SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Groupon

Groupon reviews

1507 reviews
27%
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654
support@groupon.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

1,507 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

robinr24

Tried for almost 3 weeks to resolve my issue using email and Groupon's posted customer service number - and nothing. (in 340 reviews)

angela334

I also got confirmation email that they received my return & my $$ had been credited back to my credit card. (in 69 reviews)

debbiee3

Just got back from a vacation 2 weeks ago where we bought the hotel room with a groupon. (in 44 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

charlottel5
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
5/11/15

like it

Ask Charlotte about Groupon
Advertisement
jamesb214
11 reviews
2 helpful votes
5/11/15

Over the years this website has gone with less than good deals.

Ask James about Groupon
dianar23
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
5/11/15

I check Groupon daily and use their local deals often. The only complaint I have is that some of the 'goods" deals take forever to arrive. Especially save$ with beauty and health and restaurant deals. I have also purchased many gifts such as facials or massage on groupon, again could not depend on a goods deal to arrive in a timely manner.

Ask diana about Groupon
pamc13
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/11/15

So far everything I have purchased has been exactly what they advertised. I have purchased Golf packages, nail salon certificates, massage packages, and other things along these lines. No hidden fees or hidden prints.

Ask Pam about Groupon
yorim
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/11/15

hey, i've been a groupon fan for a long time but not any more. purchased a vacation getaway voucher and then tried to contact the travel agent. good luck trying, as the agents phone number (travel by jen) is out of service. groupon is making a big mistake when they don't do adequate research before selling these expensive offers.

Ask yori about Groupon
lalits3
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/11/15

Please do not take anything from Groupon as they take the money and will give nothing. I have booked hotel from Groupon and confirmed over phone but when we visited that place the hotel owner told us that there is no any booking over here through Groupon. After several mails to Groupon we have not received our money back. Even you could not find the number on time. So please don't go with Groupon.

Ask Lalit about Groupon
annes39
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/11/15

Placed order for mixed traditional meats at £29.00 at last minute they confirmed delivery and when I looked at the order they had changed it to chicken box, instead of pork, steak, chicken and mince beef they were sending me chicken breasts chicken thighs and wings.
No comparison and you can't speak to them by phone to discuss the order.
Don't buy from this company

Ask Anne about Groupon
judyb31
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/10/15

I bought a perfume on groupon that I've bought a dozen times at Macys and JCPennys. The one I received from Groupon was the wrong color and smelled musty and old. It was clearly defective and not at all what was shown on the website. I have been trying to get a refund or credit for weeks. Groupon says a refund or credit is granted if product is damaged or defective... But even after sending pictures they do not stand behind their promises.

Ask Judy about Groupon
ejf
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/10/15

Groupon sent three product orders to the wrong address clear across the state from me. It was the address of a friend that I had once sent a gift Groupon to. I contacted CS and after four email exchanges they could not even understand the problem. They ended with there was nothing they could do since the products had already been delivered. They made no effort to acknowledge their mistake or to help get
the items forwarded to me. IM THROUGH WITH GROUPON AND THEIR OFF-SHORE CS FOREVER.

Ask EJ about Groupon
larrym61
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/10/15

I live in Canada got the deal for a hotel in Canada - Niagara Falls and Groupon charges me in US dollars? I could have just called the hotel direct and booked cheaper. When I read the fine print showed nothing for Us only said I would pay parking 30 CAD and a couple other CAD were pointed out. When I booked the deal it showed on my receipt $187.00 didn't say CAD or US. I emailed CSR at Groupon they said I should have read the fine print it says US and I say BS so watch yourself with this company they rip you off as if you need to even read fine print to see what you are charge. I will never use them again they danced around all my emails. They even removed the deal from my profile now cause it says nothing about US.

Ask Larry about Groupon
shivkanthy
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/9/15

tried a lot of deals in restaurent

Ask shivkanth about Groupon
steves150
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/9/15

Used Groupon until they forced me to view X-rated products for sale without my consent. Would not let a child use the application unless you want them to see vibrators, ejaculation items, vibrating panties, etc. Is Groupon in such financial trouble they have to compromise their company valued.

