We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    DailyStrength

Corporate Values

Overview

DailyStrength has a consumer rating of 1.3 stars from 23 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. DailyStrength also ranks 330th among Blog sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Quality
    1

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • Good people get kicked off or closed out for no apparent reason and trolls get to stay and bully others.
How would you rate DailyStrength?
Top Positive Review

“Even though there are a few cliques... some of the people are beyond amazing!”

Lou N.
9/24/16

I reviewed this already and I think I shouldve given it more credit and stars. Anyplace can have cliques but this site does have a healthy amount of caring individuals that makes it worthwhile overall.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Harmful, not helpful”

Hope A.
6/10/17

As others have said here, there are some very sick people in some of these groups and I'm talking about the so-called moderators! It's really sad when people's lives are so pathetic they have to wield "power" over groups of people just looking for a friend or a kind word or two. They know the damage they can do to people's psyches and they do the damage on purpose. What is that if not "sick?" I won't name the specific group, only that it relates to parental estrangement.

See critical reviews

Reviews (23)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

people (12)
isism10
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 11th, 2019
What I've seen on Daily Strength is pretty much what I've seen on other support forums--too little support and understanding and too much of some posters telling others what to do in a pushy way. This is pretty typical of what I've seen in support forums in general. They attract all kinds of people so there is a mix of nice people and not-so-nice people. On the positive, DS does have a wide variety of forums covering many topics.
colleenr5
1 review
6 helpful votes
September 7th, 2014
I thought this would be a great place to connect with other widows/widowers and it was for a while. The post are not monitored very well and if you have a problem with an on line bully they do nothing about it. Martha was very heavy handed with simple things but when it can to bullying she never helped. People are mean and antagonistic... especially the male members.
loun9
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
September 24th, 2016
I reviewed this already and I think I shouldve given it more credit and stars. Anyplace can have cliques but this site does have a healthy amount of caring individuals that makes it worthwhile overall.
newt370
4 reviews
35 helpful votes
July 27th, 2013
After becoming a member the advertisements change from what the viewers and non members see. The ads are completely unrelated to health and many are really offensive and impossible to ignore. But the ads are the least of it. I was harrassed and threatened in one of their forums by someone who managed to delete their post although those options of deleting or editing are not available to regular members. Only the moderators have those options. Some of the articles written by the doctors make really bad unhealthy suggestions and sound unprofessional and more like something written by a blogger to draw attention to the site. Be careful on the abuse forum as abusers scope out their former or current victims in those foums, become members and continue to harrass them. And the amount of detail revealed makes it easy to be found by the abuser or to be used to harrass by other online abusers.
hopea5
1 review
5 helpful votes
June 10th, 2017
As others have said here, there are some very sick people in some of these groups and I'm talking about the so-called moderators! It's really sad when people's lives are so pathetic they have to wield "power" over groups of people just looking for a friend or a kind word or two. They know the damage they can do to people's psyches and they do the damage on purpose. What is that if not "sick?" I won't name the specific group, only that it relates to parental estrangement.
lh27
3 reviews
21 helpful votes
March 2nd, 2018
I was on the old Daily Strength site for many years and seems like more people were friendly there and gave caring support. Easier to make new friends then. When they changed over to the new site it seems most of the caring and supportive people left. It's hard to make new friends there now. Too many have their profiles private where people can't even read about them to know if they would like to be friends with the person or not. It's like a big do not disturb sign at those profiles! I totally understand people should not post their private info at profiles and they can have journals private that they only want existing friends to read but they could at least put their interests at their profiles, what kind of friends they are looking for if they are looking for friends, just tell a little about their self and restrict where only members can read it but to have it totally private as far as I am concerned they don't care about making new friends. If you want to post in the forums some of the forums ok site but for making new friends I find other sites better. That being said, I am sure there are some nice caring people there that would love to have new friends. Just have to find them.

