We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Cozy

Corporate Values

Overview

Cozy has a consumer rating of 1.36 stars from 11 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Cozy ranks 88th among Apartment Rental sites.

  • Quality
    1
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
1
Negative
2
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • When confronted about not having a phone number their reason is because they don't want me to be put on hold.
  • 2 days later, he reversed the payments (before Cozy sent them to my bank account) and then closed his bank account.
How would you rate Cozy?
Top Critical Review

“Stealing money”

Byron G.
8/11/20

Beware of bad business practices. They charged me over 100 dollars in fees just to pay my security deposit and first month rent. AWFUL COMPANY.

See critical reviews

Reviews (11)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

phone number (3) bank account (3)
byrong41
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 11th, 2020
Beware of bad business practices. They charged me over 100 dollars in fees just to pay my security deposit and first month rent. AWFUL COMPANY.
reneea121
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 28th, 2020
I am here on a travel assignment for Covid patients. Cozy emptied out my bank account and the apartment was in a heroin/homeless infested neighborhood. My bank is "investigating" the claim. I plan to report them to the FBI. Meanwhile, I'm living in a hotel without a car. Thanks so much to my slumLord and COZY!
alycew2
1 review
3 helpful votes
September 24th, 2019
There are so many websites where you can find out your credit score, Experian seems to be the main one that is being used, so how come Cozy gives me a very different score than Experian whom they say they used? When you check someones credit it shows up on there report,, This company is a scam...
danam360
1 review
10 helpful votes
June 26th, 2020
I was looking for a program that will give me an opportunity to collect rents electronically. I wasn't interested in backgrounds check or credit reports or accounting and bookkeeping. I just wanted an electronic rent collection. I was tired of going to the bank to deposit handwritten paper checks and then deal with returned checks due to illegible handwriting. A bill payment online was the same drag, just legible. Cozy was my first and my only choice for that matter because it offered me what I was after. First of all, it's free to both sides - tenants and landlords (I am not talking about rent payments by credit cards, everybody charges for that service) and secondly, because it's Cozy's best feature, in my opinion, i. E. electronic rent collection and electronic deposit. It does exactly what I need: collects rent electronically from tenants' accounts and deposits those rent payments electronically to my account that I have registered with Cozy. I've been using Cozy since January of 2019 and there were never been lost or misplaced rent deposits. My tenants, who are a quite fussy crowd, don't have any complains about incorrect withdrawals from their accounts either. Everybody is happy. The tenants actually love the convenience of free of charge recurring rent pmnts. When tenants move out they simply need to stop their rent payments withdrawals on Cozy's website. If they forget to do that or won't do it on time and the rent payment does get collected, I simply return that overpayment to them. Cozy informs me when the rents get withdrawn from the tenants accounts - I get an email from Cozy indicating the date of withdrawal, the tenant's name and the amount. On the same day when I get that email from Cozy, I also see tenants' rent payments as pending deposits in my bank account. Great, isn'it? That's exactly what I wanted from a program: rents coming out of tenants' account and going directly to my account. I do my own verifications and investigation of prospective tenants. I don't use Cozy or any other program for that and if I screw up (happened once in my 19 years of being a landlord, I learned from my mistakes) there is no one to blame but me. I will not trust to do that to any software. There are many faucets to each of the verification steps, that process is very important and requires human interaction.
So, why did I give Cozy only 3 stars? Because it's not a very flexible program. While some Cozy's features are useful, like automatic late fees or suggestion to tenants to buy tenants insurance, some features are confusing because in order to use them one needs to jump through the hoops. When it comes to leases renewal on their website, I don't even bother. I don't indicate the beginning and the end of a lease anymore, I simply show on their website that all my leases are month to month. When a lease expires I simply change the rent amount on Cozy's website and the tenant changes his or her new rent amount to be withdrawn on Cozy's website accordingly. And yes, there is no telephone customer service, which is annoying when you have a question which could be resolved in a couple of minutes. But they are pretty good in replying to my emails.
So, what I've read in other reviews was a lot of complains which have nothing to do with the software performance. Believe me, I am a very big complainer when it comes to promises not fulfilled or when things don't work the way they were advertised or the way I expected them to work. But this is not the case. It's somewhat a simple program compare to others, but when it comes to rent payments, it does collect rents electronically, it informs me about the date when the money leaves a tenant's account, it tells me how much and it gives me the name of the tenant, and then it electronically deposits rents to my account. And that's the main function of this program, as far as I am concerned. I am not interested in other features because I have developed my own system and approach to many issues this program covers and If you want things to go smooth in your business, then you have to take control personally. If a tenants plays games and stopes/reverses the rent payments, it's not Cozy's fault, often it's your fault, because, in my opinion, you didn't dig deep enough into that tenant's background. Again, there are no guarantees in this business, but you always have to do your due diligence. I made a couple of mistakes in the beginning of my career as a property owner, but I've learned from them. Cozy is not your insurance policy against crooks and scammers, but it does very well what I need and what I was looking for: it collects rent payments electronically from the tenants' accounts and deposits them electronically exactly where they need to be deposited providing me with detailed information pertaining to those collections and deposits.
Value
Quality
susand595
1 review
6 helpful votes
August 1st, 2019
I have tried for 10 days to pay my rent, Cozy rejects the correct password doesn't send codes to access account, does not respond to emails, then sends emails that your account is past due. I will not renew my lease if this company is the only option I have to pay rent. The Worst!
staceym75
1 review
8 helpful votes
June 20th, 2018
When confronted about not having a phone number their reason is because they don't want me to be put on hold. Lmfao. It's scary to depend on a company that I can't speak to.
barbaraw326
1 review
4 helpful votes
October 18th, 2018
Site does not work on so many levels-bad
Set up password, but can't find site log in? What's with that, so set up another only to be told there is already and account, but still no place to enter to log in-frustrating!
Sent them a contact about problem. Used search to try to find my friends rental. Nothing works! Bad site
heata2
1 review
6 helpful votes
August 27th, 2019
My title pretty much says it all. Cozy is a haven for scammers and has zero customer service. Not even a phone number. My tenant wanted to pay through Cozy so he could automate payments and I stupidly agreed without doing much research into the site. So he paid the security deposit, first month rent and cleaning deposit via Cozy. I gave him the keys and he moved in. 2 days later, he reversed the payments (before Cozy sent them to my bank account) and then closed his bank account. So, now I have this weasel in my condo with a signed lease and I have ZERO dollars. Cozy offers ZERO support. I got an eviction judgment on the guy today and found out that he had been evicted the month before and ran the exact same scam (via Cozy) on the prior landlord.
staceyl11
1 review
23 helpful votes
October 2nd, 2014
Signed up with them but they are having major website issues with registrations and bugs. Customer service was very prompt and supportive but website registration issues made tenants very uncomfortable with registration.