Ask Steve about Groupon
mariselam2
4 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/7/15

Great deals On my favorite places

Ask marisela about Groupon
tinaj21
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/5/15

I purchased the laser vein treatment. I have had the saline treatment and been very satisfied with instant results. I find once i have purchased the treatment takes 8 weeks to see results and most people need 2-3 treatments. It is painful may leave burns and bruises. During the 8 weeks you must avoid sun. My reason for treatment was to have nice legs for my vacation in April. My vacation was 6 weeks after treatment becuase they were booked up for 2 weeks. My viens looked worse not better after 6 weeks. I did not want to do another treatment and wait another 6-8 weeks to see if it worked, or i would maybe need 3 treatments. This would be a total of 16 weeks for 2 treatments. It will be July by time i can be in the sun. I expressed my dissatisaction , and was told that i was jumping the gun. I need to give it 2-3 sessions to see if it works. Also there are no guarentees. I should have done the saline solution like before. Why would anyone want to wait 16 weeks to see if something worked or not? Laser also cost more in the long run the saline was the same price as 2 laser treatments. Not worth it at all. I wasted my money.

Tip for consumers: know all the facts before choosing laser treatment

Ask Tina about Groupon
sams187
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/4/15

I purchased a Groupon for lash extension for a wedding. When I tried to book the appointment the estitician was booked all of may through August... mind u the Groupon expires in 90 days. When I called groupon cs to see if they could extend those 90 days the woman said no. I should just gift my groupon to someone! After waiting almost an hr to even speak to someone this was her response. I will nevery buy another groupon again.

Ask sam about Groupon
tiffanyb21
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/4/15

Great customer service! I have had to return 2 Groupons- 1 my 3 year old purchased for $200! No problems!!

Ask Tiffany about Groupon
marimuthuk
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/4/15

Good publicity

Ask MARIMUTHU about Groupon
denism38
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/3/15

I bought a digital scanning groupon to a place called scan digital. Months went by after sending them my negatives to be put on dvd. After many runaround phone call, i came to the conclusion they lost my negatives. I emailed groupon customer service ( since there is no way to talk with a live person) . They quickly returned my money and erased all evidence of the groupons from my account. I will not stop untill someone goes down for loosing my pictures, but i see a long painful process coming my way. Save yourself from the nightmares, go to your local establishment and pay a little more. IT IS NOT WORTH THE SAVINGS>

Ask Denis about Groupon
karens103
7 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/3/15

Excellent products and services, returns and refunds are easy! I love groupons!

Ask Karen about Groupon
marianm4
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/1/15

Is groupon related to nomore rack? They have the same customer service as nomore rack. They do not will not resolve issues! Go to restaurant.com for dining deals. They have better deals and honor what they advertise...unlike groupon who pulled a classic bait and switch. They advertised a certain price and then doubled it leaving me holding the bag. They also messed with the deal on their website changing verbiage and the deal. Luckily I snapped a picture of my screens prove my point still no resolution. Very polite responses and absolutely NO answers or resolution. They are a fraudulent company and should be shut down. Look for a name change soon just like nomore rack did. I am gathering info to pass on to Commissionerof Commerce and the Attorney General. I would advise everyone to do the same as a class action we may get some resolution. DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE. even the restaurants they "sell for" have nothing good to say about them. They are ripping people off on both ends!

Ask Marian about Groupon
angiep7
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/30/15

In my experience, it offers poor quality in many of the deals.

Ask Angie about Groupon
markw127
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/30/15

everyone thought they are going to revolutionize the web shopping, but they just killed it, not enough deals. GroupOn Now suffers by having same deals over and over, get more customers in order to attract people to your website

Ask Mark about Groupon
elaineb26
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/30/15

Terrible customer service. Will never use groupon again for large items. Ordered a bed, wrong one delivered, plus it was damaged. Have received one email from them asking for photos, sent photos. 2 days later still waiting for a reply. i have sent about 4 more emails, all ignored!!!
Never again!!

