SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Groupon reviews

966 reviews
20%
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654
support@groupon.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

966 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

sharal2

Customer service took only a few days to sort out my booking issues with a restaurant. (in 260 reviews)

tc9

I purchased several coupons from Groupon, and paid with my credit card. (in 61 reviews)

rickb4

2 weeks after that, they sent me an email announcing my store was "too small" for their site. (in 34 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

chads10
New Reviewer
8/13/14

Difficult to obtain a refund once a voucher is purchased even if the merchant is unwilling to honor the Groupon! I've utilized groupon several times in the past and have been happy, but they DID NOT live up to their promise to make things right when a merchant was unwilling to honor a groupon. I ended up having to call the credit card company in order to initiate a refund. You'll be disappointed with Groupon's customer service when a problem arises with their selected merchant's. In addition, the only way you will be able to solve the problem is through e-mail as they DO NOT have a contact number. In addition, the first several e-mails you receive will be canned responses from a "representative" that doesn't even seem to read the issue at hand.

davidt84
New Reviewer
8/12/14

I purchased vouchers. then found out that couldn't be used in my area. Groupon didn't refund stating that the vendor would contact me. Vendor didn't, nothing has happened and Groupon still has my money.

lindam109
New Reviewer
8/12/14

I purchased Angels baseball tickets thinking I would get better seats than I could purchase on my own. Groupon does not tell you where the tickets are until game day. You find out two hours prior to the game where you can pick them up at will call. I ended up getting the worst seats ever! I paid $38 (with discount) a piece for $18 seats. I was ripped off! I could not return them and get better seats because the office was closed at the time I received my tickets. I called to complain and get some of my money back and they gave me 25 groupon bucks. Wow! I did notice that the tickets are now $6 a piece. Groupon knows they ripped me off and refused to make reparations.... But they did reduce the price of the tickets on their website which is great for people purchasing from here on.

alexs234
New Reviewer
8/12/14

Well, no wonder, they are from chicago. Both orders still not shipped. One has been over three weeks, other over a week. Horrible customer service, too greedy, they are selling too many things but do not ship well. Disgrace.

wendelc
New Reviewer
8/11/14

I purchased an oil change from groupon, when I tried to redeem the groupon I was told that my car only uses synthetic oil and the groupon was "useless" for that so I would need to pay full price. I tried to get my money back and Groupon said since the fine print say I may have to pay extra for upgrade then I cannot get a refund. That is fraud and I would suggest you stay away from all Groupon offer

johna320
New Reviewer
8/10/14

There is no real savings with Groupon. I and my wife went to Fig and Olive as a couple ended up paying $160 with the tip. Where is the saving? You are only allowed to have one dessert and second desert is $12.00, one appetizer second one $10.00 and they allow you $12.00 for wine and liquor and glass of wine is $12.00. I far as I am concern, this is marketing trick, I wouldn’t call a scam, show a discount rate and hit him with exorbitant add-on.

