Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Bravenet

Bravenet reviews

5 reviews

5 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

jolieb
25 reviews
90 helpful votes
12/13/16

Being as I'm a poor, disabled artist, I've bounced around to different, supposedly cheaper web hosting and domain name registry services over the years. But I keep coming back to Bravenet. They are a little more expensive than a lot of services, but you also get a LOT more for the price. They don't get you with tons of stupid upgrades and they don't try to upsell you constantly. Their server downtime is minimal. They alert you when they'll be doing server maintenance.

I'm on the basic Bravenet Pro plan. They gave me a permanent discount so I'm only paying $11 a month (in three month blocks). I get unlimited storage and bandwidth. I can make as many sites and use as many domains or subdomains as I want. Their site builder tool is easy to use. I also get access to all of their Pro Web Tools with no ads or branding on them; this includes forums, email lists, guestbooks, password protect, etc. You also get access to a lot of theme templates if you want to throw something together quickly without wasting a lot of design time. While there are some limits in how many mailing list subscribers you can have or how many photos in a photo album and the like, this isn't an issue for me since my site is small and doesn't have a huge following. For those who need higher limits on those things, they can upgrade from the basic Pro plan to plans with higher limits.

Overall, on the very few occasions I've had to contact support, they were polite, listened closely when I told them what I had already done to try and fix things and, if it was something they could do on their end, fixed things immediately. If it wasn't on their end, they were good about helping me figure out what I had done to bungle things up.

I don't think I'm going to bother trying to find a cheaper service because it's looking like you get what you pay for. Most of the supposed "top 10 web hosting companies" I see listed online in various places (almost always the same companies, just in different order) claim really low prices but seem to have paid a promotion company to write those articles because most of them have really bad reviews from the users citing being overcharged, having to pay extra for services that were supposedly included, having poor customer service, constant spamming trying to get users to upgrade, lots of server downtime, etc. With Bravenet, I don't get all of those hassles.

Response from Courtnie f., Bravenet Representative
Hi Jolie, thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy to hear that you love our services.
mey6
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/14/14

Share Your Testimony Of God's Love.
"And they overcame him by the Blood of the Lamb and by the word of their Testimony, and they did not love their lives to the death." Rev. 12:11.

Recent 50 Posts
Start a New Post Forum is Open Board|Threaded

Topic Author Views Last Post
My Personal Thank You me 12 - by me - Jun 3, 2012 5:22am
WHY HAVE'NT YOU REMOVED THE POSTING "PEOPLE WE ARE PRAYING FOR" ????????? me2 60 - by me2 - May 3, 2012 10:33pm
REMOVE INAPPROPRIATE POSTING!!!! me 52 - by me - May 1, 2012 10:12pm

To: Graham White, Webmaster, Bravenet.com,

This is My 2nd Request to Remove My Comments from Debbie Reed's, ip 64.83.193.150, Bravenet Webpage, dated May1, May3, and June 3,2012.
My 1st Request was to The Editor,thru the Link, Reporting abuse of our Services, found on the Webpage.
The posting still appears, today.
One of my comments made it's own Webpage, and I am requesting the Removal of this, as well.

Ref. pub37.bravenet.com/forum/static/show.php?usernum...

She has Removed the Inappropriate Webpage I had requested her to do, and now I will again, request the removal of My Comments from Her Bravenet Webpage, and the Webpage You Created from them.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Response from Courtnie f., Bravenet Representative
Hi Me, I am sorry that you were having troubles removing unwanted comments from your Message Board service. Please note for future issues you can log into your account and delete the comment from your Message Board by clicking the delete button.
danaea
37 reviews
126 helpful votes
5/14/13

The reason I 5 star this site is because, though I NEVER used them, I had someone pirating my books on one of their hosted sites. I contacted them and within 30 mins, the site was terminated and the user blocked.

glendar
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/29/11

I had the same experience with the cell phone number - on top of that one of the things I wanted from Bravenet was a member map - and the link won't work on Yuku. I have tried to find how to UNSUBSCRIBE to Bravenet, but there doesn't seem to be a way. How do I get out of the cell phone "thing"? I have a line of my granddaughter's cell phone and certainly don't want her charged for my mistake.

Response from Courtnie f., Bravenet Representative
Hi Glenda, I know your review is old but I am sorry to hear that you were experiencing issues with text messages. Please note that those text messages were not coming from us. We actually have no way to text our users. Hope you were able to track down where they were coming from and put a stop to them.
sunnymm
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/11/09

Check it for your self and do not open the txt message - I was looking for a web design tools in the net. came accross bravenet.com.
they requested to register to create an account, then they asked for a cell phone number
I gave them a number. they sent me 2 txts from number 85115. the txt reads: Free txt
I open the messages and found out they charged the number i gave them £10.
please try it for you self.

Response from Courtnie f., Bravenet Representative
Hi Sunny, I know your review is old but I am sorry to hear that you were experiencing issues with text messages. Please note that those text messages were not coming from us. We actually have no way to text our users. Hope you were able to track down where they were coming from and put a stop to them.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Bravenet staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Bravenet?
Post Review