Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

HungryHouse.co.uk reviews

Is this your business?
12 reviews
78 York Street
London, GLAS W1H 1DP, UK
Tel: 0800 612 3333
help@hungryhouse.co.uk

12 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
1
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

chrisw326
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/6/18

Hungry House is totally inept. Your order can be made up of items the restaurant doesn't even serve!!! They wait for you to pay then they bump up delivery time by nearly an hour and inform you that they don't have what you ordered. Customer service completely useless. Make you wait in a queue to be dealt with. No idea how they are in business...

danig6
17 reviews
29 helpful votes
12/22/17

I'm a disabled customer. I am unable to use the phone for phone calls, so apps and the internet are good for me.

I ordered from a restaurant three times before I decided to leave them a positive review for their good service.

A day later I saw it still hadn't been posted, which was odd. I went on the live chat to ask when it would be. They said normally within the hour. I said it was yesterday. They checked and said I should write it again. We ended the chat and I went to post it only to see I couldn't post it again.

I started a new chat and the person said they'd look in to it. They came back to say that my account was frozen(??) and it turned out it was because my phone number on the account was 07000000000 which was linked to another account that was 'suspicious'. I always put that blank number to make sure the place knows not to attempt to phone me because I can't answer. I informed them of this and that i'm disabled. They tell me I need a valid phone number and I repeat myself. They then say "Even a landline?" (!!!!) To which I repeated I CAN NOT USE THE PHONE.

They then assured me after ages (Baring in mind I came on chat to ask when my review would be posted!) they would contact their fraud department and get my account unfrozen, and to expect an email with that confirmation.

Today i get an email from someone saying they won't unfreeze the account and that I need to provide a phone number. I think I've evolved in to a parrot as I'm still having to repeat "I'm disabled. I CANNOT use the phone." They suggested getting a neighbour to give their phone number. To which I replied if there were a number I could use I would have. I'm a single lonely woman with severe anxiety.

Avoid like the plague. I thought there was a legal obligation for places to make sure disabled customers are able to use their services too. It's discrimination to be honest.

Tip for consumers: Don't give them your money.

Service
Value
Quality
noeleenl
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/8/17

Food was disgusting. Cornflake Tart was awful. I ordered chicken wraps, you could not even taste the chicken. I said no sauce, they put sauce in, I have no idea what the white sauce was, I kept wanting to bring up.
Not worth the price and ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING
Chocolate Cake and Carrot cake was nice.
NEVER AGAIN

charlese52
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/30/17

UPDATE: Customer service has fixed my issue after rereviewing the problem. -4 Stars-

I wish I could give them 0 stars, after receiving undercooked food and feeling ill today they made absolutely no effort to help clarify this or fix the issue, just brushed me off, no respect for customers AT ALL.

Customer service took over ten minutes on the phone, live chat then took another 10 minutes before an answer, this is before the website kicked me off the chat and upon returning I could NOT get through to anyone, maybe they blocked me so they didn't have to deal with me? Yeah I believe so.

Absolute fraudsters who illegally refused to deal with their customer.

alk104
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/29/17

hungry is awfull rubbish customer service late deliveries awful service they just dont care dont ever use hu,ngry house

lt70
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/2/17

Paid over the normal price for food - fine if it's delivered in a reasonable time - but was then told after ordering that it would take 1 hour 10 mins to arrive.

aktarm
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/19/16

WARNING!!
PLEASE BEWARE THIS APP IS A FRAUD!!!
PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!!
Food NEVER turned up!
Complained to customer services but they refused to refund, instead advised me to contact the restaurant directly, even though I had paid extra money for their services so they should have taken responsibility.
Also I've put in a review about the restaurant but the app hungryhouse rejected the review, obviously because of the fact that I have exposed the poor standards of this restaurant, they didn't like this as it will affect the review of the restaurant thus people will not order through hungryhouse app, and therefore they will utimately lose out on revenues, it's befitting isn't it!!!
When I report this to the FSA I will also highlight the fact that you are deliberately keeping this review discrete for your own benefit rather than watching out for public interest.

laurencej4
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/21/16

Went to collect my takeaway and found that the normal 20% discount doesn't apply to orders placed with Hungryhouse. The restaurant promotes the website so I thought I'd give it a try; now I'm also disgruntled with them. £4 extra for the privelege plus 50p if you pay online by debit card. A total rip-off!

davida215
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/24/15

We made an order for 3, it was £32, when the order arrived one of the orders which was advertised with chips arrived without chips and when we phoned to complain they said the advertisement was wrong, well my oh my they are really expensive king prawns, hungryhouse is an excuse to take money and not deliver what was ordered or take the money and not deliver at all and get away with it. If I went to India and tried it on there they'd probably rip my testicles off, maybe we should try that with the Indians that prepared our food, all we feel is ripped off, but on the up side we now know not to use this foreign British rip off site again. The restaurant was in Newcastle under lyme a place where a lot of foreign people go to rip the brits off.

paulj4
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/29/15

I have been using Hungry House for a long time on regular basis. I have downloaded their iphone app to make it easier for myself to order food while on the way home from work.
When i wanted to make the payment i receiver an "error" message so i refreshed the page and clicked on "PAY" button again to try again.
Then i have received 2 emals with order confirmation and when i checked my online banking i found out that i was charged TWICE!!!
I have made an instant call to the vendor to aware them of a single order, they did cancel the duplicate from their side however they told me to contact HungyHouse for refund.
I did use the on website built in chat to request the refund based on their faulty app and i was told that i have to wait 3 DAYS for the money back!!!
STAY AWAY from them, they basically generating cash flow for their business by taking unauthorized loans from customers on 0% interest !!!
Customer service person named Joanna was simply repeating scripted answer without any compassion , and when i requested to talk with a manager i was simply told that he will tell me the same thing so is no point!!!!!!
I have spent lots of money with HungryHouse over the long period of tie, i will no longer use their service as i have realized that they do NOT care about their customers at all.

Tip for consumers: Do not use them! There are many other website providing same service. I was their loyal client until now. I am OUT!!!!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
dicks2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/17/10

Saw the site on Dragons' Den years ago - a friend reminded me about it when I couldn't find a takeaway menu in the house last night. Really simple, top idea. The food was great and importantly, on time!

milesp
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/16/10

great service.. hate calling to order food so was much better to be able to do it all online. You just gotta search for the takeaway and you can see the menus too, then just order it through the website, easy!

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the HungryHouse.co.uk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
HungryHouse.co.uk?
Post Review