teresag11
New Reviewer
8/8/14

Initially, I contacted Groupon customer service to get assistance with purchasing two groupon vacation packages. During the call, CSR Eric was extremely rude to me. He abruptly shifted my attention from my sales to saying I have three accounts and how that violates Groupon policy and could result in termination of my account. Initially, I was confused about what he was referring to and asked whether he meant the accounts I helped my son and sister setup. Then I couldn't help thinking HOW could their accounts be linked to my account. I asked whether he could confirm the email address so I could make sure he was indeed referring to my account. He then advised of the email addresses which were two separate business accounts with TWO different tax I.d. numbers N O T my personal account. I repeatedly tried to explain that I called customer service a number of months ago because I was locked out of the accounts and wasn't able to recall my log in information when we opened our second and third salon so we set up a new account as well as a separate business account for the new location. Eric continued chastising me regarding the matter so I asked for his supervisor. He literally said, "lets just set the issue aside and pretend we never mentioned it". I was persistent about speaking to a supervisor and it took a lot of persistence for him to respect my wishes. CSR, Carrie took over the call and disregarded anything I had to say. It was evident that she didn't care to hear what I had to say so I told her I will not be booking the Groupon getaway. She then went from calling meMrs. Green to Theresa. I exexpressed that I don't feel we have a rapport that makes me comfortable with her calling me by my first name and repeatedly reminded her not to address me by my first name. She completely disregarded my request and said she mistakenly forgot. I asked her if she would allow me to conference a call with a supervisor because she refused to escalate the call. She kept telling me she will not allow me to conference her in on a call with the management team. She abruptly hung up on me. When I called back, a man named Ien said he is on the same team as Carrie and he will not be escalating the call because both him and Carrie are the absolute highest in the chain of command. I told him that I have a direct extension for a manager but my call went to voicemail. He responded, "you can call your friend back then". I was horrified that Ien seemed to be patronizing me. I explained that I will be filing a chargeback for ALL the unused Groupons on my account during the time that I was locked out of the account and they have since expired. I will also be purchasing my vacation vouchers from Living Social! Today, Groupon has shown me that they have absolutely no regard for customers! Groupon has also demonstrated poor customer service. I find it mind boggling that my sales transaction shifted from closing the sale to chatising me about the business account verses the personal account. At this time, I will aggressively share my horrible experience on websites that accept Groupon reviews! It is my hope that Carrie and Ien will understand that they are not the highest level of management that a customer can reach for customer service!!!!

philishiad
New Reviewer
8/6/14

I booked a get away to the red rock resort through groupon in May of 2014. In June I cancelled the trip because my fiance at the time didn't want to stay in the desert after we were married on July 5, 2014. I called groupon they told me they would refund it in groupon bucks. I decided immediately I didn't want 960.00 in groupon bucks. So, I called right back and requested it be refunded to my debit card on file they said ok. THey sent me a email stating they refunded my money but to my disbelief they deposited my money to a old account and the card wasn't even on file anymore. I was baffled why would they do that. So this began the phone tag, emails, repeated request and its been over 2 months and I still don't have my money.d ((this is only a few emails just to give you a idea of how inconsiderate groupon reps are, they are worst over the phone)) The fact that they stole my money cause me to have to change some of my wedding plans and boy was I not happy!

Ms. Pissed at Groupon


Hello,
We'd love to hear what you think of our customer service. If you feel the issue has not been resolved, please simply reply to this email and disregard the link below.
If the issue has been resolved, please take a moment to let us know how Carla did by clicking either link below:
Good, I'm Satisfied
Bad, I'm Unsatisfied
Below is a reminder of what your conversation was about.
Thanks,
Groupon Customer Service

Carla R, Jul 03 07:33 AM:
Hey Philishia,
Glad I could help. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.
Take care,
Carla R
Groupon Customer Support

Phlowa, Jul 02 05:58 PM:
Thank you I will contact my bank again.

Carla R, Jul 02 03:59 PM:
Hi Phlowa,
I'm very sorry for the inconvenience.
Your refund was successfully processed on our end. This means that the money has been sent back to your bank, regardless of your account status or if you have a new card number.
Once your bank receives the money, they will attempt to deposit the money into your account. You can contact their claims department to locate this refund.
If the bank is unable to get the refund to you, they may refuse the refund and return the money to Groupon. In this rare case, it could take up to 30 days for the money to be returned, depending on your bank. If you do not receive a refund from your bank's claims department within 30 days, please let us know and we'll investigate further.
Thank you for your patience and understanding.
Regards,
Carla R
Groupon Customer Support

Phlowa, Jun 30 04:11 PM:
hi
I have explained this 8x
i had a refund sent to my closed bank account. The bank told me that the money was never sent to my account. I was told from a customer service agent that the money was deposited to my closed account last monday. My old bank said a deposit was never attempted by Groupon. I need to know where my 960.00 dollars. I don't know what the process is but I feel like my money was stolen. I told several people at groupon that I am getting married July 5th and the 960.00 was needed to pay for my wedding and honeymoon. This is a very big inconvience. I need someone to call me and clear up this situation, I am also seeking my funds to be returned in a paper check as I know this can be done by you!


