Sincerely
LInda
janw26
2 reviews
20 helpful votes
12/10/13

I ordered an overpriced ristra the end of October. I got confirmation of my order on November 4th saying that they were charging my cc, but that there would be a delay in shipping the ristra due to having to dry them out! I told them to cancel the order in that case. I didn't hear back from them so gave it a couple of days and then contacted them again via email. I told them to CANCEL THE ORDER! She said that they only needed a few more days and the ristras would be sent. I told her I needed it BEFORE Winter as this was a Fall decoration for the front of my house. I also told her that I could have just driven across the bridge into Portland, OR and bought some there as I saw plenty of them for sale a few days before.

I forgot about it for a little while and then on November 20th, contacted them again asking them where the heck my refund was. I KNEW they had not sent the ristras out "in a few days" as I surely would have received them by this time. I received NO ANSWER.

Finally, yesterday, December 9, 2013, I emailed them again and told them I was contacting my bank to file for a charge back against them since they collected money on my cc but never sent the merchandise! Wells Fargo was quick to give me my refund and did a charge back. They told me that this company was WAAAY past the date which they were required to get me my merchandise.

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY! They also do business as Guacamole's Patio as that is what the name was on my bank statement for this charge. This company needs to be put out of business! God only knows how many people they are fleecing this way! I mean...it took so long that I almost forgot about this until I was clearing out emails for the past few months and ran across it.

Response from LINDA T., New-Mexico-Catalog Representative
Your review was written in December of 2013. Our ristras are all hand made from New Mexico chile pods which have turned from green chile to the mature stage of red chiles.
The green chile becomes available for picking and shipping around the end of August each year and as it matures it starts turning red like a tomato would do. This is a process that only Mother Nature can produce and we do not have any power over her. So the chile being ripe for making the ristras usually takes place around Thanksgiving each year. Due to fact we can not control this evolution it is difficult for us to say that on 12/1/0000 the chiles will be available. We are dealing with a fresh and live commodity . Our ristras are hand made by one family that has been with us for 31 years and have been featured in Walt Disney movies like Wild Hogs, Featured in the Smithsonian in DC, been in Superbowls, Botanical gardens, and many homes and shops across the country. We are very sorry that you did not get to experience these hand made beautiful ristras which are becoming a lost art in the making.
Sincerely
LInda
brandyb1
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/22/10

Worst company ever. I ordered a package on 12/13 and it was received 2/22. I called at least 15 times and emailed at least 5 times and never got a response. The product was food and was to be delivered within 2 days of shipping, it took 5 and the food was rotten.

Response from LINDA T., New-Mexico-Catalog Representative
This review goes back 7 years in 2010. We are sorry that this happened to you,however, we do not know who you are and obviously it looks like the carrier delayed your order for reasons unbeknown to us. We ship all of our chile, tamales etc USPS priority mail 2-3 days delivery and in some circumstances Fed X ground. Our customers are always welcome to pay extra if they need a faster service. We are very sorry that this happened will be happy to replace it if you let us know who you are and what you ordered even though clearly this was our carriers fault.
Sincerely
LInda
kyled
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/19/09

They have an F rating with the BBB...80 complaints under David and Linda Taylor of New Mexico Catalog.

I made the mistake of ordering 20lbs of Green Chiles from them and they arrived 5 days late in a big ugly mess of a plastic bag. Now, they are not willing to refund it or send me another order.

Unfortunately, I now know they have this horrible track record and I'm just another victim.

PLEASE CHECK THEM OUT UNDER THE BBB BEFORE DOING BUSINESS! HERE IS THE LINK:
http://www.newmexicoandsouthwestcolorado.bbb.org/BusinessFind.aspx

Response from LINDA T., New-Mexico-Catalog Representative
We have actually an A rating with the BBB and would never deliberately send out our beautiful New Mexico green chile in a big plastic bag. We ship our chile in opened holed boxes , so the chile can breath and ship it to arrive in 2-3 days using USPS priority mail. We ship all over the country as will as Hawaii and Alaska.
Your complaint was written in 2009 and we do not know who you are or the circumstances, but if it was our fault we always replace the chile no questions asked, however we can not be responsible for the delays with our carriers, you would have to take that up with them.
We are truly sad that this happened and can assure you if you wish for us to reship you this fall 2017 just let us know.
Sincerely
Linda

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the New-Mexico-Catalog staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
New-Mexico-Catalog?
Post Review