Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of City-Data

City-Data reviews

133 reviews
Young America, MN 55555, US
Tel: +1 334-298-8962
legal@city-data.com

133 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

carlr214
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/11/19

There are very disturbing posts on this site about rape and when I pointed these out, I was banned. The moderators did not give a reason. They also apparently don't delete the disturbing posts of these individuals. This would not be allowed anywhere else on the internet.

lc202
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/7/19

I was banned for answering a question... Don't waste your time ..run & go to Facebook for real info!

priscillac39
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/14/19

City data seems to allow multiple posters to talk about adults molesting underaged persons (teens, kids) as if it were normal and perfectly okay. I have screenshots of posts that I have taken on this site over a period of months that I have saved in a Word document. They apparently do not ban these posters. The moderators are part of the problem. They either pay no attention to what's going on or they don't care.

joef279
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/13/19

She's the most outright bias, old hag, moderator known to man. She uses her "opinion" on what constitutes a snarky post yet allows another poster to post whatever the hell they want if they agree with her.

What's hilarious is she responds to trolls (which is against TOS) with nonsense advice (she's ancient) and they never return. Every time.

Her messages to the "offender" are absolutely the rudest thing I've ever read. Ya know...the thing she's banning you for!!!! Its an epidemic now. It's outright BS. She's on some sad, sad, power trip as if getting an "infraction" means a damn thing when you can just use another username. Hahah. Lady, you're pathetic.

F her and this place.

bobs591
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/1/19

RoamingTX is a user who violates the TOS and after many reports of his abuse they keep his abusive post and ban users who report him

sams580
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
12/27/18

Everyone. Do not post anything on C.D. web site, forum or purchase anything on their site. Your personal data is not safe. They do not have a certificate. At the very least, they are not allowed to accept credit cards without, at least, a 126 bit SSL certificate. Without a cert. you run the risk of hackers accessing your personal data.

saritam2
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/24/18

I would definitely not bother using City-Data. The minute any of the 30+ year regulars get upset with you, they ask the moderators to ban you, which they do! Go on there only to waste time, and to ask questions such as, "Is (name of city) a nice place?" Do not enter any of the other threads unless you plan to be completely boring and dull. You will end up eventually surprised by a lifetime ban because the older members got upset with you. The liberals (fond of whining) like to say that they get banned from everywhere, but the fact is that City-Data is a place where a small group have been online for a long time, and dominate the place. Go elsewhere.

kevins605
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/25/18

Fed up with this site. Ibginnie is the head moderator. Might even own the site. Not sure. Definitely petty, banning people for using functions built into the site. I got my account locked for posting a picture of the Dow Jones. Nothing controversial. Nothing crazy. Just, "Here's what the Dow Jones is doing now." The function of linking pictures is a built in feature of the forum, but it's sometimes against the rules when they decide that it is. Ibginnie seems to enjoy going after people who have the wrong political views, but even if I'm just imagining that part, banning people for posting pictures of the Dow Jones in a politics forum?? Are you f-ing kidding me?? I'm done with that BS!

weekendf
1 review
10 helpful votes
11/18/18

Some people are unhinged, angry right wing political types. They are allowed to blatantly insult you. If you retaliate or otherwise stand up for yourself, you will be silenced by right wing moderators who agree with them.

This has been the trend here for at least 10 years. Expect racism, hatred, bigotry, and blatant lies to be the norm, sort of like Fox news on steroids.

leeahl
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/17/18

My town has an issue with pit bulls. They we're attacking pets and today a person was attacked. I look to City Data to find a good town who enforces dangerous dog laws and is strict. Its my number one concern. This is what I find:

http://www.city-data.com/forum/dogs/279030-hot-topics-zero-tolerance-pls-read.html

jennyh113
1 review
7 helpful votes
11/7/18

I've been banned from City Data because the mods are realtors and didn't like me saying, "There's a terrible brown smog cloud that hangs over Denver that gives me asthma." They said I was trolling and banned me. Ridiculous censorship.

stevem760
1 review
13 helpful votes
11/1/18

Every criticism you read here is true. The mods really are right wing trolls who will delete posts and ban people if they are either A-liberal or B-intelligent. The place is full of boosters who never saw a bad thing about their city, and if you try to post a helpful idea or two to help the folks who are being willfully mislead you will be attacked and/or banned. It truly is the worst forum on the web. It has to be the fault of the website owners, who else could be responsible for this cesspool of hate and ignorance?