Angela M., Jun 30 11:40 AM:
Hi Philishia,
Sorry for any trouble! Your refund processed successfully on 06/23 to the card ending in xxxx. It should appear on your statement as a refund from Groupon, Inc.
Though the funds are out of our hands, it can take a little time for banks and financial institutions to route those funds correctly and post them to your account. This typically happens within a matter of days, but we ask that you allow up to 10 business days for your refund to appear on your statement.
Unfortunately, we're unable to expedite this process. If it has been longer than 10 business days since the refund was issued and it hasn't posted to your bank statement, please contact the claims department of your bank directly to check on its status.
I apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your patience. Please let me know if you have any other questions.
Regards,
Angela M.
Groupon Customer Support

Santhosh Yadav, Jun 28 12:04 AM:
Hi Philishia ,
Thanks for your email regarding Groupon Getaways. I'm sending your information along to a customer support representative on our Getaways team.
Thank you for your patience – they will be in touch soon!
Regards,
Santhosh
Groupon Customer Support

Phlowa, Jun 28 12:02 AM:
Earlier this week I cancelled a hotel reservation at the Red Rock Resort. My 960.00 was refunded to a bank account that isn't active. I relocated to a new state that does not have that banking branch. I am getting married in 1 week and I explained to 5 different customer service reps that I need my money in order to pay for my wedding cost. No ONE HAS HELPED ME. MY BANK SAID THE MONEY ISN'T THERE BECAUSE THE ACCOUNT IS CLOSED IT HAS REVERSED BACK TO GROUPON. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHERE MY MONEY IS AND IF I CAN GET IT REFUNDED TO ME IN A PAPER CHECK asap. My wedding plans are dependent upon me receiving my money back!

so as you can see BETWEEN GROUPON AND CHASE BANK I HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY 960.00. I AM COMPLETELY LOST ON THE NEXT STEPS TO TAKE.

wendis
New Reviewer
8/5/14

Wish I could leave a negative star rating. This site is the worst! You can find the same deals by googling most of what they offer on the site and not have to wait weeks for your order to be fulfilled. Customer service is a joke and trying to find a way to ask a question and get a legit response is an effort in futility. Buyer beware.

ginnyg
New Reviewer
8/4/14

I love Groupon! Have purchased a lot from them, always great deals, and what I like best about them is that if I'm dissatisfied with a purchase, they correct it immediately, even if it's w/ the company I purchased the goods/services! They rock! Great customer service!

nimas2
New Reviewer
8/4/14

First time buyer. Purchased an Xtreme 2600mAh Portable Battery Charger. Doesn't work when you need it even fully loaded. Needed it today on the road,.....didn't work at all.

Very disappointed.

mariaz9
New Reviewer
7/30/14

Purchased the teeth whitening kit in June it is nearly august now I still have not received my item, I have called up several times regarding this matter each time they say it will arrive the following week. NO IT STILL HASNT ARRIVED! worst customer service ever, awful company, all I ask for is a full refund how bloody hard is that?

hollys15
New Reviewer
7/30/14

It is the full of crap the entire site - the product they give you for your money is not worth it. I bought a pair of earrings for $99.00 and when I received them, the diamond was WHITE, the post was bent, the backing didn't fit. On top of that the product took over a month to get to me, and when I tried to return the product it was past the 14 days of return policy. I sent emails and requested customer service - there was no return calls or emails. This is the worst online ever. Only because the worst you can give is 1 star I will give that - it true star is in the minus. Total CRAP!!!

