Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of City-Data

City-Data reviews

137 reviews
Young America, MN 55555, US
Tel: +1 334-298-8962
legal@city-data.com

137 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

rm106
1 review
24 helpful votes
5/13/19

CityData forums are pretty much the same as most social internet websites where posters can post anonymously and never expect to suffer any consequences of what they say.

The website is great if you post only factual data and not say anything about what you think about it; e.g., post a song with its title and singer but with no personal comments or post what you had for dinner without any additional comments about what you think about certain foods. You may still occasionally get an angry reply about any sort of hardcore music (bluegrass, rap, etc.) or about eating red meat or only veggies but simply ignore such replies. You can believe these sorts of angry comments are usually from a very immature poster with a lot of time of their hands or some elderly biddy or old fart who forgot to take their daily medicine

And if anyone thinks that CityData is made of all right-wing and conservatives inhabitants, you're simply not paying attention or are just an extreme partisan. Age and politics are by no means correlated in these days of social unrest.

eddiec94
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/16/19

i like to dabble in the down-in -the-gutter Politics and Other Controversies, but also like to dabble in other topics as well. One such post was one that I wrote about the deceptive packaging of Orange Juice products at the gtrocery store. Initially, I categorized it under the category "Food". Wrong choice! I received a smart-ass deletion that it did not go there. When I wrote the mod back (Beretta) to ask him which forum he thought he was appropriate, he wrote back in incomplete sentences. He wrote "Shopping" "By the way, it's against TOS rules to question a moderator. ooooohhhh!! Anyhow, I misunderstood what he wrote because i honestly didn't know that there is a SHOPPING forum. I honestly thought that he was "shopping" for an idea, so found another one that i thought appropriate fit. I found a category entitled FRUGAL LIVING where I thought that i would find some kindred spirits in conversation. The bastard came back to find my post and issue me an INFRACTION for disobeying his instruction to place the topic in SHOPPING. WTH! These mods are in need of mental help.

interestingo
1 review
13 helpful votes
3/23/19

It's been mentioned that the Moderator (moderating, indeed.. ) Ibginnie (may be a male using a female name), is troublesome, habitually deleting perfectly innocuous posts while leaving posts with truly hateful remarks untouched. It's not understood the rationale of doing this, so it just means the so-called Mod is showing favoritism to their cronies. I didn't even know what was going on at first, feeling like being in the Twilight Zone.

Otherwise, the site can be enjoyable with many topics and some posters being knowledgeable and humorous, enjoying the interaction with, yet as said, others can make things unpleasant, those who this mod appears to side with. It would be nice to visit a site like this run by rational, impartial adults instead, which all the "normal posters" would be able to enjoy.

pennyl52
1 review
12 helpful votes
3/15/19

The site itself is okay. The political forum is full of right-wingers, many of them on the fringes. I suspect they mostly live in their moms' basements or maybe in ramshackle cabins in the woods, surrounded by their guns. But whatever, it takes all kinds to make the world go 'round. My issue is more with the mods. Ibginnie is one who likes to delete posts that she doesn't like; strangely, the posts she doesn't like are generally the ones that call out one of the RWNJs for saying something stupid. She leaves the original stupidity alone, though.

All of the forums have their nutters.. I guess they are professional (unpaid) trolls. Lots of millionaires in the personal finance threads, lots of people who can't spell in the writing forum, people who post like they've never even laid eyes on a child in the parenting section. Conspiracy theorists galore. Occasionally you can get a question answered, but most of the time it's just a lot of one-upping to the point of absurdity. Decent way to pass the time, anyway, if you're super bored.

amandap279
1 review
8 helpful votes
3/14/19

If you read their forums and you are not white, Trump loving, hate Californians...this site is not for you. Also, I am in Montana and the postings are so awful, they also give a false view of my state. We are not a bunch if redneck Trump lovers. There are lots of Californians here, and many if them are nice people!! We vote the person -not the party. Party affiliation does not even mean much here. People rarely talk politics.
But after looking at other threads about other states, they all have these same gate filled comments. I am going to New Mexico soon, which is a blue state. The forums are about avoiding the "liberal tears" of Santa Fe. WTH??? Who constantly thinks like this??
Who judges everything and everyone through such a narrow lens? How Californians are all horrible people. I guess even the Republicans from California are worthy of this hatred.
But the racism stuff bothers me the most.