A lot of people say that the site is backed by the right wing hate group website Stormfront. The minute I mentioned that site on city data forum I was banned. Which brings up an important point....there is no such thing as being banned from any online forum. All anyone needs to do is get a different email address and user name, then use a browser like TOR that masks your IP address. No one can ban anyone if they are anonymous. I'm sure there are other ways to do this, such as using incognito and private browsing options with Firebox related browsers.

It's a moot point though, because once you go to the city data forum and see the quality of people there and the ridiculously right wing, heavy handed moderation, well, why would you ever want to go back?

larryb364
1 review
16 helpful votes
10/12/18

She deletes posts and locks threads that aren't personal or antagonizing to other posters but posts and threads she simply disagrees with. No idea how she became a mod but the site would be a lot better off without her.

stuartc96
1 review
12 helpful votes
10/5/18

Decent sharing site for most everything - about places and other discussions. Could be top notch...not because of the "site" or the "mods", but because of the community.
I have been online since 1986 and have owned some very large forums...and, of course, moderated them. I also have patents, trademarks and copyrights so I know the score. No matter WHAT I do....however softly I step, I keep getting infractions....which result in being banned for a number of days or weeks. They keep claiming charts I might embed or other pics are "copyright violations" even if they are from sites where it is declared (and the code given) that they want the images shared...and no copyright is claimed. In other words, a government chart (we paid as taxpayers - not copyrighted) is likely to get someone banned. The dialog box that comes up when you insert an image (maybe they should just get rid of it, eh?) says "make sure you have permission"....well, even if I do, they claim I am still in violation. Shame because it could be a nice site - the owner should get a bit more involved and update some of their rigid rules or at least make their dialog boxes match their terms of service.
Oh, others here probably have it right also...I suspect they prey more on moderates and centrists and progressives since the real rabid guys (Right) never seem to be banned. Bigotry, racism, name calling, etc....all seem find, but a chart with government data and you are banned for weeks.

jamesg731
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/2/18

I have been posting on City-Data, mostly on political topics, since
December 2014. I find the Super-Moderators fair and civil, as are most of the moderators. The level of debate is quite good, if not Lincolnian. I have even met one of the posters at JFK while stopping over on travel.

jeffg266
1 review
11 helpful votes
9/28/18

Mass mindedness at it's best. You would think cd would want their members to be informed and educated on current issues... but cd calls that "trolling." I was banned for stating the truth about Memphis... it's a ghetto! The 2nd most violent city in the U.S. according to the FBI. Mods must have political or finical ties to Memphis... or just enjoy sending sheep to the slaughterhouse. This is a wanna be reddit... don't waste your time!

marks1109
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
9/25/18

Yup, they're guilty of social manipulating. They are worse than CL, because at least CL doesn't moderate. I really don't "care" about it personally, because I know to them I am just "some screename, probably some jerk". (That's how I think they tend to view the world). But then, we ALL know, like porn and sex and drugs, it's "The gutter". And those who go there, are, well, we do not expect a Nobel peace prize contender. But it's scary/sad they still exist. Feel safe that kids aren't naive. Kids know. They know IG and Utube is where to go. This place is for the left overs, waiting til they're just 'over'. I actually feel sorry for them.

What that owner and moderator should do, quit, then go to New York. Work for the Times. Then say it there.

Go to the big stage. What are they doing acting like kings in the villiage for?

certog
1 review
15 helpful votes
9/25/18

Forum is moderated by right wing propagandists who have an axe to grind against liberals or anyone younger than 60.

sas11
1 review
19 helpful votes
8/11/18

This site has a lot hate speech, and trump supporters. If you hold any progressive views or seen as a liberal, you can find this site really uncomfortable. The moderates must encourage people with far right wing ideologies here as they don't seem to be censored. Even if you go to a non-political section there you will encounter very biased threads.

charlesh371
1 review
26 helpful votes
7/27/18

Going on City Data is like having your head jammed up Trump's ass while he's giving Putin a blow job.

charleyb25
1 review
25 helpful votes
7/26/18

There is something very creepy and bizarre in this forum when you evaluate the judgemental and hostile behavior of the moderators. What is wrong with this site that they would allow such censorship and rudeness by the moderators?? Very childish people running city data forum. You are warned. They dont tolerate intelligent debate, or even sharing the news if they dont like that news. The rules says you can share links to news and quotes but I was still harrassed and bullied when I did. One of them said "KNOCK IT OFF!"....I think they have some real egomaniacs over there.

rosea113
1 review
20 helpful votes
7/22/18

I second the reviews on this page, complaining about the unpredictable and unfair moderation on CD. You can get in trouble if you post anything which challenges the conservative mindset. And there are some very vicious types who do as they please but are never banned; perhaps they're the owners, for all I know.

