Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Airliners.net

Airliners.net reviews

Is this your business?
16 reviews
Santa Monica, CA 90404, US
Tel: +1-310-395-6249
support@airliners.net

16 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

davidc1678
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/11/19

Forums are potentially the worse on the Internet. Absolutely awful moderating, tragic discussions and the fact they allow bullying is simply ridiculous. Aviation is meant to be a welcoming environment and this forum / website is far from it. Disgusting to say the least the way they handle things.

johnc2081
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/10/19

The photos are great and if you have a question regarding aviation most of the time you get someone knowledgeable answering.

That's where it ends. If you want to discuss something, you better agree 100% with the almighty moderators or they will either delete your post and/or give you a warning. Discussion is one-sided and civil discourse/opinions are not welcome here.

FlyerTalk is much better in that regard.

kitw7
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/7/19

The photos are great to look at and there's good information to be had.

The forums are another story. They've long been dominated by pro- Continental Airlines posters and moderators and any sort of criticism of CO in particular will be met with deleted posts or warnings by some mods such as atcundevil who is a CO fan who will accuse you of breaking rules, even if your posts do not break any posted rules. That is abuse of power and limiting freedom of speech. Your posts will be flagged for any criticism of Continental Airlines and I have no doubt there are paid employees there to help shape a narrative and curtail any sort of dissenting opinions that don't frame the narrative they want.

tommyh68
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/2/18

Below average. Mainly for junk user forums with SJW moderators and bad search functionality. It was just redone last year from the very dated site.

Regarding UI/UX the site has really taken a dump. While it looks a lot better than the old site, the functionality of searching for photos is unusable. The old site it was simple, even if it was dated.

The forums, well it's been comical. For years it was plagued by (likely) paid trolls and spammers. I noticed quite a few that are very pro-United Airlines (formally Continental) and would flag a post for anything critical. Moderators would plot against users as well.

Then when they redid the site last year the funniest thing happened - they deregulated the forum signups (which had been capped as they "claimed" there were too many members and were working through it) and then anyone could sign up even after they were banned. The forums got feisty again, and the bullying real posters got fed up and left because of the UI changes and the trolls dissipated literally running off scared. New subscribers who knew what they are talking about ran off the trolls or they stopped posting as much. Either that or the moderators had less control to plot against users because of new management.

These days the forums are still junk and full of fake news but it's fun to read occasionally.

jenniferc341
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
4/9/18

Every type of aircraft pic. Every possible angle of every plane on Earth!!!
Huge archive of airplane pictures...

markb476
6 reviews
4 helpful votes
3/12/18

If you're an aviation geek, this site has it all from civil, military, space, and photography. WIth multiple forums in one, it can be a bit of a navigation challenge but you'll certainly find no shortage of information.

gd63
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/1/17

You will find interesting pictures, especially from older posters (slide scans), and pilots or flight attendants. It gets hairy when it comes to the forum, where people decide to blame anything from the weather to the telephone on the French, the Americans, or even Asians (i.e. racist.) People are weird online, but it is sad to see that the moderators do not bother intervening. So do visit, but don't bother joining.It's wacky out there. Stay sane,

mact9
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/1/17

Several years ago this site used to be the top thing for posting your aviation photos. Unfortunately after some ownership changes and bad management it has become an utter mess. The site is very difficult to use and not user friendly at all, and the forums are nowhere near as active or good in content as they used to be. I Wouldn't recommend this site to anybody.

giulioc2
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/12/17

I recall back in the mid-2000s when I would search endlessly for photos of airliners and how almost any type was accepted, size big or small, exposure satisfactory to fantastic. But now it's almost impossible to submit any photo to the site. The rules are ridiculous and beyond any reason. It also doesn't make sense. They allow photographs that clearly have been heavily manipulated to be submitted but not those in which little to no editing was done. I understand that a photo has to meet a certain criteria such as I mentioned above and that quality is important. However in Airliners.net's case, there isn't any sense. I can confirm that argument with some professionals who have uploaded photos in the past to them but cannot do so anymore due to there ludicrous rules. Not to mention the search engine has gotten to be too complicated to use.

joed159
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/17/17

This site was amazing back in 1999-the early 2000's. Ever since they sold the company, the ads and the overall layout have made this site a total pain to use. The search function is a total nuisance. I don't even think the new search feature pulls up the rights hits. I used to visit this site and relive some memories from years gone by but it has become such a pain to use that I actually stopped visiting the site.

Sometime you just have to leave a good thing alone.

justinv12
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/1/16

Looking up pictures is all I do on Airliners.net. In that regard it's a fantastic website, but I would suggest staying off the forums. The forums are run by little kids it seems and the arguments always degrade into childish insults. And the children that post and run the forums fall into these categories.

-How great is Michael O' Leary
-The ME3 are gods and not to be questioned
-I should have to pay nothing when booking a flight and still receive first class service
-Flight attendants should suck up to me and accept my flirtatious advances
-Airbus vs. Boeing arguments

The forums aren't worth paying for.

davem82
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/14/13

IF you're interested in pix of aircraft of the past and present, it's fine. Very good site search engine, but virtually identical to other sites such as JetPhotos.net.

Forums are useless except for occasional news. Pretty much like a roomful of angry teenagers.

If you're a photog, I'd have recommended it a dozen years ago as a self-promotion tool and guidance for improving your photos, particularly if you're in the aviation industry. However, it's developed into rank favoritism for a few, administered by so-called screeners whose standards are inconsistent, contradictory. (A little research on one such "screener" revealed a small town postal worker whose control issues had him booted off a number of other aviation sites).

I pulled dozens of my images from them a few years ago. I'm doing fine with 500pix and Flickr. Definitely do not pay A.net for access.

danb63
1 review
6 helpful votes
11/10/13

You can read posts for free and form your own opinion. Don't pay to join the site. Your opinion has no value. There are too many arbitrary and capricious mods on this forum. Mods are highly biased and delete posts to drive any discussion in particular direction. Some members are above forum rules.

johnsonp9
9 reviews
9 helpful votes
7/4/13

This is very interesting and important site. You can get pictures of planes and each angle of aircraft of every type from the site. You can have knowledge about Mechanics
of plane and any technical question related to it. You will see the rules, regulations and operation being performed on plane or aircraft on this site.

jackl32
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
12/22/12

Every type of aircraft pic. Every possible angle of every plane on Earth!
Detailed Trip Reports in the forum for airline obsessed enthusiasts. Handy question and answers on technical aspects of aircraft and airline operations. Inside perspectives on the aviation industry.
Easy to navigate. Very addictive

jonc
9 reviews
39 helpful votes
11/11/07

hardcore aviation dorks only - there are people who love commercial airplanes. i think they're rather boring, but if you're into airplanes this is the site for you. huge archive of airplane pictures.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Airliners.net staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Airliners.net?
Post Review