I will never, ever, ever join that site or look at it again. It us full of trolls and disgusting.

carlr214
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/11/19

There are very disturbing posts on this site about rape and when I pointed these out, I was banned. The moderators did not give a reason. They also apparently don't delete the disturbing posts of these individuals. This would not be allowed anywhere else on the internet.

lc202
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/7/19

I was banned for answering a question... Don't waste your time ..run & go to Facebook for real info!

priscillac39
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/14/19

City data seems to allow multiple posters to talk about adults molesting underaged persons (teens, kids) as if it were normal and perfectly okay. I have screenshots of posts that I have taken on this site over a period of months that I have saved in a Word document. They apparently do not ban these posters. The moderators are part of the problem. They either pay no attention to what's going on or they don't care.

joef279
1 review
8 helpful votes
1/13/19

She's the most outright bias, old hag, moderator known to man. She uses her "opinion" on what constitutes a snarky post yet allows another poster to post whatever the hell they want if they agree with her.

What's hilarious is she responds to trolls (which is against TOS) with nonsense advice (she's ancient) and they never return. Every time.

Her messages to the "offender" are absolutely the rudest thing I've ever read. Ya know...the thing she's banning you for!!!! Its an epidemic now. It's outright BS. She's on some sad, sad, power trip as if getting an "infraction" means a damn thing when you can just use another username. Hahah. Lady, you're pathetic.

F her and this place.

bobs591
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/1/19

RoamingTX is a user who violates the TOS and after many reports of his abuse they keep his abusive post and ban users who report him

sams580
2 reviews
16 helpful votes
12/27/18

Everyone. Do not post anything on C.D. web site, forum or purchase anything on their site. Your personal data is not safe. They do not have a certificate. At the very least, they are not allowed to accept credit cards without, at least, a 126 bit SSL certificate. Without a cert. you run the risk of hackers accessing your personal data.

saritam2
1 review
9 helpful votes
12/24/18

I would definitely not bother using City-Data. The minute any of the 30+ year regulars get upset with you, they ask the moderators to ban you, which they do! Go on there only to waste time, and to ask questions such as, "Is (name of city) a nice place?" Do not enter any of the other threads unless you plan to be completely boring and dull. You will end up eventually surprised by a lifetime ban because the older members got upset with you. The liberals (fond of whining) like to say that they get banned from everywhere, but the fact is that City-Data is a place where a small group have been online for a long time, and dominate the place. Go elsewhere.

kevins605
1 review
14 helpful votes
11/25/18

Fed up with this site. Ibginnie is the head moderator. Might even own the site. Not sure. Definitely petty, banning people for using functions built into the site. I got my account locked for posting a picture of the Dow Jones. Nothing controversial. Nothing crazy. Just, "Here's what the Dow Jones is doing now." The function of linking pictures is a built in feature of the forum, but it's sometimes against the rules when they decide that it is. Ibginnie seems to enjoy going after people who have the wrong political views, but even if I'm just imagining that part, banning people for posting pictures of the Dow Jones in a politics forum?? Are you f-ing kidding me?? I'm done with that BS!

weekendf
1 review
18 helpful votes
11/18/18

Some people are unhinged, angry right wing political types. They are allowed to blatantly insult you. If you retaliate or otherwise stand up for yourself, you will be silenced by right wing moderators who agree with them.

This has been the trend here for at least 10 years. Expect racism, hatred, bigotry, and blatant lies to be the norm, sort of like Fox news on steroids.

leeahl
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/17/18

My town has an issue with pit bulls. They we're attacking pets and today a person was attacked. I look to City Data to find a good town who enforces dangerous dog laws and is strict. Its my number one concern. This is what I find:

http://www.city-data.com/forum/dogs/279030-hot-topics-zero-tolerance-pls-read.html

jennyh113
1 review
14 helpful votes
11/7/18

I've been banned from City Data because the mods are realtors and didn't like me saying, "There's a terrible brown smog cloud that hangs over Denver that gives me asthma." They said I was trolling and banned me. Ridiculous censorship.

stevem760
1 review
19 helpful votes
11/1/18

Every criticism you read here is true. The mods really are right wing trolls who will delete posts and ban people if they are either A-liberal or B-intelligent. The place is full of boosters who never saw a bad thing about their city, and if you try to post a helpful idea or two to help the folks who are being willfully mislead you will be attacked and/or banned. It truly is the worst forum on the web. It has to be the fault of the website owners, who else could be responsible for this cesspool of hate and ignorance?