CD is addictive: you can get useful information, encounter interesting people, and work on ideas anonymously. But don't make the mistake of thinking it's fair or become negatively effected if you get chastised and/or banned. It's still a zoo.

rods51
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
7/16/18

I have never seen such bad and misleading advice given to people relocating to another area. Many of the regulars are nothing more than jingoistic homers and rude trolls.

roset87
1 review
19 helpful votes
7/9/18

I keep getting "infractions" for incredibly inane stuff.

Two years ago, I was given several infractions because I posted copyrighted material (photos), and yet they were MY photos!

I tried to explain that repeatedly to the moderators and was told, "This discussion is over."

I give up. The forum is interseting, but apparently, I'm just not the popular girl in high school anymore, so I got voted off the island.

jamesg629
1 review
18 helpful votes
7/4/18

Most people there are moron idiot fans of Trump including the Mods, they suspend your account for fun and remove your thread if it's against Trump. You have no recourse they do what they want. You can't even discuss the moderation or you get suspended or banned.

The Mods will edit posts for people who like who are Republicans, but just delete yours if you are not for doing the same thing. Also one time I reported someone who posted a title "Operation Wet Back" about Trump's zero immigration policy at the south border and it was not removed. The next day a mod changed it to *** **** in the title. It was a total troll post but they likes it since they are racists so they left it.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I think the City Data forums probably grew unintentionally from the original purpose of City Data. They originally probably only wanted forums about cities. But even those have unreliable information. And even the main city pages of City Data have unreliable information. The best usage of City Data is probably to just ignore it and use other sources of information. The internet has millions of times more useful information than you could ever find on City Data. There are lots of forums about different cities. Even the official websites of the cities themselves are probably more reliable sources of information than City Data. I think the people who habitually post on City Data Forums are probably mostly old people who don't know much about forums, and found the City Data forums when they were looking for information about cities. They probably got in the habit of posting there, and might still not be aware of other forums than City Data. If you read what they post, you will realize a lot of them are very old, even older than a lot of nursing home residents. You can't expect old people to always have reasonable opinions, nor to always be polite. There's a reason why so many old people are considered "grumpy". As for the moderators being grumpy too, who knows? Maybe they're old too. They certainly seem to have a lot of moderators. Which implies they're all volunteers with lots of time on their hands. That implies they're probably retired or something. Or maybe even nursing home residents. Who knows? But we shouldn't censure them for being grumpy, when it's well known that lots of old people tend to be grumpy. It comes with the territory. Just post your questions somewhere else than City Data, and the problem is solved.

By Eric S.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The good people get disgusted and leave, the trolls dominate and are protected by the moderators

By Rod S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yac is constantly accusing people of having "duplicate accounts" and banning them with no warning or chance to respond. Do not use your account on a shared computer or shared wifi, or you will eventually be accused of this since multiple people will have logged on from the same URL. Dude is paranoid and/or on a power trip. PJSinger or PJSaturn (who apparently is allowed to *actually have* duplicate accounts) is a half-wit who defends trolls and doles out infractions (along with long, nonsensical lectures via PM) to anyone who stands up to the trolls or dares use facts. There are others (mention by others above), but these two are particularly frustrating. I rarely use the site anymore as a result, which is a shame-- it used to have a lot of potential, I thought.

By M T.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

When searching city information for whatever reason city-data seems to be on top of the searches when searching by google. I have created my own forums and can't even get it to show up on google, so I would have to believe that they are paying for those spots on google.

By Phil B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I think Yac is handling all of the Ohio forums now.

By Phil B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They've been around for a long time, perhaps at some point it was a reputable site.  That is no longer the case.  I suspect traffic to the site is dwindling.

By Sam S.
Questions? Get answers from the City-Data staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
City-Data?
Post Review