Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

American Home Plus reviews

Is this your business?
14 reviews
New York, NY
Tel: (917) 261-6922
info@americanhomeplus.com

14 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

sueb4
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/9/14

I wish I had seen the previous comments before we tried to do business with this company! My husband's company remodels homes, and has bought fixtures and supplies online and saved lots. An order was placed (and charged) 10/19/2010. On 11/28/2010, we received an email that the fixture was not available. It is 2/23/2011, and after 13 calls to the company, we have yet to see a refund! The poor receptionist is tired of hearing from n=me, but cannot actually connect me to someone to talk to about this. I always get transferred toa voicemail, and get no response. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!

buyerb2
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/11/13

I am on the phone now with american express, thank goodness i have a return protection plan, we will see what happens. i wanted to exchange/return cabinet pulls and they want to charge me the ridiculous 40% restocking fee. even the amex customer service person thought it was ridiculous.

susanh21
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/3/11

I wish I had seen this site first!

I used a site service that showed me the prices for an item I wanted to buy. AmericanHomePlus had the item I wanted at the best price so I went ahead and purchased it. The site listed that it was available to ship in 24 - 48 hours. Over 20 days later I was still waiting. In the meantime my credit card company called me that odd charges were being submitted so we cancelled the card. The charges were coming from Arizona that's all we knew. After another call to find out where my order was they said it was just getting on the truck from the factory so it couldn't be cancelled since it was in the process of leaving the factory. I said to cancel it as I'm renovating and can't live with the continual delay. They said it would be a 40% restocking charge (which would be hundreds) since it was in shipping. I told them "Good Luck" since the bank cancelled the card. They have phoned and sent emails asking for the 40%. Today I looked up where their domain names (web site addresses) are registered out of - and guess what??? Arizona. SCAM SCAM SCAM.

debm2
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/22/11

DO NOT, AGAIN, DO NOT ORDER FROM AMERICANHOMEPLUS.COM!!!!
Wish I had done my homework before ordering and paying for the merchandise. This company is a "SCAM". Read the reviews...they are all the same reason. Merchandise paid, never received, called company, items are on backorder, will ship next week, items never shipped, numerous phone calls, call received in a voice mail box, never receive a call back. This company is out for YOUR $$$$$.

kena2
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/8/11

4 months later still no refund....criminals

georges17
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/28/11

Listen to all the others and do not do business with this company!! I received an order 25 days after I cancelled it with a confirmation number. I received nothing from the vendor either via a call or e-mail regarding a ship date despite nummerous attempts on my part before cancelling. When it arrived nearly four weeks later due to their error, I was expected to pay for it or pay a 40% restock fee on a $650 item . I ended up spending my own $75 to ship the item back to the manufacturer. They still called and were abusive and profane when demanding a restock fee. This is the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. Please save yourself the grief and avoid this company.

anad
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/14/11

DO NOT BUY FROM THEM!!!!!!! THEY ARE BUNCH OF LIERS, AND COSTUMER SERVICE IS AWFUL. THIS IS MY FIRST REVIEW IN MY LIFE I HAD TO WRITE ABOUT THEM SO UPSET WITH THE SERVICE. IF YOU WANT A GOOD SERVICE, AND WANT TO GET A PRODUCT YOU PURCHASE DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

tede
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/14/10

I have never written a review before in my life even though I actually owned a online financial company. Please DO NOT buy from this site. They have no customer service and products that I ordered 2 months ago still have yet to arrive. In fact they claim that the items might not be delivered for another 15 days.

In the past 6 months I have ordered over $30,000 worth of fixtures and equipment for our new home online. The online process has worked great and saved us thousands of dollars. This site has been the ONLY disappointment we have experienced.

I would never write something like this but felt it important to spread the word if it helped someone else avoid this mistake..

joes24
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/7/10

Ordered an item. 3 weeks still had not received it and was told that it would ship the next day. Called a week later and was told it would ship that week. Called the next week and was told the item was on backorder. At that point I canceled it and was told I would not see the credit until 2 weeks. I have decided to dispute the charge with my credit card since these sharks have no interest in refunding my money for goods never received. They will lie. Stay AWAY from AmericanHomePlus.com!!!!

iras
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/22/10

BEWARE OF THIS SITE! I bought an item from them and their return policy makes it impossible to implement if you have a problem. Now I'm stuck with an expensive defective product. Fortunately, I bought it using American Express and I am going to try to use their protection policy.

tammyg2
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/14/10

Ordered an item over a month ago. Kept calling and calling. Now, I requested for my money back. After reading the above reviews, I believe I am in for a long wait.

johnb39
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/28/10

I placed an order and heard nothing for about a week. After contacting them I learned the item had been discontinued. I asked for money back and was told it would take a week. About ten days later I was told it would be two weeks. Now after a month has gone by and after several unanswered e-mails, the money has not yet been returned.

leslier
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/15/10

DO NOT BUY FROM AMERICAN HOME PLUS.COM! This is a terrible company and not just because of the many bad customer service reviews. The workers are treated terribly by what appears to be an boss with serious psychological issues.

I called this company a month ago to inquire as to whether they had a particular vanity on display in their Upper Westside Manhattan showroom, Atmosphere Kitchen & Bath, as I wanted to view the item in person before purchasing and they had the best price online. Little did I know that I would be horrified by that one telephone call.

The customer service rep that answered the phone sounded harried and extremely stressed and no wonder! In the background was someone screaming and shouting profanities at the top of his voice to what I learned was another employee. F words abounded, he continued his rant at this person for at least ten minutes and the more I listened the more horrified I was. He was screaming that they were f'ing stupid and called them a f'ing idiot numerous times, while continuing with his terrible tirade.

The customer rep on the phone apologized profusely to me and tried their best to assist me and to stop me from hearing the rantings of what appear to be a mad man. Now I am also a business owner myself and understand sometimes being frustrated with an employee, but to subject an employee to such a humiliating experience in the middle of the office, where potential customers can hear him, no wonder his customer service leaves so much to be desired. His employees are constantly being harassed by him while trying to do their job. Who could work in such an environment?

I asked the rep on the phone if this behavior was the norm and they reluctantly admitted that yes it was. They said things had been that way since they'd started several months before. They even admitted to watching him lunge at a female employee! Do NOT shop with this company, you will be enabling what appears to be a caustic and abusive environment, by a boss who seems to think he owns his employees and can therefore treat them however he likes.

Needless to say I did not buy my vanity from this company and urge potential customers to avoid doing so.

kd1
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/14/10

I placed an order on Feb 25, 2010. Was told I would receive shipment within 2-3 wks. After hearing nothing, I had to jump through hoops just to get someone to tell me that my order was back ordered until mid April. When we still received nothing, I had to research again to find that now the order won't arrive untill June. The company is very neglegent in keeping customers informed of their orders and make stipulations regarding cancellations. Absolutely a company that should not be trusted!!

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the American Home Plus staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
American Home Plus?
Post Review