SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business

WyzAnt reviews

294 reviews
 •  Email business  •  Phone: (877) 999-2681
Find an expert tutor in over 250+ subjects.
Learn More
Review of WyzAnt

WyzAnt reviews

294 reviews
71%
Categories: Education, Tutor
1714 N Damen Ave Ste 3N
Chicago, IL 60647-5578, USA
Tel: (877) 999-2681
info@wyzant.com
Find an expert tutor in over 250+ subjects.
Learn More

294 Reviews From Our Community

Write Review

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
18
Value
18
Shipping
7
Returns
7
Quality
13

Review Highlights

katiec30

You can find my tutor profile on Wyzant to verify that. (in 217 reviews)

colleenf8

I am a tutor who receives over 90% of my students from WyzAnt referrals. (in 70 reviews)

paull11

All I can say is that this site is fantastic, customer service reps are 100% responsive and the management is great. (in 12 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

robynb27
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/5/16

My child enjoyed the session and learned more advanced math.

Ask Robyn about WyzAnt
Advertisement
maryb287
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/5/16

It was very helpful. The session went great according to my son. Thanks!

Ask Mary about WyzAnt
chrisj114
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/5/16

Great

Ask Chris about WyzAnt
isaiahl11
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/2/16

It was a wonderful experience. Thank you!!!

Ask Isaiah about WyzAnt
janete14
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/16

The tudor was well knowledge and patient.

Ask Janet about WyzAnt
davidj195
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/16

This my first time having a private tutor it was amazing.

Ask David about WyzAnt
jenniferg115
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/16

this app really helped me find a great tutor- and FAST for my son who needed help prepping for test. I'd recommend it to everyone looking for a nice selection of tutors that you can peruse through to see who best fist your needs and wants.

Ask Jennifer about WyzAnt
paulr160
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/16

Treat tutor

Ask Paul about WyzAnt
jakem62
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/24/16

I'm a PhD student in mathematics, and I was looking around for a way to make some extra income on the side through tutoring. I was finding hardly any work until I made my WyzAnt profile. Soon I had more clients than I could even see! I've now clocked 200 hours working for WyzAnt which means I now get to keep 75% of my fee. Granted, that means WyzAnt is still taking 25%, and that's a lot of money, don't get me wrong. However, it's entirely worth it, for two reasons: (1) I find so many clients through WyzAnt that I can fill my schedule and (2) I save tons of time - I waste no time advertising myself and billing clients; WyzAnt does all that for me. Put it this way: if it wasn't worth it, I'd have stopped long ago.

Ask Jake about WyzAnt
rhondar16
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/16/16

I've been a tutor for several years, for both companies and independently. Wyzant has been a great tool for me to find clients, which I get to screen and make sure we are a good fit. At first, the site takes a high percent of your earnings, but it doesn't take long to get the better rate if you're working steadily as a tutor. I even was able to add in my existing clients and still get 95% of my rate. Totally worth it to let my clients do auto pay with credit cards instead of me taking time every month creating invoices and constantly asking them when they'll have my check ready. Plus, Wyzant can provide background checks, which adds legitimacy and trust with new clients. They even provide tax forms for you. The online scheduler is great and easy to use. This site has tripled my tutoring income. I rated the site a 4 instead of 5 for the high percent they take at the beginning stages, but I have had only positive experiences with the site for the past 2 years.

Ask Rhonda about WyzAnt
cassandras11
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/16

Wyzant can give you plenty of options to work with for tutors. Although some of the tutors aren't fully truthful about what they know making to process frustrating.

Also it seems that the site's communication board has good days and bad days.

Ask Cassandra about WyzAnt
tereiak
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/7/16

Finding WyzAnt has been one of the best things I found on the internet. It has provided me with exactly what I've been looking to obtain.

Ask Tereia about WyzAnt
janeg42
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/7/16

We found an amazing tutor through WyzAnt. Heather LeBeau worked with our daughter and gave her some good tips to use for the exam. We hope that she will improve her score on the next test. Heather met with Lauren at a local library, was prompt and well prepared. I would recommend this site, especially Heather to anyone!!

Ask Jane about WyzAnt
annies50
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/5/16

Tutors are accessible and respond fast. The site is user friendly. I am impressed that my phone calls are always answered promptly. I highly recommend WyzAnt to everyone who needs professional academical help. It's been a wonderful experience. Thank you, WyzAnt.

Ask Annie about WyzAnt
melissao16
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/4/16

Fatimma ha been helping my son with math and she's great! Very patient and sweet. My son feels that he's learning from her.

Ask Melissa about WyzAnt
alexanderb62
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/4/16

He was excellent and knew the information. I will be using him again!

Ask Alexander about WyzAnt
emilyw56
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/4/16

Damion has been very patient and explained some concepts of statistics in a way I can understand the processes. He's been respectful of my time and very willing to help in any way he can and will research the answers he might not know. He also seeks to understand the processes we use (data systems) so he can help me to understand.

Ask Emily about WyzAnt
sanaad
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/2/16

Very good!

Ask Sanaa about WyzAnt
zackf13
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/2/16

great tutor

Ask Zack about WyzAnt
jeffp50
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/16

I needed a tutor for work in Photo Shop, and I found an excellent one!

