Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Coffee Meets Bagel reviews

Is this your business?
224 reviews
560 Mission Street
San Francisco, CA 94105, US
Tel: +1-916-445-1254
contact@coffeemeetsbagel.com
2018 Customer choice award

224 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Quality
2

All Reviews

na73
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/19/19

I get a message Hi pretty. Within 4 days I love you. Claims his name is Andrew works in cryptocurrency.Signs left and right scam: the first thing he ask me is about my salary reported him that day. He then claims to be in Lagos on business but he's stranded needs money!!

cpreiye
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/15/19

Are you feeling Suspicous of your partner cheating on you..?? I registered Spyzie App but i was quick to find out about a trusted and reliable mobile phone Spy expert..
.***Solidarity Hacker *AT* G m a i l . c o m*** This mobile phone Spy expert was very efficient and reliable. I was able to gain access to all the mobile phone Apps located and operating on my cheating partner's mobile device including but not limited to text messages, Phone call logs history and it's audio conversations , Twitter , Instagram , Snapchat , Viber , Kik , iMessage and all other Apps located and operating on my cheating partner's mobile device. When i got accross to the mobile phone Hacker/Spy expert:...***Solidarity Hacker *AT* G m a i l . c o m*** In addition he was able to help me gain access to all past and recently deleted messages and media files like pictures , short video and audio clips....e.t.c. I would recommend the services of the trusted and effective mobile phone h a c k e r/ Spy expert to anyone lookig for a similar service to contact the Spy expert...***Solidarity Hacker *AT* G m a i l . c o m***

stephaniek174
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/13/19

Every man here claims to be traveling abroad within 2 days of making a connection. BEWARE. They will claim their phones dont work well enough for face time but just good enough to send texts. The stories are complex and within a few days they will create a sob story asking for money. I have reported 5 men for fraudulent activity.

jamieh314
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/7/19

There are men in there that state they are in Afghanistan and the service. They will will you a sad story about a cheating girlfriend or a fiancée that died with their child. A emergency mission will come up and they will ask to ship a package of some kind to you, because they don't have family. The package will be stuck in customs and require a western union payment of 800 dollars. Lol it's a scam.

terrys358
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/31/19

Recover all funds lost to binary options scam. The government is doing absolutely nothing to peg this menace. I even filled a report about my loss to the FBI and paid for proper trace and possible recovery of my lost investment. Time wasting and their lackadaisical attitude made me look elsewhere for help.
Thankfully, my old friend referred me to a colleague of his (who specializes and has the required skilled set in recovering funds lost to the wrong hands .(Bitcoinretrieval2018 Gmail Com )

co26
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/29/19

Talked for 6 weeks. He never answered (busy with work) when I called and the intense pursuit was a bit overwhelming. I want you as my soulmate.... bought me a LV bag (found same pic in Poshmark) because he had to cancel our first date to go to bid for a construction job. He sent several pictures of himself throughout the weeks. Today he asked me to transfer money because he was having problems logging into his account in Cyprus and had to buy material for the mall he was building there... My brothers are 1. robbery detective and 2. money laundering investigator. Wrong person to try to scam. How can you be in Cyprus over 2 weeks and just now cant have access to your money.

scs10
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/29/19

I was new to online dating and but not new to dating. Chatted with a guy from CMB, he's caring and told me that he does morning devotion since young. He lost his mom (claimed to be a Singaporean) at the age of 5 and followed by his father a couple of years ago. He claimed that he is the boss of 40 employees and working at offshore. We chatted for about a week, and one day he suddenly called up saying that he wasn't able to transfer his money through his 'fake' bank account which the offshore owner paid him, and he needed the money very urgently. He even provided the fake bank (www.firstcitiunion.com) account of his assuring me that he has the money and asking me to try to do the transaction. Obviously, things didn't work out. He then requested me to drop a line to customer service of that fake bank for assistance, which i did received response from the fake bank. The customer service requested me to clear certain amount by paying certain amount into ZIRAAT BANKASI, which is another bank, but this time it is an existing bank. This so obvious that the fake bank was just a show, and if anyone was to transfer $$ to the real bank, in this case, ZIRAAT BANKASI, it will be a gone case forever. I'm taking it as a lesson learnt, and hoping to remind you guys here. The picture the scammer was handsome though... a guy originally from Korea.