Their old site was a lot more cheery, too. In my opinion it just looked nicer.
leahc68
1 review
4 helpful votes
July 3rd, 2018
It was a great site a few years ago. The new format stripped it of all humanity, helpfulness and comfort. It looks sterile, it's hard to find friends, it's hard to navigate, and the owners of the site don't care. I emailed them about the issues and they said thanks for the info, but did nothing. I'm going to try out https://www.supportgroupscentral.com and https://online.supportgroups.com. So far they appear to be free. ANYthing other that DS.
amberm102
1 review
3 helpful votes
June 15th, 2017
Plain and simple-their is alot of sociopathic behavior on DS. This place is no where to try and find support. You have people that just can't wait to damage someone else's mental state. They will have you thinking you are the one with the problem.
adminis5
1 review
13 helpful votes
July 27th, 2016
Definitely chaos! That's all I found in the "new and improved" Daily Strength. The highly touted "upgrades," which evidently are designed to lure participants from the small-screen/social media market, are nothing but nonsense when viewed on a large screen. Problems with access, views, intermember activity, and other functions, which were identified early in the beta stage (but were ignored by Team DS) resulted in a mass exodus of both users and groups once the site went live on June 28-29. Members loyal to DS are still plagued by these problems a month later, even though Team DS is "working around the clock" to correct them. Nevertheless, it appears that most users have set their medical and/or mental health concerns aside as they continue to plead with Team DS to make the changes that would allow their groups to operate; however, they do this with trepidation, since those who continue to express their unhappiness or suggest improvements are pronounced "trolls" and are ultimately banned by overzealous community leaders. Wise are those who have simply abandoned DS to seek help and support elsewhere!

What would be laughable (if it wasn't so pathetic), is that when migrating information to the "new and improved" Daily Strength, the team chose to include a significant number of defunct and inactive groups (plus their membership lists) that had been abandoned by their founders months and even years earlier. While this looks good on reports submitted by the team to Dr. Oz, it does not bode well for the future of Daily Strength or its few remaining members who are (im)patiently awaiting its revival.
susanf46
1 review
12 helpful votes
June 7th, 2015
The forums on Daily Strength are horrible! There are no monitors or faciliators. Rules are loosely interpreted and trolls run the show there. Good people get kicked off or closed out for no apparent reason and trolls get to stay and bully others. Daily Strength puts inappropriate advertising on forums and doesn't care. They do not reply to concerns or send out a robo response with no way to get in touch with them and address concerns. Stay away or post at your own risk.
lucyb42
1 review
6 helpful votes
September 22nd, 2016
The new version is so disorganized. I don't like anything about it. I'm looking for something similar to the old site. I don't belong there anymore.
susanf75
1 review
7 helpful votes
January 29th, 2016
Forums are completely unmoderated for the most part. Lots of trolls and very disturbed people. You can find help elsewhere in places that have more up-to-date information and won't subject you to abuse by Daily Strength themselves as well as those who troll the forums.
janetr55
1 review
8 helpful votes
October 11th, 2016
As in all aspects of life, there is good and bad.

If you think this is a safe controlled environment to receive "support"it is not

There is a mix of genuine individuals and some very sick people.

