Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Cake Stuff

Cake Stuff reviews

11 reviews
Milton Ind. Estate
Lesmahagow, Scotland ML11 0JN, Scotland
Tel: 01555 890111
info@cake-stuff.com

11 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
2

All Reviews

patriciaw328
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/18/19

Before buying a product, I saw some negative comments, but still wanted to try this one. So, the service is not so good, but the prices are okay. Delivery was fine, but custom service wasn't.

Response from Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
Hi Patricia, we're sorry to read that your experience wasn't completely positive. We can't identify you or your order from this review, so please contact us direct and we'll be happy to help in any way we can. Thanks
debb198
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/10/19

Please avoid using ivory couture sugar paste, Keep your money for a better paste than this. I used it to cover a 2 tier wedding cake that I was decorating at the weekend. Elephant skin, breaks and tears, way too soft and flimsy! Almost made the cake a complete disaster!! customer support by Jean was really awful, She insisted I send her some of the sugar paste, which I had binned when clearing up. No apologies, no helpful answers! I wanted a full refund but she was adamant that she wanted some of the paste AND the packaging,needless to say I will not be recommending this product to any of my cake making friends and groups on Face book, VERY POOR SERVICE!!! If I could score ZERO I would

Response from Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
We're sorry to hear you had issues using ivory Couture sugarpaste. We're always happy to replace any product that does not perform as it should but, as is standard practice, we need a little information to help us identify the cause of the problem. We asked for the batch details (batch number and product date/time) which are printed on both the outer box and inner blue packs. We didn't ask for any packaging to be returned - we just needed that information. As no other customer had reported a similar problem with ivory Couture, it was essential that we could test a small sample, which is why we asked for this and obviously we would cover your postage costs. The problem is that if a customer throws away all the product and packaging and then reports a problem, there is very little that we, or any other retailer, can do to help. It's not a case of poor customer service - it's just that we're being asked to deal with a replacement or refund with no supporting evidence of any kind, which immediately puts us in an impossible position.
cakem1
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/9/19

I love couture brand fondant as a disabled cake maker, its is the best for me I just wish hate that the delivery charges for this company are by weight. it is the companies own brand so I have to suffer the £6.95 postage, why there so expensive i do not know, everything else I buy from other cake suppliers who charge half the postage for the same weight.

Response from Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
Many thanks for your review. We understand your concern about the delivery charge and are always happy to explain.

We use Royal Mail for smaller, lighter orders (normally under 2kg) but for anything over 2kg Royal Mail becomes too expensive, so we use DPD couriers who offer a next-day delivery service with a one-hour window and lots of handy 'In-Flight' options to help customers manage their deliveries.

The delivery charge isn't therefore a 'postage' charge . . . in fact, a box of sugarpaste like this weighs over 5kg so to send by Royal Mail 24 (the new name for standard 1st class post) would actually cost £21.90. By comparison, sending it by DPD only costs £6.95.

For UK mainland addresses, the £6.95 delivery charge covers any weight of order over 2kg no matter how many boxes we have to send it in, and deliver is free on orders of £75 or more. In the case of your particular order, one 5kg box of sugarpaste would cost £6.95 to have delivered but if you had ordered 3-4 boxes the delivery charge would still have been only £6.95.

The other thing that's easy to forget is that the RRP of Couture is £19.99, but our direct price is only £14.95. So when you look at the total cost of the product-and-delivery, it is £21.90 . . . that's only £1.91 more to have it delivered next day than the normal shop selling price. That's not bad value when you think about it.
annep136
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/11/18

I have used this company several times and have always been pleased with the products and the service. The website is easy to use, they have lots of products and as they use DPD, delivery is prompt and when you want it. I needed to contact customer service yesterday, as out of a large order, one small item was not what I had ordered. They replied within the hour and said that they had already posted off the correct item but that I could keep the other one with their compliments. Can't ask better than that. I can really recommend this company.

Response from Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review Anne. The nature of review sites and social media is that customers tend to respond only when things haven't gone completely positively. This means that so many companies, restaurants and so on seem to have loads of poor reviews when, in fact, 99% of their customers are actually more than happy with the service but don't feel moved to leave a review.

We're working hard to increase the range to 10,000 products, to improve delivery times further and to keep our prices very competitive, so please be assured that we never take your custom for granted.

Many thanks.
carolt141
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/27/18

I have just had my first order delivered from this dreadful company.
Some products slightly cheaper than other cake decorators websites, but quality of products is cheap and nasty. Customer services are even worse.
Don't bother with this lot - complete rubbish products and service

Response from Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
We're sorry to read your review Carol. Having checked your order notes, we can see that you ordered a tall box extension but had mistakenly thought it was the actual box you'd ordered.

Whenever we make a mistake, we bend over backwards to put it right for our customer. All we can hope for is that when a customer makes a mistake, they have the good grace to realise it rather than take their frustration out via a negative review.

We have confirmed with you that you received the correct products in good condition and well within the delivery estimate. The only issue was that you thought you'd ordered a completely different product.

Not really sure how that makes us "appalling" but we're to help if you need us.
darreng38
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/29/17

Order regularly and service is phenomenal, massive range of products and supererb pricing. Have just recieved a free sample of couture in my last order and cant wait to give it a go

tashas10
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/24/17

Disgusting custom service from director and staff abusive ,rude,and bullies . Will NEVER SHOP HERE .