loum27
New Reviewer
7/30/14

I ordered an e-cigarette package on the 2nd July, was told it would arrive within 7 working days. It is now the 30th July almost a MONTH later and there is still no product. I have been in contact with the complaints team throughout this month who at first lied to me and told me it should be there "in the next few days" (I heard this a lot), however they have now told me that they have absolutely no idea when it will come as they didn't bother to track the package so it may not arrive, and will not send another. When I asked if there was any update with it 7 days later, I got a sarcastic reply which read "it appears you didn't read my previous email"...yes I did, I wanted more info! Best not to use this company as this isn't the first time it has ended in disappointment with me.

veeveel
New Reviewer
7/25/14

NEVER BUY THEIR PRODUCT. It's either fake or cheaply made. For example, their shoe rack that's suppose to hold 50 shoes broke within the first 2 days and I spent more money reinforcing the structure than the rack itself. Contacted customer service and said pretty much too bad so sad. No refunds. Hate them.

ewaw1
New Reviewer
7/25/14

very bad bad experience!!! I bought the mascara on special deal and never receive it! After 15 days delay I emailed them once and had the email back to wait as they dispatched it, I did not receive so after another 7 days I emailed them and there is no answer back for any of my emails. Never going to use Groupon again.

angiee1
New Reviewer
7/24/14

Dont buy vacation deals from groupon pd almost $1200 including hidden fees for a rat hole! Dont waste your money!

hk20
New Reviewer
7/24/14

They sold me a PowerBank that DOESN'T work for $15.
There are website that sell this same product for $5
Ebay, China websites and Groupon says "14 day delivery" past.
Well, they put order after 1 week and deliver in 1 week, so there goes the 14 DAYS RETURN after PURCHASE!

Are you $#*!ing kidding me?

tfh
New Reviewer
7/22/14

I have read several posts stating that Groupon is selling scam items etc. WELL as a business owner that did a run with Groupon let me tell you - IT IS WORSE THAN THAT! They are running specials and collecting money for items and goods they DON'T EVEN HAVE TO SELL YOU! They did this with my product line!!! I did a small run in August 2013. At best they could have only had 2 extra bottles. In December I was contacted by a consumer saying they had purchased but then Groupon cancelled the order - ????? I filled the order for her but had no idea what it was all about. More recently I logged into my merchant dashboard to discover that they had offered the special again this April selling 131 units - all refunded after 30 - 60 days. THEY HAD NO CONTRACT AND NO AUTHORIZATION TO DO THIS - NOR DID THEY HAVE THE PRODUCT ON HAND TO SELL. This is out and out fraud and you can be I will be pursing this matter legally. DO NOT DEAL WITH GROUPON!

aderc
New Reviewer
7/22/14

Stay away from Groupon. They are cheats! They never honour anything; i had the worst consumer experience ever. ..posting from Singapore.

jerrys38
New Reviewer
7/21/14

Truly dreadful experience. 2 weeks and still waiting for my order. Costumer service didn't bother to inform me about the issue, not when I contacted them they responded in a hazy manner kindly informing me that the problem lies on the vendor's side and there is nothing that they can do about it. Waste of time and money.

victorl24
New Reviewer
7/20/14

just wanted to leave a good review following my experience with groupon customer service. I was having trouble ordering a knife set from my phone so I called in. Crystal helped me place the order and even gave me a $5 credit for the error on their site. Yay! Now just keep your fingers crossed for timely delivery and I will be even happier.

Thanks,
Vic

js120
New Reviewer
7/18/14

I'm not even sure what to say, rip-off, yes. I ordered a set of 6 towels, paid and I received 2 towels. Before this, I received someone elses order, while I never did get mine. I will not buy from groupon again. Too many bad experiences. Not worth it.

pinkif
New Reviewer
7/16/14

Possibly the worse customer service ever from a company. I work as marketing for a big company and I constantly get cold calls from Groupon and it's very annoying to the point I just hung up on them and it's no point of telling them off because it's always a different sales rep calling. I do not want to associate with this company, they don't want my business therefore I don't want to give them business, why?