Ask Elaine about Groupon
melanier16
13 reviews
29 helpful votes
4/29/15

Not as good as living social customer service wise but they have great deals. Refund policy sucks though. Really should make it like living social - return before it expires whatever the reason for a credit! 3 days to get it back cash. Now that's fair.

Ask Melanie about Groupon
reneek8
6 reviews
4 helpful votes
4/29/15

I find some wonderful deals for some of my favorite places here... the only thing is that lately, LivingSocial seems to have more things I'm interested in.

Ask Renee about Groupon
waynek31
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/28/15

I have purchased 3 groupons that were mostly food related, because I love to eat out! The groupon changes daily and it's typically around 40-50% off. The reason that I only rated it 3 stars is because LivingSocial its main competitor has also launched in the area.

Ask Wayne about Groupon
mariam141
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/28/15

I bought a Ypad from groupon, but 5 minutes after i placed the order i went back and tried to cancelled, i had the option to cancel but it appeared that it was not going through.......so i went back and cancelled twice...to my surprise i didn't get a confirmation of any cancellation so i emailed "customer support" for groupon and tried "the live chat" the live chat didn't work and when i got a reply back the customer service rep. said it was over two hours and it could not do anything. how convenient is that for them to answer after hours and saying that it was too late to cancel, when i did cancel right after i place the order.

Tip for consumers: bad site ................don't buy anything from them!!!!

Ask maria about Groupon
lindam143
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/27/15

Groupon is GREAT!

Ask Linda about Groupon
pd25
5 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/26/15

I got some massage certis. Very happy.

Ask P about Groupon
amitn4
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/24/15

Good one

Ask Amit about Groupon
francea2
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/24/15

I thought i did purchased something worth my penny. I purchased 3.5hrs spa that includes back massage and facial. When i came to my appointment they introduced me to some of their facial things and made me paid something which I thought was just a top-up to what I originally purchased. I was surprised when the facial was done after 1Hr Im told that that was all... They told me that I had converted my GROUPON VOUCHER to that facial thing and that was it. But they never ever used the word "CONVERT nor CHANGE" while they introduced the facial stuff. Left confused and still with aching back that really needs back massage.

Ask France about Groupon
monikah3
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/23/15

Warning!!! Do not purchase any brand name item through Groupon. I just purchased a $2000 Prada purse from them and took to let Prada check it out and is totally Fake. I can get the same fake one for less than $200 else where. I trusted Groupon and confirmed with them before I purchased and still got trapped into it. The worst part is I didn't receive the item pictured they shipped me a different color and didn't provide me with any explanation. They are using Groupon name to do this type of illegal thing. Please don't be a victim like me if you want to see my receipt I will be happy to show it.

Ask Monika about Groupon
neryt
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
4/23/15

I think it's crazy that there are not more sites like groupon. They def bring out the most deals and offers. I have traveled from groupons, bought computer stuff and so much more. I always seem to find good deals here. Thanks

Ask Nery about Groupon
isabellah2
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/22/15

never once had a problem al;ways wonderful dealing with them.

Ask Isabella about Groupon
sids24
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/22/15

Every time I called to make an appointment, they would ask "is this the groupon?" I would say yes. All 4 times I called I got the same answer "We no longer have any appointments available for our groupon winners" - waste of money. The business has no obligation to fulfull their end of the "bargain" YUCK

Ask Sid about Groupon
huyent1
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/21/15

Ive always had a problem with groupon when it comes to buying products on their website. They almost always send me the wrong size or is missing something important.
Their returns policy is absolutely bull too
They said that postage is paid for but that's also a lie because the parcel points and Auspost forced me to buy a box (which I barely have money for wasting on a box)
Scammed me!

Tip for consumers: Do not buy products from Groupon, they'll just scam you by giving you the wrong item and if you want the right one, you have to waste more money to send it back and wait another couple of months.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Huyen about Groupon
jerrys50
12 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/21/15

No more busines with them and their prices all that great either, even high at times.

