We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    National Novel Writing Month

Corporate Values

Overview

National Novel Writing Month has a consumer rating of 4.63 stars from 8 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. National Novel Writing Month ranks 2nd among Literature sites.

  • Service
    3
  • Value
    3
  • Shipping
    1
  • Returns
    1
  • Quality
    2
How would you rate National Novel Writing Month?
Top Positive Review

“Always lots of fun”

James F.
8/14/18

I try to participate every year and the event is so much fun. The forums are pretty active and everyone is very supportive. Lots of great freebies and sponsor discounts too. Highly recommend.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Not a class act.”

Meg K.
11/20/18

I love the concept of writing a novel in a month (and I'm well on my way), but the NaNoWriMo community is comprised of people with low morals and a vague sense of right and wrong. They produced a pep talk by an author who used the word "suck" ten times, and when a few of us complained, we were lynched by people who thought we were prudes. Even the moderators defended the trashy, no-class pep talk. Considering the work they do with kids, it was surprising they'd even think such a pep talk had merit. (It was all about how writing sucks--and that's not my word choice. I never use that word.)

See critical reviews

Reviews (8)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

jamesf490
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
August 14th, 2018
I try to participate every year and the event is so much fun. The forums are pretty active and everyone is very supportive. Lots of great freebies and sponsor discounts too. Highly recommend.
Service
Value
Quality
megk4
25 reviews
49 helpful votes
November 20th, 2018
I love the concept of writing a novel in a month (and I'm well on my way), but the NaNoWriMo community is comprised of people with low morals and a vague sense of right and wrong. They produced a pep talk by an author who used the word "suck" ten times, and when a few of us complained, we were lynched by people who thought we were prudes. Even the moderators defended the trashy, no-class pep talk. Considering the work they do with kids, it was surprising they'd even think such a pep talk had merit. (It was all about how writing sucks--and that's not my word choice. I never use that word.)
Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
silvioe
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
August 22nd, 2017
I try to participate every year, and it's hard work, but it's so fun! It really helps me get back in the groove of writing, even if I don't finish the whole event.
Service
Value
evelynt29
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
March 8th, 2017
NaNo is such a fun event. I participate every year, and I don't always win, but it's always so helpful to force myself to write. Try it out!
christopherr63
27 reviews
44 helpful votes
June 16th, 2016
NaNoWriMo is awesome! I've had so much fun participating in Nanowrimo each year since I started. Even in the years I don't win I get a lot done. The website also has helpful resources for writers and a great community feel. A+ website.
laural61
2 reviews
19 helpful votes
September 14th, 2015
This site is pure love.

Love of millions of people with the same objetive than you, being the creators or the people who participate in the events. A diverse community who will support you, give you ideas and prep talks. And each and every one of them wants to achieve something.

The forums offers help of other people who is writing, ideas, games and suppurort in general. The website loads fast, is nice to the view and gives you a sensation of community, because this is it. The cost of participating is zero (sí, cero), but if you want to, you can donate or buy something nice for you (or a friend of yours).

An excellent choice if you want to complete something you wanted to compete years ago, or if it´s your first time writing a novel. I recommend it to everyone who tries to tell a story in their own words.
jann62
3 reviews
42 helpful votes
November 4th, 2013
Wanna be a REAL writer? Take the challenge in November and actually write a book. You aren't a writer until you work at it.
chriso1
654 reviews
3,279 helpful votes
October 9th, 2010
November is National Novel Writing Month, and this is where it all begins. When it all begins, is one second after midnight on the morning of November 1st, and it all ends exactly thirty days later, during which time you are challenged to write your very own novel of 50,000 words or roughly 175 pages. Yes, they're talking about you.

The bad news, which is that you've never written anything more challenging than a shopping list, is considerably offset by the good news, which is that your novel can be utterly dreadful. That's not the point. The point is to write, and get to 50,000 words, by the very last second of the very last day of November. And if you upload your novel to this site and get it validated for length, you're a real novelist.

You'll need to write using your computer, so don't get 175 pages of notebook filled and then realize it's supposed to be a computer file of some sort. Aside from that, there aren't many rules. You can write alongside your friends, or on your own, as long as you're the sole author. And it's entirely a matter of quantity, not quality, just as long as you write. You mustn't start writing the book itself until the right moment, though you can have rough ideas beforehand.

Hundreds of thousands of people get into this, so you won't be on your own by a long way.

After it's over, you might want to carry on with rewrites at a more sensible pace, and look for a publisher, and get into the writing business seriously, or you might want to forget it ever happened, and delete the file, it really doesn't matter as long as you participate.

Hmmm... 50,000 words... just a few of my average-length reviews, then;-)

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the National Novel Writing Month staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

November 1-30. The world needs your novel.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about National Novel Writing Month?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about National Novel Writing Month?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business