lisaa397
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/29/19

Wow, welcome to Internet reality and disgusting scammers. I had no idea how bad this situation had become. Guys with American sounding names who mysteriously couldn't speak English, or sounded African but were from "Sweden". Just put my account on an indefinite HOLD. You should do the same.

graceb119
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/29/19

2 guys both in same industry one an architect and other a construction site mgr after reading so about all the men I matched I knew something was wrong!! How many architects can be on one site? This site should be called RealPeoplemeetScammers

yoshiek
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/28/19

I met 4 people here.
All scamer and FAke profile.
Everbody has same situation.

1: I need to travel to Turkey or Nigeria.
2; lets married I will buy ring.
3;.connection bad..please send phone
4:.lets open bank accounts.
5: I don't have money please send wire money.

They are not real person PLEASE BE CAREFUL I AM VOCTUM.
I ALREADY REPORT POLICE

shannonb326
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/26/19

4 fake profiles in one week... it's a shame bad folks can destroy a good business. If you're already in and paid, I recommend you request a new photo of the person making a thumbs up or a peace sign or whatever floats your boat. At least you can tell if the person is who they say they are.

More than a waste of time, it's kind of heartbreaking when you think you've finally connected with someone, and you realize they don't exist.

michellel227
4 reviews
25 helpful votes
1/25/19

I have to agree with many of the reviews below. This site has an incredible amount of scam profiles on it.

In the past I did meet some good people when the app was new. I was never approached by fake people. Then right before I went off the people started becoming fake. I thought it was because I suddenly hit an age where people deemed me desperate as a female or something. I never was approached by fake people on a dating site before.

I met someone (not from coffee) so I was gone for a little over a year. Now I gave it a go again and it is even worse than before. Literally almost everyone that I connect with is sketch. I don't consider myself desperate or bad looking but I just get so many fake guys. I try to sift through them and I managed a real date or two since I have been back but seeing75% of my matches as being fake.

Note: 75% of them are fake after I made a conscious effort to avoid fake ones.

It probably would be even more. Even one of them tried to call me at 2:30AM common.

I absolutely do not have this issue on any other platform. You would think they would create a system to make their site safer and more trustworthy.

Things to watch for:

1) Schools of scammers are usually weird if it's a really school they will write NEW york university instead of NYU, or in some instances their schools aren't even colleges a couple were high schools. Or the school is random and is not a school their noted profession would likely attend.

2) They always are not currently in the city or list a job that enables them to travel. I'm sorry but who lives in Manhattan and has an oil rig job. No we don't have that here, and if we do it's probably insanely rare.

3) They love you too quick, they write they are looking for love in their profile.

Be careful on this site guys. Sad I loved it when it first came out. I had a lot of good dates.

deeh97
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/25/19

This app is a SCAM. 99% of men profiles are all masters/bachelors graduate, with high professions (doctors, physicians, scientist, etc,) yet.... they can't spell properly. Next red flag? They can't talk on the phone because they're always busy working on "contracts", and they don't have an actual US #, so they want you to download some type of encrypted app. What a joke. This company should be investigated.

bend211
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/24/19

Finding a lot of fake profiles, are any women on here even real? Grad student @ 22!!? Come on.. really..

junj6
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/20/19

I connected with a scammer/catfish on CMB last month. Long story short...we had chatted/phone calls for about 3 weeks on CMB app and whatsapp. I was told he is an architect and structural engineer located in London UK with a phone number 44-7405-892358. He ran into some project problems all of a sudden (his project building collapsed in Turkey) and asked $20K to solve his problem. Yes only 20K not $20M (a building collapsed with some injured compensation only $20K??!!) His wrote decent english at the beginning but broken english at the end. Well, I know I have talked to some con artists! I blocked him and reported to my local police department and CMB immediately.

TODAY I FOUND THIS PROFILE WITH EXACTLY SAME PICTURES AND DESCRIPTIONS SHOWS UP IN MY "DISCOVER" SECTION AGAIN! WHAT DID CMB HANDLE OUR COMPLAINTS?!!