Would suggest going with a company that has been around longer and has processes and procedures in place too much hassle to deal with on this one for now.
alann97
1 review
9 helpful votes
January 17th, 2018
Avoid Cozy for listing and screenig services. They have a nice looking website but they push your listing out to several sites that they don; t disclose that allow prospective tenants to contact you with zero qualification, There Screening tool for credit and background reports is poor and the only way that they communicate is via email so if you have a problem, as I did, you will get no help. I had several applicants pay $40 to apply for my poprperty but I was never able to get their reports. I feel that I will have to refund their $. I tracked down Cozy's phone number and the recording sounded like a personal recording on an answering machine that used a cassette tape... yes, you read that right. Definitely a FLY BY NIGHT OPERATION!
donaldj28
1 review
6 helpful votes
December 11th, 2017
I've had a terrible experience with Cozy. Everything set up fine, but when applications came in and they applied and did their credit and background check, I could not access them. Tech support was NO help. They kept throwing it back/blaming Experian. When I tried another site also using Experian for identity verification, it worked flawlessly. Told them about it and nothing... They said I had to wait 3 days and TRY to verify my identity again, but no guarantees. So here I have live tenants that have applied and I cannot see their info... Cannot intelligently respond to them as to the status of their application... I invested all the time with them getting up and running now when it counts. Trying to get a good tenant in a time sensitive situation, NOTHING>... So I would NOT recommend Cozy.

Q&A (1)

Answer:

You can't! It is not a real company. It is ran out of someone's home with a home made answering machine.

By Renee A.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Cozy staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

We're on a mission to bring peace of mind to renters, property managers, and landlords everywhere.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Cozy?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

1.4
11 reviews
Have a question about Cozy?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business