Ask Jeff about WyzAnt
olgaj5
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/16

I so needed a refresher on my math, being out of school for 20yrs. Rudy was patient with me and helped me relearn the basics for my ultrasound physics course. thanks again

Ask Olga about WyzAnt
lynneg9
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/16

My experience with WyzAnt was excellent. I spoke to two different telephone information people and both were very knowledgeable and nice. I selected my tutor and she was everything I could wish for - a nice person and a good teacher.
I would recommend this service to anyone looking for a responsible person to study with.

Ask Lynne about WyzAnt
jamesk144
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/16

Great way to find the help you need. Provides many secure people who would help ! Definetly helped me a lot !
Thanks

Ask James about WyzAnt
terris30
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/16

First time looking for a tutor online; great website, easy to navigate, convenient for payments. Will use again in the future.

Ask TERRI about WyzAnt
tumh
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/16

Mary Wanzer was FABULOUS. Knew her subject inside out and backwards and was a HUGE HELP in helping me secure my new job! Highly recommended!

Ask Tum about WyzAnt
karenj73
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/1/16

This is a great site to find an experienced tutor. There are many options to choose from including online and face to face meetings. I will continue to use this site as my daughter moves on toward college.

Ask Karen about WyzAnt
tiffanyg33
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

Very easy to navigate the site. Really fast response from tutors.

Ask Tiffany about WyzAnt
lindal179
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

Ivan helped me unravel some of the mysteries of LR.
Very helpful!

Ask Linda about WyzAnt
naajiaa
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

My tutor was very patient and halpful

Ask Naajia about WyzAnt
kellk
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

Super resourceful and was able to get me the help I needed extremely fast!!

Ask Kell about WyzAnt
aaraea
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

I enjoyed my tutoring experience. It was very helpful and I did well on my exam.

Ask AaRae about WyzAnt
michaelb329
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

We quickly found a very accomplished tutor that ended up being a very good fit for my son. The entire WyzAnt experience has been very positive.

Ask Michael about WyzAnt
helenb65
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

Happy with my experience. Stephen was patient and knowledgeable. Me, being an older lady I needed patience. This is a very good web site. Thanks.

Ask Helen about WyzAnt
biranet
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

Pleasant

Ask Birane about WyzAnt
konstantinak
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

WyzAnt is easy to use and highly effective!

Ask Konstantina about WyzAnt
debm25
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

I found the website easy to navigate, easy to find a tutor I needed, and easy to pay.

Ask Deb about WyzAnt
ellent12
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

Excellent teaching skills, listening skills and we really felt she was interested in our needs.

Ask Ellen about WyzAnt
azzaa
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

I was worried and didn't know how to hire a good tutor. WyzAnt made it easy with the reviews and hours of experience that each tutor's profile included.

Ask Azza about WyzAnt
matthewf26
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

She was wonderful, patient, and explained problem well. She recognized where I was having trouble and talked me through it. It has been 14 years since I took my last Math class.

Ask MATTHEW about WyzAnt
carols132
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/1/16

Christiana was very knowledgeable, patient and empathic with my daughter in terms of helping her with math and her special needs. I would recommend her to anyone!

Ask Carol about WyzAnt
edmondl14
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/31/16

it was ok.

Ask Edmond about WyzAnt
chrystelel
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/31/16

I needed a tutor quickly (within hours) for an assignment. The website does not allow to see what tutors are online so i spent a long time to find someone.

Ask Chrystele about WyzAnt
robertw241
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/31/16

Helped my daughter catch up in chemistry class in one visit

Ask Robert about WyzAnt
benjaminm43
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/31/16

Most of the tutors are not available. When I do find a tutor, after the first session WyzAnt removed her from the site.

Ask Benjamin about WyzAnt
sylviab18
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/20/16

The first one had (1) good experience then she cancelled minutes before the following session!!

The 2nd tutor we tried ended the first session after 15 min and said there was no charge. Horrible experience!!!

Ask Sylvia about WyzAnt
johnb563
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/17/16

Will was able to make the mechanisms and reactions very easy to understand and remember. Helped greatly with homework and for last minute studying! Definitely recommend!!!

Ask John about WyzAnt
rumanaj
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/13/16

Brian was awesome for biology tutoring

Ask Rumana about WyzAnt
karenc126
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/13/16

I needed to find a math tutor for my daughter. Wyzant helped me locate a local tutor that had already been background checked and rated by other parents and students.

Ask Karen about WyzAnt
khoys
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/13/16

I had a huge assignment and like the average student I waited until the last minute. I had great help from a tutor who not only only took the time to explain but cared about the grade j received from the instructor. What a great experience.

Ask KHOY about WyzAnt
edithc19
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/13/16

In the last 3 years I have hired three different tutors from Wyzant. All three focused on different subject areas and all were very knowledgeable. They all worked well with my son to help him understand and improve his grades. I would highly recommend using Wyzant to find a tutor for your child. I recommend reading about the tutors qualifications, purchasing the background check and meeting the tutors in a public place or somewhere you can monitor.

Ask Edith about WyzAnt

11 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the WyzAnt staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
3/21/16
Answer
carole74
A: Hi Jude, tutors on WyzAnt set their own hourly rate, which makes for a wide range of prices. We find most fall within the $30-60 per hour range. Some higher level subjects (eg programming) might be a little higher. It's certainly possible to work within any budget you might have.
3/23/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
11/27/15
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the WyzAnt staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?
×
Have a question about
WyzAnt?
Post Review