We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    National Novel Writing Month

Corporate Values

Overview

National Novel Writing Month has a consumer rating of 4.22 stars from 9 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. National Novel Writing Month ranks 3rd among Literature sites.

  • Service
    3
  • Value
    3
  • Shipping
    1
  • Returns
    1
  • Quality
    2
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
1
View ratings trends
How would you rate National Novel Writing Month?
Top Positive Review

“Always lots of fun”

James F.
8/14/18

I try to participate every year and the event is so much fun. The forums are pretty active and everyone is very supportive. Lots of great freebies and sponsor discounts too. Highly recommend.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Not What it Used to Be”

NaNo S.
12/11/20

I participated in NaNoWriMo once in the early 2000's and enjoyed it greatly. I was inspired by the challenge and the community. People read what I wrote and gave feedback, and vice versa, Remembering my first experience fondly, I decided to participate again this year and was very disappointed. It is no longer about creativity or community, but about commercialism. They sign you up for an email which they explicitly state you cannot opt out of, and which they use to solicit donations and purchases of their "swag" on a daily basis. Meanwhile, there were no communications whasoever from anyone running NaNo, or any fellow participants, welcoming me or asking me about what I was writing. I posted some writing and no one commented. I tried reaching out several times to various parties and received zero response. I stopped updating my word count about halfway through the month, and that was that. I continued to get the solicitation emails, and never could get off the list. After NaNo was over, I received a link to give feedback. Some of the form fields asked me about my experience with various entities who were in charge of creating community and shepherding writers along. Um, huh? I literally didn't even know these folks existed until I saw them referenced on the form. No one at all ever reached out to me, welcomed me, said anything about my writing, or made me feel like I even existed for that matter. This was an invalidating, lonely, disappointing experience and I will have nothing to do with NaNo again.

See critical reviews

Reviews (9)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

jamesf490
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
August 14th, 2018
I try to participate every year and the event is so much fun. The forums are pretty active and everyone is very supportive. Lots of great freebies and sponsor discounts too. Highly recommend.
Service
Value
Quality
nanos3
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 11th, 2020
I participated in NaNoWriMo once in the early 2000's and enjoyed it greatly. I was inspired by the challenge and the community. People read what I wrote and gave feedback, and vice versa,

Remembering my first experience fondly, I decided to participate again this year and was very disappointed. It is no longer about creativity or community, but about commercialism. They sign you up for an email which they explicitly state you cannot opt out of, and which they use to solicit donations and purchases of their "swag" on a daily basis.

Meanwhile, there were no communications whasoever from anyone running NaNo, or any fellow participants, welcoming me or asking me about what I was writing. I posted some writing and no one commented. I tried reaching out several times to various parties and received zero response. I stopped updating my word count about halfway through the month, and that was that. I continued to get the solicitation emails, and never could get off the list.

After NaNo was over, I received a link to give feedback. Some of the form fields asked me about my experience with various entities who were in charge of creating community and shepherding writers along. Um, huh? I literally didn't even know these folks existed until I saw them referenced on the form. No one at all ever reached out to me, welcomed me, said anything about my writing, or made me feel like I even existed for that matter.

This was an invalidating, lonely, disappointing experience and I will have nothing to do with NaNo again.
silvioe
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
August 22nd, 2017
I try to participate every year, and it's hard work, but it's so fun! It really helps me get back in the groove of writing, even if I don't finish the whole event.
Service
Value
evelynt29
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
March 8th, 2017
NaNo is such a fun event. I participate every year, and I don't always win, but it's always so helpful to force myself to write. Try it out!
christopherr63
27 reviews
44 helpful votes
June 16th, 2016
NaNoWriMo is awesome! I've had so much fun participating in Nanowrimo each year since I started. Even in the years I don't win I get a lot done. The website also has helpful resources for writers and a great community feel. A+ website.
laural61
2 reviews
19 helpful votes
September 14th, 2015
This site is pure love.

Love of millions of people with the same objetive than you, being the creators or the people who participate in the events. A diverse community who will support you, give you ideas and prep talks. And each and every one of them wants to achieve something.

The forums offers help of other people who is writing, ideas, games and suppurort in general. The website loads fast, is nice to the view and gives you a sensation of community, because this is it. The cost of participating is zero (sí, cero), but if you want to, you can donate or buy something nice for you (or a friend of yours).

An excellent choice if you want to complete something you wanted to compete years ago, or if it´s your first time writing a novel. I recommend it to everyone who tries to tell a story in their own words.
jann62
3 reviews
42 helpful votes
November 4th, 2013
Wanna be a REAL writer? Take the challenge in November and actually write a book. You aren't a writer until you work at it.
megk4
26 reviews
52 helpful votes
November 20th, 2018
I love the concept of writing a novel in a month (and I'm well on my way), but the NaNoWriMo community is comprised of people with low morals and a vague sense of right and wrong. They produced a pep talk by an author who used the word "suck" ten times, and when a few of us complained, we were lynched by people who thought we were prudes. Even the moderators defended the trashy, no-class pep talk. Considering the work they do with kids, it was surprising they'd even think such a pep talk had merit. (It was all about how writing sucks--and that's not my word choice. I never use that word.)
Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
chriso1
654 reviews
3,312 helpful votes
October 9th, 2010
November is National Novel Writing Month, and this is where it all begins. When it all begins, is one second after midnight on the morning of November 1st, and it all ends exactly thirty days later, during which time you are challenged to write your very own novel of 50,000 words or roughly 175 pages. Yes, they're talking about you.

The bad news, which is that you've never written anything more challenging than a shopping list, is considerably offset by the good news, which is that your novel can be utterly dreadful. That's not the point. The point is to write, and get to 50,000 words, by the very last second of the very last day of November. And if you upload your novel to this site and get it validated for length, you're a real novelist.

You'll need to write using your computer, so don't get 175 pages of notebook filled and then realize it's supposed to be a computer file of some sort. Aside from that, there aren't many rules. You can write alongside your friends, or on your own, as long as you're the sole author. And it's entirely a matter of quantity, not quality, just as long as you write. You mustn't start writing the book itself until the right moment, though you can have rough ideas beforehand.

Hundreds of thousands of people get into this, so you won't be on your own by a long way.

After it's over, you might want to carry on with rewrites at a more sensible pace, and look for a publisher, and get into the writing business seriously, or you might want to forget it ever happened, and delete the file, it really doesn't matter as long as you participate.

Hmmm... 50,000 words... just a few of my average-length reviews, then;-)

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the National Novel Writing Month staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

November 1-30. The world needs your novel.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about National Novel Writing Month?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about National Novel Writing Month?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business