Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Necessary Clothing reviews

Is this your business?
30 reviews
442 Broadway
New York City, NY 10013, US
Tel: +1-646-214-7887
anab@necessaryclothing.com

30 Reviews From Our Community

Service
6
Value
5
Shipping
5
Returns
5
Quality
5

All Reviews

kaylaw125
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/11/19

I ordered a few things over two weeks ago. I was told that it was gone to shipping, but was not provided a tracking number. I contacted customer service and asked for the tracking info. Didn't get response. I waited a few more days and wrote to customer service and told them I was going to go to the media and tell everyone they are a bunch of scammers, and they wrote back and said they were having problems with their international shippers and would find out what's going on and get back to me. I asked them again for the tracking info and again NO RESPONSE!!!
SO, DON'T BUY ANYTHING FROM NECESSARY CLOTHING!!! THEY ARE A BUNCH OF SCAMMERS!!!!!!!!!

lisab351
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/17/17

I bought five items from the $7.99 sale and they exceeded my expectations. They also offered an extra 30% off the already low price. Everything I bought looked like it did on the website and the sizes were perfect. I'm happy with my purchases.

angelynn1
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/15/17

I was so happy to find some jeans on sale but to good to be true they cancelled and refund order because they didn't have enough in stock. It took them 6 business days later not a good first experience. Do not recommend horrible. Will never buy anything from their 7.99 shop it's not worth because they probably won't tell you until the last minute when you think it's gonna be delivered that day when's it's not even stock.

noellew4
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/26/17

So this was my first time visiting this site so I decided to order a pair of shoes that were on sale for only 14.99 . Meanwhile shipping was almost 13 bucks but hey $28 for a pair of shoes you can't beat that so I ordered them anyway. Long story short Ups never delivered my package and then before it even got to me the package was being returned to sender. I asked for the package to be shipped right back to me and they told me that they couldn't but they would reissue me a gift card after 7-10 days but without the shipping cost which is insane. 3 weeks later I get an email for a gift card of only $5???? This is rediculous!! I paid 28 but only gave me $5 back. Never shopping with them again!!

cindym132
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/31/17

Rude customer service employees that try to scam you out of not getting your money back. They told me my package was "undeliverable" due to UPS not being able to find my address (I've had a dozen things shipped to that address before). Then they told me the package would be shipped back to their headquarters and I would be charged a bunch of fees AND not get my package back. On top of that, they never refunded me any part of my cost (despite never receiving my package) and it took me threatening to dispute the credit card charge for them to offer a "store credit, minus 3x's the shipping fees." Unbelievable. Honestly don't shop here.

jacquelinj
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
12/9/16

I've gotten 2 orders from necessary clothing. The first order I loved my shirt I had received but it ended up ripping only weeks after I had gotten it. I thought that it was because I had washed it without reading the care instructions that was until I received my next order. The clothes are SO cheaply made. So much so that the long sleev shirt I bought you can see my belly ring right threw it!! I paid $30 for two princes of clothing plus $12 for shipping!! I had decided to return it but found that they do not give refunds, uhhhg. They will give you store credit but I don't want this cr*p and I don't want to pay $12 more dollars to ship that said cr*p! I just want my money back so I can shop at a different store completely! This will be the last time I shop here!!

pams70
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/10/16

Had a damaged item and called to ask for a return label so I could send it back and they told me to take pics of it and send to them in a email. Well got a email back saying I didn't report it within 48hrs and they're not responsible! Also when I called them I asked to speak with someone about returns and they put me on hold and when the guy did get on the line with me all he said was hello and I said yes then there was silence and I said hello again and he said yes again. I worked in retail for 15 plus years and was taught to answer the phone with Hello what can I help you with today! Not just hello! So RUDE RUDE RUDE! I'll NEVER shop there again!

angelak47
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/9/16

I have never had an issue with this website and absolutely LOVE their clothing! Their process are fair and I find their clothing to be very good quality. I have ordered from them numerous times and never once had an issue with any of the clothing I've ordered! I would DEFINITELY recommend this website.

isabellar10
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/27/16

i ordered a dress in a size small and it was huge so i measured the bust area and it was 38 inches, what a size large should have been. besides that the fabric feels awful. the shipping was also awful. overall horrible experience.

vanh22
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/20/16

This has to be the MOST horrible experience I have ever had regarding shopping online. SO cheap materials are used for all items. Better stay away from this site. Return policies are absolutely ridiculous!!!