Beware. You could get very damaged
kathyw48
1 review
4 helpful votes
January 5th, 2016
I am bombarded everyday for the past month since visiting your site. Stop sending emails immediately, and I have contacted the Better Business Bureau about this matter.
Kathy Winemiller
*******@comcast.net
tonys72
1 review
7 helpful votes
August 22nd, 2014
Doesn't seem to work anymore, at least for me. Lost my password and sent request to get it reset several times and got no emails. It's not very well-run in the first place, it's got sub-Facebook interaction as far as accounts and messages. Not good.
Service
Value
Quality
ericm111
1 review
12 helpful votes
February 24th, 2016
MY EXPERIENCE IS I HAVE WORSE PTSD AFTER DEALING WITH THE PTSD SITE GOOD FOLKS COME BUT THERE IS A CLICK AND THE STAFF DO NOT CARE WHO REPORTS ON SOMEONE NO GOOD EXPLANATION, STAY AWAY FROM UNMONITORED FORUMS IT BECOMES CLICKISH AND THEN SEVERAL OF THE MEMBERS START RUNNING THE SHOW,,,, MORE HARM DONE THAN GOOD, GET YOUR SUPORT AT A CHURCH OR PROPERLY MONITORED SITE,, GOOD FOLKS GET KICKED OFF AT THE WHIM OF SOMEONE WHO IS I A LONGTIMER AND IT IS SO UNPROFESSIONAL FOLKS HAVE BEEN PUT IN CRISIS MANY TIMES ON THIS SITE BUYER BEWARE! DR OZ,, REALY NOT SO MUCH SHARE CARE BIG CORPORATION MAKING MONEY OFF THE ADS
kimberlys23
1 review
10 helpful votes
November 18th, 2014
I couldn't even create an account for this site. I kept getting an error message every time I tried to type in the "verification code". My requests for help via their "feedback" feature went unanswered. This is supposedly a site for people who are in need of help, and this certainly was NOT helpful.
patriciam33
1 review
9 helpful votes
February 18th, 2014
This site is not only unsafe (Firefox blocked the site because the java application is unsafe), they will block you and disable your account without a reason. Stay away from this site!
claudiak7
1 review
11 helpful votes
September 10th, 2013
This website is very dangerous. Because it gives the user the illusion of safety when it not at all. I saw pedophiles "hitting" on underage girls. Some people were really mean and abusive and the forums are rarely monitored. They do not really read the threads or just close the thread. If someone makes a complaint about someone else and with absolutely no other prove than a comment taken OUT of context. No one reads the whole thread. They just cancel the account of the accused NO questions asked. They don't warn them and they have no time to copy their Journals ect. Because of the way its presented this site attracts a lot of people. Even serious writers. Imagine you wrote for years on your journals in DS and one day someone with very low comprehension skills for no reason but a very silly one gets you banned and you lost all you writing or journals you poured your heart and soul into for years?! If had PTSD before, anxiety, depression or any mental illness they just re-victimized you big time. There is something very deceitful about this site. Its quite scary. At the same time I've seen people get cyber-bullied horrifically. This site could easy cause someone to commit suicide. In one word DANGEROUS. Very dangerous.
natzmm
1 review
8 helpful votes
February 25th, 2014
Just can not login, i tryed so many times... would never go back to this website
cj116
1 review
12 helpful votes
February 12th, 2015
In the group I joined, a few topics I posted got no responses at all, or maybe one, and my post disappeared to the 2nd page within hours. The "regulars" post up a storm and heavily support one another. So before you join, it LOOKS like there is a friendly group of people who will welcome you in with loving hearts. I believe that information is mined from the replies and journals by the "regulars" to write books and internet blogs on the topic (of that particular) group. Certain books are recommended in a topic posting, and it will be praised and heavily recommended by the "regulars" ad nauseum. You will feel invisible and like an outsider, and go away feeling far worse. The initial friendliness is phony and if you aren't of use to the "regulars" you will be ignored, and also possibly be victimized by mean comments so that you will go away and not upset appearances.

The site plants a serious "evercookie" which cannot be deleted in clearing cache and cookies, since it runs in many systems of the computer. Its a tracking cookie and nearly impossible to remove. It also causes long running scripts which froze my PC every time I left the site, also the PC crashed once (a new PC).

Emails opened from DailyStrength can contain tracking material.

This IS a dangerous site! Not just in psychological harm, or PC damage. I immediately was lured in private messages by a few users to give out my phone #, since the user was "not good at writing posts"... duh? Also the private messages were inquiring of my location. This site is a playground for predators.

The moderators will not care. They will have Daily Strength delete you with no explanation. With one browser I couldn't sign in, even with cookies enabled, I think because I had "Do not track" in place.

The "regulars" were promoting medicines and therapy in their topics/comments. This site or at least certain groups, are big $money-makers$ for the self interests they are promoting. Also group members will write how great this group of supportive friends is in this amazing group, but it isn't true, it's manipulation. The newbie will feel an outsider and will give up and leave, while the group will show a HUGE and ever-growing membership. The posts talk a good talk, but the talk is more for the non-member, not for the member. It's all about capitalism, and the dynamics jeopardize the well being of anyone who is vulnerable and actually needs support. Greater isolation and lack of trust in people will be the result, in addition you may be scammed by predators. The moderator won't care about the phishing private messages, btw.

AVOID!
nancyp6
1 review
9 helpful votes
May 6th, 2011
I went on that site because I have PTSD. I went to the Alzheimer's site and people were mean and blackballed me, so now I have been kicked off DS. I got kicked off with no chance to defend myself. Poeple on the PTSD site love me. I thought this was a democracy.
em21
1 review
9 helpful votes
November 2nd, 2009
I have just discovered nothing is sacred and have repeatedly asked them to cancel my membership as you cannot do it yourself. You have to request it. Everything on that website can be gotten to from searching google... even if you say your journal is just for friends. You can still see it going thru anothers entry that comes up on Google... Sad! This has been going on for a week.

Q&A (2)

Answer:

Someone in power and control might just not have like you. That happened to me on the old site.

By lucy b.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the DailyStrength staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Join the support groups and forums in DailyStrength's free, anonymous online community to talk to friendly people facing the same challenges.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about DailyStrength?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about DailyStrength?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business