A lot of people say that the site is backed by the right wing hate group website Stormfront. The minute I mentioned that site on city data forum I was banned. Which brings up an important point....there is no such thing as being banned from any online forum. All anyone needs to do is get a different email address and user name, then use a browser like TOR that masks your IP address. No one can ban anyone if they are anonymous. I'm sure there are other ways to do this, such as using incognito and private browsing options with Firebox related browsers.

It's a moot point though, because once you go to the city data forum and see the quality of people there and the ridiculously right wing, heavy handed moderation, well, why would you ever want to go back?

larryb364
1 review
22 helpful votes
10/12/18

She deletes posts and locks threads that aren't personal or antagonizing to other posters but posts and threads she simply disagrees with. No idea how she became a mod but the site would be a lot better off without her.

stuartc96
1 review
14 helpful votes
10/5/18

Decent sharing site for most everything - about places and other discussions. Could be top notch...not because of the "site" or the "mods", but because of the community.
I have been online since 1986 and have owned some very large forums...and, of course, moderated them. I also have patents, trademarks and copyrights so I know the score. No matter WHAT I do....however softly I step, I keep getting infractions....which result in being banned for a number of days or weeks. They keep claiming charts I might embed or other pics are "copyright violations" even if they are from sites where it is declared (and the code given) that they want the images shared...and no copyright is claimed. In other words, a government chart (we paid as taxpayers - not copyrighted) is likely to get someone banned. The dialog box that comes up when you insert an image (maybe they should just get rid of it, eh?) says "make sure you have permission"....well, even if I do, they claim I am still in violation. Shame because it could be a nice site - the owner should get a bit more involved and update some of their rigid rules or at least make their dialog boxes match their terms of service.
Oh, others here probably have it right also...I suspect they prey more on moderates and centrists and progressives since the real rabid guys (Right) never seem to be banned. Bigotry, racism, name calling, etc....all seem find, but a chart with government data and you are banned for weeks.

jamesg731
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/2/18

I have been posting on City-Data, mostly on political topics, since
December 2014. I find the Super-Moderators fair and civil, as are most of the moderators. The level of debate is quite good, if not Lincolnian. I have even met one of the posters at JFK while stopping over on travel.

jeffg266
1 review
11 helpful votes
9/28/18

Mass mindedness at it's best. You would think cd would want their members to be informed and educated on current issues... but cd calls that "trolling." I was banned for stating the truth about Memphis... it's a ghetto! The 2nd most violent city in the U.S. according to the FBI. Mods must have political or finical ties to Memphis... or just enjoy sending sheep to the slaughterhouse. This is a wanna be reddit... don't waste your time!

marks1109
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
9/25/18

Yup, they're guilty of social manipulating. They are worse than CL, because at least CL doesn't moderate. I really don't "care" about it personally, because I know to them I am just "some screename, probably some jerk". (That's how I think they tend to view the world). But then, we ALL know, like porn and sex and drugs, it's "The gutter". And those who go there, are, well, we do not expect a Nobel peace prize contender. But it's scary/sad they still exist. Feel safe that kids aren't naive. Kids know. They know IG and Utube is where to go. This place is for the left overs, waiting til they're just 'over'. I actually feel sorry for them.

What that owner and moderator should do, quit, then go to New York. Work for the Times. Then say it there.

Go to the big stage. What are they doing acting like kings in the villiage for?

certog
1 review
20 helpful votes
9/25/18

Forum is moderated by right wing propagandists who have an axe to grind against liberals or anyone younger than 60.

sas11
1 review
27 helpful votes
8/11/18

This site has a lot hate speech, and trump supporters. If you hold any progressive views or seen as a liberal, you can find this site really uncomfortable. The moderates must encourage people with far right wing ideologies here as they don't seem to be censored. Even if you go to a non-political section there you will encounter very biased threads.

charlesh371
1 review
31 helpful votes
7/27/18

Going on City Data is like having your head jammed up Trump's ass while he's giving Putin a blow job.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 6
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The purpose seems to me to promote liberal ideas and to suppress conservative speech.

By John S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Ibginnie is a hard core Trump cultist who goes after those on the politics forum who are not.

By Dan W.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The good people get disgusted and leave, the trolls dominate and are protected by the moderators

By Rod S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

When searching city information for whatever reason city-data seems to be on top of the searches when searching by google. I have created my own forums and can't even get it to show up on google, so I would have to believe that they are paying for those spots on google.

By Phil B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I think Yac is handling all of the Ohio forums now.

By Phil B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They've been around for a long time, perhaps at some point it was a reputable site.  That is no longer the case.  I suspect traffic to the site is dwindling.

By Sam S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the City-Data staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
City-Data?
Post Review