As a former customer they accused me of scamming and basically closed my account which I had no idea what I did wrong but making purchases. When I try to email them what was the reason they shut down my account they didn't gave me a reason and flat out said they don't want my business anymore. Seriously what did I do because I have no idea! I have accounts with groupon and living social but it looks like I will only stick with living social.

janel59
New Reviewer
7/16/14

My credit card number was stolen and the thieves ordered 4 computers from Groupon. Did Groupon catch this unusual activity? Hell, no! When I tried to contact Groupon about the fraud it took 5 days to get a reply - which was the typical, "you haven't guarded your internet activities properly" scold. I don't even have a Groupon account and they're screwing with me.

reneex
New Reviewer
7/14/14

I Purchased what was supposed to be A dinner cruise for 2, it was advertised as being 41% off, I received confirmation and when I went to book my cruise which I paid 45 for they told me that the code was only good for 1 person not 2 people. This is false advertisement if you ask me, they scammed me into paying 45$, thinking I had just purchased a dinner cruise for 2 seeing that its nomally75$, it was only a ticket for 1 person, which makes no sense because most of their cruise are about 56 a person not 75$. the customer service was terrible trying to reach someone at groupon, they gave me the run around, put me on hold when I asked to speak to a manager and hung up on me. I called spirit they were rude as well, told me that the 45$ value can/will expire even though the voucher claims it doesn't. I will never purchase from groupon again, very disappointed

scottd40
New Reviewer
7/14/14

I was trying to purchase a groupon for a getaway on a friday afternoon, but the groupon app would not actually let me purchase the groupon on the dates it said were available ... their customer service doesn't have any weekend hours, so they did not help (even though the site says they will get back to you within 24 hours), but groupons can expire over a weekend, so if you have a problem with a groupon on the weekend, don't even bother ... you will most likely miss out on the deal

michaelk61
New Reviewer
7/13/14

Echo the other reviews. The businesses groupon represents get scammed as well so be prepared to get dirty looks when trying to use a coupon.

Horrible customer service. Instead of the customer always being right it's blame the customer for everything.

Complete waste of time and money. Buyer beware!

stevenl40
New Reviewer
7/13/14

Groupon customer service sucks big time, they will always deflect issues to merchants or delivery agents. Even when a request to cancel an order within 5 min of ordering when I found that I need to pay for delivery charges, they claim it cannot be done.

There are some good deals but buy at own risk and you can forget about getting any decent service from them.

saras48
New Reviewer
7/11/14

Groupon is a scam! They rip the merchants off more than half of the deal they are providing for the consumer and then expect the merchant to to go backwards to provide them the best quality services! As a merchant we absolutely want to provide the best for every consumer but we can't afford to do it for free. The consumer is being ripped off and so is the merchant. Groupon is taking money away from both parties! They talk around in circles and never give a straight answer on the problem! I don't recommend anyone ever working with this company. I've had nothing but problems! The consumers seem to have tons of problems qgetting clear information on what they are buying especially if you are able to buy several different groupons and packages that are at the same location. The merchant gets paid for "supplies" that's a load of crap because they can't even keep track what they owe and when or if they even paid the merchant! If you see a tempting deal contact the business first and work directly with them!!

geraldl19
New Reviewer
7/10/14

Be very careful about trying to use an expired Groupon. According to the printed "rules," "the amount paid will never expire and may be applied to ANY (my emphasis) goods or services offered by the merchant if the promotion is no longer available." Since my "promotional value" was for a meal for two, and since that promotion had expired, I expected the restaurant to honor a meal for one to the dollar amount I had already paid. Wrong!!! I was expected to sucker a friend into paying an ADDITIONAL amount for their meal. The amount paid for a voucher may "never expire," but you cannot simply use that amount for a meal for one -- i.e., for yourself!!!