Response from Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
Strange that there's no record of you as a customer on our system Tasha
lynng22
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/26/15

I've been a customer of cake stuff for many years now, i used to have to order different products from many different places until I discovered cake stuff who have everything I need in one place, they have everything I need and seem to be bringing in new exciting stuff all the time, every time I order I see something else I quite fancy trying. I've always been impressed with prices they're so much cheaper than most and the free delivery when you spend £75 is most welcome (easy done when youre a busy baker) and delivery is quick and efficient, in all the years ive been a customer I've had no cause to complain and any time ive had a call from any member of the team they are very friendly and know their stuff. I would and have recommended them to everyone I know and as far as I'm concerned there's no other cake company who can come close to them

Tip for consumers: Take the time to browse this fab site there are so many great offers and the Facebook page is fantastic

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
torrieb
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/25/15

Such a fantastic company that offers the best service you can get! I always order my cake supplies from here, very quick delivery and still a wonderful personal service the larger it grows. Thank-you so much!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jeanetteq
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/9/15

I placed a reasonable sized order with this company via their site (Jan '15). I ordered Meri-white but was sent product with BBE July '15, all previous edibles I've ordered via the web have had min. 12-18mths. I spoke to Jean who immediately dismissed my concerns and with a 'telling' attitude whilst constantly speaking over me, proceeded to tell me their products have a 2-3 shelf life and as mine had July I was lucky - wow! Oh and I should have called them before placing the order and checked the date with them. And if I'd scrolled down right to the bottom of the page I would've known - she couldn't wait to tell me I couldn't return the short dated product. Question, why is the shelf life of their products not highlighted so the purchaser can actually see it immediately, why is it hidden right at the bottom of the page-really important considering this product contains ALBUMEN? Equally, I thought their postage seemed expensive so when it arrived I weighed and checked on Royal Mail site, should have cost £3.90 yet I was charged £4.95, I did not have to sign for the package which I found very odd as their site says you do??!! There are obviously some confusing valid customer issues here. Interestingly enough the previous reviewer who gave this company 5 stars is called Jean, a little odd, wonder if it is the same Jean who has no interest in delivering customer relations. Would I order again, certainly not for edibles, certainly not if I needed customer service and I fully intend to let all the other cakers know of my experience on the caker forum sites I use along with consumer complaint sites.

Response from Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
We're sorry that you were disappointed with the service you received when you phoned - that is unusual and we're following up on this. I'll try to help respond to specific points:

As regards the product, we show a lot (a lot!) of information on each product page and far more than most of our competitors - we do this not to confuse customers and certainly nothing is "hidden right at the bottom of the page" but to ensure that all relevant information is clearly displayed: manufacturer, pack size, BBE dates, allergy information and so on.

We don't feel it is at all unusual to have to scroll down to see everything a web page has to show. We buy Meriwhite direct from the manufacturers and have it decanted in bakery premises into smaller packs - I'm afraid nothing we receive has a shelf life of 18 months (I wish it did!) and we do advise that all edible products sold have a minimum BBE date of 2-3 months.

Shipping costs are calculated by weight and destination. Postage may well have been £3.90 but there was also the box(es) and packaging so £4.95 for a package weighing 1kg-1.5kg does not seem excessive. Our P&P starts at £1.95 with courier deliveries up to 20kg for only £6.95.

The decision to use Signed For (new name for Recorded Delivery) on smaller posted orders is based on order value / contents, destination and customer comments . . . for example, there's no point in requiring a signature when the customer requests that the parcel is left in the porch if she's not in.

Last point re previous reviewer - this turns out to be a lady called Jean Kyle who has been a regular customer for many years. I can see why you feel 2+2=5 but no, this is not the same Jean as you spoke to when you called.

Like any reputable company, we take all suggestions and complaints very seriously but we're always left slightly sceptical when the priority is simply damage our reputation rather than resolve a genuine issue. I think the closing comment from the review "I fully intend to let all the other cakers know of my experience on the caker forum sites I use along with consumer complaint sites" says it all.

If we had in any way sent a short-coded product we would have been more than happy to refund immediately but the product received was correct, was well within the BBE date advised on the site, arrived quickly and arrived safely.
jeanm22
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/3/13

I've been making cakes for years and couldn't believe this brilliant company were right on my doorstep. They are an on-line company so I can't buy over the counter, but the do offer a Collect from Store option for local customers.

I have tried lots of high street, on-line and mail-order cake decorating and sugarcraft companies over the years but the prices at Cake Stuff are brilliant. I let a good friend who has a busy cupcake business in London know about them and she placed a large order - then she texted me to say it had arrved the next day and she reckoned she'd saved a small fortune on her previous supplier.

Their new website is brillaint - it looks great and is very easy to navigate. Photographs are clear, there's plenty of good information, price breaks, product reviews, suggestions for related products and free deliver over £75.

With cake decorating and baking so popular at the moment I just wanted to let people know about this little gem of a company. They are really friendly, their prices are amazing and they even ship worldwide.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Sorry, we don't quite understand the question. Please contact our Customer Service team direct using the Contact Us page on the website rather than use a review site as a way to try and communicate with us. Thanks. Here's the link: https://www.cake-stuff.com/contact-us-i132

By Alan Y., Cake Stuff Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Cake Stuff staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

3 Photos for Cake Stuff

From the business

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Cake Stuff?
Post Review