P.S> These pictures in his profile are belong to a well known fashion designer in Taiwan. Exactly same person as Amy C. reported here on Nov 25, 2018.

joannaj14
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/18/19

Scam City!
Had a guy "like" me, he was above-average looking and the right age range so I responded and started a chat conversation.
Within days he claimed to be deployed out of the country, but lived locally, and a few days later started asking for iTunes cards.
I refused.
I'm sure if I had committed there would have been increasingly expensive "favors" requested. I'm no desperate sucker.
Deleted the app.

annien27
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
12/26/18

Using another person picture. Asking to purchase iPhone or iTunes gift cards. Claim he is a petro engineer.

Forgot to mention it say he's 27 on CMB.

carlar68
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/24/18

Be careful with this claimed to be architect who claims to have lost all his family in an accident and will only try to get money out of you

marleef
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/23/18

I ended up cancelling my entire pay pal account hoping that would keep Coffee Meets Bagel from renewing my account....their service really is awful. I tried emailing them and contacting them with pictures of my problem and they only sent back automated responses that did not work.

jonathane79
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/23/18

I only was contacted by Nigerian scam artists and bots that struggled with basic English sentences. Kind of a red flag when chatting with someone with a graduate degree or so they claim.

felicityc7
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/14/18

His name is Ronald. He had requested me to remit money to him at UK for tiding over his business crisis. His webchat account is Ronald103 and he work as a independent or freelance architect. Someone else had wrote about him on 28 October 2018 at this web site -https://www.scamalert.sg/stories-details/Story-28Oct2018115036AM

martinec9
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/2/18

in 2016, when I first tried CMB, I was very impressed by the quality of the matches and the candidates. Really, impressed. As a result, I recommended CMB to several friends, and also wrote a positive review. Since one month, back on the site, I have been appalled at hiw things have changed. The most interesting profiles that they « suggest » turn out to be fake. Look out for photo-shoot perfect photos and then mediocre English, chock-full of mistakes that you might expect from India or Nigeria. The life stories they present often make no sense - he's from another country, but lives in US since years (generally as an eminent scientist, physician, or businessman). He lives across the countey, in another city, and is only listed as being from your city because he signed up for CMB during a business trip to your city. Oh, gag me. This site, despite its good intentions and its initial good performance, has become little more than a hoax!

mollyb69
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/29/18

Out of the four guys that I have connected to on this site, ALL of them are scammers. None of their profiles are real. All they want is to victimize women and get money. Here is what to look out for:

1. All are from foreign countries, went to school in foreign countries and have an accent
2. All have children that they claim they are taking care of by themselves either because they are a widower or came out of a nasty divorce with full custody
3. They claim to fall in love with you very fast
4. They don't have any friends and their family has passed on.
5. They cannot prove that they are real. They do not video chat. When asked to take a selfie with the date on a piece of paper, they cannot do it right away. It takes days for them to photoshop one and then that defeats the purpose.
6. Two of the scammers claimed they worked on an oil rig
7. They never provide contact info
8. They try and get you off the site ASAP to chat in a different forum

Be very aware of this site and men by the name of George Cohen, Vincent Smith, Mike Brown and Carlos Loriloto. They are good at what they do.

amyc400
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/25/18

Be aware. This guy claimed that he lives in Houston, TX. A petroleum engineer, very good with his words and quite a gentleman when chatting. Horrible English but appears fluent in French. Asked for $5000!!! This guy named "David" maybe using stolen Facebook photos for his profile pictures.

Value
ericw252
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/28/18

She went by Stephanie, Native American from North Dakota, Coffee meets Bagel, exchange numbers, was text only said she had a damaged phone. Was an awesome phone number though, when I tried to call it. Eventually, called her out, got a phone call from restricted number saying it was her, but with a heavy African accent. Ask about the accent, she denied it, asked where she was from, she said Austin, ask where she was raised, she said Austin. Definite scam here, beware. I'm just posting this because I deleted the bagel instead of reporting it.

130 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Beware of Any guy who claims to be "on deployment". Almost all of them are scams

By Joanna J.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If it sounds like a scam, ie they want you to send money, it probably is. Also if you've ever met the person face to face, and they need you to send money in order to met, its a scam.

By Daniel A.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Coffee Meets Bagel staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Coffee Meets Bagel?
Post Review