derderpi
New Reviewer
7/10/14

They are garbage...........fine print my ass.......12 days came and left and on the 14th day I get an email basically saying, "Unfortunately, we have NO IDEA what is going on with your order. Once we know we'll let you know.". Seriously? You guys have no idea, nor have any common sense to contact that supplier and ask them about an order? This is just mind bottling.............just want to slap myself on the wrist for not looking at reviews first......But yeah, looks these types of issues have been going on your over 2 years.....CEO needs to be fired or replaced

rm47
New Reviewer
7/9/14

I had a terrible experience, Groupon sold a course that wasn't accredited as it was advertised, eventually after threatening legal action I got a refund 5 weeks later!! And now I've been trying to get my account and personal information deleted but they keep ignoring my emails. Steer clear from Groupon.....

aparr1
New Reviewer
7/9/14

Please don't book restaurants deals with them.  They have found a very neat way to cheat customers.  I have been cheated twice so I know.  They tie up with a restaurant which publishes lucrative deals but has no intention of honoring them.
So I purchased a Groupon for a Mediterranean restaurant. When I reached the shop I found it was closed. They had shutdown their Business but Groupon conveniently kept selling the deal. But when you ask for refund they give you only credits back. I think this is their way to show that they are generating revenue

Same thing happened to me with Italian restaurant,  only difference was that they were open but not willing to accept Groupon. When I asked for refund to Groupon,  they refused and only offered me credit.

This is the last time I am using this fraudulent site. Just letting other customers know what problems they might face if they take deals through Groupon. 

kimr36
New Reviewer
7/7/14

I ordered a "wine tasting." For 6 days the purchase said that it was "processing." Finally, once I called them to figure out what the status was, I discovered from the very condescending Groupon representative that the purchase didn't go through. She put me through to someone in their billing department who requested my credit card information which I did not want saved in my Groupon account nor did I want to give my credit card details by phone.

To further add to my negative experience, the only way to close the account is by emailing Groupon. It doesn't end.

bonniel19
New Reviewer
7/6/14

After purchasing a product off groupon and waiting for a whole month for it to arrive, I finally decided to give them a call.
Prior to calling, I'd used their tracking number to check the status of the delivery and it stayed constant on the 'shipped' status a good two weeks before this call. After speaking to a clueless customer service assistant who kindly suggested I wait another 7 days to see if it arrives, I asked to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor was busy (as they always are) and since they do not do outbound calls, she said she will escalate the matter and get the supervisor to email me the same day.
After waiting for the email for 2 days, I called them back, and was told that the matter is with the relevant department and that supervisor will email me soon. I refused to cut the call until I had spoken to the supervisor (who was busy again), the customer service assistant said since the supervisor was busy it maybe a while, I said I was ready to wait. After waiting 25 minutes, they simply disconnected the call. It has been 3 days since, still no email or communication what so ever. Still haven't received the products we bought off groupon and paid the delivery charges for.
I have since cancelled my groupon account and have resigned myself the to the fact that I'm never likely to get the product that I have paid for.

kristab1
New Reviewer
7/6/14

I love groupon...like anything else online you must do your homework to know hat you are getting into. You must also realize that companies that promote a coupon generally are in one of three catagories...1. they are a new business 2. they are a business on the verge of closing or 3. a successful business that wants to debut a new product or service. the goal of groupon from a business point of view is to get you there and show you their company with the hopes that you will like it so much that you will return and pay full price or tell someone about your experience. Many times with a new business they don't have things in order to be successful and with a business that is on the verge of closing you may not be able to save them and you will have a lousy experience. If you buy from groupon keep these things and check reviews or look at their website before investing a lot of $ into it. Because of groupon, my boyfriend and I have been able to afford things like white water rafting, zip lining, hang gliding, a zip roller coaster, going to the aquarium, eating out at our new favorite restaurant, eating at our old favorite restaurant and even the giant swing. It has opened the world to new adventures for us.