Ask Jerry about Groupon
garciae
8 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/20/15

Its just a little embarrassing when you produce that slip of paper at dinner. however, some deals are good, if you are lucky

Ask Garcia about Groupon
gregoryj16
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/20/15

Love groupon. love the deals every day. a lot of people keep saying they are a scam, umm no , they are in so many countries and they are quite legit, its awesome for consumers and for businesses!

Ask Gregory about Groupon
jamied36
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/20/15

I have ordered a few things. One package was completely open with the item floating around in the shipping bag. I ordered a bed set. The sheets are so thin they fell like they might rip. I think if I was the conforter it might bunch up. I order some tanks and the sizing is all messed up, know I am hoping they will let me return them. I will not be ordering material items through them again..

Ask Jamie about Groupon
stuartc29
6 reviews
7 helpful votes
4/20/15

Honestly I tend to buy groupon's for new places that have opened up as a great way to check what is new int he area and have found quite a few new restaurants that I may not have tried otherwise. Love the service!

Ask Stuart about Groupon
parichitab
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/20/15

Very poor service, pathetic customer service. Waste of my money. very boring website.

Horrible experience. Will never open this website in my life

Ask Parichita about Groupon
jeromel12
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/19/15

Sucky experience wouldnt use again

Ask Jerome about Groupon
alyssab4
8 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/18/15

Lots of options, I order Christmas presents ! I had no issues.

Ask Alyssa about Groupon
paulm191
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/18/15

I order a product, never received. Groupon Customer Support told me to contact the supplier. Still no product. This is theft.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Paul about Groupon
herbertw12
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/17/15

2/4/11



Bought a manicure for my wife, was easy enough. However, the salon sold so many that they were booked a month out, which was a bit annoying. The deals on groupon are usually worthwhile though, so I will continue to use it, and recommend it.

Ask Herbert about Groupon
karenm105
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/17/15

Fast delivery when ever I order my product

Ask karen about Groupon
julian451
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/15/15

As a business owner myself, I know how hard it is to advertise to the right customers and keep customers who aren't just looking for the next deal. When speaking with someone with groupon, I asked them, "how can I even begin to make a profit if you insist upon a 50 percent discount then you take 50 percent?" Her answer was this: that's the price you pay for marketing your business. She was so certain I would get repeat customers and not one time deal seekers. My advice is this: if you really want to support small business and still get a good deal, contact the business owner directly and cut out group on altogether. A lot of business owners will give you the discount if you skip group on altogether.

Ask Julia about Groupon
tanveerm
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/13/15

They offer great deals on restaurants to hotel booking. These deals help in saving a lot of money. The best part is that, they deals are mailed to your directly :)

Ask Tanveer about Groupon
johng185
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/13/15

Really nothing worth purchasing. There are a ton of deal sites out there. The customer service isn't the best and I really enjoy working with Half Off Depot! They have really good timing with everything that goes on in the city.

Ask John about Groupon

17 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Groupon staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: What should I do to get back vouchers that I bought but haven't redeemed yet from the list of My Groupons? When I get into the MY GROUPONS , it stated that "My orders-You have yet to make any Groupon purchase(s).",but actually I bought 3 vouchers already.They disappeared from the list after one month purchased.Please tell me what should I do to get them back by email to me (quikping@gmail.com)!Thanks in advance!
8/2/13
Answer
michelef14
A: I have never had a problem with any groupon I have purchased. I just used a voucher today without any problems. There was one instance when I knew I was not going to be able to use my groupon and I went to my account, clicked on my groupings and asked for a refund. I'm sorry this has happened to you. Hopefully you will get it straightened out.
1 week ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Q: I'm looking into buying a gold chain for my boyfriend. Reading the reviews, I noticed groupons isn't great for services or vacations. Its a solid gold chain for about 80 bucks. Can somebody tell me if this purchase is yay or nay. I do not want to waste money
4/11/15
Answer
anastasiac5
A: Never buy gold, diamonds, or jewelry unless you can see it in person. That should be your new motto.
3 weeks ago
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Groupon staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

2 Coupons for Groupon

×
No coupon code needed
Shop now at Groupon to save!
Go to Groupon
Groupon.com

20 Photos for Groupon

From reviewers

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Groupon?
Post Review