abigailt4
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/12/16

HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. I had a massive order from them and ended up having to return a few things. One item in particular was so cheaply made that I couldn't peel off the paper style sticker price tag with barcode inside the waistband without some of the faux leather coating peeling up! So because the material was that sensitive I returned it but was emailed saying they wouldn't honor my refund because "the patches of the faux leather exterior were removed in the front". These leggings were oil slick so there were no patches!!! I'm usually a total push over when it comes to confrontation but I can't believe that a company would lie about the damage when really the quality of the garment was terrible! It's so obvious once you see it!! NEVER SHOPPING WITH NECESSARY CLOTHING AGAIN.

daryaf
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/11/15

I contacted customer service today because my package said it was undeliverable via the local post office. I asked the woman to help me and see if she could hold the package up at the post office or ship it to a different address once it got back to them. She was SO rude and informed me that I would have a plethora of fees because clearly it is MY fault that USPS couldn't deliver my package?!? I literally have never heard anything like this before. So now I'm going to be charged and not receive my package for something that is completely out of my hands. This was one of my favorite sites and now I NEVER want to order from them again!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
theannaag
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/10/15

- incredibly rude and only concerned with the employee that created the error and not the problem the customer experienced
- does not answer back emails, live chat, or the phone they provide on their website
- if you're going to purchase something online i would 100% go else where
-sent me the wrong item color and they didn't even send me the correct color

mariahr2
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/8/15

I purchased the crush platform birkinstock shoes and after wearing them 3 times, they broke and now I cannot wear them. Wasted my money, the shoes are made of very cheap material. And they also won't exchange or return the shoes. Please take this as lesson and step away from the store!

laurene9
5 reviews
32 helpful votes
3/17/15

I ordered from Necessary Clothing for the first time a couple weeks ago, and was very disappointed with the service I received. They had some cute clothes online and their prices were pretty low, which intrigued me enough to buy a black romper. I tracked the package and saw that it said it had been delivered at my front door, but it simply wasn't there. UPS told me all I could do was contact the packager (Necessary Clothing) and see what they could do it fix it. (This has happened once before, with another company who graciously handled the mistake and replaced the items, so I had nothing but high hopes for this company to help me handle the issue as well). Unfortunately, they basically told me that I was out of luck and there was nothing they could do to help me. I told them it was my first time shopping with them and I was really disappointed that this was how I was being treated, but that did not matter to them. I definitely won't be shopping there again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

ashleyk23
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/19/15

I placed an order for three things that I really loved. I get a confirmation email stating that all items were shipped. Literally two days later I get another email saying that an item is out of stocked. This makes no sense how can you ship a box and then say ops that items not available. I ordered an outfit and I wanted to cancel the entire order because I literally have nothing to wear with the rest of my order so I call customer service. This store obviously is one that outsources their calls overseas. The person barely spoke English and she interrupted me and literally said "is it my turn to talk" "can I talk now"! Then she refused to give me over to a supervisor. So I have no refund no order nothing. The clothes are cute but don't order online. Go to the store if you can, order from another website that will actually ship your order and treat you right.

michaelh133
6 reviews
19 helpful votes
1/9/15

easy to use website, my wife shops for clothes on this website all the time. she can't get enough of it!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
megank5
5 reviews
11 helpful votes
12/6/14

Good prices and fast shipping. I would definitely shop here again

melc22
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/5/14

This has probably been the worst online store I've ever shopped at. I've been shopping online for years and honestly this has to be the worst. First of all the clothes are very cheap quality for the price. The price isn't expensive it's just that when I received the clothing it looks like $5 stuff. Second of all the shipping to Canada is $15 which is to be excepted. However, when the package came I got charged $25 for customs but my package was only $50. I have never experienced this before only when my purchase was more than $100 I had to pay custom fees. They should have atleast told me about the duty charges from the post office they choose to send my package. Also, I have tried to contact them 2 times and had no reply. Their customer service is so poor, what's the point of even having one. I will never shop there again, there's honestly no point. GoJane has very similar clothes with no problems and I highly recommend people shopping there.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
andrewa31
5 reviews
21 helpful votes
11/26/14

User Friendly, Great support. Nothing to worry with NecessaryClothing

janicey1
4 reviews
71 helpful votes
11/24/14

I am a beauty freak and love products that work. This site is awsome.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jadea3
6 reviews
30 helpful votes
11/18/14

I bought a Yezzy Stronger Clutch it looks amazing and is fair enough the price.I order with my friends because if u take over $125 u will not pay the shipping

lispedo
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
11/6/14

Like them!

tarad2
8 reviews
88 helpful votes
10/29/14

100% excellent deals.

helsns
5 reviews
62 helpful votes
10/27/14

Great for clothes. They also do many size 14.

Service

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Necessary Clothing staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Necessary Clothing?
Post Review