anthonyt27
New Reviewer
7/4/14

Received wrong item. Non-existent customer service. Ordered Davidoff Cool Water fragrance for men BUT instead received GLOW from JLO for women thus ruining a birthday present. I called customer service on a Friday - and a recording told me that the ENTIRE Groupon staff was off on a retreat to "storyboard their New Years resolutions" and would be back at 9am the following morning which of course is a Saturday when they are closed. Groupon is a company of amateurs.

tellieg
New Reviewer
7/2/14

a Dissatisfied customer the second time. The first time I ordered a set of Gillette blades and they were fake. It came in plastic bags and not the actual blade cover. I had to give it back to Gillette and let them know that the blades were not in a good condition which they approved. Called up Groupon and they say that we can refund the money to which when asked don't you guys know what is being sent, answer was no sir.
Now I ordered a RED bike for my child the receipt says Red but the box contains a Pink colored bike. Called up Groupon and again the same old answer we will refund you the money and cannot exchange. This was to be a birthday gift.
Anyone can sell anything on Groupon as Groupon does not verify or check the seller and the products.

randig
New Reviewer
7/1/14

I got a gift groupon for Spa 66 in the Hyatt Regency in Fort Lauderdale, FL. The gift was worth $225. The Groupon says there is a 20% gratuity (fine), but the spa said the package was worth over $400. No way! The couples massage is posted in the spa for $160; we got $30 towards lunch, and a bottle of champagne (probably not worth the $35. We had to pay a $90 gratuity instead of $45. Don't buy this one!!!

yanl4
New Reviewer
6/26/14

I booked a hotel on Groupon Canadian website, the hotel is in Canada, and I used a Canadian credit card to pay. Then turn out they charged me by USD and the exchange rate is 1.12. PLEASE READ THE FINE PRINT, or you cannot tell what currency you are paying.

patriciah31
New Reviewer
6/26/14

I think there are good deals to be had from Groupon, however, their customer service leaves much to be desired. If you have a problem with one of the companies with which Groupon has a sales agreement you are on your own to deal with them. This may seem like a simple phone call or email but it is not. For example, one of my problems of this nature was with a company called PhotoBarn for two 5x7" photos printed on wood. AFTER I spent my time uploading and editing the photos I put the Groupon code in the Coupon Code box and the PhotoBarn website insisted that the code was invalid. I tried three times. When it wouldn't work, I called Groupon "customer service," and they took 40 seconds to point me to the "voucher," in My Groupon which reads, "If you have questions, call PhotoBarn at xxx-xxx-xxxx." I said that I did not have a question but, rather, a big problem. The "customer service" automatron kept repeating his reference to the "voucher." I called PhotoBarn where I was forced to leave a message on their voicemail (at 10am MST). I also sent them an email, hoping that someone might actually provide some service. In the mean time I had to cancel out of the PhotoBarn upload and throw my time away. I've had a few problems with Groupon of which this is but one. Their MAJOR problem is that they don't have a contract with their suppliers that specifies performance requirements. Their suppliers and Groupon staff themselves can do anything to any customer that they want and have no accountability what-so-ever. I would have given them a one star rating but, sadly, this is normal "customer service," in the US today, so I rated them accordingly. We take their abuse and do nothing. Sad, isn't it?

mickeym17
New Reviewer
6/25/14

bought a groupon for water rafting, turned out it was wrong location. they did refund my 100 dollars but as groupon dollars. after a few months of not be able to find a DEAL
I purchased products instead. all I can say is I got dollar store merchandise at sears prices
I for 1 am done

sue-ellend
New Reviewer
6/25/14

I bought a Groupon for Whole House Air Duct Cleaning. I have two air conditioning units so I had to buy two. Total purchase was $88.00. The voucher said Mission Air Duct Cleaning in Worcester, MA. The appointment was confirmed by US Air Solutions in Phoenix AZ. The technician that showed up at my house was from Clean Air Duct Services. This guy told me $88 would not cover the cost for the whole house and tried to up sell me to $887.00. After I told him him no, he said he could decrease it $589. I told him to just do the $88 job. This amounted to spraying sanitizer into the vents (without cleaning them). I didn't bother to argue with him, I just wanted him to leave. I have sent an email to Groupon - we'll see if I get a response.

rr38
New Reviewer
6/25/14

Groupon does not assist and help their merchants or their costumers. Either parties harass each other all this takes place because Groupon will ignore you issues.
This is an email a Merchant received from a customer. all because Groupon is arrogant. Merchant had to take legal action for being bullied and harassed. Groupon has a shut eye on this and many other matters refused to respond.

I CONFIRMED WITH YOU!!!! Where does it say you will have to reconfirm with me? My god, you are a complete IDIOT. Absolutely stupid. I’ve never dealt with someone so moronic as you and I’ve had some doozies. You have no respect for other people where you don’t reply to e-mails or respect their time. You say that you didn’t reply because you were out of town… so right after you sent me an e-mail on June 1 at 8:35 AM you disappeared for 22 days? You come up with such circular logic that I’m surprised you can keep up with your excuses and lies. Give me a break. You are a real piece of work. My money is already been credited back to me so good luck with your hundreds of bookings. I’ll see if I can find you on any of the other daily deals websites and make sure everyone knows what a complete nightmare you are…… just wow….


I CONFIRMED WITH YOU!!!! Where does it say you will have to reconfirm with me? My god, you are a complete IDIOT. Absolutely stupid. I’ve never dealt with someone so moronic as you and I’ve had some doozies. You have no respect for other people where you don’t reply to e-mails or respect their time. You say that you didn’t reply because you were out of town… so right after you sent me an e-mail on June 1 at 8:35 AM you disappeared for 22 days? You come up with such circular logic that I’m surprised you can keep up with your excuses and lies. Give me a break. You are a real piece of work. My money is already been credited back to me so good luck with your hundreds of bookings. I’ll see if I can find you on any of the other daily deals websites and make sure everyone knows what a complete nightmare you are…… just wow….

jackt33
New Reviewer
6/24/14

Never buy from them .Bad customer services,paid but never received,ask refund but tell me send email only they even do have a phone number !! Never buy again from groupon.

kristinem6
New Reviewer
6/24/14

Booked a trip to Azores for 10/3. Never heard back from Azores express and when I contacted Groupon, they told me to hold off 3 to 4 days because they were probably just backed up. Never heard from Azores express at all so when I finally did, my return flight was no longer available. So basically Groupon deals, even though it includes rt airfare, you have nothing reserved after you have paid and the airlines is focusing on filling the seats with the more expensive travellers. Shady practice!

annf11
New Reviewer
6/23/14

Purchased Sketcher GoWalk.
Product clasp very poor quality. No safety features to keep unit from coming unclipped and falling off.
My unit fell off my wrist on day three while walking at a farmers market.
Do not buy this product and NEVER count on Groupon to back their merchandise.

pradeepb
New Reviewer
6/20/14

I have had worst experience with Groupon recently. I purchased a Samsung Tab and they sent a defective piece. When I returned it, there was not update on tracking of the product. Now the product is finally in their return center after two weeks, they have not processed the money back into my credit card yet. They do not realize the loss to the customers in opportunity cost.

The second experience I have is for the Starbucks coupon I purchased. When I went to a Starbucks at Price Chopper, they initially told that they will honor the coupon. While paying they tried to scan/enter the coupon number but it did not work. They even did not apologize for that and behaved rudely, thinking that I had exhausted the coupon. I had to pay out of my pocket. That was utter humiliation. With these experiences I would say a big NO to groupon.

ks62
New Reviewer
6/16/14

Groupon goods customer service is horrible. Couldn't even find a phone number to contact them on their site. Had to google and find elsewhere...because they DON"T want to hear from you. Lost my shipment and wouldn't reship because the deal was over. Didn't care to make any offer to rectify other than giving me $10 towards a future purchase. Tried multiple times...issues each time. Won't be ordering again.

11 Photos for Groupon

From reviewers

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business